We’re rewarding the question askers & reputations are being recalculated! Read more.

Questions tagged [7-wonders]

7 Wonders (2-7 players (8 players with some extension packs), 30 minutes) is a card-based civilization development game. It's played from three decks representing three ages. Players draft then reveal cards simultaneously.

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
5
votes
2answers
191 views

Buying resources from your neighbor

In 7 Wonders,when buying resources from your neighbor. Do they have an unlimited supply of resources for you to buy, or just what is showing? For example can I buy 3 stone from them when they only ...
2
votes
1answer
80 views

Mannekin Pis A copying Stonehenge B

We've had a disagreement on how to determine what color card to score when Mannekin Pis A stage 2/3 copies Stonehenge B's stage 2. Rulebook on Stonehenge: Stage 2: At the end of the game, the ...
3
votes
1answer
131 views

Rules about Stevie

I am playing 7 wonders with leaders and some other extensions to extensions. One of them includes Stevie Wonder. Stevie does this: With his help, you can build a stage of your Wonder of the World; ...
0
votes
1answer
439 views

What is the best way to win a game? [closed]

So the options are a ton of resources, and you can build whatever you want. The advantage of this is that in age III you can build more guilds. You can go low recourses but use a lot of tech trees. ...
0
votes
3answers
349 views

Does this 7 Wonders analysis make any sense?

In age 1, the only resource you buy are the grey ones, because: in age 1, the brown ones produce only one resource at a time, but in age 2 they produce 2. This means you profit more from buying brown ...
-1
votes
1answer
73 views

Babylon B Stage 2 - Purchasing neighbor's resource [duplicate]

On the 6th turn, the Babylon player builds their second stage wonder. Their last card in hand requires a Cloth. Babylon's neighbor built a Loom on their 6th turn. Can the Babylon player, on their 7th ...
1
vote
1answer
143 views

When can I activate the special Halicarnassus effect?

The rules say what the effect does but not when to use it. Once per era? At the time the wonder upgrade is done? At the end of the game? Something else?
5
votes
1answer
223 views

Clarification for Secret warehouse

Scenario. Alice has played in previous turns the following cards: Timber yard (brown card) - gives 1 resource: stone OR wood. Secret Warehouse (black card) From the rule book for Secret ...
3
votes
2answers
183 views

Specific case when Berenice is in play

I have the following scenario in a 7 wonders game played with leaders and cities that can be interpreted in at least 2 ways. Alice has in play the leader "Berenice" (From the moment she enters play,...
7
votes
1answer
174 views

Is there an order in which the leaders effect applies?

I know this is irrelevant in most of the cases because leader effects are independent or can be combined achieving the same effect, but I found a case in which the order matters. We are playing with ...
3
votes
1answer
93 views

When can a guild be cloned based on Olympia's B stage 3?

I think I know the answer here, but I just need confirmation. Main question Olympia B third wonder stage allows you to clone a guild from a neighbor. Does this happen before or after the military ...
2
votes
1answer
222 views

Can you tell if one board is balanced or not compared to the others?

I've been playing 7 Wonders for a while now and I really enjoy it. I've played the standard game and with Leaders, Cities and Wonder Pack extensions. I'm amazed that the wonders are pretty balanced....
4
votes
1answer
795 views

Precondition costs for structures built with Halicarnassus “build for free”?

When playing with Halicarnassus A side and I build a second wonder stage, is it possible to build a structure that in its precondition cost has another structure which a player controlling ...
5
votes
1answer
245 views

In 7 Wonders, can you make an informed decision on which resources to draft?

I am learning 7 Wonders from the rulebook but I do not see this question addressed. Is there a way to know which structures you can build by taking a specific resource other than memorizing the cost ...
3
votes
1answer
205 views

Can I use rewards from a just-bought building to pay the participation cost of a Great Project?

During my turn, I place a building which produces resources or provides coins. Can I then use those resources / coins to pay the participation cost of a Great Project? Could I use those coins to trade ...
3
votes
2answers
1k views

Dealing Age 3 - what to do with the two extra cards?

