Questions tagged [bridge]

A 4 player trick-taking card game where opposing partners try to either take the number of tricks they bid or prevent their opponents from doing so. When asking questions on bidding or play, please specify scoring system (Rubber, Matchpoints, IMPS, ec.), Dealer, vulnerability for both sides, full auction to the point of inquiry, and as complete a description of the visible hands as you can, including spot cards instead of x's.

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
1
vote
2answers
220 views

Trying to understand when to take a deep finesse?

This is from Dorothy Truscott Hayden's book "Winning Declarer Play". Dummy AQ9 West East ? ...
7
votes
1answer
424 views

Can opponents ask for “alerts” in bridge?

Suppose a bidder makes an unusual bid that is "alertable." The bidder's partner is then supposed to say "alert," and then field questions about the bid. But suppose the partner fails to do this. Can ...
0
votes
2answers
296 views

If opener “pre-empts” in first or second position, can you reasonably assume a pretty strong suit?

Opener bids three of a suit. This particular opener always has seven cards when s/he does this. My a priori view of "average expectations" for opener's suit would be something like A-Q-T-8-6-4-2 (...
6
votes
2answers
3k views

Rubber bridge: when must honours be declared in order to be scored?

If you have four or five honors (or four aces in no-trump), when does it have to be declared? The last time I played, I declared my four honors for 100 points after the hand was over. The bridge ...
3
votes
4answers
426 views

Overcalls at duplicate Bridge

As west, my partner opened 1 club; north, the TD, called one spade and in the east seat I replied 2 hearts. Thereupon my partner alerted and advised the table that I was showing 5 hearts (a first ...
4
votes
4answers
372 views

What system is this expert using?

You are at favorable vulnerability. LHO deals and passes. Partner bids one heart, RHO opponent passes. An expert (Frank Stewart) "surely" recommends that you respond 1NT with the following: (s)J954 (h)...
10
votes
1answer
794 views

What is the penalty for the dummy failing to follow suit?

I failed to have the dummy follow suit because the remaining card of that suit was accidentally hidden under a card of another suit. This was discovered later in the game, and treated as a normal ...
5
votes
3answers
183 views

Bridge Responding to 1NT with 0 HCP?

What is the best response to a 1NT opening bid when responder has 0 HCP and 5 clubs and you have agreed with partner to use Staymans?
5
votes
3answers
457 views

Why is being in the dummy in bridge called “on the board”?

It is customary when declarer is in the dummy to say "on the board"? Where did this terminology come from?
2
votes
3answers
288 views

Meaning of redouble in Goren system?

Here is the situation. Playing best of minors (with four diamonds and 14 points with no five card suit) I opened one diamond. Opponent on my left Doubled. My partner Redoubled. Her partner passed and ...
6
votes
2answers
2k views

Contract Bridge Games Verses Party Bridge Scoring?

In scoring contract rubber bridge, if you make 2 or more games out of 3 you get 500/700 pts for a rubber. If you make 2 games consecutively before your opponents make a game at all you get 700 pts. ...
4
votes
3answers
208 views

Does the “forced response to a new suit” concept apply to both players in the Goren bidding system?

Does the "forced response to a new suit" concept apply to both the partner and the opening bidder during the course of bidding, assuming both have adequate point count to bid to game? For example, 1....
4
votes
3answers
339 views

Bridge Scoring and sacrifice optimization against slam bids?

Suppose North and South go through Blackwood and decide on 6 Spades making a Slam of 980 points. Their opponents decide to optimize the points. So suppose East decides that he has 6 Clubs including ...
9
votes
2answers
490 views

Dummy knows more than declarer

This week I was playing bridge, specifically as dummy in a no-trump contract. With two tricks to go, the lead was in dummy, and my partner said "Play either, they're both losers." Actually she had ...
3
votes
1answer
153 views

5 card major bridge

Playing 5 card major, a weak NT, rubber bridge. After a 1NT opening, west bids 2 clubs (interfering) - opener's partner bids 2 hearts - is this still a weakness takeout (i.e. Limit bid telling ...
2
votes
3answers
889 views

Can a reverse follow a 2-over-1 response?

