Questions tagged [bridge]

A 4 player trick-taking card game where opposing partners try to either take the number of tricks they bid or prevent their opponents from doing so. When asking questions on bidding or play, please specify scoring system (Rubber, Matchpoints, IMPS, ec.), Dealer, vulnerability for both sides, full auction to the point of inquiry, and as complete a description of the visible hands as you can, including spot cards instead of x's.

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
5 votes
2 answers
1k views

Would you pass this 13 high card point hand?

At my duplicate bridge club, with both sides vulnerable, some Souths dealt, and passed with this 13 point hand: ♠ AJx ♡ Axxx ♢ QT9 ♣ Qxx (All x's are 7 or lower.) The hand's main drawback is its 4-3-...
  • 20.7k
0 votes
4 answers
82 views

Should I have balanced in the following situation?

We are vulnerable, the opponents not, at matchpoint duplicate. South opened one spade. West and North passed. I am sitting East with the following: (s) x (h) 9xxxxx (d) Kx (c) ATxx. (All x's are 7 or ...
  • 20.7k
10 votes
3 answers
5k views

Why don't bridge players try to surprise their opponents by learning a different bidding system?

Sort of a follow-up question to Why don't the meanings of specific bids need to be considered when giving advice? As I understand the answers to that question, most bridge players play variants of the ...
  • 11.9k
1 vote
2 answers
53 views

How much stronger should a hand be for a "simple" (non-jump) two level overcall be than a one level overcall?

Suppose my RHO opens one of a minor. I can "overcall" in a major suit with a five card suit and a minimum of seven or eight high card points, provided that those points are concentrated in ...
  • 20.7k
1 vote
1 answer
81 views

How to interpret 3rd hand not covering?

Consider West on lead in the middle of the game. Dummy QJ976 Declarer A103 West leads 8 from the suit. Declarer plays 6 from dummy. East plays 5. Declarer wins with 10. Couple of ...
  • 501
1 vote
3 answers
98 views

Is it OK to make a takeout double with 14 high card points and bad distribution, but no "stranded" honors?

Answers to a question on this hand suggested that one pass a bid of one diamond with 14 high card points because of 1) the three cards in the opposing suit, and 2) the "stranded" queen in ...
  • 20.7k
5 votes
2 answers
658 views

Is it often right to discard/unblock a "sequence" card in which partner holds a broken sequence?

Declarer bids 1NT, dummy 3NT, all pass. Partner leads the Q of a suit in which I hold Jxxx. S/he would not do this without holding one (but not both) of the adjacent cards, and must have the King ...
  • 20.7k
0 votes
4 answers
117 views

Was I right to expect my partner to respond 2NT in the following situation?

Upon meeting a new partner at the bridge club, I wrote on my convention card that 1) I would bid a three card minor if there were no five card major, and that abid of 1 diamond usually meant four and ...
  • 20.7k
3 votes
3 answers
514 views

Why don't the meanings of specific bids need to be considered when giving advice?

Inspired by many bridge questions on this site, e.g. this or this. As I understand bridge bidding systems, they are very detailed, for example in a comment to one of my questions David Siegel wrote: ...
  • 11.9k
2 votes
1 answer
83 views

If you are opening "light" in third position, would it make a difference which is your strong suit?

In third position, after two passes, with equal or favorable vulnerability, I might open 'one spade "light" with something like the following: AKJxx xxx xxx xx (8 hcps, all in spades, and no ...
  • 20.7k
0 votes
5 answers
187 views

Is it ethical to "hesitate" (for thought) when a problem becomes foreseeable, but is not immediate?

There are probably numerous examples, but here is the one I'm using. You are defending a contract, and it is late in hand. Declarer is running a long suit, and you know (from seeing dummy) or believe (...
  • 20.7k
2 votes
4 answers
160 views

How often do top duplicate Bridge players repeat the same game?

For the purposes of this question, we neglect plays that don't matter (i.e. plays that don't affect how the hand plays out). As I understand duplicate bridge, two teams play the same hand from ...
  • 11.9k
5 votes
6 answers
2k views

Who’s to blame for our partnership missing an easy 4S game?

IMP scoring. Neither vulnerable. Right hand opponent was the dealer and opens 1C. The auction went E S W N 1C 1S P 2C 3C P P 3S P P P I had South ♠AQxxx ♡JT ♢Axx ♣xxx Partner had North ♠...
  • 153
0 votes
1 answer
78 views

How do tournament results compare to theoretical results produced by computer analysis?

Tables such as these purport to show the probability, X, of making Y tricks with Z high card points in the declarer's hand and dummy (using computerized double dummy analysis). How do actual ...
  • 20.7k
0 votes
2 answers
95 views

How does "level" matter when deciding whether or not to "jump" a bid opposite partner's takeout double?

Only us vulnerable at rubber, LHO opens 1 heart. Partner doubles, RHO passes, and I have (s)AQJ9 (h) Q42 (d) JT4 (c)853. In this situation, I would "jump" the bidding one level to two spades,...
  • 20.7k
0 votes
3 answers
118 views

How wide a range is a "strong" NT bid allowed to be?

