Questions tagged [bidding]

Bidding is an auction mechanic common to a variety of board and card games where two or more players or teams compete for a right or privilege. Bidding is common in trick-taking card game such as bridge, and several other bidding examples are provided in the bidding wiki page.

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
3
votes
5answers
541 views

Overcalls at duplicate Bridge

As west, my partner opened 1 club; north, the TD, called one spade and in the east seat I replied 2 hearts. Thereupon my partner alerted and advised the table that I was showing 5 hearts (a first ...
8
votes
1answer
548 views

Can opponents ask for “alerts” in bridge?

Suppose a bidder makes an unusual bid that is "alertable." The bidder's partner is then supposed to say "alert," and then field questions about the bid. But suppose the partner fails to do this. Can ...
6
votes
2answers
3k views

What is (Larry Cohen's) the “Law of Total Tricks” In Bridge?

Based on my (imperfect) understanding of the "law," it means that my partnership should bid up to the same level as the number of trumps. For instance, with four trumps over my partner's five card ...
5
votes
4answers
216 views

Bridge Responding to 1NT with 0 HCP?

What is the best response to a 1NT opening bid when responder has 0 HCP and 5 clubs and you have agreed with partner to use Staymans?
2
votes
2answers
128 views

Bid out of turn and next player passes or overcalls

Partner is dealer. RHO opened bidding out of turn, and I either pass or overcall before anyone calls attention to the infraction. Is the offender's bid accepted? Does the dealer still have options?
0
votes
4answers
82 views

Is there a way to “game force” with the following hand?

NV versus Vul, you are opening with (s) Ax (h)--- (d) AKTxxxxxxx (c) x. The opener used 1 club (precision) with 12 hcps instead of 16. I don't agree. 2 clubs (strong) doesn't seem to work because I ...
3
votes
2answers
249 views

How should I alert this 1D opening?

In the context of a precision system, the 1D bid is nominally 11-15 high card points and could be one of the following hand types: Unbalanced with 3+ diamonds, no 5-card major, no 6-card club suit (...
1
vote
3answers
57 views

Pulling double after Weak 2 and competition

This hand is discussed in the April 2021 ACBL Bulletin (p. 8) as a tempo issue, but I am interested in the underlying bidding issues Bidding East North West South 2 S 3H 3S Pass Pass 4C Dbl Pass ...
0
votes
2answers
70 views

If your partner opens with a “pass,” does that make you the “captain” in a bridge partnership?

There are two instances: You are either third or fourth seat, and partner has passed. In fourth seat, you are clearly the driver. After three passes, you are the one to decide whether the hand will be ...
2
votes
7answers
10k views

In Bridge, what are “proper” responses to a “strong” 2 club bid?

Bidding Standard American, and opening a "strong" two clubs (typically 22 HCPs and a six card suit), I like to hear responses of 2 diamonds (0-8 points, no more than game interest), or 2NT (9+ plus ...
5
votes
6answers
3k views

In bridge, are there some 13 point hands that should not be opened?

Suppose you have: (s) Jx (h)KQxx (d) KJxx (c) Kxx. That's 13 points, by the usual count. But I can think of at least two things wrong with it. First, there are no aces, meaning that the hand has ...
4
votes
5answers
533 views

Bridge bidding - how do I decide whether or not to bid 1NT with weakness in a particular suit?

If I'm inclined to bid NT with 15-17 points, but am weak in one suit, how weak can I be, and still bid 1NT, as opposed to bidding 1 club, to find out if my partner can show strength e.g. a stopper in ...
3
votes
2answers
108 views

Is anyone the “captain” of the partnership after the following bidding sequence?

Non vulnerable and playing five card majors, South opened onw spade. West passed. North raised to 3 spades. This was a "Bergen" raise, which is to say that North promised only four spades (...
1
vote
3answers
786 views

Why Is Two Clubs the Preferred “Strong Two” In Bridge?

I'd prefer to use two spades myself. And save two clubs for a "weak two." Moreover, I was taught that "higher bids mean higher points" (all other things being equal). Two spades is the highest suit ...
1
vote
2answers
50 views

Are there times to double for a one trick set in duplicate, when you would not do so in rubber?

In rubber bridge, I would "never" double a part score contract for a one trick set. The reason is that a successful double will increase your score from 50 to 100 if the opponents are not ...
2
votes
4answers
240 views

Did I “really” have too many points for the following bid?

Not vulnerable versus vulnerable, I was sitting third position with the following hand: (s) KQx (h) --- (d) KJ9xxx (c) K8xx. (All x's are 7 or lower.) I opened 2D, a "weak two" after two passes. One ...
3
votes
4answers
530 views

Am I allowed to open at the “one” level with hand like AKQxxxx xx xx xx?

