Questions tagged [android-netrunner]

Android: Netrunner is a cyberpunk-themed asymmetrical living card game edition based on the original CCG Netrunner. Players take the role of either a corporation or a runner and attempt to advance or steal agendas to win. Not to be confused with Netrunner, the 1996 the game by Richard Garfield.

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
3 votes
1 answer
40 views

Is False Lead's effect activated when it is forfeited by another card's effect?

Is the text interpreted as "When this agenda is forfeited: if the runner has 2 or more clicks remaining, they lose 2 clicks." or "Forfeit this agenda to activate this ability: if the ...
user avatar
  • 31
1 vote
1 answer
40 views

Does the "Smoke" id counts as stealth card?

There are several (mostly shaper's) cards with text like "... only by spending credits from stealth cards". For example: Dai V. Does the Ele "Smoke" Scovak id itself count as a ...
user avatar
3 votes
2 answers
144 views

What does the "Ice" word means in terms of Netrunner's Lore?

Why defending programs in the game of Android Netrunner are called Ice? Is it an acronym? Or something else?
user avatar
2 votes
1 answer
80 views

Should I trash a program after "Test Run" and then "Scavenge"?

I use Test Run to install a program. Magnum Opus for example. Then I use Scavenge to trash the Magnum Opus and install it back. Should I trash the Magnum Opus at the end of the turn?
user avatar
1 vote
1 answer
54 views

Can I activate Keegan Lane via Acme Consulting ability?

Can I activate Keegan Lane (trash+"virtual" tag removal) during the runner's encounter with the outermost piece of ice if the id is Acme Consulting? The runner has no tags before the run and the ice ...
user avatar
0 votes
1 answer
54 views

What is the starting side of the "SYNC: Everything, Everywhere"?

What side of card should I use when starting the game with the "SYNC: Everything, Everywhere" Id?
user avatar
1 vote
1 answer
59 views

Can the New Angeles Sol prevent a current from being trashed if an agenda was stolen?

The corp's id is the New Angeles Sol: Your News and some current is on the table. Say runner steals an agenda. What is the order of abilities triggered? The current is trashed and then corp's id can ...
user avatar
1 vote
1 answer
46 views

In what location do assets gain "advertisement" via Rebranding Team?

Rebranding Team says All assets gain advertisement. Does it matter where the asset is located? Say, do assets from HQ or Archives also gain "advertisement"?
user avatar
1 vote
1 answer
72 views

MUs from Memory Strips for Deep Data Mining?

Do memory units provided by MemStrips count as free slots for Deep Data Mining? The hard part is the "use the MU on MemStrips only for virus programs" note on the MemStrips. For example, I’ve got 3 ...
user avatar
4 votes
1 answer
98 views

How should DJ Fenris be played?

I can't catch how DJ Fenris should be played in terms of the game rules? I just bring all 13 g-mod ids, put them somewhere on the table and choose one of them when the Fenris is installed? Or this ids ...
user avatar
0 votes
1 answer
95 views

Does a runner lose a click when encountering Enigma with no clicks left?

The Corp has Seidr Laboratories: Destiny Defined ID: „The first time each turn the Runner loses or spends click during a run, you may add 1 card from Archives to the top of R&D“. A runner ...
user avatar
7 votes
2 answers
194 views

What happens if both players get to 7 points at the same time?

Let's say the runner and corp are both at 4 points. The runner is tagged. The runner runs on archives and accesses 3 Quantum Predictive Models and a Restructured Data Pool. This would put both ...
user avatar
  • 16.4k
6 votes
2 answers
252 views

Netrunner Stalemate

A stalemate is possible in Netrunner if all of the following are true: Sufficient agenda points have been taken out of play that neither player can get to 7 points, such as through forfeiting agendas ...
user avatar
  • 16.4k
4 votes
1 answer
59 views

What Programs Work Duing a Jak Sinclair Run

Jak Sinclair has the following ability: When your turn begins, you may make a run. You cannot use programs during this run. This pretty clearly prevents the use of paid abilities such as ...
user avatar
  • 16.4k
2 votes
1 answer
130 views

Can Apex Install Non-Virtual Resources via Assimilator?

Apex has the abilities: You cannot install non-virtual resources. When your turn begins, you may install 1 card from your grip facedown. Assimilator says: [click], [click]: Turn one of your ...
user avatar
  • 16.4k
1 vote
2 answers
92 views

Should the Awakening Center be rezed to host cards?

