Linked Questions

13 votes
1 answer
59k views

Can I tap a creature with summoning sickness to pay "tap an untapped creature you control" costs? [duplicate]

I have a Chosen of Markov on the battlefield and I played a vampire earlier this turn. Can I tap both to transform Chosen of Markov even though I just played the vampire? Extra Example: I play Battle ...
Gordon Gustafson's user avatar
9 votes
3 answers
38k views

Can abilities with no "tap/untap" cost be activated while a creature has summoning sickness? [duplicate]

From the MTG rules: 302.6. A creature's activated ability with the tap symbol or the untap symbol in its activation cost can't be activated unless the creature has been under its controller's ...
svidgen's user avatar
  • 361
7 votes
4 answers
23k views

Do morph cards suffer summoning sickness [duplicate]

When you have the card face down then you morph the card to face up, does it suffer summoning sickness? My friend has lots of them in his deck and I'm not too sure and would like to know whether they ...
Breefree's user avatar
7 votes
2 answers
2k views

Do the Elf creatures put into the battlefield by Planeswalker Nissa Revane suffer from summoning sickness? [duplicate]

The 3rd ability of Nissa Revane Planeswalker is -7: Search your library for any number of Elf creature cards and put them onto the battlefield. Then shuffle your library. So the question is do the ...
Jim McKeeth's user avatar
  • 3,017
0 votes
2 answers
23k views

Tapping a creature on the turn it enters play [duplicate]

Let's say, for example, I summon a Gemhide Sliver this turn. Am I allowed to tap the Gemhide sliver for it's ability the moment it enters into the field, or is it affected by summoning sickness?
Aloysius's user avatar
  • 169
4 votes
2 answers
8k views

Gods have summon sickness? [duplicate]

Let's say I have a god in the battlefield for more than one turn. And this turn I summon a creature that "completes" my devotion to the god. Can the god attack this turn? or it is affected by the ...
Luiz Guilherme's user avatar
4 votes
2 answers
23k views

Do creatures with summoning sickness deal damage while blocking? [duplicate]

I know creatures with summoning sickness can not attack unless they have haste. My brother is using this to his defense as if you use a 3/3 creature with summoning sickness to block an attack from a 2/...
Damainman's user avatar
  • 805
6 votes
2 answers
10k views

Can a creature with summoning sickness be targeted? [duplicate]

Can I target a creature as soon as it is played, even with summoning sickness? Example: If my card, Beguiler of Wills, reads "Gain control of target creature," or Dungeon Geist's "tap ...
chris's user avatar
  • 61
4 votes
1 answer
15k views

Do creatures put on the battlefield via a sorcery have summoning sickness? [duplicate]

I have a card named Doubling Chant, the effect of this card is "For each creature you control, Search your library for a creature with the same name and put it onto the battlefield. Then Shuffle your ...
ThunderToes's user avatar
  • 2,519
5 votes
1 answer
13k views

Does a creature returned by the Undying effect have summoning sickness? [duplicate]

As far as I understand the undying ability, a creature returned to the battlefield by its undying effect with a +1/+1 counter on it is considered a new object. Due to this it cannot attack if it ...
installero's user avatar
4 votes
2 answers
7k views

Are cards that are both Land and Creature affected by summoning sickness? [duplicate]

Are cards that are both Land and Creature affected by summoning sickness with regard to: Possibility to attack Activating special abilities with the TAP symbol?
sinsedrix's user avatar
  • 1,111
2 votes
3 answers
3k views

Do creatures who come into play tapped have summoning sickness? [duplicate]

If I play Leviathan (and we know he comes into play tapped) and have a Puppeteer or something out to untap him, am I prevented from sacrificing the two islands and attacking the turn he came into play?...
John D.'s user avatar
  • 39
1 vote
3 answers
808 views

What happens if I use Sudden Disappearance? [duplicate]

I just saw this card: Sudden Disappearance. Suppose I use it in my first main step. I attack while my opponent has his cards exiled. At the end step he gets them back. My question: Will those cards ...
Adam Arold's user avatar
  • 1,618
4 votes
1 answer
8k views

Mirage Mirror - does copy suffer from summoning sickness? [duplicate]

The card Mirage Mirror states: {2}: Mirage Mirror becomes a copy of target artifact, creature, enchantment, or land until end of turn. If Mirage Mirror becomes a copy of a target creature that ...
Apostol Apostolov's user avatar
2 votes
1 answer
14k views

If a creature enters as a copy, does it have summoning sickness? [duplicate]

