Questions tagged [bidding]

Bidding is an auction mechanic common to a variety of board and card games where two or more players or teams compete for a right or privilege. Bidding is common in trick-taking card game such as bridge, and several other bidding examples are provided in the bidding wiki page.

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
1
vote
3answers
171 views

Should I have made a takeout double in the situation?

With a part score of 60 to 0 (neither side vulnerable), I dealt and bid a "strong" 1NT with: (s) QT3 (h) KQJ8 (d) KJ93 (c) K5. "West," to my left, overcalled 2 clubs. Our respective partners passed ...
1
vote
2answers
691 views

Does a Takeout Double Apply to a “Passed” Partner?

Using Standard American my left hand opponent bid one heart. Partner passed. Right hand opponent raised to two hearts. I was in the "balancing" (fourth) seat and held: (s) Axxx (h) x (d) KJxx (c) ...
1
vote
2answers
610 views

Does a light fourth seat opening work on the same principle as fourth seat “balancing?”

If dealer opens. second seat needs to be at least somewhat careful taking actions such as doubling or overcalling. That's because third seat may theoretically having "everything" (not held by first ...
1
vote
3answers
303 views

Which Experts Seem to Interchange Trumps and Points in Bridge Bidding?

Most bridge players know that you can make a major suit game with combined partnership holdings of 26 points and eight trumps. (Plus the absence of "bad breaks" in trumps, finesses, etc.). My ...
1
vote
3answers
138 views

What do you respond to a 1-of-a-Minor opening with 4-card support and no 4-card major?

With 5-card support for the minor, I would always raise it and let opener decide if a game in notrumps would be preferable. With exactly 4-card support, should you raise it or bid NT (probably with a ...
1
vote
3answers
330 views

Can one use alternate evaluation methods, e.g. “K&R” to defend actions that appear to violate your convention card?

I'm playing in a tournament, and I fill out a convention card that says I will open with 13 or more points. I pick up a certain 14 "worst" point hand (per Milton Work's 4-3-2-1 count) and decide to ...
1
vote
2answers
153 views

Should you overcall with a (slightly) weaker hand if it is more “disruptive?”

In bridge, if you overcall two clubs over an opening one spade, you haven't taken up much bidding space, because your overcall hasn't kept your opponents out of any suits, only one NT. If you ...
1
vote
2answers
160 views

Responder' rebid with unbalanced hand (system: Simple SAYC)

I have 1S-4H-4D-4C, 15 PTS. I open 1D -- Partner: 1S --> Now my options are: I can't bid 1NT (no nt distribution). I want to show that I have more than minimum (12-14 pts), so I don't want to bid 2C, ...
1
vote
2answers
54 views

Are there times to double for a one trick set in duplicate, when you would not do so in rubber?

In rubber bridge, I would "never" double a part score contract for a one trick set. The reason is that a successful double will increase your score from 50 to 100 if the opponents are not ...
1
vote
2answers
128 views

Contract Bridge and the short club convention

When playing the short club convention I thought a one diamond bid shows that I hold five diamonds. Is that true?
1
vote
2answers
163 views

In bridge, can you tell your partner that your two bid is a weak two?

In bridge, can you tell your partner that your two bid is a weak two or a strong two as you make the bid?
1
vote
1answer
93 views

Is there such a thing a 3 possible in Spades?

We were playing Spades. My new girlfriend said she had 2 and 3 possible. I laughed and asked what she meant by the 3 possible. We stopped the game to figure this out. Spades: 4,6 Hearts: K,2,3,5 ...
1
vote
2answers
214 views

in Spades, when to bid such that the sum of bids equal 14?

In the game of Spades, sometimes I see a strong player bid such that the sum of bids is 14. This means that one of the contracts will be set. In what conditions this "complete-to-14" bid is a strong ...
1
vote
2answers
1k views

Opening “best of minors”

"My wife and I play a version of best of minors that was questioned by a friend as "I never heard of such a thing." We open best of minors seeking a four card major, but by opening with one club we ...
1
vote
2answers
165 views

Bridge auction and play with a 5521 hand opposite 1255

Playing at a matchpoint Swiss pairs event yesterday, I played this hand as north. Our auction went 1♤-2♢-2♡-3NT-4♡. I had difficulty choosing what to bid over 3NT. South could have bid the fourth ...
1
vote
1answer
124 views

Is the partner of a no trump opener also the team “captain” on defense?

If opener bids, say 1 NT, his partner becomes the team "captain" on further bidding because the NT opener has strictly limited both his point count and "shape" with such a bid. That is, partner can ...
1
vote
1answer
305 views

In bridge, what level of strength do different systems require to bid a short minor?

Most players will bid 1 spade with (s) AKJxx (h)Axxx (d)xx (c)xx. That is, 12 hcp and a five card major. If you "redistribute" the two spade spots, you get: (s) AKJ (h)Axxx (d)xxx (c)xxx. Many ...
1
vote
1answer
373 views

Is bidding nil while holding the Queen of spade reasonable?

Holding the A♠ is a sure trick which means you can't win a nil bid. Holding the K♠ is too risky since you can only play it when someone else (hopefully your partner) plays the A♠. Assuming you don't ...
1
vote
1answer
115 views

Bridge convention after opponent opens 1NT — specific question about D.O.N.T

My partner and I have recently moved from T.O.N.T. to D.O.N.T., and are wondering if some of the latter's bids are useful even if there is interference. For example, if LHO opens the bidding with 1NT, ...
1
vote
1answer
178 views

What could 1NT mean opposite a partner's takeout double?

