Questions tagged [android-netrunner]

Android: Netrunner is a cyberpunk-themed asymmetrical living card game edition based on the original CCG Netrunner. Players take the role of either a corporation or a runner and attempt to advance or steal agendas to win. Not to be confused with Netrunner, the 1996 the game by Richard Garfield.

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
22 votes
3 answers
3k views

When should I mulligan in Android: Netrunner?

I expect this is quite an open question, but I'll try to keep it on point: I know it depends on specific deck tactics, but under what circumstances should I consider mulliganing? My initial thoughts ...
2 votes
1 answer
77 views

Should I trash a program after "Test Run" and then "Scavenge"?

I use Test Run to install a program. Magnum Opus for example. Then I use Scavenge to trash the Magnum Opus and install it back. Should I trash the Magnum Opus at the end of the turn?
3 votes
2 answers
3k views

Does ice ever break in Netrunner?

I recently learned how to play Netrunner and it seems to me that the corporation has a large advantage because ice doesn't break if bypassed. As a corp I can just keep piling on ice and the runner can'...
3 votes
2 answers
136 views

What does the "Ice" word means in terms of Netrunner's Lore?

Why defending programs in the game of Android Netrunner are called Ice? Is it an acronym? Or something else?
3 votes
1 answer
40 views

Is False Lead's effect activated when it is forfeited by another card's effect?

Is the text interpreted as "When this agenda is forfeited: if the runner has 2 or more clicks remaining, they lose 2 clicks." or "Forfeit this agenda to activate this ability: if the ...
1 vote
1 answer
40 views

Does the "Smoke" id counts as stealth card?

There are several (mostly shaper's) cards with text like "... only by spending credits from stealth cards". For example: Dai V. Does the Ele "Smoke" Scovak id itself count as a ...
1 vote
1 answer
54 views

Can I activate Keegan Lane via Acme Consulting ability?

Can I activate Keegan Lane (trash+"virtual" tag removal) during the runner's encounter with the outermost piece of ice if the id is Acme Consulting? The runner has no tags before the run and the ice ...
0 votes
1 answer
53 views

What is the starting side of the "SYNC: Everything, Everywhere"?

What side of card should I use when starting the game with the "SYNC: Everything, Everywhere" Id?
1 vote
1 answer
59 views

Can the New Angeles Sol prevent a current from being trashed if an agenda was stolen?

The corp's id is the New Angeles Sol: Your News and some current is on the table. Say runner steals an agenda. What is the order of abilities triggered? The current is trashed and then corp's id can ...
1 vote
1 answer
46 views

In what location do assets gain "advertisement" via Rebranding Team?

Rebranding Team says All assets gain advertisement. Does it matter where the asset is located? Say, do assets from HQ or Archives also gain "advertisement"?
4 votes
1 answer
97 views

How should DJ Fenris be played?

I can't catch how DJ Fenris should be played in terms of the game rules? I just bring all 13 g-mod ids, put them somewhere on the table and choose one of them when the Fenris is installed? Or this ids ...
1 vote
1 answer
70 views

MUs from Memory Strips for Deep Data Mining?

Do memory units provided by MemStrips count as free slots for Deep Data Mining? The hard part is the "use the MU on MemStrips only for virus programs" note on the MemStrips. For example, I’ve got 3 ...
7 votes
2 answers
192 views

What happens if both players get to 7 points at the same time?

Let's say the runner and corp are both at 4 points. The runner is tagged. The runner runs on archives and accesses 3 Quantum Predictive Models and a Restructured Data Pool. This would put both ...
0 votes
1 answer
93 views

Does a runner lose a click when encountering Enigma with no clicks left?

The Corp has Seidr Laboratories: Destiny Defined ID: „The first time each turn the Runner loses or spends click during a run, you may add 1 card from Archives to the top of R&D“. A runner ...
4 votes
1 answer
653 views

Is it legal to use a paper and a pen during Android: Netrunner play?

Can one make writings or log during the Android: Netrunner play? Or every player should use only its own memory?
3 votes
1 answer
141 views

Do I need to reveal card added with the Archived Memories?

I've got no face-down cards in the archives. I play Archived Memories. Do I need to show card I add to the HQ with it? Or the only thing runner can do is to watch the archives after this and figure ...
3 votes
4 answers
1k views

Possible to play 2x2 with 1 core set and data pack in Netrunner?

