Questions tagged [bridge]

A 4 player trick-taking card game where opposing partners try to either take the number of tricks they bid or prevent their opponents from doing so. When asking questions on bidding or play, please specify scoring system (Rubber, Matchpoints, IMPS, ec.), Dealer, vulnerability for both sides, full auction to the point of inquiry, and as complete a description of the visible hands as you can, including spot cards instead of x's.

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
1
vote
1answer
369 views

Part game (leg) scoring in bridge

In either "party" or "rubber" bridge scoring, what is the value of a part score when you either stop playing or come to the end of a "party" round? Some people award 50 points for a part score, some ...
5
votes
1answer
175 views

Can a team-match VP score be negative?

I am not sure if here is a correct place for this kind of question. We had team-matches last weekend(total VP score being 20 for each match). In the first match our teammates in the other table were ...
0
votes
3answers
250 views

Opening bid in first seat

opening bid, I have: S: AKQ9873 H: AQ D: xx C: Qx Could I ever justify opening 4 spades? I have more than eight tricks in my own hand, with seven of them in spades. At the same time, I fear the ...
4
votes
2answers
301 views

What is the best opening lead on this hand, and why?

Playing in Flight A-X of a sectional Open Pairs, both Vulnerable at MatchPoints in third seat you hold: (Flight A is 2000+ MPS; Flight X is 0 - 2000 MPS voluntarily playing up instead of at their own ...
0
votes
2answers
149 views

Declarer play for a 4-4 trump fit

Is there any theory or advice in how best to plan declarer play in a 4-4 trump fit. In what situations do you draw trumps, in what situations do you not draw trumps and any other advice?
8
votes
2answers
808 views

Opening bidder steals my bid

What do I bid when the opening bidder bids my bid? E.g. bids 1NT and that is what I want to bid and I don't have a 5 card suit.
-1
votes
1answer
158 views

What's the best way to play the worst possible 4 hands in bridge [closed]

Everyone has 5-4-4 Every pair has a 5-0 match and two 4-4. Every 5 long colors is 10-A. How do you play this and what's the maximum you can achive?
7
votes
2answers
474 views

How are new conventions established in Contract Bridge?

I was reading an article discussing the nature of cheating in Bridge, and started wondering: If all pre-arranged signals between partners are forbidden, then how do new bidding conventions come into ...
4
votes
3answers
552 views

Bridge: Is it a rule that you must announce the meaning of partners opening bid

Bridge Playing SAYC Is it a rule for partner to announce to the defenders what an opening bid (eg '1C minimum 3') means
5
votes
6answers
4k views

Bridge: Holding both 5 card majors which should I bid first in Jacoby transfers

In SAYC my partner bid 1 NT showing 15-17 HCP (no void, no singleton and only one doubleton). I was holding a hand of 10 HCP with 5S, 5H, 2D and 1C. Using Jacoby transfers should I have responded 2D ...
1
vote
1answer
241 views

What are the preconditions for a trump promotion in bridge?

My understanding is that there are two main conditions. The first is that the defense has a long suit with which they can set up a "ruffing finesse," usually against the declarer's trumps by leading ...
3
votes
3answers
184 views

Do most good pre-empters do so within “tight” point ranges?

I'll use "weak two" bids as a frame of reference. My understanding of a "weak two" bid is that it is usually made with six cards of a suit, and at least five high card points (hcps). If that's all, ...
1
vote
2answers
1k views

Does the “Rule of 15” suggest that you should pass with 13 points (and short spades) in fourth seat?

Only you vulnerable, you have a 13- high card point hand like the following: (s)x (h) AJxx (d) KJxx (c) KJxx. (No x is higher than a 7). Three passes have preceded you. The "Rule of 15" suggests ...
4
votes
1answer
387 views

Looking at your the last card played

Is it legal for declarer to look at his/her last card played after the cards from that round are all face down?
0
votes
1answer
167 views

Am I analyzing the following hand properly?

Vulnerable vs. not, N-S are in a 4S contract (South 1NT, North 4H, South 4S, all other bids passed). North's bid was a "transfer." QJ9832 JT4 A64 5 AKT7 A96 T72 AJ9 Frank Stewart reasonably points ...
4
votes
2answers
305 views

Can you suspect false carding from the following situation?

You are playing this hand at 3NT having arrived there after you bid 1NT and North 3NT, East and West having passed throughout. Only you are vulnerable. (The hand is linked for reference; but you'd ...
1
vote
3answers
257 views

Can one use alternate evaluation methods, e.g. “K&R” to defend actions that appear to violate your convention card?

