Each of the Knights has a different name. If someone reveals a Knight when I play a Jester, can I gain a Knight, or do I gain nothing since there isn't a second Dame Anne (or whomever) available in the supply?


  • The same situation arises if there are none of those cards left in the supply or when the card is gained via some other specific card (tournament prizes & black market)
    – Colin D
    Nov 16, 2012 at 16:19

2 Answers 2


The Golden Rule of Dominion is "do as much as you can".

If no copies of a card exist (e.g. because they've all been trashed) then no card is given out by a Jester.

Since Knights are unique cards, no-one gains anything when a Jester reveals one.

  • This is what we thought, and how we played it, but we couldn't find a definitive answer in the rules for either card.
    – aslum
    Oct 26, 2012 at 16:36
  • 4
    As @swbarnes2's comment indicates, this answer is not quite complete; Dame Josephine is a Victory card, so in that particular case, her owner gains a Curse.
    – sitnaltax
    Jul 23, 2013 at 1:47

If Dame Jospheine is revealed, she is a Victory card,so that triggers the first text on Jester, and the player owning her gets a Curse.

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .