Questions tagged [arkham-horror]

Arkham Horror is an atmospheric, cooperative adventure game set in the Cthulhu Mythos of H.P. Lovecraft. Use this tag for questions for the second edition of the game.

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
0 votes
1 answer
23 views

Arkham Horror 2nd Edition: Can I sneak past a monster that moved to my investigator's location?

If my investigator is stationary and a monster moves to his/her location through some random effect can I still try to evade it or do I go to the horror check immediately?
MACC's user avatar
  • 277
0 votes
1 answer
17 views

Does ending an encounter phase on a street trigger sky monster movement?

If I have an encounter with an investigator that results in moving said investigator to a street and there are monsters waiting in the sky, do they move to that street and encounter that investigator? ...
MACC's user avatar
  • 277
4 votes
1 answer
163 views

What happens if you go insane as a result of casting a spell during the final battle?

The rules state that being reduced to zero sanity as a result of the ancient one's attack results in being devoured, but what if you are reduced to zero sanity as a result of casting a spell?
Liam Reilly's user avatar
3 votes
1 answer
324 views

Do you keep monster trophies when defeating a monster in an "A monster appears" encounter?

The rules seem to be contradictory with respect to what happens with monsters who appear in an encounter and get defeated. From p. 22 of the rulebook, "No matter how the encounter is resolved, ...
Stephen Politzer-Ahles's user avatar
1 vote
2 answers
176 views

Can "Healing Stone" be used to gain Stamina or Sanity beyond the investigator's initial values?

Can the unique item "Healing Stone" be used to gain Stamina or Sanity beyond the investigator's initial values? The card doesn't include this restriction so I am assuming you can but wanted to make ...
MACC's user avatar
  • 277
9 votes
3 answers
431 views

"The Terrible Experiment" Mythos Card - How to deal with it?

Yesterday my game was progressing quite smoothly until we got "The Terrible Experiment" Mythos card. http://www.arkhamhorrorwiki.com/The_Terrible_Experiment We were playing with two investigators ...
MACC's user avatar
  • 277
5 votes
1 answer
1k views

What is the maximum number of dice you can roll in Arkham Horror 2nd Edition?

I have the complete set of Arkham Horror 2e, including all the expansions. I'm now wanting to get some custom dice for AH, and I'd like to know what the max number of dice needed is to be able to ...
Keven M's user avatar
  • 163
4 votes
2 answers
177 views

Does entering a fight prevent use of cards with effects during movement phase afterwards?

According to the rules, entering a fight during movement phase ends movement. But as the fight itself is part of the movement phase, this does not mean, that the whole phase ends. We interpreted "...
crater2150's user avatar
2 votes
1 answer
531 views

Can I cast a spell in combat check after having rolled?

In the Arkham Horror board game, consider the following: I am about to do a combat check fighting a monster. I already decided I want to use a spell in combat (e.g. "Wither"; it is untapped, I have ...
Tim W's user avatar
  • 23
5 votes
1 answer
453 views

Are tasks and missions considered items?

If I draw a task or a mission from a Common Item or Unique Item deck respectively, are they considered "items" when face up? For instance, if I draw the "Join the Winning Team" mission and am later ...
Thunderforge's user avatar
  • 8,580
9 votes
1 answer
642 views

If I have a net negative number of dice, how many clue tokens do I need to spend to attempt a roll?

Say that my investigator currently has their Sneak score at 1. If I am called upon to make a Sneak (–2) check, that's a net result of –1. If I want to be able to roll one die, how many clue tokens do ...
Thunderforge's user avatar
  • 8,580
-9 votes
3 answers
549 views

How can I houserule Arkham Horror to include having one player character attacking another player character?

Sometimes I just feel like throwing a bit of anarchy into whatever game I am playing. What are the rules for one player character attacking another player character? How does the battle play out?
Haemmur's user avatar
5 votes
1 answer
176 views

Do some combat checks occur without monsters?

Many location encounters reference a monster (such as a monster appearing) and require a combat check. One encounter at St. Mary's Hospital says The corpse you are examining isn't quite dead yet. ...
Joey's user avatar
  • 6,726
5 votes
1 answer
180 views

Is The Next Act Begins a valid first mythos card during setup?

Can the "The Next Act Begins!" Mythos card be a valid first mythos to draw during the game setup? There is no rule prohibiting it, but it would result in no gate emerging at the start of the game.
Joey's user avatar
  • 6,726
2 votes
1 answer
265 views

Do skill check re-rolls include dice gained from spending clue tokens?

If I have 2 rolls for my skill check, and I fail the roll, then I spend a clue token to roll, and I fail. I then spend a second clue and again fail. If I now use the Lucky Cigarette Case which says:...
Joey's user avatar
  • 6,726
4 votes
1 answer
173 views

Can I use Sir William Brinton's ability immediately after discovering I have to lose Stamina?

The Ally Sir William Brinton say Discard to immediately restore your Stamina to its maximum. Can I choose to do this after I've learned I need to lose Stamina, but before I actually deduct that ...
Joey's user avatar
  • 6,726
3 votes
1 answer
407 views

Does the Retainer card grant $2 on the first Upkeep phase?