In a "strong two" sequence of 2 clubs, pass, 2 diamonds, pass, I rebid 2NT, I'm saying that I can make 3NT with just a little help from partner. I would do this with a balanced distribution ...
  • 20.7k
0 votes
3 answers
124 views

Could it be right to pass, rather than double, an opposing opening bid with 14 hcps, and three cards in each unbid suit headed by an honor?

"Pass" is what an expert (Frank Stewart) advocates with the following hand, at rubber, at favorable vulnerability, in response to a one diamond opening bid by RHO. Spades QT4 Hearts KQ3 ...
  • 20.7k
0 votes
5 answers
168 views

Was an expert right to advocate passing rather than doubling with the hand below?

I'm confused by the advice I've been getting on doubling from the column of a certain expert (Frank Stewart). In another column, he advised doubling South's one heart as West with this 14 point hand, ...
  • 20.7k
0 votes
3 answers
146 views

What are my better options in the situation below?

With both sides vulnerable, South opens one heart when I, West, have the following: Spades 532 Hearts K5 Diamonds KJ753 Clubs AK3 An expert (Frank Stewart) recommends that West doubles with 14 ...
  • 20.7k
1 vote
3 answers
85 views

Have I correctly identified "good" and "bad" 15 point 1NTs in the following?

Spades Kx Hearts Axx Diamonds Axxx Clubs Axxx With the above hand and equal or unfavorable vulnerability, (all xs are 7 or lower), I would not be inclined to open 1NT even with 15 hcp, opting ...
  • 20.7k
1 vote
2 answers
88 views

In which positions would I open the following 11 point hand?

With only the opponents vulnerable, I have the following hand. No one before me has bid. Spades T6 Hearts QT4 Diamonds 9642 Clubs AKQ9 In which positions would I open one club. An expert (Frank ...
  • 20.7k
0 votes
5 answers
135 views

Should I open the following hand differently in rubber bridge and matchpoint duplicate?

It's a 16 pointer, with five good spades: Spades KQJ85 Hearts A72 Diamonds Q7 Clubs A82 An expert (Frank Stewart) opined in a column that he would always prefer a one spade opening to a 1NT ...
  • 20.7k
7 votes
4 answers
3k views

How close are top Bridge players to perfect play?

Let's say "God" is playing a hand of bridge. "God" can see all cards, and also controls both hands of the partnership: so "God" plays both North-South or East-West, and ...
  • 11.9k
2 votes
6 answers
362 views

Can bridge-style duplicate play work for Magic and other CCGs?

As I understand bridge, you form teams with four players even though only two play at a table. The idea is that there are two identical hands. Two players in your team play North-South with one of the ...
  • 11.9k
7 votes
3 answers
3k views

Whatever happened to leading the 4th highest card of your longest suit?

Sort of a follow-up question to Why is this club lead suspicious when partner has two small hearts? and Why is the King of Spades the best opening lead with this hand? In both those examples, the ...
  • 11.9k
3 votes
4 answers
442 views

Why is this club lead suspicious when partner has two small hearts?

Follow-up question to Why is the King of Spades the best opening lead with this hand? In the next example cited by the website, the board and auction is: What would you lead with the North hand? It’s ...
  • 11.9k
3 votes
5 answers
166 views

Was this a reasonable redouble?

Neither vulnerable in matchmpoint duplicate, I, South, opened 1 club with the following: Spades xx Hearts Qx Diamonds Kxx Clubs AK8xxx (All x's are seven or lower.) West doubled for takeout. ...
  • 20.7k
1 vote
4 answers
168 views

Was this takeout double sound, or "borderline?"

Neither vulnerable in duplicate, South opened 1 diamond. West doubled for takeout with Spades QJTx Hearts Kxxx Diamonds T Clubs K9xx (All x's are seven or lower.) This was a tournament game so ...
  • 20.7k
4 votes
2 answers
236 views

Please help me better understand the Lebensohl convention

I've just started trying to understand the Lebensohl 2NT transfer --- used after partner opens INT and there is intervening interference from opponent, eg., 1NT > > > 2 ❤ > > > 2NT....
8 votes
3 answers
1k views

Why do the same as others in matchpoint bridge?

The following article about matchpoint tactics in bridge says that you should bid a game that you think everbody else will bid, even if you think the game most likely won't make. I have seen similar ...
2 votes
1 answer
126 views

Has it been demonstrated that more aces are better than fewer aces (holding point count constant) in a trump contract?

Aces are good for suit contracts because they represent "first round" control. In a trump contract, there might only be one or two rounds of a side suit played before trumps are used to ...
  • 20.7k
9 votes
4 answers
4k views

Why is the King of Spades the best opening lead with this hand?

Well, you pick up this hand: K Q J 10 9 x x x K x x x x The opponents bid 1 NT on your right and 3 NT on your left. What would you lead? Not that difficult, was it? If you line up a million (1.000.000)...
  • 11.9k
3 votes
2 answers
239 views

Bid out of turn and next player passes or overcalls

Partner is dealer. RHO opened bidding out of turn, and I either pass or overcall before anyone calls attention to the infraction. Is the offender's bid accepted? Does the dealer still have options?
2 votes
5 answers
209 views

Is there a way to "game force" with the following hand?

