Skip to main content

Questions tagged [bridge]

A 4 player trick-taking card game where opposing partners try to either take the number of tricks they bid or prevent their opponents from doing so. When asking questions on bidding or play, please specify scoring system (Rubber, Matchpoints, IMPS, ec.), Dealer, vulnerability for both sides, full auction to the point of inquiry, and as complete a description of the visible hands as you can, including spot cards instead of x's.

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
4 votes
2 answers
2k views

Do good bridge players open one diamond and rebid two clubs when they are "weak?"

With no one vulnerable, partner opened 1 diamond after one pass. I bid one heart with the following: ♠ J985 ♡ AT852 ♢95 ♣ A9. Partner rebid 2 clubs. I tried 2NT, thinking that partner had the minor ...
Tom Au's user avatar
  • 22.1k
0 votes
1 answer
67 views

What does it mean when the laws say that a forcing 1NT response cannot guarantee invitational values?

"Invitational" usually means 10-12 high card points. A forcing 1NT response typically has a range of 6-12 points. I consider it unwise to bid a forcing 1NT with only 6-7 points. Does the ...
Tom Au's user avatar
  • 22.1k
0 votes
1 answer
81 views

Partner opens the auction with a Weak Two bid and then your RHO intervenes

Can the Ogust convention still be used?
Stefanovitch's user avatar
3 votes
6 answers
2k views

Why might an auction go 1NT-3NT?

Sort of a follow up question to this question. In that question, the auction goes 1NT - pass - 3NT - all pass. The answers to the question point out that, by opening 1NT, declarer is saying they have ~...
Allure's user avatar
  • 13.3k
1 vote
1 answer
133 views

Has there ever been a time or place where high-level bridge was played with no convention cards? If so, what did it look like?

I’ve been digging through the internet, working through curiosity about bridge’s requirement that all partnerships have a convention card. I’ve learned a few things: The intuition that open ...
Bulgaria's user avatar
0 votes
1 answer
86 views

Should there be different standards for a strong two club bid depending on the expected rebid?

A strong two club bid indicates the ability to take something like eight and a half tricks, with a meaningful portion of that being tricks outside the main suit. The test that I use is something like, ...
Tom Au's user avatar
  • 22.1k
1 vote
2 answers
163 views

Should the responder to a strong two club bid have been given a "double negative" option?

At matchpoints, with only them vulnerable, I was defending against a strong two club sequence bid by a husband and wife team. Wife opened 2 clubs (strong) on my right with ♠ AK64 ♡AQ ♢AQ ♣ KJ742. ...
Tom Au's user avatar
  • 22.1k
0 votes
2 answers
85 views

How strong a suit do you need to impose a (minor) suit on a partner bidding Michaels?

Not vulnerable versus vulnerable at matchpoints, I opened with a pass, LHO bid one spade, and partner bid two spades (Michaels), showing 5-5 in hearts and a minor. I bid three diamonds with the ...
Tom Au's user avatar
  • 22.1k
0 votes
4 answers
125 views

Recommended Acol bidding after strong NT rebid

The bidding has proceeded as follows: 1S - 2D 2NT(*) - ? (*) 15-17 HCP balanced, denies 4H. With both majors, 1H would have been opened. Holding S: 6 5 H: 9 3 D: A K J 5 4 C: K 10 8 6 What is ...
AlDante's user avatar
  • 354
1 vote
1 answer
65 views

At what point (if at all) does the "captaincy" revert to a 1NT opener?

Suppose I open 1NT. This defines my hand within narrow limits (typically 15-17 high card points and "balanced" distribution), causing my partner, who now knows a lot about my hand, to become ...
Tom Au's user avatar
  • 22.1k
2 votes
1 answer
136 views

Theoretically Optimal Bridge System (In the mathematical sense)

I'm wondering from a mathematical perspective, what the best theoretically possible bridge system is. I know this is a bit of a muddy question, such as what systems are allowed, and what criteria best ...
Han Guo's user avatar
  • 103
1 vote
3 answers
98 views

When should someone make a minimum bid over a takeout double with 8 or more high card points?