How do you deal Age 3 of 7 Wonders? Once you get the deck ready for the adequate number of players and add the guilds, there ends up being 2 extra cards due to the 2+ guild logic. Thus some players ...
5
votes
2answers
416 views

7 Wonders: Why do resources on the board have colored background?

I'm wondering why the resources on the City boards have colored backgrounds? It is quite confusing when you play cards such as Vineyard, Bazaar or Chamber of Commerce since the starting resources do ...
5
votes
3answers
347 views

I tend to focus on one aspect of a game. How do I take the necessary balanced approach that's necessary in games like Seven Wonders?

My personality is to pick one thing, and then go all out on it. For instance, if I play Civilization, I might tons of a single unit. Or Settlers I might focus on roads. Often this negatively hurts me. ...
9
votes
4answers
8k views

What's the best way to explain 7 Wonders to a new player?

I've been playing 7 Wonders for about 3 months now, and my friends & I love it. However, because of the complexity of the game and the large number of mechanics in it, I find it really hard to ...
3
votes
2answers
195 views

Timing conflict with debt card effect

We were playing a game of 7 Wonders with the following expansions: Cities, Leaders, Great Projects (comes as part of the Babel expansion). At the end of a particular round, we ran in to a conflict in ...
1
vote
1answer
550 views

7 Wonders Look Through Discard Order

I am playing with the Cities, Babel, Leaders, and Wonder Pack expansions for 7 Wonders. There was a situation last night where two players attempted to look through the discard to play a card at the ...
2
votes
1answer
767 views

Can you use Halicarnassus to build a duplicate card?

As the title. If not, what happens if you build the wonder, say in Age II, and all the cards are duplicates of cards you've already built?
1
vote
1answer
135 views

Babel tower tile #15 (ignore resource cost for Wonder) overpowered?

In our recent 7 Wonders play session we've tried playing Babel extension, which triggered a question/thoughts about babel tower add-on. Specifically tower tile nr. 2 and 15 which states: These ...
3
votes
1answer
317 views

Can Debt tokens be taken to pay any coin costs?

According to the Cities rules, players can lose coins and incur debts. The rules mention that a player can either pay coins or take Debt tokens. Does this allow a player to choose to take Debt tokens ...
3
votes
2answers
786 views

What is the timing of building and paying debt?

To reiterate on previous questions (1, 2), the general timing goes like so: Players decide which card to play. Players decide how to play that card (build, discard, wonder). Players decide how to pay ...
4
votes
1answer
514 views

7 Wonders (Cities Expansion): War from both sides due to Peace Tokens

Just played my second game of 7 Wonders, after I impulse purchased it along with the Cities Expansion. As we play in a group of four, its not uncommon that two grab Peace Tokens during the same Age, ...
0
votes
1answer
485 views

7 wonders Alexandria side A special ability

I don't understand the special ability a player gains after building the second stage of Alexandria side A. Can someone explain it? Thanks!
0
votes
2answers
367 views

How is the card action phase resolved in 7 Wonders?

My understanding is that each turn has three parts: Each player selects a card and plays it face down simultaneously. Each player reveals what they plan to do with their card (build it, scrap it for ...
2
votes
1answer
303 views

Ramses and Babel tile 23: are Guilds free or do you have to pay coins?

If you have recruited the Leader Ramses and the Babel tile 23 is active, can you build Guilds for free, or do you have to pay coins? Leader Ramses: (Leaders, page 6) As soon as Ramses enters play, ...
2
votes
1answer
633 views

Maecenas and Rome (B): are the extra Leaders also free?

The Leader Maecenas allows to build Leaders for free (Leaders, page 6): As soon as Maecenas enters play, his controlling player can recruit all of his or her future Leaders for free (during the ...
2
votes
1answer
2k views

7 Wonders: Do board resources (brown and gray) count for VPs when counting guild and commerce points?

Three guilds (Workers, Shipowners, Craftsmens) award VPs for resource cards. Also some commerce cards (e.g., Haven) award coins and VPs for resource cards. Do you include Board resources in the count, ...
11
votes
4answers
6k views

Technically highest 7 Wonders score

I was wondering what is the technically highest score one can achieve in Seven Wonders (with Cities and Leaders) in a 3+ player game, considering all players are working with the performer. Has ...
3
votes
1answer
131 views

How does the effect of tile 22 (from Tower of Babel) apply to tokens (from Great Projects)?

