Stack Exchange Network

Stack Exchange network consists of 174 Q&A communities including Stack Overflow, the largest, most trusted online community for developers to learn, share their knowledge, and build their careers.

Visit Stack Exchange
Join us in building a kind, collaborative learning community via our updated Code of Conduct.

Axis and Allies is a franchise of World War II simulation board games that pit the Axis powers of Germany and Japan against the Allied powers of the United States, United Kingdom, and Russia.

1
vote
1answer
111 views

Axis and Allies 1942 SE First Turn Builds

I used to play Axis and Allies the original classic version a long time ago. I read Don’s essays about strategy and the infantry push mechanic here: http://donsessays.freeservers.com But the game has ...
3
votes
1answer
128 views

How is France played in Allies and Axis Europe 1940 (Second Edition)?

In Allies and Axis Europe, France's capital, Paris, typically falls on the first turn. As a result, most games do not have a player playing France alone. Instead, either the US or UK player is ...
2
votes
2answers
239 views

Axis & Allies 1941: Can stranded defending fighters land in a friendly territory with hostile planes?

Playing Axis & Allies 1941, I encountered a situation concerning stranded defending fighters that I have a hard time adjudicating with the rulebook. The problem is that an aircraft carrier is ...
2
votes
0answers
79 views

Would A “Dual Capital” (house) rule make sense in Axis and Allies Pacific?

The gamemaker "opened the gates" to this question by allowing China to collect income and build units without a capital (or for that matter, and industrial complex). This is kind of an exception to ...
1
vote
1answer
71 views

Can sea units have more then the given amount in Axis and Allies 1941?

So I'm currently in a game where my opponent has 5 battle ships using the circle grey markers, and I have 4 battle ships. Is this legal? or is only each faction allowed 2 battleships? what about ...
1
vote
2answers
450 views

Axis and Allies 1941: Transport Rules for on loading and offloading units

No House Rules So My main question is: Can an infantry and a tank (Cargo Option 01) board a transport, then have the transport be moved to a territory which is empty. But hostile, and drop those ...
1
vote
2answers
244 views

Can I block enemy's port if my navy is on the sea sector next to a factory zone?

No House Rules So lets say I have a navy as the Japanese on the american port of western america. Is that port now blocked? Or does America have to build its navy at the other factory or build a ...
0
votes
2answers
321 views

Axis and Allies 1941 :Can a submarine sneak attack a battle ship when there is an enemy sub in the same battle?

No home rules please So heres the scenario: I attacked with one sub. The enemy has one battleship and one sub. Can I sneak attack the battleship if there is an enemy sub in the same battle? Can I ...
1
vote
1answer
335 views

Axis and Allies 1941: Who, when and to where can you retreat?

Official rules only, not house rules. How and when are you allowed to retreat, both in an amphibious landing and a land battle? The rules say that you can't retreat in an amphibious battle. What ...
2
votes
2answers
160 views

Axis and Allies 1941 planes and industry

I recently played axis and allies 1941 for the first time with a friend and at one point during gameplay he took over my capital with a bomber by destroying my only tank and used its last movement to ...
2
votes
2answers
174 views

Does Germany ever start first?

The first time I ever played Axis and Allies, the player teaching me said that, for the first turn, play skips the USSR and begins with Germany, as a way to simulate the end of blitzkrieg. The more ...
0
votes
2answers
478 views

How many units can a new factory produce?

Playing my thirty-year-old copy of Axis & Allies for the first time in 20 years...I recall a rule from my childhood that a factory that is purchased and placed during the game can only produce ...
2
votes
1answer
242 views

Axis and Allies 1940 Multinational Defense, AAA and Radar

Background: In Axis and Allies 1940, two powers may occupy the same territory and defend it together. AAA fire first at enemy aircraft, with each AAA capable of firing at up to 3 enemy aircraft--...
4
votes
1answer
250 views

Ship Movement Question Axis and Allies 1940 Global (Rules 2.0)

I have a question regarding the movement of ships. The explanation could get confusing so I will try to explain it clearly. My ship, a cruiser, is attacked by an enemy fleet of destroyers moving from ...
3
votes
1answer
750 views

Submarines and “Defenseless” Transports in Axis and Allies

So I've got a question about Axis and Allies Spring 1942 edition. I had a German fleet off the coast of England (cruiser, battleship, two subs, and two loaded transports), and the US attacked with ...
1
vote
1answer
264 views

If a fighter can't land during combat, can they land on carriers moved to them during the non-combat move phase?