There was this example cited by an expert (Frank Stewart}. On the hand ♠ 943 ♡A52 ♢AQJ ♣ 8732.the SE consensus was that "11" high card points were really more like seven because of the 4-3-3-...
Tom Au's user avatar
  • 22.1k
2 votes
2 answers
141 views

1 Spade Interference over Precision 1 Club

I have heard that at some point in the past, a common defence against a strong 1 club opener is: 1S: I have 13 cards. What's the reason this defence has fallen out of favour? Could it be that it's ...
Han Guo's user avatar
  • 103
1 vote
2 answers
98 views

Why is the rationale for requiring a minimum 5-4 distribution for an "unusual" 2NT overcall?

At least, that's the understanding I got from this source on conventions (clause 4 of the "overcalls" section). My preference is for 5-5 in the minors or the two lowest relevant suits, and a ...
Tom Au's user avatar
  • 22.1k
0 votes
2 answers
136 views

How dominant is the rubber bonus compared to typical scores?

I've been learning the rules and just playing solitaire with bots so far. The scores I'm typically seeing are dominated by the rubber bonus (combined with the implied extra contract points for making ...
Samthere's user avatar
  • 9,693
1 vote
1 answer
93 views

Partner opens 1NT (15-17 HCP) and then your RHO intervenes

My question is about whether or not you play "systems off" if there is an interfering bid by your RHO (right-hand opponent)? I guess that how you will respond to your partner's opening 1NT ...
Stefanovitch's user avatar
0 votes
2 answers
227 views

Ethical issue about duplicate bridge

I am returning to bridge after playing online for a few years (covid). I am an intermediate beginner. I play with a robot (bridge solitaire). I tried to find a pro bridge player to sit with me while ...
Leslie's user avatar
  • 9
0 votes
2 answers
127 views

Opening light in the 3rd position

What requirements do you have for opening the auction light in the third position when you are light ? vulnerability? strength? 4-card major? etcetera? All responses will be welcome.
Stefanovitch's user avatar
1 vote
1 answer
146 views

Under what circumstances might some modern experts bid no trump with "offshape" hands?

This question arises from the modern practice of sometimes bidding say, 1 NT with only a singleton ace (or even king). I would never do this with a singleton king, but might do with a singleton ace. I'...
Tom Au's user avatar
  • 22.1k
0 votes
2 answers
165 views

Is a 4-3-3-3 shape as negative in a no trump as in a suit contract?

With a "12 point" hand like ♠ QJ2 ♡K64 ♢A42 ♣ Q852, I might pass, rather than open in first or second seat because of its "flat" shape, for which I would deduct a point. It also ...
Tom Au's user avatar
  • 22.1k
7 votes
2 answers
822 views

Is it OK to refrain from exploring further at matchpoints when you are in a satisfactory contract?

With no one vulnerable, I opened one club in fourth position at matchpoints after three passes with the following:♠ J752 ♡AJ6 ♢A4 ♣ QT52. I did so because people at our club who pass with 12 high card ...
Tom Au's user avatar
  • 22.1k
2 votes
1 answer
282 views

How should I have dealt with the Capelleti interference to my partner's 1NT bid

With no one vulnerable, partner opened 1NT (15-17) after three passes. The intervening opponent bid 2 clubs (Capelletti, a system I don't understand), except that it could indicate length in any suit.....
Tom Au's user avatar
  • 22.1k
0 votes
2 answers
92 views

Can you use Stayman (or other means) to rescue an inadequately protected 2NT bid?

This is a followup to a previous question. Neither vulnerable, I opened 2NT after two passes with the following: ♠ AKQ ♡ Q72 ♢AK872 ♣ Q8. This is a "conventional" holding with the a weak ...
Tom Au's user avatar
  • 22.1k
1 vote
2 answers
290 views

What is the advantage of bidding to game in Rubber Bridge?

Suppose North-South ("N-S") has a combined hand that can make a contract of 4 Hearts. If they win 10 tricks and make 4 Hearts, then they get 120 points whether they bid 4 Hearts and made ...
kwantum's user avatar
  • 23
2 votes
3 answers
265 views

Is it more important for a responder to bid their suit or raise partner under the following circumstances?

With only us vulnerable at matchpoints, I oponed one heart after dealer passed. The second opponent passed and partner had the following for a response: ♠ AQJ74 ♡ 742 ♢K754 ♣ 7. I would have expected ...
Tom Au's user avatar
  • 22.1k
4 votes
3 answers
1k views

What does a double mean when made by a partner who has already passed?

