Skip to main content

Questions tagged [carrom]

Like a miniature version of pool, in carrom (2-4 players, 60 minutes) players use their fingers to flick the striker at the carrom-men in a race to sink all the men of their color and finally the red queen.

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
-1 votes
0 answers
17 views

pockets the final piece along with the striker before the Queen [duplicate]

What happens if a player pockets the final piece along with the striker before the Queen?
Ganesh Deshmukh's user avatar
0 votes
1 answer
182 views

In the carrom last turn red coin mine black coin and opponent white coin

On the board there are the red coin (queen), my black coin and my opponent's white coin. The opponent pockets the red queen first and next pockets the white coin, but accidentally pockets the striker ...
anantha s s r's user avatar
0 votes
1 answer
159 views

Points for queen in carrom board

Whether points for queen in carrom board becomes invalid after reaching 22? Suppose if a player reaches 22 at the end of a round will he get points for the queen
monish prabhakar's user avatar
1 vote
1 answer
377 views

What does proper/improper stroke mean in the ICF rules?

The International Carrom Federation (ICF) rules make a lot of references to these, for example: If a player pockets the C/M of his opponent by an improper stroke, the C/M so pocketed shall be deemed ...
Sanjeev Penupala's user avatar
2 votes
1 answer
314 views

Carrom edge bounciness

Bit of background.. I'm not sure if it will help.. I'm planning to build a Carrom board (or Carrom-like board) for my kids. We play a variation on Carrom, but with pool cues instead of using your ...
user501798's user avatar
1 vote
1 answer
77 views

Starting a new board in Carrom

In Carrom, does the winner of a board automatically start the next one? If not does the starting player, play white Carrom men?
Pecker's user avatar
  • 13
2 votes
1 answer
461 views

Can we move the chair when we're playing?

While playing carrom, if we're seated in a chair. Can we reposition the chair to play the shot better?
Sunilkumar Ramamurthy's user avatar
6 votes
1 answer
238 views

Coin at the edge of the pocket

A coin was very close to falling into the pocket (let's say 70-30 over the edge). It stayed there for some time. In one of the plays the striker hit the edge of the board so hard that the coin fell ...
Sunilkumar Ramamurthy's user avatar
-3 votes
1 answer
89 views

Pocketing queen when not allowed [duplicate]

What happens if you hit the queen in when you're not supposed to?
Diven Sulkar's user avatar
0 votes
1 answer
157 views

In Carrom, What happens if the Opponent coin and striker are pocketed at the same time?

Can anyone tell me what happens if the Opponent coin and striker are pocketed at the same time?
Film Buzz's user avatar
1 vote
0 answers
112 views

What happens if one Carrom Man and the Striker are pocketed on the first shot?

If one Carrom Man (C/M) and the Striker are pocketed on the first shot then what happens? As per rules we have to return two C/M to the board, but only one has been pocketed. Will the player have to ...
manish sharma's user avatar
1 vote
1 answer
1k views

Pocketing queen and striker

Whilst playing, an opponent pocketed the queen but the striker followed the queen into the pocket. Does the player put the queen back in the middle plus one of his pieces or just the queen?
Grant's user avatar
  • 11
1 vote
0 answers
61 views

Can I strike again if I pocket the queen and my opponents black coin?

First I pocket queen. Then I pocket my opponents black coin. Do I get a chance to strike again?
Ashok Kumar's user avatar
1 vote
1 answer
123 views

Where is the Queen placed when a C/M is already at center?

If a player pockets the Queen, but doesn't cover it, while there is a C/M in the center of the board, should the C/M be moved from the center to place the Queen or should the Queen be placed next to ...
Kumar K's user avatar
  • 11
2 votes
1 answer
2k views

Does pocketing the Queen at the start of the game end the game immediately?

What happens if the Queen is pocketed at the break? Is that the end of the game, or otherwise how does play continue?
anish soman's user avatar
1 vote
1 answer
4k views

What happens if I pocket both my own coin and my opponent's while covering the Queen?

I pocketed the Queen, and then in the covering strike I pocketed a coin of each player. What happens?
Jaykrishnan's user avatar
3 votes
2 answers
1k views

Is pocketing an opponent's coin considered a foul?

While playing Carrom, if I accidentally pocket (clear from the board) one of my opponent's pieces (coins), is this considered a foul?
Shibu's user avatar
  • 41
0 votes
2 answers
6k views

If I pocket the queen and one opponent's C/m in the same shot, what happens?

If I'm playing black and I pocket the queen and a white C/m in a single shot, do I get a chance to cover the queen? Or does the queen come back on the board? Or does the queen go to the opponent?
Akshay Damle's user avatar
0 votes
3 answers
5k views

Thumbing with both hands

Can we use both the hands while thumbing the coins in carrom board or are we limited to single hand only.
sri rao's user avatar
  • 21
-1 votes
1 answer
379 views

Pocketing the Queen [duplicate]

In Carrom, if both players have one one coin and the queen and one player pocketed their coin before the queen, what is the result?
MD AVID's user avatar
  • 11
-5 votes
1 answer
37k views

What happens if I pocket the Striker at the same time as I cover the Queen?

