Questions tagged [bridge]

A 4 player trick-taking card game where opposing partners try to either take the number of tricks they bid or prevent their opponents from doing so. When asking questions on bidding or play, please specify scoring system (Rubber, Matchpoints, IMPS, ec.), Dealer, vulnerability for both sides, full auction to the point of inquiry, and as complete a description of the visible hands as you can, including spot cards instead of x's.

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
3
votes
1answer
230 views

How little strength should I have in bid suits for a negative double?

In bridge, a "negative double" after my partner's opening bid, and my right hand opponent's overcall means, "Partner, I don't like your suit, and I don't fancy defending the opponent's overcall. I ...
3
votes
2answers
227 views

Cold contract in bridge

A cold contract usually means that a contract, which makes on most reasonable lines, as the cards lie. You hear people say, "He managed to find a line to go down in a cold contract". (Note: the ...
3
votes
1answer
163 views

What are ways to “read” the shape of your opponents' hands early on?

Toward the end, the shape of opponents' hands can be read by "counting" (playing out two or three suits and inferring the shape of the remaining one(s)). In the beginning, one looks for more subtle ...
3
votes
3answers
243 views

In bridge, is an “uppercut” a special case of a “forcing game?”

In a standard forcing game, you the defender, may have four (or more) trumps, and ypu lead a long suit in which declarer is void in order to force him to ruff, thereby shortening his trumps to your ...
3
votes
2answers
373 views

In Bridge, Is it Sometimes Good to Lead an Opponent's Suit on Defense?

I was "West," that is, the opening leader. My left and right hand opponents had alternated diamond and spade bids, neither supporting the other, suggesting something like 6-1 misfits in both suits (...
3
votes
1answer
240 views

How to play AKJx opposite xxx for 3 tricks at matchpoints

Say I need 3 trick from the suit AKJx opposite xxx to make my contract at matchpoints. I recently discovered that the best line is to cash AK and then lead to the jack (winning when the suit breaks 3-...
3
votes
2answers
307 views

Rubber bridge and whether or not to duck [duplicate]

I understand the benefits of ducking especially when playing in NT. If I have Axx in hand and Jxx in dummy how do I decide whether or not to duck the first two tricks? Sometimes it is correct to duck ...
3
votes
2answers
850 views

Grand slam bidding with high card points hand

What is my opening bid with a 24 high card point hand, so that I don't get 3 passes and end up short of slam? AKQJx AKx Ax KQJ, I think. One year players. So rare to see this hand. Partner had 11 ...
3
votes
2answers
597 views

In bridge, if a 1 NT bidder is doubled, is it right to “redouble for rescue?”

Suppose South opens with 1 NT (15-17). After two passes, East doubles, showing possession of most of the remaining 23-25 high card points not held by South. 1NT P P Dbl South has a flat 4-3-3-3 ...
3
votes
4answers
475 views

Overcalls at duplicate Bridge

As west, my partner opened 1 club; north, the TD, called one spade and in the east seat I replied 2 hearts. Thereupon my partner alerted and advised the table that I was showing 5 hearts (a first ...
3
votes
1answer
193 views

How should I alert this 1D opening?

In the context of a precision system, the 1D bid is nominally 11-15 high card points and could be one of the following hand types: Unbalanced with 3+ diamonds, no 5-card major, no 6-card club suit (...
3
votes
1answer
153 views

Should “100 or 150 honors” allow you to open light?

By "light," mean with something like (s) AKQJx (h)Jxx (d)xxx (c)xx, or (s) KQJTx (h)Jxx (d)Axx (c)xx, or even (s) AKQJT (h)xxx (d)xxx (c)xx? I can think of two reasons. 1) I was taught that three or ...
3
votes
1answer
377 views

bridge penalties [duplicate]

I am with a group that has been playing bridge for a little over 2 years. We have one member who has, on occassion, layed her hand down towards the end and declared the rest of the tricks are hers. ...
3
votes
2answers
1k views

Can “SWOT” analysis be useful in bridge

SWOT stands for (an analysis of) strengths, weaknesses, opportunities, threats. There are four "fields" and yes, four suits. Here's an example from this deal, which came up in today's New York Post. ...
2
votes
6answers
9k views

In Bridge, what are “proper” responses to a “strong” 2 club bid?

Bidding Standard American, and opening a "strong" two clubs (typically 22 HCPs and a six card suit), I like to hear responses of 2 diamonds (0-8 points, no more than game interest), or 2NT (9+ plus ...
2
votes
2answers
640 views

Are there “established” systems where “Five Card Majors” isn't a strict rule?

