Stack Exchange Network

Stack Exchange network consists of 174 Q&A communities including Stack Overflow, the largest, most trusted online community for developers to learn, share their knowledge, and build their careers.

Visit Stack Exchange

Questions tagged [android-netrunner]

Android: Netrunner is a cyberpunk-themed asymmetrical living card game edition based on the original CCG Netrunner. Players take the role of either a corporation or a runner and attempt to advance or steal agendas to win. Not to be confused with Netrunner, the 1996 the game by Richard Garfield.

3
votes
1answer
36 views

What Programs Work Duing a Jak Sinclair Run

Jak Sinclair has the following ability: When your turn begins, you may make a run. You cannot use programs during this run. This pretty clearly prevents the use of paid abilities such as ...
1
vote
1answer
38 views

Can Apex Install Non-Virtual Resources via Assimilator?

Apex has the abilities: You cannot install non-virtual resources. When your turn begins, you may install 1 card from your grip facedown. Assimilator says: [click], [click]: Turn one of ...
1
vote
2answers
34 views

Should the Awakening Center be rezed to host cards?

Do I need to rez the Awakening Center to install cards on it, or it can host them even being face down?
1
vote
1answer
542 views

Is it legal to use a paper and a pen during Android: Netrunner play?

Can one make writings or log during the Android: Netrunner play? Or every player should use only its own memory?
3
votes
2answers
224 views

How to choose initial directives for Adam?

Since fourth directive came out, Adam players got to choose which 3 directives to pick at the start of the game. There are 4 options: Always Be Running Safety First Neutralize All Threats Find the ...
3
votes
1answer
120 views

Can Sacrificial Construct be uses to prevent the trash of cards like Clone Chip or Shiv?

Sacrificial Construct says: [Trash]: Prevent an installed program or an installed piece of hardware from being trashed. Does this mean it can be used to prevent the trashing of cards like Clone ...
3
votes
1answer
51 views

Neutralize All Threats - Am I required to trash the second card accessed if I was not able to trash the first one?

I've got the Neutralize All Threats and one credit. I make a run, say on a remote server, and access Space Camp. Since it costs 3 credits to trash, I can't afford the cost to trash it. Then I make a ...
1
vote
2answers
280 views

How to counter BOOM! + Breaking News + 24/7 News Cycle?

How a runner could counter BOOM! based combo (BOOM!, Breaking News, 24/7 News Cycle) in the corp's deck?
2
votes
1answer
111 views

How many steals runner do when accessing multiple agendas in the archives?

The runner accesses cards in archives and there are 3 agendas in it. The corp's identity is the "Argus Security" (whenever the runner steals an agenda, he or she must either take 1 tag or suffer 2 ...
5
votes
2answers
279 views

When can corp trash its own ice?

The Rules (page 13) say: When installing a card in a server, the Corporation can first trash any cards already installed in that server. And also: When installing ice, the Corporation can ...
1
vote
2answers
101 views

Can the Runner prevent resources trashing via the “The All-Seeing I” if there is no bad publicity?

The corp does not have any bad publicity tokens and plays the "The All-Seeing I". Can the runner prevent resources from being trashed?
0
votes
2answers
52 views

Why cards installment mentioned on the Diversified Portfolio?

The Diversified Portfolio says: "Gain 1 credit for each remote server with a card installed in it". I wonder why the installment is mentioned in the text? There is no a remote server without cards ...
1
vote
1answer
78 views

What is the meaning of dots in some of the Apex's cards?

Some apex's cards from the Data and Destiny have dotted pattern (for exaple Harbinger). What does it mean?
0
votes
2answers
101 views

Multiple “Security Testing” within a single server?

Can I choose the same server for two copies of Security Testing and get 4 credits from the first run on it?
2
votes
2answers
141 views

How should one access HQ cards with the “Legwork”

In the case of successful run via the Legwork how the runner should access cards? Should he take them all at once? Or he should take one, return it back into the Grip, and take another two attempts?
1
vote
1answer
76 views

Do I need to reveal card added with the Archived Memories?

