For example, on the Pegasus' various weapon stations, there is a result chart printed on the board. It covers the possibilities of getting a die result of 1-8, on an 8-sided die. But now suppose someone had played a Strategic Planning or Calculations card, adding +2 or +1 to the die roll, such that the die comes up a 9 or a 10. What is the result? The chart does not seem to cover this situation. A similar situation arises on New Caprica with the human vs Cylon conflict rules.
This question has now officially been answered in the latest FAQ:
Q: Can the result of a die roll be modified to be more than an “8”?
A: No. After all modifications to a die roll have been calculated, any number greater than an “8” is treated as an “8.”
Treat any result higher than an 8 as an 8.
Looked through the rules and found nothing on point.
However, at the BSG Forums, it is commonplace to see folks treating a roll higher than 8 as an 8. There doesn't appear to be any dissent. I didn't see anyone disagreeing or challenging that assertion.
Here is one example:
Save nukes for when you really need them. Don't be afraid of throwing out a strategic planning card to thin some Raiders out too if possible.