Here, for reference, is the entire hand that inspired the question. With only us vulnerable, left hand opponent bid one spade, partner doubled for takeout, right hand opponent passed, and I have (s)...
1
vote
2answers
349 views

Are there hands that should be opened at the one level in first or second seat, and with a “weak two” opposite a passing partner?

I'm referring specifically to hands like (s)AKQJx (h) Jxx (d)xxx (c) xx or (s) AKQTx (h) Qxx (d) xxx (c)xx that are technically just under the usual requirements for a one bid, but nevertheless have ...
1
vote
1answer
197 views

What the is frequency with which a bridge partnership is dealt hands suitable for bidding 2-over-1?

A number of people that I play bridge with started learning 2-over-1; but found when they tried using it that the frequency with which hands suitable for its use is low. One of them even quotes 8% and,...
1
vote
1answer
658 views

In bridge, are there different implications of overcalling 1NT in different positions?

Suppose I had a hand like the following: (s) KJxx (h) xxx (d) AJx (c) AKx. If I were the opening bidder, I would, of course, bid 1NT. (Note to commenter below: In this paragraph, I was describing a "...
1
vote
1answer
120 views

Overcall of 3S over 1C opening, what does it show? (assuming bidding system SAYC)

I assumed it was 10+pts, and 7 Spade suit -- am I correct?
1
vote
1answer
1k views

What are rules for an overcall that have wide acceptance? [closed]

This question was inspired by this link, http://www.jazclass.aust.com/bridge/br14.htm which required a five card suit with two honors, at least one of them a queen or higher, for a one-level overcall. ...
0
votes
3answers
541 views

Have recent changes in bidding priorities changed the value of finesses?

I was taught to "bid to make." That is, it would take 26 points to bid a game that was at least a 2 to 1 favorite to make. (I'd bid game with 24-25 only with "something extra" such as a solid five ...
0
votes
2answers
81 views

If your partner opens with a “pass,” does that make you the “captain” in a bridge partnership?

There are two instances: You are either third or fourth seat, and partner has passed. In fourth seat, you are clearly the driver. After three passes, you are the one to decide whether the hand will be ...
0
votes
3answers
49 views

Can a J-T combination be counted as a single honor under a “two honor” rule?

There are times in bridge (e.g. when opening a "weak two") when a bidder needs a strong suit headed by at least two out of the three "top" honors, that is A-K, A-Q or K-Q. The ...
0
votes
3answers
4k views

Forced Response to a Convenient Minor Opening?

My bridge club plays by a rule that an opening of a convenient minor requires a demand response by the partner unless intervening opponent does an overcall. Situation: My partner opened with 1-...
0
votes
2answers
87 views

Should opener's NT rebids after 1-of-a-Major have different HCP ranges than with 1-of-a-Minor?

With a balanced 15-17 HCP and 5-card major, I will usually open 1M instead of (strong) 1NT. The traditional balanced HCP for bids are as follows: 12-14 HCP: Rebid 1NT 15-17 HCP: Open 1NT 18-19 HCP: ...
0
votes
1answer
186 views

Is there a bid that is “forcing to four?”

The question arises from this example hand:. The whole hand is included for reference, although you get to see only your own cards when you bid. You are North with (s) AK4 (h) Q98 (d)976 (c) AT86. ...
0
votes
2answers
537 views

If you are fourth seat after a third seat raise, can you make a takeout double with “intermediate” values?

If first seat opens, and you are in the second seat, you need opening values in order to make a take out double (that is 13-14 hcps, maybe 12 with 4-4-4-1 or 5-4-4-0 distribution, while short in ...
0
votes
1answer
146 views

In bridge, does it make sense to “shade” one's bidding standards with a part score?

For instance, most players today bid five card majors, because that's (probably) the best way to get to a major suit game of ten tricks. But suppose my team has a part score of 40. That means that ...
0
votes
1answer
172 views

Interpreting bidding by partners

RHO: 1C --> LHO: 1S --> RHO: 2D Does this mean 4-4 in clubs/diamonds, or 5-4 in clubs diamonds. Is it a reverse? (e.g.18+ pts?). Assuming opponents play SAYC.
0
votes
3answers
440 views

Bridge - 2 club opening (playing standard american) with shape and not HCP?

If I have say, S: AKQ1098 H: A32 D: KQJ10 C: - With a hand like this, could I open 2 clubs? Could the opponents call the Tournament Director on me? What else could I bid to ensure my partner wouldn'...
0
votes
1answer
78 views

Value of short side suits in Spades

In Spades, what are the methods that count how many tricks a short side-suit is worth? Steve Fleishman's book Master Spades describe the method called Simple bidding (Appendix A). According to ...
0
votes
1answer
225 views

Recommended strategies for Mercante in Fiera?

Last night I played a traditional Italian card game, Mercante in Fiera (Merchant at the Fair) with a big group of friends. While everyone had a great night, as the auctioneer was very entertaining, ...
0
votes
2answers
2k views

What to bid in this situation (xx-Kx-AQTxx-AQxx, 1D-1S-2C-2D…)? (System: Simple SAYC)

I open 1D -- Partner 1S -- I bid 2C (my holding was xx-Kx-AQTxx-AQxx) -- Partner bids 2D -- What do I bid, and why? (since I have to respond when partner keeps changing suit and no NT has been yet bid)...
0
votes
2answers
195 views

Contract Bridge Better minors

Using better minor convention partner open one club, and I have five diamonds with three honors. I answer two diamonds to show the diamonds. Is this correct?

1 2 3
4