If Iago faces Changeling, and their results are:

  • Iago: 1, 1, 1, 1
  • Changeling: 1, 1, 1, 1, 1

The rules say the following (emphasis mine):

To Begin: Roll all of your fighter’s dice, and arrange your dice so they can be easily read. Players will now take turns. Whoever rolled the single lowest number will go first. If the lowest dice are tied, compare the next lowest dice, and so on until a starting player is determined. If all numbers are tied, the game is a draw.

What is unclear, is what happens when the characters have differing numbers of dice to compare.

  • Is it a draw? Since you can't compare a die number to a non-existent die.

  • Does Iago go first? Since an empty die (null die) has a value of zero.

  • Does Changeling go first? Since they are the only character with a next lowest die, and all numbers are not tied.

I am leaning towards it being a draw, because you can't compare dice with a character that doesn't have a, "next lowest die" to compare. Has there been an official ruling in a FAQ, or in Tournament Rules? Maybe no one has ever had this happen and the question has never come up (it only happens 1 in 100+ million times)?

1 Answer 1


It wasn't in the rules pdf, but it was within the online rule book.

If all the dice are matched, the round is a draw. If one player has more dice than the other, and all the dice which can be tied for low are tied, then the player who has more dice goes first.

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .