I just bought this game last week and had a question (and BGG couldn't help...)

When read at face value, it would seem that

"Each player who has more than 7 resources must discard all excess resources"

would require discarding down to seven cards when this event occurs. The official rules (.pdf) don't really say anything to enforce (or refute) this.

But having played Settlers, I wonder if the intent is to discard half (rounding down)...

How should this be treated?


The card is poorly worded. It should probably say, "Each player who has more than 7 resources must discard all resources in excess of 7."

At the Official Catan Game Portal:

Brigand Attack: Players who have more than 7 resources cards discard all cards in excess of 7. Afterwards, the destiny card is flipped.

  • Thanks for the link. I was very close to finding that link, but must have clicked "rules" instead of "learn game" (or something like that)! May 19 '12 at 3:22

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.