This question is related to What Is a “Reverse” In Bridge?, but covers a different case. I understand that reverses (17+ HCP, longer in first suit than second) apply to a 1-level response: S W ...
3
votes
2answers
186 views

In bridge, how low an “unlucky” percentage would a good player guard against?

If a contract depended on say, a finesse, most good players would look for plays that would give a better than 50-50 chance of succeeding. (Unless the finesse was marked by the bidding or early play.) ...
2
votes
3answers
199 views

Bridge and limitations for Dummy

One of my partners is nearly blind and has trouble distinguishing between hearts and diamonds and between spades and clubs. Is it proper for me, as Dummy, to call out the cards as they are played on ...
3
votes
1answer
184 views

How should I alert this 1D opening?

In the context of a precision system, the 1D bid is nominally 11-15 high card points and could be one of the following hand types: Unbalanced with 3+ diamonds, no 5-card major, no 6-card club suit (...
0
votes
1answer
2k views

What are the rules on revokes in bridge game

If "Sam" calls a revoke and he is incorrect, does the other side receive any score points for Sam's incorrect call?
1
vote
2answers
732 views

Revoke in duplicate bridge

I revoked on trick 11 and the trick was played out. On trick 12 I was second to play and the revoke was pointed out. I was told to correct the revoke and we would sort it out at the end. I won the ...
2
votes
1answer
182 views

What are the causes (and cures) for bridge experts' mistakes?

As an amateur, I will probably make (numerous) mistakes, through ignorance or lack of technical knowledge. Experts, by definition, don't have this problem. Yet bridge books that I have read report ...
1
vote
1answer
338 views

STD. AMERICAN - 2 over 1, Bidding with a 5 card major and 16 points

A question on which i think the Jury is still out - With a 5 card Major and 16 points - lets say 5-3-3-2 do I open 1 NT or bid 1 of the major. And how do I show my partner a medium hand if I do open ...
5
votes
1answer
493 views

In bridge, is there a penalty if dummy incorrectly lays down his hand?

In bridge, is there a penalty if dummy lays down his hand and places a spade with the clubs and it is not noticed by the players until the third round is played?
4
votes
2answers
161 views

Are there systems or experts that will deduct a point for weak tripletons?

One of the easier ways to lose a game contract is to have something like Jxx opposite Txx, and lose the first three tricks with a "long" and weak suit. That spells automatic defeat at a minor suit ...
8
votes
2answers
1k views

When should I lead a trump?

In which situations should my opening lead be a trump? For example, when the opponents have a 4-4 fit, or when I have a singleton etc.?
6
votes
1answer
518 views

In bridge, what happens if a bidder makes a wrong bid that can't be corrected?

Suppose opener bids one spade. Second seat doubles (takeout). Responder redoubles. Then fourth seat "bids" one club and the opener declines to let it stand. That is an easy fix. Fourth seat has ...
3
votes
1answer
317 views

How much would you revalue your hand after finding a “double fit?”

Suppose you hear your partner open one spade. You, the responder (North) have: (s)Kxx (h)xx (d)xxx (c)AKxxx, and respond two clubs. Opener now bids three clubs, showing you a "double fit" in spades ...
2
votes
1answer
143 views

Are there standards for Bridge robots

I'm thinking of building a bridge robot that bids and plays a hand. Are there any standards for robots to play against each other?
-1
votes
1answer
87 views

Bridge - Standard American [closed]

While playing 2 over 1 where a responders bid of 2 in a new suit shows 13 or more points (we open with 12 points) and is game forcing then a 1NT response to a Major opening by partner would show upto ...
3
votes
2answers
336 views

Bridge Responders Jump shows a preempt or points…Playing Standard American

I am back, played a club level tournament recently. Got creamed in it. I think I couldn't deal with the pressure. MY question is that my partner (an old timer) to my opening bid of 1 Club responded ...
0
votes
3answers
264 views

Bridge - 2 club opening (playing standard american) with shape and not HCP?

If I have say, S: AKQ1098 H: A32 D: KQJ10 C: - With a hand like this, could I open 2 clubs? Could the opponents call the Tournament Director on me? What else could I bid to ensure my partner wouldn'...
1
vote
2answers
299 views

Is there a special name for the following kind of “tenace” and are there “special” kinds of tactics regarding it?