I've got no face-down cards in the archives. I play Archived Memories. Do I need to show card I add to the HQ with it? Or the only thing runner can do is to watch the archives after this and figure ...
0
votes
1answer
83 views

Can I use Datasucker without icebreakers?

I've got a Datasucker. Can I use its ability "Hosted virus counter: Rezzed piece of ice currently being encountered has -1 strength until the end of the encounter" even if I do not have any icebreaker ...
1
vote
2answers
83 views

Does a run on empty archives add counter on Datasucker?

I've got a Datasucker. Does a run on empty archives without ice counts as "successful run on a central server"? In other words, if the corp does not have an ice on archives (maybe empty, maybe without ...
3
votes
2answers
69 views

What happens if installed Medium is trashed during access on R&D?

Let's say Runner has a Medium installed with 3 virus counters on it and performs a successful run on R&D, choosing to access the maximum 3 cards they are entitled to. If the first card is a ...
4
votes
1answer
67 views

What happens with cards hosted on Builder after moving it to another server?

Consider Builder with installment(s). A Patch for example. What happens with it after the Builder being moved to another server? Nothing, I suppose? Seems like all the installments move with the ...
5
votes
2answers
127 views

How often can I trigger private security force

So let's say I've scored private security force and the runner is tagged. On my next turn can I use all 3 clicks to do 3 damage? I'm a bit unclear at what points I can perform these kind of actions.
4
votes
2answers
107 views

Is upgraded icebreaker strength per subroutine

If I pay credits to upgrade the strength of my ice breaker do I have to pay to do that for every subroutine or does the upgraded strength last for the whole encounter?
0
votes
0answers
17 views

Runs on remotes which end up empty or non-existent: successful or not? [duplicate]

If a Runner runs on a server with one piece of ICE and a single card installed in the root, proceeds past the ICE (either by breaking it or by it not being rezzed - I don't think it matters), but then ...
3
votes
2answers
317 views

Breaking ICE - exactly how should strength be treated?

Sorry if this is quite a basic question, but I've reviewed the rule book a few times and haven't been able to answer it myself (although I appreciate that doesn't mean the answer isn't there, but I've ...
2
votes
2answers
111 views

To what extent is a Runner forced to take actions to pay for a Tollbooth?

Playing against a Shaper (Kit) deck, I had a situation where the Runner encountered my Tollbooth with zero credit in their pool. They did have 2 credits on a Ghost Runner and also had a Cloak (with ...
3
votes
1answer
84 views

Invoking abilities not needed in order to charge Net Mercur

Is the Runner allowed to invoke abilities from cards which they do not need in order to add a credit to Net Mercur? For example, let's say the Runner uses their last click to run on Archives (which ...
1
vote
1answer
49 views

Eater trashed during the run: still can't acess card during the run?

A runner makes run on a server protected by two ices. The second one is Nebula. The runner uses the Eater to break all subroutines on the first ice. Than runner encounters Nebula and it destroys eater....
4
votes
2answers
82 views

Where should I place tokens via Builder resolved from another server?

I've got several ices on a remote server. On the top of them - rezzed Builder. I've got rezzed Wormhole, protecting another server (HQ, for example). The runner makes a run on HQ and faces the ...
0
votes
2answers
125 views

Does Femme Fatale target exactly 1 ice, or all with same name?

If the corp has multiple copies of the same ice, Wall of Static for example, and the runner plays Femme Fatale and chooses a Wall of Static for its special ability, does that mean the runner can use ...
4
votes
2answers
232 views

Can I advance an agenda over it's scoring cost?

Say, can I put 3 advancement tokens on Hostile Takeover?
1
vote
1answer
159 views

What happens if an Ice's subroutine can't be resolved?

I've got an Ice with subroutine: "Trash 1 program". What happens if the subroutine triggers and the runner does not have a program? The question is motivated by the next facts: There are obligatory ...
2
votes
1answer
172 views

Should I forfeit an agenda when rezzing Archer via Priority Requisition?

I've got an unrezzed Archer. I score a Priority Requisition and use it to rez Archer. Do I have to forfeit an agenda?
1
vote
1answer
83 views

Is the click a part of install cost?

