Linked Questions

26 votes
5 answers
65k views

Does Wrath of God really destroy creatures with shroud? [duplicate]

I heard - (from an official MtG judge) - that Wrath of God ("Destroy all creatures") destroys creatures with the Shroud ability, because it doesn't target a single creature, it targets all creatures. ...
IProblemFactory's user avatar
9 votes
3 answers
33k views

Can one block with a protection from color creature?

With the upcoming prerelease I'm currently wondering about the new protection creatures. When playing a creature which gets protection from a certain color, is that creature then able to block an ...
Suimon's user avatar
  • 593
9 votes
2 answers
15k views

Can you Clone a creature with protection or shroud? [duplicate]

So, Clone doesn't say the word "target" anywhere in its text: You may have Clone enter the battlefield as a copy of any creature on the battlefield. Does this mean that it isn't targeting the ...
cdeszaq's user avatar
  • 1,427
5 votes
2 answers
5k views

Do cards that say "Each player..." still affect players with Shroud? [duplicate]

I have a True Believer out which gives me shroud. My opponent has an enchantment that says that each player must sacrifice whenever he sacrifices a card. Does the enchantment target me, thus allowing ...
Luigi's user avatar
  • 59
5 votes
1 answer
4k views

Can a creature with Hexproof be affected by a spell like Sleep? [duplicate]

Let's suppose I have Emrakul, the Promised End in play, equipped with Swiftfoot Boots. My opponent plays Sleep. Does Emrakul, the Promised End get tapped or does Hexproof prevent that?
Dorian Sutton's user avatar
4 votes
3 answers
4k views

Can The Card "Suppression Bonds" enchant a creature with Shroud [duplicate]

So the description of Suppression Bonds states: Enchant non land permanent. Enchanted permanent can't attack or block, and it's activated abilities can't be activated. The card doesn't use the word ...
Chad's user avatar
  • 41
4 votes
2 answers
12k views

How do Hexproof and Combat Damage interact? [duplicate]

Here's a quick question: suppose your opponent attacks with an 8/8 with Trample, and you block with a 5/5 with Defender, Indestructible, and Hexproof. You also have Hexproof. Trample is an ability, ...
IsaacGladwell's user avatar
3 votes
3 answers
2k views

Deflecting Swat and Lich's Mastery

A EDH deck I am wanting to build revolves around Lich's Mastery. I'm aware of the removal that may occur to it and that I can Stifle the ability of When Lich's Mastery leaves the battlefield you ...
Twiggy's user avatar
  • 237
3 votes
2 answers
809 views

Is it possible to respond to a "part" of a triggered ability? (with multiple sentences)

Here is the scenario that came up multiple times when playing Brudiclad, Telchor Engineer, which says: At the beginning of combat on your turn, create a 2/1 blue Myr artifact creature token. Then you ...
Yuri Ghensev's user avatar
2 votes
2 answers
10k views

Hexproof vs enchantment affecting all creatures [duplicate]

My opponent controls Plated Crusher, a 7/6 hexproof creature. I control two Dampening Pulses, which give opponents' creatures -1/-0. Would Dampening Pulse affect the hexproof creature? I think it ...
Hans's user avatar
  • 345
2 votes
1 answer
861 views

How does Emissary of Grudges work exactly?

I have Emissary of Grudges in my deck and I was wondering if I use it correctly. In exemple: I play Emissary of Grudges and I secretly choose player 2. Player 2's turn. He casts Clone and targets me ...
Samuel Poulin's user avatar
2 votes
1 answer
4k views

Do cards that say "all creatures" affect creatures with hexproof? [duplicate]

When a creature or player has hexproof and a player casts a card such as Cleansing Nova: Choose one — Destroy all creatures. Destroy all artifacts and enchantments. Do creatures with ...
Lone Wolf's user avatar
  • 329
1 vote
1 answer
1k views

Is Leyline of Combustion triggered by attacks?

If my opponent attacks me, does that trigger Leyline of Combustion to do damage to them? I'm new and need help with this rule. Thanks
Benjamin Wileman's user avatar
1 vote
3 answers
770 views

How would Glasspool Mimic (or other clones) resolve if cloned target is removed

If I cast Glasspool Mimic targeting a Lord of Atlantis that I control, and in response to the spell going on the stack, my opponent casts Petty Theft targeting the same Lord of Atlantis, how would ...
pvtbrownstar's user avatar
1 vote
2 answers
498 views

Would Restore the Peace affect a hexproof creature? [duplicate]

Would restore the peace affect creatures with hexproof? I have Archetype of Endurance (all creatures you control have hexproof, your opponent cannot have hexproof). I attack and then my opponent plays ...
Andrakis's user avatar

15 30 50 per page