Questions tagged [bridge]

A 4 player trick-taking card game where opposing partners try to either take the number of tricks they bid or prevent their opponents from doing so. When asking questions on bidding or play, please specify scoring system (Rubber, Matchpoints, IMPS, ec.), Dealer, vulnerability for both sides, full auction to the point of inquiry, and as complete a description of the visible hands as you can, including spot cards instead of x's.

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
5
votes
4answers
2k views

Are there times when a hand with a seven card suit is too strong for a three level pre-empt?

Partner opened with 3 spades (pre-empt). I passed with (s) xx (h) KQx (d) KQxx (c) AJxx. That's because I was expecting something like the following (with or without the side jacks): (s) KQxxxxx (h) ...
5
votes
2answers
132 views

Is a bridge defense easier if the values are about equally distributed?

The conventional wisdom is that a bridge declaration for game will have about a 50-50 chance of success if declarer has about 25 high card points, and the defense has 15. That's "all other things ...
5
votes
3answers
3k views

What Are The Key Features Of The “Fantunes” Bidding System?

Zia Mahmood's Bridge column for the Guardian newspaper today tells of two players with world titles to their names, Fulvio Fantoni and Claudio Nunes, who apparently have an intriguing bidding system: ...
5
votes
1answer
197 views

Can a team-match VP score be negative?

I am not sure if here is a correct place for this kind of question. We had team-matches last weekend(total VP score being 20 for each match). In the first match our teammates in the other table were ...
5
votes
3answers
3k views

If partner opens one heart, what do I need to respond with one spade?

If my partner opens one heart, and I respond one spade, am I showing four or five spades?
5
votes
1answer
142 views

Responding to partner's double in Party Bridge

The dealer bid 1♣. I am the second chair and had no high card points and no 5 card major. My highest card was a ♥9 therefore, I passed. The dealer's partner raised her bid to 2♠. My partner doubled ...
5
votes
6answers
5k views

Bridge: Holding both 5 card majors which should I bid first in Jacoby transfers

In SAYC my partner bid 1 NT showing 15-17 HCP (no void, no singleton and only one doubleton). I was holding a hand of 10 HCP with 5S, 5H, 2D and 1C. Using Jacoby transfers should I have responded 2D ...
5
votes
1answer
430 views

What penalty should the Dummy receive for telegraphing to his partner after play has started?

What penalty should the Dummy receive for touching cards or moving cards forward? After play started, when his partner led to the diamonds, Dummy arranged them again in my mind to make sure she knew ...
5
votes
3answers
500 views

Why is being in the dummy in bridge called “on the board”?

It is customary when declarer is in the dummy to say "on the board"? Where did this terminology come from?
5
votes
1answer
4k views

is party bridge the same as rubber bridge? [duplicate]

I am in a group that says we play party bridge and the rules for honors are different than for rubber bridge. What exactly are the differences between party bridge and rubber bridge, and why are they ...
5
votes
0answers
120 views

What progress has been made in computerized bridge play?

Computer programs have been produced for games such as chess and Go. The best ones, Deep Blue and AlphaGo , AlphaZero are now considered better than the best human players. More to the point, the ...
5
votes
2answers
505 views

In bridge, how do you tell when to use holdup versus blocking plays?

You are the declarer at a 3NT contract (1NT, 3NT, no opposing bids). West leads what appears to be a five card suit, and you have Axx in dummy. Your main concern is that East can get the setting ...
4
votes
3answers
932 views

Why is this type of hesitation considered unethical?

In two previous questions, it was clearly agreed that hesitating before playing a singleton specifically, and hesitating during play as a bluff generally constitute "wrongful/unethical hesitation." As ...
4
votes
3answers
3k views

In Bridge, Can I Ask About Previously Played Cards to the Current Trick?

In Bridge, one is allowed to look at the four cards played to the last trick (if the next round hasn't started). Can I similarly ask about cards played to the current trick? I was sitting at East, ...
4
votes
4answers
388 views

What system is this expert using?

You are at favorable vulnerability. LHO deals and passes. Partner bids one heart, RHO opponent passes. An expert (Frank Stewart) "surely" recommends that you respond 1NT with the following: (s)J954 (h)...
4
votes
3answers
432 views

Bridge bidding - how do I decide whether or not to bid 1NT with weakness in a particular suit?

If I'm inclined to bid NT with 15-17 points, but am weak in one suit, how weak can I be, and still bid 1NT, as opposed to bidding 1 club, to find out if my partner can show strength e.g. a stopper in ...
4
votes
3answers
985 views

Is Duplicate Bridge (standard Matchpoints) a game of pure skill?

