Questions tagged [bridge]

A 4 player trick-taking card game where opposing partners try to either take the number of tricks they bid or prevent their opponents from doing so. When asking questions on bidding or play, please specify scoring system (Rubber, Matchpoints, IMPS, ec.), Dealer, vulnerability for both sides, full auction to the point of inquiry, and as complete a description of the visible hands as you can, including spot cards instead of x's.

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
7
votes
3answers
601 views

Defense to Strong Pass Systems

"Strong pass" systems are classified as Highly Unusual Methods, so most players never worry about them. My understanding is that they are not particularly overpowered (otherwise all the pros would ...
7
votes
3answers
1k views

Why it is important to make a delayed raise and not jump directly to 4-lvl? (System: simple SAYC)

On responding with 13 pts and 4-card major support why it is important to make a delayed raise (e.g. change suit and only then jump to 4-lvl) and not jump directly to 4-lvl- what added value does it ...
7
votes
2answers
881 views

How do I Detect/Defend Against an throw in In Bridge?

When I see declarer draw trumps, and then start to "eliminate" (ruff out) one or more plain suits, my biggest fear as a defender is of a throw in. That is, the declarer will put me on lead because I'...
7
votes
2answers
1k views

In Bridge, what is the punishment for misclaiming tricks?

Down to the last two rounds in rubber bridge. Declarer claims remaining tricks only to discover that he has miscounted. He claims the two tricks with Q-10; however, opponent holds the J and ...
6
votes
9answers
7k views

How should hands that are EXTREMELY strong in one suit (10+ cards) be bid?

I'm a bit of a bridge noob, but I'm kind of puzzled about this. Say I have a hand that is ridiculously strong in one suit, say at least 10 cards with all 4 honors (I'll use spades for the example suit)...
6
votes
3answers
792 views

In bridge, can “good” players get away with bidding “light”?

The conventional wisdom is that it takes 26 points to make a game. But authors such as Terence Reese have written compendiums of how they made games with 23-25 points by "outplaying" the defense; ...
6
votes
2answers
536 views

In Bridge, What Is “Playing the Card You Are Known to Hold?”

If you're a declarer, and West leads the queen of spades, with dummy showing the Kx of the suit, while you have Axx in the closed hand, you might take the trick with the K from the dummy, thereby not ...
6
votes
5answers
491 views

What happens if your opponents never let you win the bid?

In other words, they out bid you even if they have a very bad hand just to prevent you from getting any points above the line?
6
votes
5answers
591 views

In bridge, does it make sense to “tighten” or 'loosen" up on bidding depending on vulnerability?

For instance, the minimum standard seems to be about 12 points to open with a five card suit, or 13 points with a four card minor. That makes sense with equal vulnerability (both vulnerable or both ...
6
votes
3answers
5k views

In Bridge, What's the Difference Between the Blackwood And Gerber Conventions?

I have an idea that both conventions are used to check for aces in slam bidding, and that one starts at four clubs and the other at 4NT. Beyond that, I'm confused. Why would a bidder use one over the ...
6
votes
1answer
264 views

Is it legitimate/ethical to treat the same bid from different people in different ways?

I play in a bridge "round robin" using Chicago scoring, with three other people. Call them, A, B, and C, with three different styles. A will open, say one spade with as few as ten high card points (...
6
votes
1answer
2k views

What is (Larry Cohen's) the “Law of Total Tricks” In Bridge?

Based on my (imperfect) understanding of the "law," it means that my partnership should bid up to the same level as the number of trumps. For instance, with four trumps over my partner's five card ...
6
votes
2answers
568 views

Doubleton Negating High-Card Points

I play bridge casually and mostly have learned from other players (and occasionally from online resources). While playing recently another player suggested that I was counting my hand's points ...
6
votes
2answers
4k views

Rubber bridge: when must honours be declared in order to be scored?

If you have four or five honors (or four aces in no-trump), when does it have to be declared? The last time I played, I declared my four honors for 100 points after the hand was over. The bridge ...
6
votes
1answer
331 views

duplicate bridge revoke not agreed upon

A strange one, for sure. After the hand was played, cards returned to board but before the next round was called, the defenders realized, in discussing the hand, that the declarer had revoked. ...
6
votes
2answers
324 views

Running an introductory bridge lesson

I've introduced bridge to a small group of coworkers at a few jobs now, and I still don't really know the right way to do it. I'm hoping to get some feedback/suggestions on my approach, so I'll just ...
6
votes
3answers
1k views

New Bridge Partner and Etiquette

I joined a duplicate bridge group and was matched with a partner; we are doing pretty well when it comes to points. Question: My partner sometimes criticizes not only me but also opponents, ...
6
votes
1answer
683 views

In bridge, what happens if a bidder makes a wrong bid that can't be corrected?