NV versus Vul, you are opening with (s) Ax (h)--- (d) AKTxxxxxxx (c) x. The opener used 1 club (precision) with 12 hcps instead of 16. I don't agree. 2 clubs (strong) doesn't seem to work because I ...
  • 20.7k
2 votes
2 answers
173 views

Contract Bridge: Revoke first noted by dummy

Declarer is awarded bid for 3 hearts. Opponents double and declarer redoubles. He is not vulnerable and makes seven tricks. However, dummy looks at one of the defender's hands and during play and ...
  • 31
0 votes
1 answer
245 views

In Bridge can you ask for an "undo" if you make the wrong bid and do the opposition have to agree it?

Suppose your partner opens 1D and there is no interference bid. You reply 2S but realise that you should have bid 1S. Can you ask to take it back? And are the opponents obliged to allow you?
  • 1
1 vote
3 answers
116 views

Pulling double after Weak 2 and competition?

This hand is discussed in the April 2021 ACBL Bulletin (p. 8) as a tempo issue, but I am interested in the underlying bidding issues Bidding West South East North 2S 3H 3S Pass Pass 4C Dbl Pass 4S ...
  • 1,179
2 votes
2 answers
149 views

Is playing against an opponent's known "misbids" a good way to defend against a contract?

Neither side vulnerable at rubber, South opens one spade. (He claims to subscribe to five card majors, three card minors, and strong 1NT but not "Flannery." He's also probably capable of &...
  • 20.7k
0 votes
2 answers
154 views

If your partner opens with a "pass," does that make you the "captain" in a bridge partnership?

There are two instances: You are either third or fourth seat, and partner has passed. In fourth seat, you are clearly the driver. After three passes, you are the one to decide whether the hand will be ...
  • 20.7k
4 votes
3 answers
884 views

How to handle dummy's revoke due to a hidden card?

A final bid of 3 spades is made. The opponent leads a club and dummy lays down a hand showing no diamonds. Declarer wins the lead trick in hand and leads a diamond trumping it in dummy. Declarer then ...
4 votes
2 answers
257 views

Bridge auction: 3rd suit tells – 4th suit asks

Subject: 3rd suit tells – 4th suit asks [in Bridge auction] I occasionally used to hear the old fogies round my bridge club quote the above phrase. However, none of them could ever really explain it ...
2 votes
3 answers
128 views

Finesse or Drop at trick 5?

This is a problem from the "Card Play 101" column from the Feb 2021 ACBL Bridge Bulletin (page 44) South holds: (S) 6 3; (H) A K 9 8 5 2; (D) A K 4; (C) 7 6. (West deals, E-W vulnerable, ...
  • 1,179
3 votes
2 answers
137 views

Is anyone the "captain" of the partnership after the following bidding sequence?

Non vulnerable and playing five card majors, South opened onw spade. West passed. North raised to 3 spades. This was a "Bergen" raise, which is to say that North promised only four spades (...
  • 20.7k
1 vote
2 answers
88 views

Are there times to double for a one trick set in duplicate, when you would not do so in rubber?

In rubber bridge, I would "never" double a part score contract for a one trick set. The reason is that a successful double will increase your score from 50 to 100 if the opponents are not ...
  • 20.7k
1 vote
3 answers
138 views

Rubber Bridge scoring

In Rubber Bridge scoring, If the player wins two games with the opponent having an intervening game,does the opponent get 300 for their game?
3 votes
4 answers
813 views

Am I allowed to open at the "one" level with hand like AKQxxxx xx xx xx?

I am concerned about a ACBL rules that says that an opening "one" bid cannot be weaker than the top of a "weak two" bid. With this hand, many might open with a "weak two, &...
  • 20.7k
0 votes
3 answers
63 views

Can a J-T combination be counted as a single honor under a "two honor" rule?

There are times in bridge (e.g. when opening a "weak two") when a bidder needs a strong suit headed by at least two out of the three "top" honors, that is A-K, A-Q or K-Q. The ...
  • 20.7k
2 votes
3 answers
377 views

Should I "take out" a double, using a two card suit?

In an earlier question, the consensus was that I should answer a takeout double of one heart with one spade (the cheaper bid) rather than two clubs. (I agree with that consensus.) The exact situation ...
  • 20.7k
0 votes
3 answers
241 views

What are the rules regarding play of a singleton?

A player waited 3 minutes to play a singleton. We were playing 3 NT and an opponent paused 3 minutes on the second trick leaving 2 minutes to play 11 tricks. What are the rules regarding this ...
2 votes
2 answers
75 views

What is forcing after opening a minor and partner bids a major, and I jump to 2NT?

I open 1D, partner bids 1S, I bid 2NT, opponents have remained silent - partner bids 3D? Is that forcing?

1
2 3 4 5
9