In "Standard American," I must open a major with 65432 while refraining from opening a major with AKQJ. IMHO, there are five card majors that are too weak to be opened and there four card majors that ...
2
votes
3answers
214 views

Bridge and limitations for Dummy

One of my partners is nearly blind and has trouble distinguishing between hearts and diamonds and between spades and clubs. Is it proper for me, as Dummy, to call out the cards as they are played on ...
2
votes
3answers
135 views

Are bidding systems geared toward “optimizing” contracts?

Most contracts can succeed with some distributions and defenses of the 26 opposing cards, and fail with others. If a contract (except a grand slam) makes against any defense and distribution you've ...
2
votes
3answers
186 views

In bridge, should a defender play differently with most, about half, or few of the partnership's points?

This example is from Victor Mollo's "Test Your Defense, Where the Points are Won." You are East. The bidding has been 1NT pass 3NT pass. West leads what looks to be the fourth highest spade. You hold:...
2
votes
2answers
124 views

Did I “really” have too many points for the following bid?

Not vulnerable versus vulnerable, I was sitting third position with the following hand: (s) KQx (h) --- (d) KJ9xxx (c) K8xx. (All x's are 7 or lower.) I opened 2D, a "weak two" after two passes. One ...
2
votes
4answers
732 views

What caused this world-class player' to respond inappropriately to her partner's transfer bids?

Zia Mahmood's Bridge column today relates an amusing tale of disaster at the World Championships. A player on the apparently very talented Netherlands ladies team, holding the following 6-3-2-2 hand: ...
2
votes
2answers
393 views

What adjustments do good bidders make for seven card fits?

I don't mind playing in a seven card fit with say, AKxx opposite Qxx. There is a danger that I'll lose control because of the shortness of the suit, but having three top tricks and a chance at a long ...
2
votes
3answers
5k views

Opener's rebid of 2NT (system: Simple SAYC)

I opened with 1H - Partner bid 2C - (I have 5 hearts, 12 pts, 3spades 3diamonds 2clubs). I have to respond, but responding 2NT would mean I have 18 pts (my written source on this is: http://www.math....
2
votes
1answer
265 views

Was I right to bid something other than one club with the following hand?

This was a Baron Barclay's problem. Both vulnerable, I was sitting South after three passes with the following hand: (All x's are 6 or lower). (s) AT7x (h) Kxx (d)9xx (c) AJX. I elected to pass. I ...
2
votes
5answers
1k views

Bridge hand with high card points between 1NT (15-17) and 2NT (20-21)

A few years ago, I submitted a question here about opening a balanced hand in the so-called "no man's land" of 18-19 HCP, ie. too strong to open 1NT and too weak to open 2NT. Many thanks to those who ...
2
votes
4answers
1k views

Can a reverse follow a 2-over-1 response?

This question is related to What Is a “Reverse” In Bridge?, but covers a different case. I understand that reverses (17+ HCP, longer in first suit than second) apply to a 1-level response: S W ...
2
votes
3answers
600 views

Responding to a simple overcall (SAYC)

LHO opened with 1C – Partner overcalled with 1S – (I have 6 pts, 4 Spades) → Do I respond with 2S? P.S. rho pass. EDIT : what my gripe with this is, that according to textbooks, you respond to ...
2
votes
1answer
590 views

In Bridge, What is the Merit of Taking a “Double” Finesse?

Suppose I am declarer, and dummy has a "side" (non-trump) suit with AQx or AQxx, and I have xxx in my hand. I have been told NOT to finesse the Q (a 50-50 chance), except as a last resort, or late in ...
2
votes
2answers
186 views

Was South's bidding really as “edgy” as an expert suggests?

Here is a Frank Stewart hand. You, South hold, ♠K986 ♥KT7 ♦875 ♣KQ9 Both vulnerable, North dealt and opened 1C. North East South West 1C Pass 1S Pass 2S Pass 3C Pass 3D ...
2
votes
2answers
126 views

What is scored for bidding and making 3 Clubs Doubled?

Bidder bids 3 Clubs. Opponent doubles. No other bids. Bidder makes 3 Clubs. What is the Score the Bidder gets?
2
votes
2answers
1k views

Bridge: Which transfer do you use with both majors - one 5 carder and another 4 carder

Partner opens 1NT. With a 4 carder Spade and a 5 carder Heart, what do you do? And with a 5 carder Spade and a 4 carder Heart? Specifically, should you use Stayman, Jacoby Transfers, or some other ...
2
votes
3answers
742 views

When should a bridge defender return the second, rather than fourth highest card in suit?

Against a bidding sequence of 1NT, 3NT, partner, West, opens with what looks like the fourth highest of a suit. Dummy goes down with two small cards in the suit. I have four to the king in the suit, ...
2
votes
3answers
456 views

How do you decide which way to finesse for an ace?