I have just purchased the Android Netrunner Core Set, played a few games, and am now excited to play more. The problem is that our usual gaming group consists of 4 people, and to my knowledge the ...
11 votes
2 answers
1k views

What are some common tactics to make runs against servers with unrezzed ICE in Netrunner?

When I play as a runner, I tend to be apprehensive about unrezzed ICE unless I have a breaker of each type and a pile of credits. Naturally, neither of those things are in place early in the game, and ...
6 votes
2 answers
251 views

Netrunner Stalemate

A stalemate is possible in Netrunner if all of the following are true: Sufficient agenda points have been taken out of play that neither player can get to 7 points, such as through forfeiting agendas ...
8 votes
3 answers
2k views

How compatible are the two versions of Netrunner?

I have a stash of the original Netrunner game. If I were to play a game against someone with the Android:Netrunner game, what changes/adjustments would we need to make?
6 votes
3 answers
840 views

Why isn't MU shown on Runner identities?

The fact that Runners have a default 4 memory units is absent from all printed data, and I'm curious if there's a specific design reason why. I can see how, thematically, the MU is not really a Runner ...
2 votes
1 answer
127 views

Can Apex Install Non-Virtual Resources via Assimilator?

Apex has the abilities: You cannot install non-virtual resources. When your turn begins, you may install 1 card from your grip facedown. Assimilator says: [click], [click]: Turn one of your ...
4 votes
1 answer
58 views

What Programs Work Duing a Jak Sinclair Run

Jak Sinclair has the following ability: When your turn begins, you may make a run. You cannot use programs during this run. This pretty clearly prevents the use of paid abilities such as ...
1 vote
2 answers
92 views

Should the Awakening Center be rezed to host cards?

Do I need to rez the Awakening Center to install cards on it, or it can host them even being face down?
3 votes
2 answers
454 views

How to choose initial directives for Adam?

Since fourth directive came out, Adam players got to choose which 3 directives to pick at the start of the game. There are 4 options: Always Be Running Safety First Neutralize All Threats Find the ...
8 votes
3 answers
1k views

What is e3 Feedback Implants good for?

Whenever you break a subroutine on a piece of ice, you may pay 1 cred to break 1 additional subroutine on that ice. When would I need this card? With most icebreakers, it's 1 cred to break a ...
3 votes
1 answer
177 views

Can Sacrificial Construct be uses to prevent the trash of cards like Clone Chip or Shiv?

Sacrificial Construct says: [Trash]: Prevent an installed program or an installed piece of hardware from being trashed. Does this mean it can be used to prevent the trashing of cards like Clone ...
1 vote
2 answers
534 views

How to counter BOOM! + Breaking News + 24/7 News Cycle?

How a runner could counter BOOM! based combo (BOOM!, Breaking News, 24/7 News Cycle) in the corp's deck?
3 votes
1 answer
64 views

Neutralize All Threats - Am I required to trash the second card accessed if I was not able to trash the first one?

I've got the Neutralize All Threats and one credit. I make a run, say on a remote server, and access Space Camp. Since it costs 3 credits to trash, I can't afford the cost to trash it. Then I make a ...
6 votes
1 answer
462 views

How exactly does 'Inside Job' work?

When a runner uses Inside Job, does the runner only bypass the first 'rezzed' piece of ice, since the card text says 'bypass the first piece of ice encountered during the run.' ? ( emphasis added) ...
4 votes
1 answer
399 views

Can Mushin No Shin be played on any card?

Thanks for reading: Mushin No shin can be used to advance cards; I assume that that these cards are only assets, upgrades or agendas that can be advanced. Does this mean that I can place advancement ...
6 votes
2 answers
255 views

Can a corp have more than 1 'Chairman Hiro' rezzed at the same time?

Chairmain Hiro: Can a corp have more than 1 'Chairman Hiro' rezzed at the same time?
8 votes
2 answers
803 views

Placing advancements on non-advanceable cards

I know you can't advance something that is non-advanceable, but what about the Runner? In the new Opening Moves Data Pack, there is a card called "Queen's Gambit" (according to the pics). It says: ...
11 votes
2 answers
1k views

Should runners be able to tell the difference between installed upgrades and agendas/assets?