In the Babel rules, under the section "Playing with the other expansions", it says (English PDF, page 7): If you play with the Tower of Babel expansion, the effect of tiles 19 and 22 also apply to ...
4
votes
2answers
611 views

May you choose *not* to use your own resources and buy them instead?

May you choose not to use your own resources and buy them from your neighbours instead? This is relevant for cases where you would earn money when "buying" from your neighbours. The rules say about "...
2
votes
2answers
774 views

May you choose *not* to use the free construction chain?

If you could build a structure for free (thanks to the chain noted on the card), may you choose not to and use resources (whether your own or bought from your neighbours) to build it instead? This is ...
3
votes
2answers
715 views

Abu Simbel and Courtesan's Guild

So, this item came up last night while we were playing. I'll give you our answer, but I want to see what everyone else's thoughts are. One player was playing as Abu Simbel, and their neighbor had ...
1
vote
1answer
511 views

How do you select wonders at the beginning of a 7 Wonders game? [duplicate]

At the start of your 7 Wonders game how do you decide which wonder each player gets? What is the intended default rule? Something I'm unsure about is if you are supposed to mix sides A and B. Is it ...
2
votes
3answers
317 views

When can the “build a wonder stage for free” tokens be used?

In the Seven Wonders - Babel Expansion, when can the reward tokens that allow a player "to construct a Stage of their Wonder for free" be used? Can they be used immediately or do they just remove the ...
2
votes
1answer
533 views

Does Babylon's wonder count for scientific structure victory points?

In 7 Wonders, do the science symbols on Babylon's wonder mat count for victory points? Say I've built the second level of the A side and I have no other science symbols. Do I get one point for each of ...
-2
votes
1answer
865 views

7 wonders Babel and Armada

When is the exact release date for Babel? It seems to be some time in November, but It was due to come out in Feb, so why did it drag on? Also what happened to Armada, which was tested by some ...
1
vote
1answer
136 views

7 wonders: builder's chambers

If I build the Builder's Chambers at the same time as someone builds his first wonder stage, should he be charged?
1
vote
1answer
672 views

Aspasia and Abu Simbel

Imagine this: I build Aspasia at the beginning of Age 3. I then bury her for Abu Simbel wonder stage. Does the diplomacy token stay or go with it?
0
votes
1answer
409 views

Does monetary loss to everyone not affect your partner?

This source suggests any action which causes a monetary loss to everyone does not affect your partner. Is this true?
4
votes
1answer
1k views

7 wonders: copying science

I'm playing 7 Wonders with the Cities and Leaders expansions. If your neighbours has less science buildings than you have mask, then I assume you cannot use them all. You can only copy the symbol of ...
10
votes
1answer
1k views

Are “East trading post” and “West trading post” considered identical structures?

The rules state that a player can never build two identical structures - with the same name/illustration. Since both "Trading post" cards are called just "Trading post" on the "Forum" card (which ...
4
votes
1answer
430 views

Can the Wonder that pulls from the discard pile be used multiple times?

One of the Wonders earns the player, in its second stage, the right to go through the discard pile of previously played ages, choose one card and build it for free. Is this a one time deal, to be ...
1
vote
3answers
365 views

If you have multiple wonders do you get multiple special powers?

In 7 Wonders some stages of building a wonder provide special powers. For example stage of 2 of Olympia (side A) allows you to build one free structure per age. If you have built 2 wonders in this ...
7
votes
3answers
312 views

Is there a strategy to choosing the card used to construct a wonder phase?

When a player is constructing a wonder phase, what strategy is used to pick the card, and is the value of the card used for anything? I'm assuming that: The value of the card serves no purpose once ...
2
votes
1answer
628 views

Can resources in Alexandria's side A second wonder be bought by other players?

On the Alexandria board side A, are players allowed to buy the resources given in the second wonder? Or are they 'special resources' like the ones give by yellow cards... aka not transferable to other ...
5
votes
1answer
357 views

In 7 Wonders, when using a Leader to build Babylon (B)'s second stage before Age 3

With the addition of the Leaders expansion, you can use your leaders to build your wonder. If you build Babylon (B)'s second stage (which allows you to play the card you would normally discard) with ...