If I move my fighters into combat and they can't make it back to sea, can I use my non-combat move phase to move my carriers to make it possible for them to land? I am playing Axis and Allies 1940, ...
0
votes
1answer
74 views

Axis & Allies G40 Transport Question

Can a transport enter a hostile sea zone, that was cleared of hostile ships (during the combat phase), during the non-combat phase to pick up friendly units. For example: If the UK fleet N of Egypt ...
1
vote
2answers
286 views

If damage is assigned to AAA during bombardment, can it defend before general combat begins in the territory or is it removed?

Question pertains to Axis & Allies 1942, 2nd edition. If a defender assigns damage to anti-aircraft artillery units during the bombardment phase of an amphibious assault, do the AAA's still get ...
1
vote
2answers
354 views

In axis and allies 1941 do fighters have to take off to participate in an attack?

ON the UK players turn he attacks a Japanese destroyer in sea zone 32 with a UK carrier(carrying 1 UK and 1 US fighter) from sea zone 29. I know that if the carrier gets destroyed, the US fighter is ...
2
votes
2answers
297 views

In a&a 1942 2nd edition, can bombers conducting a strategic bombing raid and fighter escorts retreat?

Im guessing they cant because the book talks about retreats only in the "general combat" section; says nothing about sbr planes retreating, but i am not sure.
1
vote
2answers
211 views

A&A 1942 2nd ed: Is it necessary to build an industrial complex in order to mobilize units?

If Russia doesn't build an industrial complex, can units be mobilized in any controlled territory? I don't see any complexes printed on the board itself to start the game off, does that mean I have ...
2
votes
2answers
678 views

Can a sub attack a lone sub in axis and allies and the attacked sub submerge?

If an English sub attacks a German sub (by itself in a sea zone), can the German sub submerge? From my understanding subs can only conduct a surprise strike or submerge if there are other sea units (...
2
votes
1answer
121 views

How to capture territories with no numbers printed on them?

In a&a 1941 if japan conducts an amphibious assault on soviet far east can she capture it? If yes, then does she still put the controller marker and does nothing else? (I mean no adding anything ...
1
vote
1answer
876 views

Where can combat dice and extra units be bought?

As a beginner I got axis and allies 1941 and noticed the game has only 4 dice and very few pieces. I had to use a lot of substitution chips (they can get confusing) and make my own paper slips with ...
1
vote
1answer
81 views

After an amphibious assault can overland attacking aircraft stay in newly captured territory?

Germany attacks England with transports(loaded with infantry) and overland fighters, captures the territory. Can the fighters stay in England or need to fly back to mainland?
1
vote
3answers
278 views

How to capture unoccupied enemy-controlled territories?

How do I capture them? (besides tanks blitzing). That would not work if im trying to capture an island. Just move in with a bunch of infantry and claim it for myself?
2
votes
2answers
357 views

Mobilization of units allowed on a territory with an industrial complex controlled by a power on same side?

My friends an I were playing a&a 1941 and soviet union wanted to mobilize units in India. Is that ever allowed? If yes, when? I read through the whole book and I did not find anything about when ...
1
vote
1answer
222 views

Is the combat move and the conduct combat phase always necessary to execute?

I am in Karelia with a couple of infantry and tanks. The german territories are heavily fortified. I don't want to lose what few units I have. Do I have to conduct combat or can I skip to noncombat ...
1
vote
1answer
287 views

Can land and sea units adjacent to the territory or sea zone being attacked ( also units range permitting) move in and help defend?

My friend and I recently started playing a&a 1941. I played the germans which attacked Caucasus then my friend started moving in units from other territories into Caucasus to defend. Can you do ...
1
vote
3answers
1k views

In a&a 1941 can tanks and infantry hit aircraft?

The book does not specifically say anything.
3
votes
1answer
490 views

A&A Sea Zone Attack Rule Clarification

I'm playing the 2004 Avalon Hill Revised rules. Scenario: It is the UK player's turn. They use their Atlantic fleet (without any destroyers) to attack the German Atlantic fleet. Most of the German ...
2
votes
2answers
658 views

Is Axis and Allies 1940 Balanced without National Objectives?

In Axis and Allies 1940 (Europe/Pacific/Global), what is the game effect of ignoring most or all of the National Objectives (bonus income) and simply not playing with them. This reduces complexity ...
4
votes
2answers
390 views

Can you build a ship in the Caspian Sea?