Do I need to rez the Awakening Center to install cards on it, or it can host them even being face down?
user avatar
4 votes
1 answer
654 views

Is it legal to use a paper and a pen during Android: Netrunner play?

Can one make writings or log during the Android: Netrunner play? Or every player should use only its own memory?
user avatar
3 votes
2 answers
459 views

How to choose initial directives for Adam?

Since fourth directive came out, Adam players got to choose which 3 directives to pick at the start of the game. There are 4 options: Always Be Running Safety First Neutralize All Threats Find the ...
user avatar
  • 3,216
3 votes
1 answer
179 views

Can Sacrificial Construct be uses to prevent the trash of cards like Clone Chip or Shiv?

Sacrificial Construct says: [Trash]: Prevent an installed program or an installed piece of hardware from being trashed. Does this mean it can be used to prevent the trashing of cards like Clone ...
user avatar
  • 13k
3 votes
1 answer
66 views

Neutralize All Threats - Am I required to trash the second card accessed if I was not able to trash the first one?

I've got the Neutralize All Threats and one credit. I make a run, say on a remote server, and access Space Camp. Since it costs 3 credits to trash, I can't afford the cost to trash it. Then I make a ...
user avatar
1 vote
2 answers
537 views

How to counter BOOM! + Breaking News + 24/7 News Cycle?

How a runner could counter BOOM! based combo (BOOM!, Breaking News, 24/7 News Cycle) in the corp's deck?
user avatar
2 votes
1 answer
285 views

How many steals runner do when accessing multiple agendas in the archives?

The runner accesses cards in archives and there are 3 agendas in it. The corp's identity is the "Argus Security" (whenever the runner steals an agenda, he or she must either take 1 tag or suffer 2 ...
user avatar
7 votes
2 answers
516 views

When can corp trash its own ice?

The Rules (page 13) say: When installing a card in a server, the Corporation can first trash any cards already installed in that server. And also: When installing ice, the Corporation can ...
user avatar
  • 173
1 vote
2 answers
163 views

Can the Runner prevent resources trashing via the "The All-Seeing I" if there is no bad publicity?

The corp does not have any bad publicity tokens and plays the "The All-Seeing I". Can the runner prevent resources from being trashed?
user avatar
0 votes
2 answers
59 views

Why cards installment mentioned on the Diversified Portfolio?

The Diversified Portfolio says: "Gain 1 credit for each remote server with a card installed in it". I wonder why the installment is mentioned in the text? There is no a remote server without cards ...
user avatar
1 vote
1 answer
149 views

What is the meaning of dots in some of the Apex's cards?

Some apex's cards from the Data and Destiny have dotted pattern (for exaple Harbinger). What does it mean?
user avatar
1 vote
2 answers
145 views

Multiple "Security Testing" within a single server?

Can I choose the same server for two copies of Security Testing and get 4 credits from the first run on it?
user avatar
3 votes
2 answers
217 views

How should one access HQ cards with the "Legwork"

In the case of successful run via the Legwork how the runner should access cards? Should he take them all at once? Or he should take one, return it back into the Grip, and take another two attempts?
user avatar
3 votes
1 answer
144 views

Do I need to reveal card added with the Archived Memories?

I've got no face-down cards in the archives. I play Archived Memories. Do I need to show card I add to the HQ with it? Or the only thing runner can do is to watch the archives after this and figure ...
user avatar
2 votes
1 answer
100 views

Can I use Datasucker without icebreakers?

I've got a Datasucker. Can I use its ability "Hosted virus counter: Rezzed piece of ice currently being encountered has -1 strength until the end of the encounter" even if I do not have any icebreaker ...
user avatar
2 votes
2 answers
146 views

Does a run on empty archives add counter on Datasucker?

I've got a Datasucker. Does a run on empty archives without ice counts as "successful run on a central server"? In other words, if the corp does not have an ice on archives (maybe empty, maybe without ...
user avatar
3 votes
2 answers
89 views

What happens if installed Medium is trashed during access on R&D?

Let's say Runner has a Medium installed with 3 virus counters on it and performs a successful run on R&D, choosing to access the maximum 3 cards they are entitled to. If the first card is a ...
user avatar
  • 510
4 votes
1 answer
80 views

What happens with cards hosted on Builder after moving it to another server?

