Skip to main content

Questions tagged [canasta]

Card game similar to Rummy, played with two packs of cards. Usually with four players in two partnerships who seek to 'meld' sets of seven cards of the same rank to clear their hand. Variants exist for other numbers of players.

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
1 vote
1 answer
43 views

Wrongly picking up the discard pile in Canasta

What is the penalty for picking up The discard pile in error. For example, a player has two of the same face value cards but have not completed their initial melds points wise for the rd and even with ...
user43687's user avatar
0 votes
1 answer
27 views

Final point count

When playing American Canasta, open with a wild card canasta and am not able to close it. Negative 2000 but do we still add up the point value of those cards either closed with 7 or still open?
Deborah Cinque's user avatar
0 votes
1 answer
145 views

Completing Special hand in canasta

If I am going for a special hand (zip code) and I need 1 card. The tray is empty, and my opponent discards the card I need to complete my special hand. Can I pick that card to complete my special hand?...
Renee J's user avatar
0 votes
1 answer
1k views

3 Player Hand and Foot Canasta

I was taught to play Hand and Foot Canasta while I was in Rehab at a nursing home by these older women. I have not been able to find a game where this "version" is played anymore. (in fact, ...
Tim's user avatar
  • 1
0 votes
0 answers
48 views

Canasta- Partner melds Wild cards 160 pts but we need 180. Penalty to 190. I meld w 3 wild cards but told I can't

Partner and I needed 180 pts to meld. She melds 5 wild cards that only total 160 so penalty is now 190. After a few turns I now have 3 wild cards which I meld with other naturals for a total of 195. ...
Suzy Que's user avatar
0 votes
1 answer
37 views

Legal meld in canasta [duplicate]

If a queen is on the discard pile and I have 3 queens in my hand and 2 aces and a wild card 2 can I pick up the pile and make my first meld. I need 90 to meld.
Sueba's user avatar
  • 1
2 votes
2 answers
178 views

Picking the pack in Canasta

When picking the pack on an initial opening meld. Can I use the two cards that I’m picking the pack with as part of my points requirements? or Do I need the points requirements WITHOUT the two ...
canastany's user avatar
1 vote
1 answer
94 views

If my Red Three is not melded or in a meld then is it minus points? Canasta

By which I mean, say I have picked up and displayed a red three. My opponent has gone out, with them having 1 Natrual 5s Canasta and myself having 1 Natrual Ace Canasta, with three 6 cards left in my ...
Gill P's user avatar
  • 13
6 votes
1 answer
525 views

Replacing red threes

If a player is dealt (i.e., dealt during the deal, not as draws drawn later) red threes and on their first turn they want to pick up the pile, when do they pick up the replacement cards for the red ...
Jujulini's user avatar
0 votes
1 answer
119 views

Canasta: Going out without drawing

In Canasta, I go out without drawing a card for my final hand? I know I don’t have to discard, but do I need to draw a card?
Anna DiNome's user avatar
1 vote
1 answer
131 views

in Canasta, is it allowed to pick up from a frozen pile?

In classic Canasta, if I have a dirty canasta in 10s and someone discards a 10, can I pick it up from a frozen pile?
Frocor's user avatar
  • 11
0 votes
2 answers
216 views

Melding in American Canasta

In modern American canasta a meld of 180 is needed to meld. You can meld with enough points but have only one card left to discard. The card is a wild card. Is this acceptable?
Helene Frey's user avatar
0 votes
1 answer
218 views

Frozen discard pile for Canasta

For the initial meld with the pile frozen, what are the rules for picking up the discard pile? If the minimum meld is 120, is the meld plus two naturals needed to pick up the pile, or just two ...
Richard Harrold's user avatar
0 votes
1 answer
708 views

I want to meld and pick the pack .. there is a seven on top of pack I have two sevens and a outside triple .. can I pick pack for seven?

Can I pick pack for 7 ? I have 125 points and clean triple . This is my initial held . Or must I have 3 7? This is canasta
Amylou's user avatar
  • 1
0 votes
1 answer
165 views

How many cards do you have to have in your hand to finish a meld that has 6 cards in Hand and Foot canasta?

If there is 6 Jack's in a meld, how many Jack's do you have to have in your hand?
Robin Claffey's user avatar
6 votes
2 answers
575 views

What is the purpose of minimum points required for initial meld?