Page 6 of the reference guide says: Bless, Curse, Bank Loan, and Retainer cards do not require an upkeep roll during the first Upkeep Phase after an investigator acquires them. Does this mean we ...
Joey's user avatar
  • 6,726
2 votes
1 answer
74 views

Is a yellow sign marker still added if the terror level increase is reduced to 0?

In the King in Yellow Herald variant, there is a rule about increasing the terror level (emphasis mine): The blasphemous play "The King in Yellow" is being performed in Arkham. Every time ...
Thunderforge's user avatar
  • 8,580
1 vote
2 answers
362 views

Can I use the Injury and Madness cards from Miskatonic Horror without Dunwich Horror?

One of the components of Miskatonic Horror are additional Injury and Madness cards, which were originally for the Dunwich Horror expansion. The rules for Miskatonic Horror say this about the cards: ...
Thunderforge's user avatar
  • 8,580
5 votes
1 answer
155 views

Sent from one Other World to another. Another encounter in the same turn?

One of my characters was in The Abyss and had an encounter there, which stated to attempt a luck+1 skill check, which ended up sending my investigator to The Dreamlands. Do I get to immediately have ...
Jort's user avatar
  • 151
5 votes
1 answer
769 views

Possible to spend clue tokens to re-roll attempts at sealing gates?

I'm just playing my first ever (solo) game of Arkham Horror, so I'm still quite new to the nuances of the game, though the overall mechanics are already starting to click. The rules state that you ...
cuber3's user avatar
  • 53
2 votes
1 answer
297 views

Arkham Horror heralds with new cards

Playing Arkham Horror with a herald. In the Herald variant rules, it doesn't say to shuffle the new cards in their respective decks. Does this mean that the herald variant is played without the new ...
Vlad's user avatar
  • 23
5 votes
1 answer
481 views

Do I add all Mask monsters from the base game and expansions when Nyarlathotep is the Ancient One?

Of all the Mask monsters in Arkham Horror, there are 5 in the base game, 1 in Dunwich Horror, 2 in Kingsport Horror, and 2 in Insmouth Horror. If Nyarlathotep is the Ancient One, do I add all Mask ...
Thunderforge's user avatar
  • 8,580
6 votes
1 answer
171 views

Arkham Horror: Is there any thematic introductory text out there for first time players?

I'm going to play Arkham tonight with a couple of friends which they don't have any previous Lovecraft experience. Is there any short text which I could use to introduce them to the Cthulhu Mythos ...
nuc's user avatar
  • 435
2 votes
1 answer
295 views

Ancient one awakes and battle

When the ancient one awakes, what will happen with the another monsters? They stay in the board or just they're banished? And if they stay in the board, the player needs to evade that monster every ...
David Owen's user avatar
5 votes
1 answer
423 views

Arkham Horror Put a Clue Token on this card?

I can't seem to quite figure out how cards like Amanda Sharpe's Pass/Fail work where it states: ...put a Clue token on this Card Do these clue tokens become usable as a bank of clue tokens, such ...
JesterXIII's user avatar
2 votes
1 answer
58 views

Does a stalker monsters always stay if there is an investigator in its current area or location?

The Dunwich rules don't seem to explicitly say this on page 6. Do these monsters stay when there is an investigator with them, or do they perhaps even opt to pursue one of lower sneak if they are ...
Joey's user avatar
  • 6,726
2 votes
1 answer
168 views

Can a player take both a madness and injury card if his investigator gets reduced to zero stamina and sanity?

The Dunwich expansion allows for drawing Madness or Injury cards in place of going insane or being rendered unconscious. Can this be used to draw both Injury and Madness when both go to zero? I ...
Joey's user avatar
  • 6,726
2 votes
1 answer
40 views

Can I use Summoning Glass immediately upon receiving it?

Do I have to wait until the arkham encounters phase of my next turn, or can I use this card immediately upon receiving it?
Joey's user avatar
  • 6,726
1 vote
1 answer
112 views

Do cursed investigators in the herald variant repeatedly fall unconscious?

In the Herald variant of Curse of the Dark Pharaoh, cursed investigators lose stamina every upkeep. If they reach zero and become unconscious, do they wake at St. Mary's Hospital only to keep falling ...
Joey's user avatar
  • 6,726
1 vote
1 answer
218 views

What does "you may not use any investigator cards in this encounter" mean?

A science building encounter had a mi-go appear and stated I could not use investigator cards if I failed a speed check. What does this mean?
Joey's user avatar
  • 6,726
1 vote
2 answers
142 views

If I fail a spell check to gain a combat check bonus, am I unable to equip another item?

When I use my hand slot to attempt to cast a spell, and it fails, am I unable to equip a different item or spell in that hand?
Joey's user avatar
  • 6,726
1 vote
1 answer
150 views

If I fail to evade Dimensional Shambler, am I lost in time and space?

Failing a combat check results in being lost in time and space, and this monster has no combat damage listed. If I fail to evade, that implies I suffer no damage nor do I become lost as it was not a ...
Joey's user avatar
  • 6,726
1 vote
1 answer
160 views

Do I effectively lose two opportunities to have an encounter when I get arrested by patrols?