I am concerned about a ACBL rules that says that an opening "one" bid cannot be weaker than the top of a "weak two" bid. With this hand, many might open with a "weak two, &...
0
votes
3answers
46 views

Can a J-T combination be counted as a single honor under a “two honor” rule?

There are times in bridge (e.g. when opening a "weak two") when a bidder needs a strong suit headed by at least two out of the three "top" honors, that is A-K, A-Q or K-Q. The ...
1
vote
1answer
72 views

Is there such a thing a 3 possible in Spades?

We were playing Spades. My new girlfriend said she had 2 and 3 possible. I laughed and asked what she meant by the 3 possible. We stopped the game to figure this out. Spades: 4,6 Hearts: K,2,3,5 ...
2
votes
3answers
324 views

Should I “take out” a double, using a two card suit?

In an earlier question, the consensus was that I should answer a takeout double of one heart with one spade (the cheaper bid) rather than two clubs. (I agree with that consensus.) The exact situation ...
1
vote
2answers
98 views

Contract Bridge and the short club convention

When playing the short club convention I thought a one diamond bid shows that I hold five diamonds. Is that true?
4
votes
4answers
745 views

Bridge: Is it a rule that you must announce the meaning of partners opening bid

Bridge Playing SAYC Is it a rule for partner to announce to the defenders what an opening bid (eg '1C minimum 3') means
2
votes
2answers
54 views

What is forcing after opening a minor and partner bids a major, and I jump to 2NT?

I open 1D, partner bids 1S, I bid 2NT, opponents have remained silent - partner bids 3D? Is that forcing?
3
votes
0answers
388 views

The “Big Five” Bidding Convention in Spades

In the game of Spade, the Big 5 conventions (invent by Herm Carney and Roger Denino, as stated in a video by Joe Andrews) means that if the first partner bids 5 it signals to the second partner that ...
3
votes
6answers
11k views

How should I teach someone new to spades how to bid?

Bidding in spades is one of the hardest mechanics to master. The gameplay comes with experience, but sometimes bidding just goes awry. I know how I bid and that I disagree with the way other people ...
4
votes
3answers
245 views

In Bridge what happens if a player has more points than their bidding suggests

For example: NORTH ♠️: KJ10986 ♥: QJ9 ♦️: K ♣️: Q106 WEST (Dlr) EAST ♠️: 75 ♠️: Q43 ♥: AK7642 ...
3
votes
2answers
142 views

What type of hands are suitable for minor suit contracts after an NT opener?

I know that when you hold a 6-card minor suit and a really weak hand (such as holding Jxxxxx in the minor and not much else after 1NT opener), you would play some system to transfer into the minor. ...
2
votes
1answer
1k views

Spades - how to bid my spades suit?

In the game of Spades, what is the best or popular practice to bid the ♠ suit? That is to say, how to estimate the number of tricks my spades suit can take? I calculate my takes in the spades suit by ...
1
vote
3answers
130 views

What do you respond to a 1-of-a-Minor opening with 4-card support and no 4-card major?

With 5-card support for the minor, I would always raise it and let opener decide if a game in notrumps would be preferable. With exactly 4-card support, should you raise it or bid NT (probably with a ...
0
votes
2answers
86 views

Should opener's NT rebids after 1-of-a-Major have different HCP ranges than with 1-of-a-Minor?

With a balanced 15-17 HCP and 5-card major, I will usually open 1M instead of (strong) 1NT. The traditional balanced HCP for bids are as follows: 12-14 HCP: Rebid 1NT 15-17 HCP: Open 1NT 18-19 HCP: ...
1
vote
5answers
312 views

Are there times to pre-empt with a “strong” six trumps in bridge?

Suppose you have something like AQJxxx of clubs (and no other values). If it were any other suit than clubs, I'd open with a with a "weak two" bid. But two clubs is the STRONG two bid. Meaning that ...
5
votes
6answers
6k views

Bridge: Holding both 5 card majors which should I bid first in Jacoby transfers

In SAYC my partner bid 1 NT showing 15-17 HCP (no void, no singleton and only one doubleton). I was holding a hand of 10 HCP with 5S, 5H, 2D and 1C. Using Jacoby transfers should I have responded 2D ...
1
vote
2answers
156 views

In bridge, can you tell your partner that your two bid is a weak two?

In bridge, can you tell your partner that your two bid is a weak two or a strong two as you make the bid?
2
votes
2answers
217 views

Was South's bidding really as “edgy” as an expert suggests?