Suppose opener bids one spade. Second seat doubles (takeout). Responder redoubles. Then fourth seat "bids" one club and the opener declines to let it stand. That is an easy fix. Fourth seat has ...
6
votes
2answers
529 views

Do bridge champions retain their abilities to a later age than those of chess or go?

My understanding is that bridge champions can continue winning tournaments into their sixties, and even later in life. On the other hand, chess champions often seem to lose their crowns in their ...
6
votes
1answer
1k views

Bidding: How to figure out if responder has 4 carder or 5 carder major?

Playing SAYC, you open 1 Minor. Left passes and partner bids 1 Major. How do you figure out if partner has 4 carder major or 5 carder? Obviously if left overcalls, then partner can use a negative ...
6
votes
1answer
153 views

Acol Bridge card game

I am playing game in 4 hearts and get four. The opponents revoke on the 12th trick. If they had not revoked they would of taken us down one trick. Do we get our four hearts? I know a revoke does not ...
6
votes
2answers
2k views

Contract Bridge Games Verses Party Bridge Scoring?

In scoring contract rubber bridge, if you make 2 or more games out of 3 you get 500/700 pts for a rubber. If you make 2 games consecutively before your opponents make a game at all you get 700 pts. ...
6
votes
1answer
674 views

bridge question regarding answering opening of 1 of a major

If opener opens 1s how many hearts does responder need to respond with 2h (has 10 points). If opener opens 1h how many spades does responder need to respond 1 spade (6-9 points)
5
votes
4answers
4k views

In Bridge, Why Do People Use “Transfer Bids” Over 1 NT?

Over 1NT, some people bid two diamonds to say they have five hearts, and two hearts to say they have five spades. The 1NT person bids the desired suit, completing the transfer. Apparently the idea is ...
5
votes
4answers
4k views

In bridge, what are the proper followups to a Jacoby transfer?

In bridge, over a 1 NT opening, a responder might bid 2D/H with five hearts/spades asking the opener to "transfer" to 2H/S. The idea is to try to find an eight card fit, assuming that the NT bidder ...
5
votes
6answers
992 views

In Bridge, Do You Count Defensive Points In the Opponents' Suit When Making a Takeout Double?

Left hand opponent opened 1 heart. Partner doubled for takeout. Right hand opponent passed. I "had to" bid 2 clubs with something like (S) xxx (H) xx (D) Jxxx (C) Jxxx. We were doubled for penalties, ...
5
votes
4answers
2k views

In bridge, are there some 13 point hands that should not be opened?

Suppose you have: (s) Jx (h)KQxx (d) KJxx (c) Kxx. That's 13 points, by the usual count. But I can think of at least two things wrong with it. First, there are no aces, meaning that the hand has ...
5
votes
3answers
1k views

Bridge: Opening lead from AK - why K instead of A

Many books, including Goren, recommend leading K from both a AK (or AKQ) and also a KQ. Why an ambiguous lead like this? Why not A from AK and K from KQ? Consider a trump contract. Partner ...
5
votes
5answers
1k views

What are some good introductory rules to bridge?

I've tried to learn how to play bridge before, but there are so many variations (even on the Wikipedia page) that it's hard to keep track of everything and pin down exactly one way of playing it that ...
5
votes
2answers
257 views

Is it right to refrain from making a takeout double in borderline situations?

In today's bridge column, this example was given: North opened with one diamond. East doubled with (s) Qxx (h)AQxx (d) x (c) ATxxx. This double technically met my 14 point requirement (12 for high ...
5
votes
1answer
534 views

Why is there a Dummy in Bridge?

I'm not a Bridge player, but I have been reading about the game. This part of the rule surprises me. After the contract is closed, Dummy lays down his/her hand and thereafter doesn't take part in the ...
5
votes
3answers
218 views

Why is there a “no man's land” between 1NT 15-17 and 2NT 20-21?

I cannot find any info online or by talking with experienced players about this issue. I assume Goren set this up? Wouldn't this be more logical: 1NT=15-17 2NT=18-19 3NT=20-21
5
votes
2answers
742 views

What constitutes “wrongful” hesitation in bridge?