The bidding was North : Pass, East : Pass, South (me) : 1D, West : 2C, North : Double. North had a balanced 10 points including three clubs to the king, four hearts, three spades, and three ...
Bob Carr's user avatar
3 votes
3 answers
136 views

Does it make sense to set up a "reverse" bid to advertise extra strength?

At any game type, position or vulnerability, if I had something like ♠ AK642 ♡ AQ973 ♢ 75 ♣ 2, and no one had opened in front of me, I would bid 1 Spade, planning to rebid the heart suit of equal ...
Tom Au's user avatar
  • 22.1k
1 vote
1 answer
58 views

Could it be right to "convert" a takeout double with a weaker trump holding when it is made from the "balancing" rather than "direct" seat?

In the usual situation, South opens one spade, West doubles for takeout, and North passes. If East wants to "convert" the double, they need a very strong trump holding, in fact one that is ...
Tom Au's user avatar
  • 22.1k
4 votes
1 answer
1k views

Why is it forbidden to open hands with fewer than 8 high card points?

Source 2.6 Random Openings It is forbidden to open hands which, by agreement, may contain fewer than 8 high card points and for which no further definition is provided. If you open bidding for a ...
Allure's user avatar
  • 13.3k
0 votes
2 answers
123 views

Does it make better sense to open "light" in matchpoints than in rubber?

By "light" I mean with something like 11 high card points and a five card major suit or 10 high card points and a six card major headed by at least two honors. My (limited) experience has ...
Tom Au's user avatar
  • 22.1k
0 votes
1 answer
96 views

How do good partnerships adjust their systems when overcalling, instead of opening, 1NT?

Over an opening bid of 1NT, responders will use a variety of systems, such as Stayman, (Jacoby) transfers,etc. But suppose the sequence was South: 1 diamond, West 1NT, North, Pass, and you are East. ...
Tom Au's user avatar
  • 22.1k
1 vote
2 answers
122 views

Are Moyesian fits more playable at matchpoints than rubber or IMP, bridge?

A 4-3 trump fit is known as a "Moyesian" fit after an expert who liked to play such hands, even with fewer trumps than the standard eight card fits. Their main downside is that with six ...
Tom Au's user avatar
  • 22.1k
3 votes
1 answer
131 views

Was I right to pass my partner's two level overcall?

Both sides vulnerable at matchpoints, South opened one spade. West, my partner, overcalled with two clubs. North passed, and I was sitting East with ♠ J854 ♡ AT97 ♢ A843 ♣ 4. I had no obvious bid, so ...
Tom Au's user avatar
  • 22.1k
3 votes
2 answers
138 views

In passing opposite a takeout double, is it merely enough to probably be stronger than declarer in his trump suit?

With the other side vulnerable, your LHO (South) opens one of a suit, your partner (West) doubles (takeout), RHO (North) passes. You (East) have KQJ97 of the bid suit and a bunch of small side suit ...
Tom Au's user avatar
  • 22.1k
1 vote
1 answer
127 views

Are reminders spoken before looking at the cards bad bridge etiquette or ethics?

After the board had been assigned, but before we looked at our cards at matchpoints, my partner announced, "We're vulnerable and they're not." This was a call to bid cautiously because of ...
Tom Au's user avatar
  • 22.1k
3 votes
2 answers
253 views

Are there times when it is right to underlead an ace against a suit contract?

First, my own example. With only N-S vulnerable, I was sitting West at matchpoints when South dealt and opened 1NT (15-17). I passed, North bid 2 hearts, and South transferred to two spades, all pass. ...
Tom Au's user avatar
  • 22.1k
0 votes
2 answers
92 views

Would most modern experts decline to raise one of a major with the following hand?

Vulnerable versus not at rubber, South opened 1 spade. West passed, and North passed with the following: ♠ KJ9 ♡ 63 ♢ 9762 ♣ 8743. One raises with "six" points. In the old days (50 years or ...
Tom Au's user avatar
  • 22.1k
1 vote
1 answer
79 views

Does my "six or eight" rule for "raising one" make sense?

I was taught to raise partner's "one of a major" bid to two with six high card points. A variation of the rule that I learned recently was eight "points" counting distribution. So ...
Tom Au's user avatar
  • 22.1k
1 vote
2 answers
58 views

How, and how much do bidders downgrade their hands for weak spots?