Consider Builder with installment(s). A Patch for example. What happens with it after the Builder being moved to another server? Nothing, I suppose? Seems like all the installments move with the ...
user avatar
5 votes
2 answers
217 views

How often can I trigger private security force

So let's say I've scored private security force and the runner is tagged. On my next turn can I use all 3 clicks to do 3 damage? I'm a bit unclear at what points I can perform these kind of actions.
user avatar
  • 185
3 votes
2 answers
241 views

Is upgraded icebreaker strength per subroutine

If I pay credits to upgrade the strength of my ice breaker do I have to pay to do that for every subroutine or does the upgraded strength last for the whole encounter?
user avatar
  • 185
0 votes
0 answers
26 views

Runs on remotes which end up empty or non-existent: successful or not? [duplicate]

If a Runner runs on a server with one piece of ICE and a single card installed in the root, proceeds past the ICE (either by breaking it or by it not being rezzed - I don't think it matters), but then ...
user avatar
  • 510
2 votes
2 answers
560 views

Breaking ICE - exactly how should strength be treated?

Sorry if this is quite a basic question, but I've reviewed the rule book a few times and haven't been able to answer it myself (although I appreciate that doesn't mean the answer isn't there, but I've ...
user avatar
  • 510
2 votes
2 answers
180 views

To what extent is a Runner forced to take actions to pay for a Tollbooth?

Playing against a Shaper (Kit) deck, I had a situation where the Runner encountered my Tollbooth with zero credit in their pool. They did have 2 credits on a Ghost Runner and also had a Cloak (with ...
user avatar
  • 510
3 votes
1 answer
111 views

Invoking abilities not needed in order to charge Net Mercur

Is the Runner allowed to invoke abilities from cards which they do not need in order to add a credit to Net Mercur? For example, let's say the Runner uses their last click to run on Archives (which ...
user avatar
  • 510
1 vote
1 answer
51 views

Eater trashed during the run: still can't acess card during the run?

A runner makes run on a server protected by two ices. The second one is Nebula. The runner uses the Eater to break all subroutines on the first ice. Than runner encounters Nebula and it destroys eater....
user avatar
3 votes
2 answers
88 views

Where should I place tokens via Builder resolved from another server?

I've got several ices on a remote server. On the top of them - rezzed Builder. I've got rezzed Wormhole, protecting another server (HQ, for example). The runner makes a run on HQ and faces the ...
user avatar
0 votes
2 answers
193 views

Does Femme Fatale target exactly 1 ice, or all with same name?

If the corp has multiple copies of the same ice, Wall of Static for example, and the runner plays Femme Fatale and chooses a Wall of Static for its special ability, does that mean the runner can use ...
user avatar
  • 1
5 votes
2 answers
422 views

Can I advance an agenda over it's scoring cost?

Say, can I put 3 advancement tokens on Hostile Takeover?
user avatar
1 vote
1 answer
235 views

What happens if an Ice's subroutine can't be resolved?

I've got an Ice with subroutine: "Trash 1 program". What happens if the subroutine triggers and the runner does not have a program? The question is motivated by the next facts: There are obligatory ...
user avatar
2 votes
1 answer
233 views

Should I forfeit an agenda when rezzing Archer via Priority Requisition?

I've got an unrezzed Archer. I score a Priority Requisition and use it to rez Archer. Do I have to forfeit an agenda?
user avatar
1 vote
1 answer
101 views

Is the click a part of install cost?

The card says something like "paying install cost" (Hayley Kaplan, Shipment from MirrorMorpt). Is the click a part of install cost?
user avatar
0 votes
0 answers
103 views

Can a runner play events during the run? [duplicate]

Can a runner play events during the run? Timing structure of a run says that paid abilities could be played. What about events?
user avatar
1 vote
1 answer
67 views

Account Siphon on the corp with < 5 credits in the bank

I use the "Account Siphon" ( https://netrunnerdb.com/en/card/01018 ) and the corp has only three credits. No ice is installed on HQ. How many credits will I get? 6?
user avatar
3 votes
1 answer
551 views

Can a runner make a run on an "empty" remote server?

A runner has "Bank Job" ( https://netrunnerdb.com/en/card/01029 ). Can he (or she) make a run on a remote server without any installments (ice, asset, upgrades, agenda)? In other words, can a runner ...
user avatar
9 votes
1 answer
216 views

When does Adam choose and install Directives?

Adam's ID ability is, "You start the game with 3 different directive cards installed (these cards are not considered part of your deck)." Now (since Escalation) that there are more than 3 options for ...
user avatar