Each of the Knights has a different name. If someone reveals a Knight when I play a Jester, can I gain a Knight, or do I gain nothing since there isn't a second Dame Anne (or whomever) available in the supply?


  • The same situation arises if there are none of those cards left in the supply or when the card is gained via some other specific card (tournament prizes & black market)
    – Colin D
    Nov 16 '12 at 16:19

The Golden Rule of Dominion is "do as much as you can".

If no copies of a card exist (e.g. because they've all been trashed) then no card is given out by a Jester.

Since Knights are unique cards, no-one gains anything when a Jester reveals one.

  • This is what we thought, and how we played it, but we couldn't find a definitive answer in the rules for either card.
    – aslum
    Oct 26 '12 at 16:36
  • 4
    As @swbarnes2's comment indicates, this answer is not quite complete; Dame Josephine is a Victory card, so in that particular case, her owner gains a Curse.
    – sitnaltax
    Jul 23 '13 at 1:47

If Dame Jospheine is revealed, she is a Victory card,so that triggers the first text on Jester, and the player owning her gets a Curse.

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.