The Caspian Sea is a lone body of water south of Caucasus and north of the Middle East. It is also not connected to any other sea location and does not have a zone number. Here is how it appears in ...
2
votes
1answer
351 views

Can you retreat with Attacking Infantry in Axis and Allies Original - 2nd Edition

This has been brought up a few times in our group. Infantry can only move one space, so if they move in to attack, they pretty much have to fight until they're eliminated or the defending player is ...
3
votes
1answer
247 views

In axis and allies, how are casualties allocated when two allies both defend a single zone?

For instance, suppose there are two American armies and two Soviet armies defending American-owned Sinkiang, which is attacked by the Japanese. The Japanese inflict two casualties and "back off." Who ...
1
vote
2answers
197 views

How do I take advantage of the Japanese Anti-American offense?

I tried the shuck-shuck approach while playing US and moved my Pacific fleet to the Atlantic (Japan didn't attack Pearl Harbor). However, Japan then used its entire fleet to invade Western United ...
1
vote
2answers
764 views

Can the Russia no first turn attack rule be realistically extended for more turns?

This is a reference to the Classic edition of Axis and Allies. One "alternate" (house) rule is that Russia is not allowed to attack the first turn. (But she does get her "income" of,say, eight ...
2
votes
1answer
368 views

1942 Battle Ship Bombardment

When my battleship does a bombardment, can the battleship stay on the board for the remainder of the turn and get the 2 hit advantage. I.e. My battleship comes in with a transport and some ...
2
votes
2answers
224 views

In Axis and Allies, do infantry units start at the industrial complex or anywhere I want?

I love playing Axis and Allies but think I have been playing it wrong. I place my troops on all of my properties. Is that wrong? Where are they supposed to start when I buy them? At the industrial ...
1
vote
1answer
311 views

Can the Allies win this game, given that Russia is falling? [closed]

Can the Allies win a two on three game of the U.S. and UK against Germany, Japan, and a soon to be conquered Russia described below? If so, how? My brother, my friend and I all sat down last night ...
4
votes
2answers
2k views

Can Axis and Allies be played with two players, and does it require all countries to be picked?

I had just recently bought the game and I was wondering if we needed more than two players to control all the countries. We had already decided that I would take the UK and USA while he would take ...
1
vote
2answers
413 views

Differences between Axis and Allies 1941 and classic edition

This may seem obvious, but apparently Axis and Allies 1941 has eliminated the construction of factories, and AA guns? How do these changes affect the play of the game as compared to say, the Classic ...
4
votes
2answers
233 views

Questionable borders on seazone 3

When my friends and I play Axis & Allies 1942 we have trouble distinguishing a couple borders along seazone 3, pictured below. In each case you can see a little sliver of land that is barely ...
6
votes
2answers
1k views

How Can One Create Game Balance Axis and Allies WWI?

My gaming circle does not feel Axis and Allies WWI is balanced. None of us has yet achieved victory as the Central Powers. What rule modifications would you suggest to balance the game?
4
votes
2answers
1k views

A&A surprise strike on loaded aircraft carrier

In Axis and Allies 1941, submarines can make a surprise attack surprise strike: Each attacking submarine conducting a surprise strike rolls one die, scoring a hit on s roll of 2 or less. After an ...
3
votes
4answers
746 views

In Axis and Allies, is the Axis “economic victory” condition a valid one?

In Axis and Allies, the Axis, unlike the Allies, do not have to play for the total destruction of the other side. If at any time, they control territories representing 84 industrial production ...
0
votes
1answer
746 views

Does a hit destroy a unit in Axis and Allies 1942?

We do not understand how to perform the battle sequence with an attacking force of one infantry, one tank, one airplane, one artillery against two tanks, one infantry. The attacker rolled two (2)s ...
3
votes
1answer
600 views

When can I scramble?

In Axis and Allies Pacific, What constitutes an adjoined sea space for a scramble? Sea space in square contains the fighters or all sea spaces that touch that square?
1
vote
2answers
422 views

If the Axis capture a factory in Axis and Allies, would the game tilt in their favor?

Despite the fact that the odds in the "real" war were heavily skewed in favor of Allies, the game is almost balanced. That is, if it is played with the "No Russian first turn attack rule," bidding ...
2
votes
1answer
405 views

Could Axis and Allies be “balanced” by weakening the US just a bit more?

In Axis and Allies (as in the real war), Germany and Japan together have more industrial power, represented by industrial production certificates (IPCs) than Britain and Russia combined. Hence The US ...