The card says something like "paying install cost" (Hayley Kaplan, Shipment from MirrorMorpt). Is the click a part of install cost?
0
votes
0answers
32 views

Can a runner play events during the run? [duplicate]

Can a runner play events during the run? Timing structure of a run says that paid abilities could be played. What about events?
1
vote
1answer
55 views

Account Siphon on the corp with < 5 credits in the bank

I use the "Account Siphon" ( https://netrunnerdb.com/en/card/01018 ) and the corp has only three credits. No ice is installed on HQ. How many credits will I get? 6?
4
votes
1answer
328 views

Can a runner make a run on an “empty” remote server?

A runner has "Bank Job" ( https://netrunnerdb.com/en/card/01029 ). Can he (or she) make a run on a remote server without any installments (ice, asset, upgrades, agenda)? In other words, can a runner ...
10
votes
1answer
197 views

When does Adam choose and install Directives?

Adam's ID ability is, "You start the game with 3 different directive cards installed (these cards are not considered part of your deck)." Now (since Escalation) that there are more than 3 options for ...
3
votes
2answers
246 views

Bioroid 2.0 Ice: can runner spend 2 clicks more than once?

The text of the Heimdall 2.0 (https://netrunnerdb.com/en/card/03015) says: "The Runner can spend 2 clicks to break up to 2 subroutines on Heimdall 2.0". Is this a one-time use perk or something the ...
3
votes
2answers
188 views

Must take net damage vs prevent net damage

If a runner hits a shi.kyu can the runner use guru davinder to prevent the damage and both effects? Can the runner decide to take the net damage and then prevent the net damage with guru davinder? ...
7
votes
4answers
3k views

I don't really understand how the expansions/data packs work in android netrunner

I bought the core set a while ago and now I'd like to get some more cards, afaik there are multiple ways to do that: data packs deluxe expansions big box? What's the difference between them? As I've ...
2
votes
1answer
97 views

Drug Dealer trigger priority

When exactly does Drug Dealer trigger? It says "When the corp's turn begins, draw 1 card." When does that trigger on the corp's turn? Does it trigger before the corp gets priority on turn 1.2? ...
3
votes
1answer
299 views

What happens if the runner choses to play [Magnum Opus] twice?

Is there any benefit to installing the same card twice? Particularly a card like Magnum Opus? (I understand the point for most hardware and the like, but what about ice breakers and magnum opus)
1
vote
1answer
111 views

When does the 'Your turn begins' phase end?

Does a "when your turn begins" action trigger if the card is not in play during the "turn begins" phase but comes into play during the phase? For example "the supplier" hosting a "drug dealer".
3
votes
1answer
140 views

Psi 0, 1, or 2 games - are credits from thin air or player's pool?

Psychic Field mentions spending credits. Are both players actually spending these credits from their credit pool, or are these imaginary credits? If a runner has 0 credits, this is basically a ...
0
votes
1answer
157 views

Android: Netrunner judge program

Does Android: Netrunner have anything similar to Magic the Gathering's judge program?
4
votes
1answer
174 views

Accessing advanced agendas

Say a runner accesses an agenda that already has advancement counters on it, but hasn't been scored. As well as the runner stealing the agenda, what happens to the tokens? Are they trashed, or stolen ...
6
votes
3answers
601 views

Why isn't MU shown on Runner identities?

The fact that Runners have a default 4 memory units is absent from all printed data, and I'm curious if there's a specific design reason why. I can see how, thematically, the MU is not really a Runner ...
3
votes
1answer
425 views

How many cards can I access in R&D / HQ?

My girlfriend and I started playing Netrunner this weekend, and after our first game taking roughly 4 days, we're now enjoying it! I'm assuming that I'm just being thick here, but the manual never ...
0
votes
1answer
100 views

Thematic relevance of credits when icebreaking

I find Android: Netrunner to be one of the most thematically rich games I've ever played. The role of credits is obvious in many of the interactions and mechanics; in the game, much like in real life, ...
2
votes
1answer
183 views

Core Set ways of dealing with Magnum Opus

So, admittedly, I'm brand new to Android: Netrunner. I only own the core set, I've only played five or six times, and I've only played as the Corp. I have moderately strong gaming experience, and ...