In Canasta and several variants of Contract-Rummy, like Rummikub and Kaluki, there is an "initial meld" rule: The first melds put down by a player must consist of cards to a total value of ...
Dave Butler's user avatar
1 vote
1 answer
57 views

Canasta Question

If you pick up the pile of discards to meld, can you then use the entire rest of the pile in that same turn or do you have to wait until your next turn to use the rest of the pile?
Staci's user avatar
  • 11
2 votes
1 answer
482 views

Canasta, frozen, ONLY allowed to pick up to the wild card? Not whole pack, what?

In Canasta, when the pile is frozen, you need a natural pair to pick up. I've joined a group that says you can ONLY pick up to the freeze wild card, YOU ARE NOT allowed to take the whole discard pack....
Adrian g's user avatar
2 votes
0 answers
97 views

Discard pile and melding

My opponent picks up the discard pile but then cannot meld. What to do?
Viginia Bell's user avatar
0 votes
1 answer
58 views

Can a deck be unfrozen by only using the top card

If the deck is frozen, I know it can only be unfrozen by having a natural pair from your hand and using the top card to meld. My question is… if you only want the top card, do you have to take the ...
Susan's user avatar
  • 1
0 votes
1 answer
2k views

Canasta: Can I open with a dirty Canasta without a natural and without points

Can I open with a canasta, JJJJJ22, without a natural and without minimum card points?
Priscilla Redfearn's user avatar
1 vote
1 answer
1k views

Going Out Concealed in Classic Canasta

I'm new to Canasta, so I've been reading a lot of rules on the internet and found out that there are many variations. Luckily, the rules to Classic Canasta seem to be pretty consistent from site to ...
Myles Markson's user avatar
0 votes
1 answer
1k views

Canasta Red-3 Up-Card

In the rules of Canasta, it says that if the up-card at the beginning of a round is a Red 3, then the discard pile is frozen. But doesn't that go without saying? The discard pile is always frozen to ...
Myles Markson's user avatar
1 vote
1 answer
798 views

When playing canasta, why would I ever want to discard a wild card rather than adding it to a meld?

New at canasta. Can’t figure out why one would ever want to discard a wild card instead of adding it to one of their melds.
Pemi's user avatar
  • 11
8 votes
1 answer
4k views

Wild card discard in Canasta

I have 3 remaining cards in my hand. 1 Ace and 2 wild cards. At my turn, I place the Ace on the table to complete my second Canasta and then discard a wild card. The other players say I cannot do this,...
Diva's user avatar
  • 81
-1 votes
1 answer
160 views

Ending a two handed game

It’s my turn. It is a two handed game of Canasta. I have three cards left in my hand. There is only one card left in the Stock pile. Can I pick up the one card and play my hand?
Kate Waller's user avatar
1 vote
1 answer
1k views

In Canasta, if the discard pile has already been frozen with a wild card, is a subsequent discard allowed to be another wild card?

I think my title contains the complete question, but I'll try to rephrase it here. When playing Canasta, if the discard pile has already been frozen with a sideways facing wild card, can an ...
Lynda's user avatar
  • 11
2 votes
1 answer
216 views

American Canasta - initial meld with less than the required points

If a player puts down an initial meld that is less than the required number of points, what happens?
Evelyn's user avatar
  • 21
1 vote
1 answer
534 views

Pick up the not frozen discard pile having a Canasta meld

My wife and I have gotten into a bit of an argument. If the discard deck is not frozen, and I have already met the minimum meld whether that be 50, 90 or 120, can I pick up the discard deck with a ...
Robert Jinkens's user avatar
2 votes
1 answer
8k views

How do you score an all wild card Canasta?

Today I made my first ALL Wild card Canasta with six 2's and a Joker in Classic Canasta :O) How much is this worth please? Also, it was concealed... does that 'Up' the bonus?
Lorna Millaarr's user avatar
2 votes
1 answer
3k views

Initial meld with a canasta

In Modern/American canasta can I meld with a canasta that contains wild cards if I also have a natural to meld with it? For example, I have five J’s and two 2’s, and three 9’s. Counting card ...
NancyR's user avatar
  • 21
2 votes
1 answer
166 views

Picking up a pile

We play by the old-fashioned (original) canasta rules (not the American). Question is: if your opponents make a canasta, and you hold two cards in that rank, and the opponent to your right discards ...
Ralph Protsik's user avatar
0 votes
2 answers
2k views

One card in hand

A player has several melds but no canastas. The player has only one card left in his hand. He picks up a card that he can add to one of his melds - but not enough to make a canasta. Can he add that ...
tony b's user avatar
  • 1
0 votes
1 answer
162 views

