If I was to play 2 Sidewinder Slivers would the 'All Slivers have flanking' ability stack causing creatures blocking my Slivers to get -2/-2 until the end of the turn or would it gain flanking twice but the second instance has no effect so creatures blocking my Slivers only get -1/-1 until the end of the turn?


Flanking is a triggered ability, so it can trigger separately for every instance of the ability that the creature has. This is ever so slightly different than just giving -2/-2. When your creature is blocked two abilities go on the stack, each one to give the blocker -1/-1. The end result is indeed that the blocker ends up with -2/-2, but there are some various corner cases you could create with certain cards where it matters!

NB: You can tell it's a triggered ability because it starts with the magic words "When, Whenever, or At."


Each instance of Flanking triggers separately. After the stack resolves, creatures blocking will have -2/-2 until end of turn.

The Rules:

702.24. Flanking

702.24a Flanking is a triggered ability that triggers during the declare blockers step. (See rule 509, "Declare Blockers Step.") "Flanking" means "Whenever this creature becomes blocked by a creature without flanking, the blocking creature gets -1/-1 until end of turn."

702.24b If a creature has multiple instances of flanking, each triggers separately.



Each sliver will have 2 instances of Flanking. Since those are triggered abilities, each instance will trigger, go to the stack, and resolve separately.

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.