The protagonist is West (W). Declarer leads a small card of a suit in which dummy, to W's left, has A8. West hesitates before playing in the following four situations: He has Kx (x<8). This ...
5
votes
2answers
488 views

What is the “pause” rule for dummy play in tournament bridge?

My understanding is that in a bridge tournament, that the declarer must pause for some time (X seconds) after the dummy goes down, in order to study it, before playing to the first trick. What is ...
5
votes
3answers
2k views

In contract bridge, what are bonus points for?

I am a beginner and could not find out the application or the use of those bonus points above the line in contract(rubber) bridge. If the winner in a contract bridge is the pair that first achieves 2 ...
5
votes
3answers
196 views

Bridge Responding to 1NT with 0 HCP?

What is the best response to a 1NT opening bid when responder has 0 HCP and 5 clubs and you have agreed with partner to use Staymans?
5
votes
3answers
355 views

Teamwork in bridge

I am new to contract bridge, and wish to understand how it is a team game. I am playing at a low level, but it seems that it is more like two individuals that are playing for the same side, rather ...
5
votes
4answers
4k views

When and how do you use suit preference signals in bridge?

One example is when you (West) lead a singleton against a trump contract, hopefully to your partner's ace, s/he takes it, and then East leads back a spot card in the suit for you to ruff. Besides the ...
5
votes
3answers
662 views

In Bridge, What Are Some Defenses Against Squeezes?

My understanding is that squeezes are most likely to occur when one defender holds all the key cards in say, two different suits. And in most cases, they are what I call "secondary" cards (e.g. Kx, ...
5
votes
3answers
602 views

Are there any bridge systems where cards played convey deeper information in a manner similar to bidding systems?

Such a system might be too complex for a human to consistently/safely implement, but I am curious if they exist. I am imagining a system where your choice of suit or rank to lead or follow with could ...
5
votes
3answers
150 views

Flexibility in Opening two in third seat with 8 points and seven card suit?

Is it against the rules to use your judgement as to whether to open two or three with a seven card suit? Instance was third seat opening with a seven card suit, two of the top five, and 8 points with ...
5
votes
1answer
288 views

Should I alert a conventional 'Pass'

My partner and I have a pretty neat system for bidding against opponents opening a weak 2 (2 in a Major = <11 HCP, 6-card; 2 Diamonds as either the Multi or weak with diamonds). In this system, if ...
5
votes
2answers
201 views

Do “flat” hands devalue a 4-4 trump fit?

The advantage of a 4-4 trump fit is that you can ruff in either hand, and use the other one as the master hand. But if one or both partners have little ruffing value, then might that advantage be ...
5
votes
2answers
1k views

In Bridge, Is “ruffing” a good enough reason to postpone drawing trumps?

Most bridge teachers (and books) teach players to draw trumps at the first possible opportunity. The reason is that you don't want your opponents to take tricks with low trumps. (If they have the A, ...
5
votes
1answer
530 views

What is “Playing For Top or Bottom” In Bridge?

Apparently it relates to duplicate bridge. Initially, I thought it meant playing the hand in a risky way to score overtricks, and taking the chance of sacrificing a potential game. But then someone ...
5
votes
2answers
275 views

Bridge, when does dummy hand get laid down?

Does the dummy hand lay down trump before or after the first card is played?
5
votes
2answers
901 views

Which bidding system is assumed by default at BBO?

Which bidding system is assumed by default at Bridge Base Online (for humans)? I asked in chat several times in different games (ten times I think) and nobody answered. Is it Bridge base basic? Or ...
5
votes
1answer
371 views

How can 7NT be played for this hand?

I played a deal online as South and ended up as 3NT +3 (490 points). The deal analysis page indicates that this deal can be played at 7NT. I retried several times, went straight for 7NT, but all ...
5
votes
2answers
557 views

In bridge, is there a penalty if dummy incorrectly lays down his hand?

In bridge, is there a penalty if dummy lays down his hand and places a spade with the clubs and it is not noticed by the players until the third round is played?
5
votes
2answers
219 views

Should I reopen this hand?

I have as South AJ10x AQJxxx xx x p(N) has: xxxx Kxx xx Jxxx all vulnerable SOUTH WEST NORTH EAST 1H 3C Pass Pass ? What is South's best call and why?

1
2
3 4 5
8