Let's say my opponent (o) has a road network:

o - - - - - o


as x, can I:

o - - -x- - o


And break his already existing road?

My question is not whether or not this will break his road; my question is if it is legal for me to build there and break an already-established road.

At a previous game, there was considerable controversy as to whether this was a legal place to build a settlement.


If you build a settlement on his road, you disrupt it yes.

See also: catan-longest-road-clarification.

You can build on any place if:

  1. You can reach it by road or ship
  2. The vacant spot has no neighbouring settlements or cities. (There must be at least one empty spot between two settlements/cities)
  • 7
    Absolutely correct. The presence of an other player's road does not prevent you from build a settlement there... – Kempeth Oct 28 '10 at 12:36

Yes it is a legal move you can find an example on page 11 of the Almanac. Essentially as long as a road has a connection to a city it can be broken up.

  • -1 for "Essentially as long as a road has a connection to a city it can be broken up." - I'm not 100% sure what you mean by this, but if you mean that once split both parts of the road must be connected to a settlement/city, you are incorrect. – AndyT Apr 24 '18 at 8:34
  • You should know what I mean by page 11 of the rules. – Dan2.0 Jan 1 at 15:18

protected by Community Jan 29 '17 at 17:44

Thank you for your interest in this question. Because it has attracted low-quality or spam answers that had to be removed, posting an answer now requires 10 reputation on this site (the association bonus does not count).

Would you like to answer one of these unanswered questions instead?

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.