I am really new to Munchkin and I had a question about a card.

The King Tut card says "Will not pursue anyone of Level 3 or below. Higher-Leveled characters lose 2 levels, even if they escape."

Does this mean that as soon as combat starts with King Tut the player loses 2 levels? What if someone joins in the fight, do they lose 2 levels as well? And what if someone plays a card that cancels the combat (for example switches the monster)?

1 Answer 1


No, the loss of 2 levels is part of the bad stuff that happens when you normally fail to escape, or since the card specifically states it, "even if they escape." From the World if Munchkin FAQ,

Q. King Tut and the Wight Brothers say "Characters of higher Levels [than 3] lose 2 levels, even if they escape." Does that mean you lose two levels even if you defeat those monsters?

A. No. But if you cannot defeat them, then you must try to run away, and you'll lose the 2 levels even if you do escape. If they catch you, of course, you do suffer the Bad Stuff from those Monsters. (But you don't lose the two levels twice!)

  • 2
    That is confusing... They should label it "Running Away:" then like they do the Bad Stuff. Thanks for the link to the FAQ with the official rule on the card.
    – JLZenor
    Commented Dec 18, 2012 at 4:53

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .