For example, on the Pegasus' various weapon stations, there is a result chart printed on the board. It covers the possibilities of getting a die result of 1-8, on an 8-sided die. But now suppose someone had played a Strategic Planning or Calculations card, adding +2 or +1 to the die roll, such that the die comes up a 9 or a 10. What is the result? The chart does not seem to cover this situation. A similar situation arises on New Caprica with the human vs Cylon conflict rules.
This question has now officially been answered in the latest FAQ:
Q: Can the result of a die roll be modified to be more than an “8”?
A: No. After all modifications to a die roll have been calculated, any number greater than an “8” is treated as an “8.”
Looked through the rules and found nothing on point.
However, at the BSG Forums, it is commonplace to see folks treating a roll higher than 8 as an 8. There doesn't appear to be any dissent. I didn't see anyone disagreeing or challenging that assertion.
Here is one example:
Save nukes for when you really need them. Don't be afraid of throwing out a strategic planning card to thin some Raiders out too if possible.