A Cunning Rules Lawyer pointed out that, while the rules for Sorcerers say:

Once per turn per opponent, your Sorcerers can conquer a Region by substituting one of your opponent's Active tokens with one of your own taken from the storage tray.

It isn't 100% clear if, when you're playing a four player game, you can convert four regions of the same opponent, or if "once per opponent" means you have to target a different opponent each time.

Does once per turn per opponent mean that you have to target a different opponent each time, or just that you have as many conversions as opponents?


Looks like this is clarified by Antoine from Days of Wonder in this thread. You may only use it once against a given opponent in a turn.


Of course you can only use it against each opponent once on any given turn.

They may as well try to argue that there are 3 turns left in the game, and 3 opponents, so they can use it 9 times this turn against a single opponent. That has as much grammatical sense as what they're arguing, and is clearly not what the grammatical structure means.

  • No, that would be a fundamental difference in power level. The difference between "Power bounded by adjacent opponents" vs "Power bounded by number of opponents" is a lot more subtle.
    – deworde
    Sep 13 '19 at 9:22

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.