Seems like there would never be any reason to attack yourself in Stratego.. unless you do screw up the placement of your pieces like a noob. So I ask, can you attack yourself? Of course, it doesn't say so in the rules, probably because they hope no one is stupid enough to need to. I'd like an answer with some kind of reference or "proof".
No. From p. 4 of these rules:
[Pieces] cannot move into a onto a square occupied by another piece (unless attacking).
And from p. 5
To attack on your turn, take your attacking piece and lightly tap your opponent's piece.
You can only attack your opponent's pieces, and your own pieces cannot share a square in any way.