If I play the Phantasmal Image as a copy of any other creature (that has no summoning sickness), will it have the summoning sickness or not? Phantasmal Image You may have Phantasmal Image enter ...
Alex's user avatar
  • 619
3 votes
1 answer
14k views

Can creatures with summoning sickness block? [duplicate]

Are you able to block with a creature that has summoning sickness? My friend always has at least 1 Moaning Wall in his hand and plays it each chance he gets, even when I attack and it has summoning ...
user23604's user avatar
-1 votes
1 answer
24k views

When taking control of a creature, does it gain summoning sickness? [duplicate]

Let's say I have a creature in play that doesn't have summoning sickness anymore. My opponent then takes control of this creature (with for example Control Magic). Will this creature have summoning ...
Lainathiel's user avatar
  • 2,333
1 vote
1 answer
11k views

Do creatures summoned by a Planeswalker have summoning sickness? [duplicate]

Elspeth, Sun's Champion has a loyalty ability which says: Place three 1/1 white soldier creature tokens onto the battlefield. When this ability is activated, do these soldiers have summoning ...
MPW's user avatar
  • 285
4 votes
1 answer
2k views

Can I activate the tap ability of a creature summoned last turn before I have to remove it to my hand? [duplicate]

We had this situation come in a game last night, and I wanted to make sure that we played it correctly and that I understood the rules. Player A had an Eiganjo Free-Riders in play. During this turn, ...
Discord's user avatar
  • 1,965
4 votes
1 answer
2k views

Is Heritage Druid's ability limited by summoning sickness? [duplicate]

Heritage Druid's ability is: Tap three untapped elves, add {G}{G}{G} to your mana pool Once I play Heritage Druid, can I tap three elves (Heritage Druid being one of them) and get {G}{G}{G} to my ...
Anthony's user avatar
  • 55
3 votes
2 answers
2k views

Rabid Bite mechanics [duplicate]

When a creature is summoned I understand this card has “Summoning Sickness”, where the card is not “tapped” but just cannot attack or use any abilities until the next turn. How does this work with ...
kazzamalla's user avatar
1 vote
3 answers
1k views

With Life and Limb do my forest's suffer from summoning sickness [duplicate]

So from what I understand Life and Limb makes your forests into creature. So are you're forests then affected by summoning sickness, and therefore you are unable to be tapped for mana the turn you ...
Arowaaron's user avatar
  • 535
1 vote
1 answer
2k views

Do creatures with summoning sickness count as tapped? [duplicate]

My friend played Sheer Drop (Destroy target tapped creature) and targeted a creature of mine with summoning sickness. Is a creature with summoning sickness considered tapped?
Rez's user avatar
  • 11
1 vote
1 answer
671 views

Control and summoning sickness [duplicate]

If I cast Expropriate and my opponent chose money, if I were to target their Primordial Hydra, can I attack with it immediately?
user21560's user avatar
  • 231
-2 votes
1 answer
2k views

Do adventure cards have summoning sickness also? [duplicate]

Do adventure cards have summoning sickness?
Roy Lane's user avatar
-2 votes
1 answer
360 views

What happens when Illusory Gains is detached during combat? [duplicate]

Player 1 has Arcades Sabboth onto the battlefield. Player 2 has Garna,The Bloodflame onto the battlefield. In Player 2's main phase, he cast Illusory Gains on Arcades Sabboth, to gain control of the ...
ManoFromBerlin's user avatar
1 vote
1 answer
357 views

MTG Does "Emerging" cause summoning sickness? [duplicate]

If I emerge a card like Mockery of Nature, does it get summoning sickness?
foobark2's user avatar
0 votes
1 answer
141 views

Tapping Active Abilities when they have summoning sickness? [duplicate]

If I put a Goblin Fireslinger onto the battlefield, which would have summoning sickness, can I tap it that turn to use its ability or do I have to wait an extra turn to use it?
Jonah's user avatar
  • 1
0 votes
1 answer
97 views

Magic the gathering question [duplicate]

Sarkhan the masterless +1 ability. It becomes a 4/4 dragon with flying. Can it attack that turn? Does it depend if the planeswalker was on the field already or just played?
Benjamin Wileman's user avatar
1 vote
0 answers
71 views

Untapping with a spell or ability remove summoning sickness? [duplicate]

Basically the title. If I summon a creature, use an ability to "untap" it before my combat step. May I attack with the creature?
Duncan Turnbull's user avatar

15 30 50 per page