Suppose you are the first to speak and have a hand like the following (with all x's being 7 or lower). ♠ Kxxx ♡ Ax ♢ Axxx ♣ AJx That's 16 high card points, and normally one would bid 1NT (15-17) with ...
Tom Au's user avatar
  • 22.1k
3 votes
2 answers
330 views

Does a 1st round takeout double always require 3 cards in all the opposition unbid suits?

Does a takeout double in the first round always require 3 or more cards in opposition unbid suits or can a strong hand (18+ points) do a takeout even without the requirement? After the partner bids in ...
user93353's user avatar
  • 482
4 votes
3 answers
395 views

When is it appropriate to raise opener's one of a major with only a king and four of their suit?

The first example was that of Zia Mahmood, as recorded in Larry Cohen's "To Bid or Not to Bid." Hearing his partner bid one spade, Zia raised, with both sides vulnerable, holding ♠ K974 ♡ 82 ...
Tom Au's user avatar
  • 22.1k
0 votes
2 answers
123 views

Is pass correct with 14pts, KQ9H, after 1C,-,1H,-,1S,-,2S,-?

Only us vulnerable at matchpoints, partner opened one club, with the following. I responded one heart, partner bid one spade I bid two spades. (Opponents passed throughout). ♠ AT72 ♡ KQ9 ♢ 54 ♣ AJ95 ...
Tom Au's user avatar
  • 22.1k
0 votes
1 answer
140 views

Would you lead "fourth best from longest and strongest" from the following hands?

With neither side vulnerable at rubber, you are on lead against 3NT (1NT, 3NT bid). I would refrain from doing the above with a Yarborough like ♠ 983 ♡ 872 ♢ 76432 ♣ 85 Instead, I would lead one of ...
Tom Au's user avatar
  • 22.1k
2 votes
1 answer
103 views

Is it ok to open a "weak two" with a decent six of a suit and a "weak" four card side major?

With equal vulnerability, and a holding like (s) KQ9753 (h) K432 (d)xx (c) x, I would pass in first or second position, so that others can bid and I can respond or overcall. I don't mind doing this ...
Tom Au's user avatar
  • 22.1k
1 vote
3 answers
118 views

Would you overcall, double, or do something else with the following strong but "offshape" hand?

You are vulnerable versus not, when your right hand opponent opens one heart. You are sitting on the following "powerhouse," but one that is "offshape" for the calls you want to ...
Tom Au's user avatar
  • 22.1k
1 vote
2 answers
558 views

Opposite partner's opening bid, should I respond in a long minor or a shorter major?

At matchpoints, vulnerable versus not, my partner opened 1 heart with (s) QT963 (h) AKJ92 (d)Q4 (c)8. I responded 2 diamonds with (s)A872 (h) 8 (d) KJT753 (c) KQ. Partner rebid 2 spades and we ended ...
Tom Au's user avatar
  • 22.1k
2 votes
1 answer
244 views

How flexible is the six point response rule in bridge?

If partner opens one of a major, say one heart, I was taught that a responder could raise to two hearts with three of the suit and six high card points, or bid a new suit "one over one" (e.g....
Tom Au's user avatar
  • 22.1k
-1 votes
1 answer
160 views

What is the rationale for a "forcing" 1NT with a range of 6-12 points?

First of all, my understanding is that no trump bids should be made within fairly narrow point ranges (2-3). Therefore, "6-12" looks like an awfully wide range for a single no trump bid. ...
Tom Au's user avatar
  • 22.1k
0 votes
2 answers
94 views

If you are playing short minors, does the following sequence constitute a "reverse?"

Playing five card majors, I open one heart, partner responds two of a minor, and I bid two spades. That would be a "reverse," showing a five-four pattern, and at least 16-17 points. But ...
Tom Au's user avatar
  • 22.1k
9 votes
4 answers
3k views

Did I misbid a slam?

At matchpoints, with both sides vulnerable, my partner opened one club. I bid one heart (one over one) with the following holding: (s) K9 (h) AQ87642 (d) J (c) A62. Partner then bid one spade (showing ...
Tom Au's user avatar
  • 22.1k

1
2 3 4 5
10