39

Let's say my opponent (o) has a road network:

o - - - - - o

       |
       x

as x, can I:

o - - -x- - o
       |
       |
       x

?

And break his already existing road?

My question is not whether or not this will break his road; my question is if it is legal for me to build there and break an already-established road.

At a previous game, there was considerable controversy as to whether this was a legal place to build a settlement.

55

If you build a settlement on his road, you disrupt it yes.

See also: catan-longest-road-clarification.

You can build on any place if:

  1. You can reach it by road or ship
  2. The vacant spot has no neighbouring settlements or cities. (There must be at least one empty spot between two settlements/cities)
  • 7
    Absolutely correct. The presence of an other player's road does not prevent you from build a settlement there... – Kempeth Oct 28 '10 at 12:36
4

Yes it is a legal move you can find an example on page 11 of the Almanac. Essentially as long as a road has a connection to a city it can be broken up.

  • -1 for "Essentially as long as a road has a connection to a city it can be broken up." - I'm not 100% sure what you mean by this, but if you mean that once split both parts of the road must be connected to a settlement/city, you are incorrect. – AndyT Apr 24 '18 at 8:34
  • You should know what I mean by page 11 of the rules. – Dan2.0 Jan 1 at 15:18

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.