I'm inclined to say "no" because because each of the following could be considered lucky: A finesse can be tried 2 different ways and your partnership selects the one that works You play a routine, ...
4
votes
2answers
976 views

In Bridge, When and Why Do People Sacrifice Overtricks to Be Sure of Making Game?

Most players I've seen will often sacrifice potential overtricks in "rubber" bridge to be sure of making game. Apparently, that's not the case in "duplicate." Why is that?
4
votes
3answers
290 views

Why are Bridge's bid meanings public?

I'm not a Bridge player, but I've been reading about the game. This part of the rules is surprising to me. From Wikipedia's article on Bridge bidding systems, By the rules of the game, the agreed ...
4
votes
3answers
356 views

Bridge Scoring and sacrifice optimization against slam bids?

Suppose North and South go through Blackwood and decide on 6 Spades making a Slam of 980 points. Their opponents decide to optimize the points. So suppose East decides that he has 6 Clubs including ...
4
votes
3answers
283 views

Is “finesses wrong for declarer” a good reason to double a (bridge) contract?

Suppose you have a hand like (s) KJx (h) xxx (d)Axxx (c) xxx, sitting "West." The (Standard American) bidding has been S 1 spade, N 2 hearts, S 2 spades N 4 spades. You and partner have passed so far,...
4
votes
3answers
94 views

How to bid a slam when partnership cannot find the best suit?

The following hand was dealt recently in the Common Game; but only a very small number of partnerships bid and made a slam (1 grand; 2 small slams). As you can see from the last 2 lines, the computer ...
4
votes
3answers
131 views

Is an emphasis on card reading/counting well placed for a learner?

I am a "developing" bridge player who has come to the conclusion that card reading/counting ability is the most important skill to learn; more than say, new bidding conventions. There may be a ...
4
votes
2answers
169 views

Are there systems or experts that will deduct a point for weak tripletons?

One of the easier ways to lose a game contract is to have something like Jxx opposite Txx, and lose the first three tricks with a "long" and weak suit. That spells automatic defeat at a minor suit ...
4
votes
3answers
692 views

Bidding a high point Bridge hand

I'm south. I have: ♠️ A 10 5 ♥️ A ♦️ A K Q J 8 ♣️ A Q 10 8 East opened the bidding with 3♥️. What should I bid?
4
votes
1answer
163 views

Does a bid of 'Double' make you the declarer?

South bids, say 2 spades, then west bids 'double', then all others pass. Does this mean that south is the declarer with the contract being 2 spades doubled? Or does west win the contract with 2 spades ...
4
votes
2answers
213 views

Are there partnerships that win major events by using unpopular systems?

There are some bridge combinations that most players shun, at least when possible. One of these is the so-called Moyesian or 4-3 trump fit. The result is that there are bidding systems that require "...
4
votes
2answers
189 views

In Bridge what happens if a player has more points than their bidding suggests

For example: NORTH ♠️: KJ10986 ♥: QJ9 ♦️: K ♣️: Q106 WEST (Dlr) EAST ♠️: 75 ♠️: Q43 ♥: AK7642 ...
4
votes
3answers
211 views

Does the possibility of claiming tricks prevent the defense from profitting from declarer's errors?

Suppose, the declarer claims 12 tricks in a slam, but you have the opinion that declarer can make a mistake. Can you demand declarer to play it out, or does the tournament director decide how many ...
4
votes
2answers
2k views

How do I bid using “weak Stayman” (or garbage stayman)

People like Marty Bergen have written things like, "almost anytime you're responding to your partner's 1NT and you have few clubs, you should respond 2 clubs," Stayman (this is a paraphrase, not an ...
4
votes
1answer
499 views

Is a “drop-finesse” better than a simple “drop” play with a nine card suit in bridge?

Regarding finesses for a missing queen in a key (e.g. trump suit), there is a proverb of "eight ever [always] nine never." Instead, one is supposed to play for a drop. (This, and most other proverbs ...
4
votes
2answers
435 views

In bridge,should a responder devalue her hand if short in opener's suit?

I opened a "strong two clubs." Partner bid 2 NT, which between us, meant "9-plus points, slam interest." I bid my suit, 3 spades, with the following: (s) AKQxxx (h) AKx (d) Ax (c) xx. That's a 6-...
4
votes
2answers
222 views

When none of the opening bids are suitable - what do you bid?