This is from the New York Post, which is to say that it is a "problem." You are declarer (South) in a 3 no trump contract. You get a "friendly" lead in a suit where you have three winners (two in ...
2
votes
1answer
115 views

Bridge simple open bid for 7♠, 2♥, 1♦, 3♣? [closed]

With the following hand should I open with 3 spades to let my partner know I have a 7 spades? This is my hand ♠ AK87642 ♥ T3 ♦ 4 ♣ JT8 I am a beginner.
2
votes
1answer
77 views

Can I use simulation to show that one bidding point count is more accurate than another?

I've created a new bridge point count system with aces worth 4.5 points, kings worth 3.0 points, queens worth 1.5 points, jacks worth 0.75 points, and tens worth 0.25. There are still 40 points in the ...
2
votes
2answers
73 views

Did I overstate my values on the following bidding?

Nobody vulnerable, partner, South, dealt and opened one spade. West overcalled 2C. Sitting North, I called 2H holding (s) xx (h) KQT8xx (d) xx (c) Kxx. (All x's are 7 or lower.) Partner bid 3d, so I ...
2
votes
3answers
155 views

Should our 1D opening be alerted?

My partner and I play a weak 1NT (12-14 HCP) and 1C can be real (5+ card) or 15-19 HCP. If we have a 5 card major, we open it. Because we have a bid promising a balanced hand with every range. This ...
2
votes
1answer
201 views

What are the causes (and cures) for bridge experts' mistakes?

As an amateur, I will probably make (numerous) mistakes, through ignorance or lack of technical knowledge. Experts, by definition, don't have this problem. Yet bridge books that I have read report ...
2
votes
1answer
238 views

In duplicate, is it ethical to base your play on other people's body language?

In bridge, there are some times when you can assure yourself of x number of tricks (just enough for your contract) by making a safety play to guard against an adverse 4-1 distribution. If you don't ...
2
votes
1answer
221 views

Playing duplicate bridge against players from some event

I am organizing a Bridge club in my workplace and I want it to be Duplicate Bridge one, but currently sometimes we don't get 8 people to join the meeting (I hope, in the future the club will grow). ...
2
votes
1answer
192 views

In SAYC, what does doubling a 2-level weak jump overcall mean?

In SAYC, what does doubling a 2-level weak jump overcall mean? For example, the bidding sequence: 1♣ - 2♠ - double. Is it a negative double, a penalty double, a show of spade control, or something ...
2
votes
4answers
332 views

Should I respond to 1 NT in a suit or NT holding 17 HCP and a void?

My partner opened a "strong" one NT. I am holding: ♠ void ♥ KJxx ♦ AKQxxx ♣ KJx What should I bid?
2
votes
1answer
112 views

Among good players, should one base one's play on the assumption that the opponents will play deceptively?

Here is another Frank Stewart example. I am showing only the N-S hands since this is a declarer problem. N-S vulnerable, the bidding could have been 1NT-3NT; E/W pass throughout (but the actual N-S ...
2
votes
1answer
238 views

Dummy's role during the play of a hand

If, during the play of a hand, dummy touches a card in the dummy hand, is that card considered to be played?
2
votes
2answers
283 views

Which of the Walsh bids are alertable?

Our local 'standardized' system suggests we play Walsh. I wanted to know which of the bids under the following sequences are alertable according to WBF alerting policies, given 1C promises 3 and 1D ...
2
votes
1answer
209 views

With which “non-trump” holdings is a 4-4 fit superior to a 5-4 fit?

If a partnership has both a 4-4 and 5-4 holding on one deal, I could see why it would make sense to have the 4-4 holding be the trump suit. The 5-4 holding can take "long" tricks with the fourth and ...
2
votes
1answer
266 views

Par-zero deal with many points for N/S [closed]

This question is about the card game bridge : How many points can N/S have in a par-zero deal ? (Only consider the high card points) In a par-zero deal, no player can make any contract assuming ...
2
votes
1answer
364 views

Has the value of a five-card suit in no trump contracts been demonstrated?

Going through old bridge books (by e.g., George Coffin), I was struck by the fact that some 3NT contracts made easily with "only" 24-25 and a good five card suit, while if both declarer and dummy had ...
2
votes
3answers
938 views

Should I Use A “Negative Double” Over a Possible “Short Club” Bid And Overcall in Bridge?

Playing Standard American, partner opened 1 club. Right hand opponent overcalled 1 spade. I raised to 2 clubs with: ♠xx ♥Axxx ♦JTxx ♣Qxx Everyone passed. Partner had 13 points and a "short" three ...
2
votes
1answer
1k views

How does a renege that is discovered later in a bridge game affect the scoring?

In a recent bridge game, the contract was 2C doubled. The contracting team discovered, at a point in the game after a trick had been played that the opposing team had reneged. They assert that there ...

1
4
5
6 7 8