Linked Questions

5
votes
2answers
6k views

Can a sacrifice be used to pay for more than one effect? [duplicate]

Someone tried to play the following combo in a game I was in. I think it is an illegal play, so I wanted some help to clarify the rules. The cards were: 1) Launch Party - "As an additional cost to ...
6
votes
2answers
2k views

Can I pay two different costs with the same payment?

Say I have a Zombie token, Viscera Seer, and Altar of Dementia on the battlefield. Can I sacrifice the Zombie token to activate both the Altar's and Seer's abilities? Similarly, if I have one card in ...
1
vote
2answers
629 views

Sacrificing as part of a command, to fulfill other costs? [duplicate]

It is covered well in other questions that sacrificing one creature cannot fulfill the requirements for two abilities that are both activated abilities (have 'Sacrifice a creature: do something', like ...
2
votes
1answer
666 views

Do card abilities that grant mana stack? [duplicate]

For example, if I have a creature card that says Creatures you control have "{T}: Add one mana of any color to your mana pool." and I have two of these creatures out, do they stack so I can tap a ...
1
vote
1answer
829 views

Can you choose how to sacrifice a creature if you are forced to? [duplicate]

If an opponent, or anything else, makes me sacrifice a creature, and I have a Blood Host or something similar, can I choose to sacrifice the creature with the Blood Host?
1
vote
3answers
389 views

Can Bloodrush satisfy a forced discard? [duplicate]

If my opponent makes me discard a card and I choose a creature card with the Bloodrush ability, can I pay the cost during the forced discard in order to activate the ability?
0
votes
1answer
635 views

Does Battlefield Forge add two mana to your pool each time it is tapped? [duplicate]

Do cards like Battlefield Forge add 2 mana each time it's tapped or is it just one of the two tapped mana options? Or can you choose between both at once vs one? And is the mana only there while it's ...
4
votes
2answers
2k views

Can a creature's sacrifice benefit be taken when it is sacrificed to Eldrazi Monument?

I asked a general question about double sacrifice bonus, but thought it better to ask a specific question. If a creature has a "Sacrifice this creature for X" ability, can you sacrifice it for that ...
4
votes
1answer
759 views

Can you sacrifice a creature you block with to fulfill Annihilator?

Lets say someone is blocking an Eldrazi with annihilator. Can they sacrifice a creature they blocked with to count as one of the things sacrifice with annihilator?
4
votes
2answers
2k views

Can I use both of Grindclock's abilities at the same time? [duplicate]

I'm starting on mono blue mill deck and I saw Grindclock. I'm not sure about its ability. {tap}: put a charge counter on Grindclock {tap}: target player puts the top X cards of his or her ...
-3
votes
1answer
318 views

exiling cards from graveyard. can each trigger for multiple cards in play [closed]

if i have multiple cards in play with activated abilities involving exiling cards from my graveyard can each exiled card activate for each of my cards in play? card gets +1+1 for each card exiled and ...
0
votes
0answers
90 views

Magic The Gathering can this combo be done? [duplicate]

Quick question, can I use Smallpox and choose to sacrifice Strip Mine but in response sacrifice Strip Mine to use it's effect too?
0
votes
0answers
79 views

Sacrifice Question [duplicate]

I have two creatures and barrage of expendables on the battlefield. My opponent casts a spell with the effect: "Each opponent sacrifices a creature" Can I choose to sacrifice creature 1, then before ...
0
votes
0answers
64 views

Sacrifice help With MTG [duplicate]

If I have to sacrifice a creature every beginning of my upkeep and I play Rescue from Underworld, will I get past the sacrifice? Thanks