When you begin play and randomly hand out the start worlds, do you shuffle the remaining start worlds into the deck?

1 Answer 1


Yes: per the Setup section of the rulebook:

Find and shuffle the five start worlds. Deal one world face up to each player. These form each player’s initial card tableau.

Shuffle the unused start worlds together with the game cards. Deal six face down cards to each player. Each player then examines these cards and discards two cards face down to the discard pile. The remaining game cards form the initial card supply.

[Bolded by me for emphasis.]

  • Note that as you add expansions, fishing the start worlds back out of the deck after you play becomes a bigger pain in the rear, so sometimes my group just skips this part and leaves the extras out for expedience.
    – jjb
    Apr 3, 2012 at 21:40
  • 1
    My group eventually put card sleeves on the cards, and used different-colored card sleeves for the starting cards. We really didn't like hunting through the deck for the starting cards. Aug 24, 2012 at 0:51

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .