3

Say my opponent casts Purify the Grave on my Rally The Peasants in my graveyard. If I have enough mana available, can I cast the Rally the Peasants in response to their trying to exile it?

  • 1
    By Spider Spawning you meant Rally the Peasants, right? (I assume you realized Spider Spawning wasn't an instant.) – Cascabel Apr 26 '12 at 2:04
8

Yes. You can cast an instant whenever you have priority. All spells give all players the chance to respond to them, before they resolve. Mtg Rules:

116.1a A player may cast an instant spell any time he or she has priority. A player may cast a noninstant spell during his or her main phase any time he or she has priority and the stack is empty.

116.3d If a player has priority and chooses not to take any actions, that player passes. If any mana is in that player’s mana pool, he or she announces what mana is there. Then the next player in turn order receives priority.

116.4. If all players pass in succession (that is, if all players pass without taking any actions in between passing), the spell or ability on top of the stack resolves or, if the stack is empty, the phase or step ends.

702.32a Flashback appears on some instants and sorceries. It represents two static abilities: one that functions while the card is in a player’s graveyard and the other that functions while the card is on the stack. “Flashback [cost]” means “You may cast this card from your graveyard by paying [cost] rather than paying its mana cost” and “If the flashback cost was paid, exile this card instead of putting it anywhere else any time it would leave the stack.” Casting a spell using its flashback ability follows the rules for paying alternative costs in rules 601.2b and 601.2e–g.

  • So if you really must remove that card from the Graveyard now without fear of reprisal, load up on Extirpates. ;) – ghoppe Apr 26 '12 at 6:01
  • @ghoppe, technically you still have the ability to respond. It is just unlikely that you will have much of a response to make (only special actions like Morph, etc) – user1873 Apr 26 '12 at 6:09

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.