If a corporation installs an upgrade on a remote server, should the runner be able to tell it's an upgrade, and not an asset or agenda? You can install multiple upgrades, but only one asset or agenda....
5 votes
2 answers
412 views

Can I advance an agenda over it's scoring cost?

Say, can I put 3 advancement tokens on Hostile Takeover?
4 votes
2 answers
319 views

Bioroid 2.0 Ice: can runner spend 2 clicks more than once?

The text of the Heimdall 2.0 (https://netrunnerdb.com/en/card/03015) says: "The Runner can spend 2 clicks to break up to 2 subroutines on Heimdall 2.0". Is this a one-time use perk or something the ...
0 votes
2 answers
189 views

Does Femme Fatale target exactly 1 ice, or all with same name?

If the corp has multiple copies of the same ice, Wall of Static for example, and the runner plays Femme Fatale and chooses a Wall of Static for its special ability, does that mean the runner can use ...
3 votes
1 answer
431 views

What happens if the runner choses to play [Magnum Opus] twice?

Is there any benefit to installing the same card twice? Particularly a card like Magnum Opus? (I understand the point for most hardware and the like, but what about ice breakers and magnum opus)
9 votes
3 answers
2k views

Can abilities with a [Click] cost be used during a run?

Some abilities have a [Click] cost to them, such as Crypsis' ability to add a virus counter to it. Does it count as a "paid ability" for the purposes of the Run Timeline? I.e. could I, mid-run, add a ...
3 votes
2 answers
2k views

Are the virus counters on Datasucker only for the current turn?

When playing Datasucker virus (anarchs), are the virus counters permanent or do you have to clear them at the end of the turn? Even worst, do you have to clear them at the end of a run? Datasucker:...
4 votes
3 answers
3k views

Can we fake-advance any card?

Some Assets can be advanced (e.g. Project Junebug) and some can't (e.g. Snare!). Is it OK to advance any asset cards to make them look like Agenda? For example, with the ambush assets the Runner ...
6 votes
2 answers
4k views

Can a runner trash ICE or Operation cards after a run on the HQ?

A sneaky runner managed to make his way into my corporate HQ. I let him pick a card at random from my hand (I had no upgrades), and it just happened to be a piece of ICE or an Operation or maybe even ...
1 vote
2 answers
144 views

Multiple "Security Testing" within a single server?

Can I choose the same server for two copies of Security Testing and get 4 credits from the first run on it?
2 votes
2 answers
174 views

To what extent is a Runner forced to take actions to pay for a Tollbooth?

Playing against a Shaper (Kit) deck, I had a situation where the Runner encountered my Tollbooth with zero credit in their pool. They did have 2 credits on a Ghost Runner and also had a Cloak (with ...
2 votes
1 answer
277 views

How many steals runner do when accessing multiple agendas in the archives?

The runner accesses cards in archives and there are 3 agendas in it. The corp's identity is the "Argus Security" (whenever the runner steals an agenda, he or she must either take 1 tag or suffer 2 ...
3 votes
2 answers
221 views

Is upgraded icebreaker strength per subroutine

If I pay credits to upgrade the strength of my ice breaker do I have to pay to do that for every subroutine or does the upgraded strength last for the whole encounter?
3 votes
2 answers
216 views

How should one access HQ cards with the "Legwork"

In the case of successful run via the Legwork how the runner should access cards? Should he take them all at once? Or he should take one, return it back into the Grip, and take another two attempts?
2 votes
2 answers
547 views

Breaking ICE - exactly how should strength be treated?

Sorry if this is quite a basic question, but I've reviewed the rule book a few times and haven't been able to answer it myself (although I appreciate that doesn't mean the answer isn't there, but I've ...
3 votes
2 answers
88 views

What happens if installed Medium is trashed during access on R&D?

Let's say Runner has a Medium installed with 3 virus counters on it and performs a successful run on R&D, choosing to access the maximum 3 cards they are entitled to. If the first card is a ...
5 votes
2 answers
215 views

How often can I trigger private security force

So let's say I've scored private security force and the runner is tagged. On my next turn can I use all 3 clicks to do 3 damage? I'm a bit unclear at what points I can perform these kind of actions.