I'm playing in a tournament, and I fill out a convention card that says I will open with 13 or more points. I pick up a certain 14 "worst" point hand (per Milton Work's 4-3-2-1 count) and decide to ...
0
votes
2answers
249 views

Under what circumstances is a declare allowed to “pause” upon seeing the dummy?

My understanding is that this is allowed when a declarer has "technical" problems. So in a sense, the question is about what constitutes a legitimate technical problem. If the declarer wins the first ...
0
votes
1answer
160 views

Is there a bid that is “forcing to four?”

The question arises from this example hand:. The whole hand is included for reference, although you get to see only your own cards when you bid. You are North with (s) AK4 (h) Q98 (d)976 (c) AT86. ...
0
votes
2answers
407 views

If you are fourth seat after a third seat raise, can you make a takeout double with “intermediate” values?

If first seat opens, and you are in the second seat, you need opening values in order to make a take out double (that is 13-14 hcps, maybe 12 with 4-4-4-1 or 5-4-4-0 distribution, while short in ...
3
votes
1answer
150 views

Should “100 or 150 honors” allow you to open light?

By "light," mean with something like (s) AKQJx (h)Jxx (d)xxx (c)xx, or (s) KQJTx (h)Jxx (d)Axx (c)xx, or even (s) AKQJT (h)xxx (d)xxx (c)xx? I can think of two reasons. 1) I was taught that three or ...
1
vote
3answers
201 views

Are there viable alternatives to a “three level pre-empt” with a good seven card suit?

Some people I know would "pre-empt" three spades with a hand like the following: (s) AKQxxxx (h) xx (d)xx (c)xx. My preference, however is to open with a "weak two," (spades) basically treating my ...
3
votes
2answers
202 views

Is“ third seat, favorable vulnerabilty” the only appropriate time to pre-empt with “any seven” of a suit?

I would do this with 8765432 of a suit in third seat, and a "Yarborough" elsewhere in hand, and with favorable vulnerability (not vulnerable vs. vulnerable). Opposite a passed partner, I don't fear ...
5
votes
1answer
283 views

Should I alert a conventional 'Pass'

My partner and I have a pretty neat system for bidding against opponents opening a weak 2 (2 in a Major = <11 HCP, 6-card; 2 Diamonds as either the Multi or weak with diamonds). In this system, if ...
2
votes
1answer
184 views

If you decide to play for “top or bottom” in duplicate, are you supposed to consult with partner?

Sometimes, if a player falls behind in a duplicate tournament, he will try to alter his standing by doing things that the "crowd" would not (e.g. making safety plays), getting a top score if he is ...
2
votes
1answer
233 views

In duplicate, is it ethical to base your play on other people's body language?

In bridge, there are some times when you can assure yourself of x number of tricks (just enough for your contract) by making a safety play to guard against an adverse 4-1 distribution. If you don't ...
1
vote
2answers
510 views

Does a light fourth seat opening work on the same principle as fourth seat “balancing?”

If dealer opens. second seat needs to be at least somewhat careful taking actions such as doubling or overcalling. That's because third seat may theoretically having "everything" (not held by first ...
2
votes
1answer
202 views

With which “non-trump” holdings is a 4-4 fit superior to a 5-4 fit?

If a partnership has both a 4-4 and 5-4 holding on one deal, I could see why it would make sense to have the 4-4 holding be the trump suit. The 5-4 holding can take "long" tricks with the fourth and ...
4
votes
2answers
423 views

With what kind of trump holdings is a 4-4 trump fit superior?

One poster has noted on other questions that a 4-4 trump fit was better almost a trick better than a 5-3 trump fit,and had a smaller premium over a 5-4 fit because of the ability to make either hand ...
3
votes
1answer
220 views

How little strength should I have in bid suits for a negative double?

In bridge, a "negative double" after my partner's opening bid, and my right hand opponent's overcall means, "Partner, I don't like your suit, and I don't fancy defending the opponent's overcall. I ...
5
votes
2answers
187 views

Do “flat” hands devalue a 4-4 trump fit?

The advantage of a 4-4 trump fit is that you can ruff in either hand, and use the other one as the master hand. But if one or both partners have little ruffing value, then might that advantage be ...
5
votes
1answer
4k views

is party bridge the same as rubber bridge? [duplicate]

I am in a group that says we play party bridge and the rules for honors are different than for rubber bridge. What exactly are the differences between party bridge and rubber bridge, and why are they ...
1
vote
2answers
176 views

Was a bridge column “resulting” when it criticized an opening lead?