If you hold an AQ or KJ of a suit, with a low card being led up to it, you have a "tenace," and you hope that the missing card is "onside" with the right hand opponent (RHO). If you hold, say an AJ ...
4
votes
3answers
257 views

BRIDGE - What to do with 5 or more trumps in my partners (opening) major?

While playing Standard American, If my partner opens 1 of a Major and I (as responder) have 5 cards in the same Major and 4/5 POINTS, what do I respond, 4 of the Major or something else ? Thanks.
1
vote
2answers
311 views

Jacoby transfer bid after responder bids

If my partner responds 2D to my 1NT opening bid. I have zero to 2 cards in Hearts. What do I bid?
1
vote
2answers
819 views

A opening bid of 1Club if followed by 1Diamond [closed]

A opening bid of 1 Club if followed by 1 Diamond in Bridge shows no majors and 6-7 point, is this correct?
0
votes
3answers
109 views

Should West read a low card as “not” discouraging in the following situation?

This is a link to the whole hand from a Frank Stewart column: E-W vulnerable, S bid 1 spade, raised to 2 spades by N. All pass. West opened with the king of hearts. Dummy, East and South played low ...
6
votes
2answers
507 views

Do bridge champions retain their abilities to a later age than those of chess or go?

My understanding is that bridge champions can continue winning tournaments into their sixties, and even later in life. On the other hand, chess champions often seem to lose their crowns in their ...
5
votes
1answer
149 views

Acol Bridge card game

I am playing game in 4 hearts and get four. The opponents revoke on the 12th trick. If they had not revoked they would of taken us down one trick. Do we get our four hearts? I know a revoke does not ...
2
votes
2answers
267 views

Which of the Walsh bids are alertable?

Our local 'standardized' system suggests we play Walsh. I wanted to know which of the bids under the following sequences are alertable according to WBF alerting policies, given 1C promises 3 and 1D ...
3
votes
1answer
588 views

5 card major/weak NT bidding systems

In the part of the UK where I live, a common set of conventions played at clubs and EBU tournaments is Acol based with 5 card majors, weak NT, weak jump overcalls/truscott (and often also Benji/...
4
votes
4answers
308 views

Bridge and bidding

If I have an opening strength hand and my best suit is the same major as the opening opposition's suit bid, I don't think I can cue bid in this event. How can I tell my partner that we want to play in ...
3
votes
2answers
281 views

Rubber bridge and whether or not to duck [duplicate]

I understand the benefits of ducking especially when playing in NT. If I have Axx in hand and Jxx in dummy how do I decide whether or not to duck the first two tricks? Sometimes it is correct to duck ...
-1
votes
1answer
351 views

Bridge bidding response after rho overcalls at 2 level and you have stoppers and 14 pts [closed]

My partner bids 1H. Opponent says 2D. I have stoppers in D and 14 points. What do I bid? Can I bid 2NT or must I make a suit bid?
4
votes
3answers
621 views

Bidding a high point Bridge hand

I'm south. I have: ♠️ A 10 5 ♥️ A ♦️ A K Q J 8 ♣️ A Q 10 8 East opened the bidding with 3♥️. What should I bid?
2
votes
2answers
365 views

What adjustments do good bidders make for seven card fits?

I don't mind playing in a seven card fit with say, AKxx opposite Qxx. There is a danger that I'll lose control because of the shortness of the suit, but having three top tricks and a chance at a long ...
4
votes
1answer
158 views

Does a bid of 'Double' make you the declarer?

South bids, say 2 spades, then west bids 'double', then all others pass. Does this mean that south is the declarer with the contract being 2 spades doubled? Or does west win the contract with 2 spades ...
0
votes
3answers
497 views

Have recent changes in bidding priorities changed the value of finesses?

I was taught to "bid to make." That is, it would take 26 points to bid a game that was at least a 2 to 1 favorite to make. (I'd bid game with 24-25 only with "something extra" such as a solid five ...
1
vote
1answer
364 views

Part game (leg) scoring in bridge

In either "party" or "rubber" bridge scoring, what is the value of a part score when you either stop playing or come to the end of a "party" round? Some people award 50 points for a part score, some ...
5
votes
1answer
174 views

Can a team-match VP score be negative?

I am not sure if here is a correct place for this kind of question. We had team-matches last weekend(total VP score being 20 for each match). In the first match our teammates in the other table were ...