Let's say I have a 4-4-4-1 distribution. I have somewhere between 20 to 22 points. What do I bid in this case? 2NT is not possible because of the singleton. 2C is not possible because what would be ...
4
votes
1answer
110 views

Duplicate bridge mislead

If player pulls card out of his hand and then puts it back in his hand, and opponents have seen the card, must player play that card?
4
votes
3answers
268 views

BRIDGE - What to do with 5 or more trumps in my partners (opening) major?

While playing Standard American, If my partner opens 1 of a Major and I (as responder) have 5 cards in the same Major and 4/5 POINTS, what do I respond, 4 of the Major or something else ? Thanks.
4
votes
4answers
624 views

Bridge: Is it a rule that you must announce the meaning of partners opening bid

Bridge Playing SAYC Is it a rule for partner to announce to the defenders what an opening bid (eg '1C minimum 3') means
4
votes
2answers
313 views

Can you suspect false carding from the following situation?

You are playing this hand at 3NT having arrived there after you bid 1NT and North 3NT, East and West having passed throughout. Only you are vulnerable. (The hand is linked for reference; but you'd ...
4
votes
2answers
539 views

How does one evaluate a hand responding to a “strong” two clubs?

When opener bids a "strong" two club, responder bids two diamonds (waiting), and the opener rebids his suit, e.g. two spades, the responder is now the "captain" of the partnership. That's because s/he ...
4
votes
1answer
136 views

In bridge, are “sequences” more valuable than non-sequences of similar point count?

In backgammon, for instance, sequences of "points" are more valuable than the same number of points out of sequence. That is the 6-5, or 6-5-4 points, are more valuable than the 6-4, or 6-4-2 points ...
4
votes
1answer
225 views

In Bridge, How do I Differentiate Between My Partner's Signals on Defense?

On defense, there are attitude, suit preference, and count signals. My guess is that the play to the first trick would represent an "attitude" signal for a suit. Beyond that, how do I differentiate ...
4
votes
3answers
256 views

Does the “forced response to a new suit” concept apply to both players in the Goren bidding system?

Does the "forced response to a new suit" concept apply to both the partner and the opening bidder during the course of bidding, assuming both have adequate point count to bid to game? For example, 1....
4
votes
4answers
317 views

Bridge and bidding

If I have an opening strength hand and my best suit is the same major as the opening opposition's suit bid, I don't think I can cue bid in this event. How can I tell my partner that we want to play in ...
4
votes
2answers
305 views

What is the best opening lead on this hand, and why?

Playing in Flight A-X of a sectional Open Pairs, both Vulnerable at MatchPoints in third seat you hold: (Flight A is 2000+ MPS; Flight X is 0 - 2000 MPS voluntarily playing up instead of at their own ...
4
votes
1answer
406 views

Looking at your the last card played

Is it legal for declarer to look at his/her last card played after the cards from that round are all face down?
4
votes
2answers
450 views

With what kind of trump holdings is a 4-4 trump fit superior?

One poster has noted on other questions that a 4-4 trump fit was better almost a trick better than a 5-3 trump fit,and had a smaller premium over a 5-4 fit because of the ability to make either hand ...
4
votes
1answer
160 views

What Other Bidding Approaches Are There?

My parents taught me how to play bridge. They grew up in the 1970s when Precision Club was popular and they taught me how to play strong club. When I grew up, SAYC and 2/1 were beaten into me. Now, I ...
4
votes
3answers
206 views

Are there many mandated “time outs” in tournament bridge?

In "Points, Schmoints," Marty Bergen related an instance in which he announced "skip bid," before "jumping" his partner's two diamond bid to the five level (instead of three). According to him, his ...
4
votes
1answer
806 views

In bridge, what are exceptions to “third hand high?”

You are sitting "East" (with dummy to your right), and your partner West leads a low (presumably fourth best) card in a suit against a 3 no trump contract. When dummy plays low from "nothing," and you ...
4
votes
2answers
448 views

Different kinds of “two direction” finesses in bridge?

I once read in a book about a "backward" finesse. You, declarer, have AJ9, and dummy has Kxx. Ordinarily, you would finesse twice from dummy toward AJ9. Except that your left hand opponent has ...
4
votes
3answers
240 views

Take out double at first opportunity to double?

I dealt and passed - LH opponent passed, partner passed and RHO opened 1 Heart. Holding: ♠ K98 ♥ 109 ♦ A986 ♣KJ2     can I double as this is the first opportunity to do so?

1 2
3
4 5
8