Both sides vulnerable, South dealt and bid one heart. West overcalled one spade, North three hearts, East three spades, South four hearts, East four spades, South five hearts. West held (s) KQJT8 (h)...
3
votes
2answers
96 views

Does it make sense for a defender to occasionally adopt a slightly inferior line in order to “mix up” the play?

Here's the original question that inspired this one: It was about whether West should lead a short major instead of a long, weak minor when the opponents failed to find a fit using Stayman. A number ...
11
votes
5answers
264 views

Does it make sense for a defender to lead a short major when opponents fail to find a fit using Stayman?

Both vulnerable, at rubber, South dealt and bid 1NT, North 2 clubs, South 2 hearts, North 3NT. You, West, have (s) 64 (h) AJ7 (d)J8752 (c) Q84. North clearly has four spades, but not hearts. Any ...
7
votes
2answers
367 views

Bridge guide for experienced Spades player?

I'm a long-time online Spades player who's never played a single hand of Bridge, but I'd love to give it a try sometimes. I've always felt that the games seem rather similar, so I was looking for ...
6
votes
1answer
595 views

bridge question regarding answering opening of 1 of a major

If opener opens 1s how many hearts does responder need to respond with 2h (has 10 points). If opener opens 1h how many spades does responder need to respond 1 spade (6-9 points)
2
votes
1answer
140 views

In Matchpoints, is it worth risking a ruff to try for an overtrick in the following situation?

You are in a four spade contract, (West and East passed throughout), and the two suits of interest are spades, and a side suit (call it hearts). These are the North and South hands, as given in a ...
5
votes
3answers
1k views

Bridge: Opening lead from AK - why K instead of A

Many books, including Goren, recommend leading K from both a AK (or AKQ) and also a KQ. Why an ambiguous lead like this? Why not A from AK and K from KQ? Consider a trump contract. Partner ...
2
votes
2answers
911 views

Bridge: Which transfer do you use with both majors - one 5 carder and another 4 carder

Partner opens 1NT. With a 4 carder Spade and a 5 carder Heart, what do you do? And with a 5 carder Spade and a 4 carder Heart? Specifically, should you use Stayman, Jacoby Transfers, or some other ...
1
vote
1answer
99 views

Is the partner of a no trump opener also the team “captain” on defense?

If opener bids, say 1 NT, his partner becomes the team "captain" on further bidding because the NT opener has strictly limited both his point count and "shape" with such a bid. That is, partner can ...
4
votes
2answers
202 views

Are there partnerships that win major events by using unpopular systems?

There are some bridge combinations that most players shun, at least when possible. One of these is the so-called Moyesian or 4-3 trump fit. The result is that there are bidding systems that require "...
5
votes
3answers
350 views

Teamwork in bridge

I am new to contract bridge, and wish to understand how it is a team game. I am playing at a low level, but it seems that it is more like two individuals that are playing for the same side, rather ...
2
votes
1answer
545 views

How many spades does my partner have when responding to my opening 1club bid and left overcalls 1 heart

I open with 1 club. Left bids 1 hearts. My partner bids 1 spade. How many spades can I assume my partner has?
5
votes
1answer
403 views

What penalty should the Dummy receive for telegraphing to his partner after play has started?

What penalty should the Dummy receive for touching cards or moving cards forward? After play started, when his partner led to the diamonds, Dummy arranged them again in my mind to make sure she knew ...
1
vote
2answers
952 views

Website / software for playing bridge against computer, but partnering with a human

There seems to be a lot of websites offering games against computer AND with a computer partner. There is also plenty of portals where you can play with 3 other people. I am looking for something in ...
3
votes
2answers
767 views

Grand slam bidding with high card points hand

What is my opening bid with a 24 high card point hand, so that I don't get 3 passes and end up short of slam? AKQJx AKx Ax KQJ, I think. One year players. So rare to see this hand. Partner had 11 ...
6
votes
1answer
967 views

Bidding: How to figure out if responder has 4 carder or 5 carder major?

Playing SAYC, you open 1 Minor. Left passes and partner bids 1 Major. How do you figure out if partner has 4 carder major or 5 carder? Obviously if left overcalls, then partner can use a negative ...
3
votes
3answers
284 views

What are bidding sequences in which the responder is likely to be the “captain” of the partnership?

I can think of two: The first one is when the opener bids no trump. Then the responder knows that the opener has a "balanced" hand, and 15-17 high card points for 1NT, 20-21 for 2NT, etc. Another ...
2
votes
1answer
86 views

How are missing alerts handled?

If a side misses an alert and the other side protests, the tournament director must decide if the missing alert is a disadvantage for the protesting side. It is not possible to check, if the ...