Here is a Frank Stewart hand. You, South hold, ♠K986 ♥KT7 ♦875 ♣KQ9 Both vulnerable, North dealt and opened 1C. North East South West 1C Pass 1S Pass 2S Pass 3C Pass 3D ...
7
votes
1answer
715 views

Are there times when “doubling” will not help the opponents make the hand?

In bridge, if I "double" (the stakes for) an opponent's contract, it usually means that I see a way to defeat the contract. Of course, declarer hears my double and will reasonably conclude, "Tom has ...
2
votes
1answer
293 views

Was I right to bid something other than one club with the following hand?

This was a Baron Barclay's problem. Both vulnerable, I was sitting South after three passes with the following hand: (All x's are 6 or lower). (s) AT7x (h) Kxx (d)9xx (c) AJX. I elected to pass. I ...
2
votes
1answer
137 views

Bridge simple open bid for 7♠, 2♥, 1♦, 3♣? [closed]

With the following hand should I open with 3 spades to let my partner know I have a 7 spades? This is my hand ♠ AK87642 ♥ T3 ♦ 4 ♣ JT8 I am a beginner.
3
votes
2answers
129 views

Should N-S be in 3NT if not vulnerable?

This hand was presented by Michael Berkowitz in the column of Larry Cohen. These are experts I consider on the "aggressive side. Both vulnerable, the bidding was South West North East 1d Pass 2d ...
5
votes
3answers
230 views

Why is there a “no man's land” between 1NT 15-17 and 2NT 20-21?

I cannot find any info online or by talking with experienced players about this issue. I assume Goren set this up? Wouldn't this be more logical: 1NT=15-17 2NT=18-19 3NT=20-21
2
votes
1answer
90 views

Can I use simulation to show that one bidding point count is more accurate than another?

I've created a new bridge point count system with aces worth 4.5 points, kings worth 3.0 points, queens worth 1.5 points, jacks worth 0.75 points, and tens worth 0.25. There are still 40 points in the ...
2
votes
4answers
1k views

Can a reverse follow a 2-over-1 response?

This question is related to What Is a “Reverse” In Bridge?, but covers a different case. I understand that reverses (17+ HCP, longer in first suit than second) apply to a 1-level response: S W ...
2
votes
2answers
88 views

Did I overstate my values on the following bidding?

Nobody vulnerable, partner, South, dealt and opened one spade. West overcalled 2C. Sitting North, I called 2H holding (s) xx (h) KQT8xx (d) xx (c) Kxx. (All x's are 7 or lower.) Partner bid 3d, so I ...
8
votes
2answers
1k views

Opening bidder steals my bid

What do I bid when the opening bidder bids my bid? E.g. bids 1NT and that is what I want to bid and I don't have a 5 card suit.
2
votes
3answers
156 views

Are bidding systems geared toward “optimizing” contracts?

Most contracts can succeed with some distributions and defenses of the 26 opposing cards, and fail with others. If a contract (except a grand slam) makes against any defense and distribution you've ...
6
votes
5answers
697 views

In bridge, does it make sense to “tighten” or 'loosen" up on bidding depending on vulnerability?

For instance, the minimum standard seems to be about 12 points to open with a five card suit, or 13 points with a four card minor. That makes sense with equal vulnerability (both vulnerable or both ...
1
vote
2answers
165 views

Bridge auction and play with a 5521 hand opposite 1255

Playing at a matchpoint Swiss pairs event yesterday, I played this hand as north. Our auction went 1♤-2♢-2♡-3NT-4♡. I had difficulty choosing what to bid over 3NT. South could have bid the fourth ...
3
votes
1answer
96 views

Cappelletti Overcalled

If the intervener is overcalled by a responders to the 1NT what are the options for the advancer in addition to the standard responses. Is he now allowed to pass meaning partner I cannot help.
2
votes
3answers
187 views

Should our 1D opening be alerted?

My partner and I play a weak 1NT (12-14 HCP) and 1C can be real (5+ card) or 15-19 HCP. If we have a 5 card major, we open it. Because we have a bid promising a balanced hand with every range. This ...
5
votes
1answer
170 views

Responding to partner's double in Party Bridge

The dealer bid 1♣. I am the second chair and had no high card points and no 5 card major. My highest card was a ♥9 therefore, I passed. The dealer's partner raised her bid to 2♠. My partner doubled ...
5
votes
3answers
175 views

Flexibility in Opening two in third seat with 8 points and seven card suit?

Is it against the rules to use your judgement as to whether to open two or three with a seven card suit? Instance was third seat opening with a seven card suit, two of the top five, and 8 points with ...