Frozen discard pile

When picking up a frozen discard pile I understand that you have to have a natural pair in your hand, but can I add those cards to a meld in play in front of me to create a canasta?
April's user avatar
  • 3
2 votes
1 answer
130 views

Canasta pick up from discard pile

If your discard is the only card in the discard pile, can the next player pick up the one club assuming they have 2 in their hand.
Sharyn 's user avatar
0 votes
1 answer
2k views

Incomplete canasta and going out

If I pick up a large pack in the discard pile and put down an incomplete 7’s canasta are there and rules or restrictions about going out without completing it?
Mary Fiore's user avatar
2 votes
2 answers
2k views

Can I move a wildcard after melding if I get 3 natural cards in canasta?

Can I move wildcards around, from set to set, to build a canasta?
Jan's user avatar
  • 21
3 votes
2 answers
368 views

Does adding a deck change the odds?

We are playing a version of Canasta. Tonight we had 6 players and 4 decks. Everyone playing individually. The goal is to get the most points which is most easily achieved by getting a “canasta” - i....
Damon L's user avatar
  • 31
2 votes
1 answer
335 views

Taking Discard Pile with One Natural Card in Hand

When the Discard Pile is not frozen and the top card matches a single natural card I have in my hand, but I know there is another marching card lower in the Discard Pile, may I take the Discard Pile? ...
Annette Gates's user avatar
2 votes
1 answer
2k views

Canasta Going Out with Stock Exhausted and Only One Card in Hand and Discard Pile

If the Stock is Empty, it's my turn, I have one card in my hand and there is one card in the discard pile, can I take it if I can add the discard pile card to an existing meld and discard my remaining ...
Annette Gates's user avatar
1 vote
1 answer
578 views

Going Out with Stock Exhausted

When the Stock is Exhausted, I know each player is supposed to take the Discard Pile if he can add the top card to an existing meld. Is it possible to Go Out when the Stock is Exhausted before your ...
Annette Gates's user avatar
4 votes
1 answer
836 views

Initial meld and additional pair of same rank

Playing Canasta, can I make the initial meld of: 2,A,A,A and 8,8,8,8 = 120 and then pick up the 8 from the discard pile with 8,8 remaining in my hand? when the situation is: My hand: 2,A,A,A, 8,8,8,8,...
Sue's user avatar
  • 43
1 vote
0 answers
99 views

Is there a penalty for forgetting to draw?

In a 2 player game, if a player forgets to draw from the stock and tables their first meld (without needing to draw the top discard), would there be a penalty? Or, once noticed could they then draw ...
Andrea's user avatar
  • 11
1 vote
1 answer
131 views

In canasta, What is the top card of the discard pile?

This is very similar to existing questions, but resulted in heated debate. Here's the situation: first player discards a seven. Second player discards a wild card. Question: Is the top card a seven or ...
Peter Gostelow's user avatar
0 votes
1 answer
174 views

Putting opponent’s cards in your hand in canasta

What happens when a player — who just took a very large deck — accidentally picks up her opponent’s hand of 6 cards and adds them to her hand? It was impossible to identify which cards she should not ...
Judi R's user avatar
  • 9
1 vote
0 answers
190 views

what does frozen and unfrozen discard pile mean? I've been playing for a while and never heard that term? [duplicate]

What makes the discard pile locked or frozen? I've never heard of this term.
jules's user avatar
  • 11
1 vote
1 answer
323 views

Discarding after picking up discard pile in Canasta

Today we had a situation. Player legally picked up discard pile. All he had left in hand were dead cards and wild cards. Is there a rule about which should be discarded first?
Jane's user avatar
  • 11
0 votes
1 answer
1k views

Looking through the discard pile in canasta

Suppose I have cards enough in my hand to pick up the discard pile in canasta. For this scenario, it does not matter whether the pile is frozen or not. Can I look through the cards of the discard ...
NoahTWilliams's user avatar
2 votes
1 answer
225 views

Canasta - initial pickup

Is it permissable to table initial meld and then pick up discard pile with a wild card and one natural card which matches the one on the top of the discard pile all in the same turn? Thank you for ...
Beryl Wright's user avatar
1 vote
1 answer
548 views

Canasta - picking up stock pile

My partner and I had a canasta of 9s and I had a pickup which contained three 9s which I held in my hand to use as fairly safe discards because the pack was frozen. I used one of them and then my ...
Beryl Wright's user avatar