When I get arrested by patrols during the movement phase, I get moved to the jail and am told to become delayed and skip the entire next turn. Does this mean I miss this turn's encounter phase and ...
Joey's user avatar
  • 6,726
4 votes
2 answers
268 views

Do I get to use non-bonus abilities from items I don't have equipped?

For the abilities underneath the "+N to combat check", for instance, am I allowed to use them when I don't have them equipped? I believe the answer is yes but I was hoping to find documentation. I ...
Joey's user avatar
  • 6,726
2 votes
1 answer
164 views

Do I make the sneak check on the patrol marker or confront monsters first?

When I end my turn in the street where there are monsters and a patrol marker, do I encounter the monsters first or perform the sneak check to avoid being arrested. Do I get to choose?
Joey's user avatar
  • 6,726
3 votes
1 answer
241 views

Do Dunwich monsters get removed from gate closings?

When a gate is closed, do matching monsters in Dunwich get removed? I'm aware the monsters in Dunwich do not count toward the monster limit as the vortices handle that dynamic. I would think the gate ...
Joey's user avatar
  • 6,726
0 votes
0 answers
27 views

When counting toughness for a monster trophy, do you use the toughness when killed or the current toughness its type might have? [duplicate]

There are a few parts to this question? First, if the toughness of a monster is reduced during combat by some effect such as a spell or item (I know there is one that reduces monster toughness by 1), ...
Joey's user avatar
  • 6,726
4 votes
1 answer
361 views

Can I use Duke to immediately restore sanity right after I discover I'm going to lose it?

If I were to discover that losing sanity would drive me insane, can I use the ally Duke to immediately heal my sanity first? It sounds like I would be cheating time doing this, so my thinking is that ...
Joey's user avatar
  • 6,726
4 votes
1 answer
151 views

Can I trade exhibit items from the Curse of the Dark Pharaoh expansion with other investigators?

Do exhibit items from the Curse of the Dark Pharaoh expansion count as tradable items?
Joey's user avatar
  • 6,726
2 votes
1 answer
195 views

If maximum stamina gets reduced during an environment card, when the card is discarded, do I return to max?

If an environment card makes my max stamina go down 1, I would lose a stamina token. However, if a new environment card shows and I haven't taken any stamina damage, do I get to move it back up to my ...
Joey's user avatar
  • 6,726
1 vote
1 answer
57 views

Do two monsters only emerge from the gate from the first mythos card in the Dunwich Horror setup?

The Dunwich Horror expansion says in the setup: With five or more players, place two monsters on the gate indicated by the mythos card instead of one. Is this something that only occurs in the ...
Joey's user avatar
  • 6,726
2 votes
1 answer
395 views

Can you trade equipment between combat with multiple creatures?

Combat is often referred to as a unit of activity against one monster (i.e. do _ during this combat, or gain _ for this combat). Does this mean that investigators are able to trade items in between ...
Joey's user avatar
  • 6,726
1 vote
1 answer
517 views

What happens to an investigator who arrives at a gate already explored by another?

Say Investigator A goes through a gate and comes back to Arkham, and Investigator B moves to that location. What happens, assuming A goes before B? Here are some cases: If A moves to Arkham on his ...
Joey's user avatar
  • 6,726
0 votes
1 answer
317 views

Does Flesh Ward prevent Stamina loss from one source multiple times?

The Flesh Ward spell says Any Phase: Cast and exhaust to ignore all Stamina loss being dealt to you from one source. Discard this spell if the Ancient One awakens. Is a 'source' considered a ...
Joey's user avatar
  • 6,726
0 votes
1 answer
444 views

Does the Dread Curse of Azathoth spell stay active for multiple monsters?

The spell says Cast and exhaust to gain +9 to Combat checks until the end of this combat. Does the spell last until the end of combat with the current monster, or the end of combat for this turn, ...
Joey's user avatar
  • 6,726
1 vote
1 answer
155 views

Can I use Bind Monster in addition to the combat check?

The spell says: Cast and Discard this spell to pass one Combat check. You must roll successes equal to the monster's toughness to cast this spell. This spell doesn't work on Ancient Ones. If I ...
Joey's user avatar
  • 6,726
2 votes
2 answers
181 views

Is there any methodology or pattern to picking better stats to emphasize for location and other world encounters?

I know this of the 6 basic stats speed: for moving through arkham sneak: for evading fight: for combat and gate closing lore: for spell casting and gate closing luck: for....shrug. Encountery random ...
Joey's user avatar
  • 6,726
1 vote
1 answer
88 views

If I claim a monster token from the cup, do I pick at random?

One of the Other World encounters says Pass a Luck (-1) check to claim a monster trophy from the cup (even if it is Endless).... Does this mean I pick randomly?
Joey's user avatar
  • 6,726
2 votes
1 answer
396 views

Can you become the deputy of Arkham after another player has?

If someone has taken this card, is another player able to seize it from them by trading in trophies at the police station to become the deputy themselves? If so, do they take the Patrol Wagon (whether ...
Joey's user avatar
  • 6,726