My teammate pocketed the Queen. Then, when making a strike to cover the Queen, he pocketed a piece correctly but also pocketed the Striker. What's the outcome?
deepak's user avatar
  • 1
1 vote
1 answer
2k views

Pocketing the striker while covering the Queen [duplicate]

Say I'm white, and the board has 1 white, 3 black and 1 Queen left on it. I pocket the Queen. Then, when covering the Queen, I pocket both the remaining white piece along with the striker. What is ...
Mohammed Rayees Ahmed's user avatar
1 vote
1 answer
203 views

Pocketing last c/m along with striker [duplicate]

What happens if I pocket my last c/m along with striker? Opponent's n C/m are still on board. Will I win with minimum n points? Will it be a double-due? Will I lose the game?
justAnotherUser's user avatar
2 votes
1 answer
201 views

What should we do if we realise the Queen should have been on the board?

We forgot to return the Queen to the board after my opponent failed to cover it, and continued to play. What's the correct way to rectify this?
Tajwar Rahman's user avatar
1 vote
0 answers
67 views

In carrom, what if a player pocket the last piece of other player, while queen still on the board? [duplicate]

One player pocket the black piece of other player while the queen is still on the board. Does the other player whose black piece was being pocketed by other player wins? If so, then by how many ...
lokesh's user avatar
  • 11
5 votes
1 answer
7k views

What happens in these end-game situations?

This is intended to be a canonical question regarding possible endings of the game. For each question, assume a single proper strike was made, and note where an improper strike would change the game ...
Samthere's user avatar
  • 9,693
1 vote
1 answer
7k views

What happens if I pocket both players' last C/m and the Striker in one shot? [duplicate]

Suppose I pot the last red C/m, the last white C/m and the Striker together. The Queen isn't on the board. Is that a win for me or do I return the C/m with a penalty?
chiranth harikrishnan's user avatar
1 vote
1 answer
1k views

What happens if I pocket a C/m but accidentally touch a C/m on the table?

While playing Carrom I placed my strike and pocketed my C/m. Mistakenly, my finger touched my opponent's C/m. Do I play on, or is this a Foul?
Surachit Sarkar's user avatar
1 vote
1 answer
30k views

What happens if the Queen and the striker are pocketed together and there are no other pieces on the board?

The case seems a bit complicated. The Queen is the only piece remaining on the board. All Men are pocketed. Both the Queen and the striker got pocketed in the same pot. What should happen then? ...
onlyforthis's user avatar
2 votes
1 answer
2k views

If I pocket my man and the queen in a single strike, is the queen covered?

Suppose there are 3 coins remaining on the board: one man of each colour and the queen. If, in a single strike, I pocket my man followed by the queen, have I covered the queen?
obaid's user avatar
  • 21
1 vote
3 answers
22k views

Can I strike backward directly?

I am an amateur player of carrom and I have seen in tournaments players striking backward their striker to pocket the coins behind the hand. Is this allowed?
Ajith's user avatar
  • 111
4 votes
2 answers
21k views

Can I strike the opponent's pieces directly without penalty?

Let's say I have my black coin near the pot but there is a white coin which is blocking it from my strike. Can I pot my black coin by striking only the white coin?
Seeker's user avatar
  • 141
2 votes
2 answers
55k views

Pocketing the last coin and the striker at the same time

Only one black (mine) and one white (opponent's) coin are on the board. (All the other coins and the queen have been pocketed) I pocket my black coin, but accidentally also pocket the striker. Who ...
Kunal's user avatar
  • 21
3 votes
1 answer
862 views

While covering the Queen, if a player pockets the last C/m of his own together with the striker

While covering the Queen, if a player pockets the last C/m of he owns together with the striker then will the game continues with a penalty being place or will this result in a win?
sarath's user avatar
  • 31
9 votes
2 answers
17k views

Can I pocket and cover the Queen in a single strike and win?

If I pocket my last C/m and the Queen in a single strike, is this a win or a lose or do you put the pieces in the center again?
Cabi's user avatar
  • 121
2 votes
1 answer
6k views

While covering the Queen, what happens if I pocket only an opponent's coin?

I pocket the Queen and then, while covering, pocket only an opponent's coin instead of my own. Both players still have more coins left on the board. Does the Queen count as being covered by the ...
user7553's user avatar
6 votes
1 answer
21k views

What if the queen is pocketed along with all remaining carrommen? [duplicate]

Whilst playing carrom, if only one piece is remaining of each player, e.g. one white and one black and a queen, and I pot a queen, what happens in the following scenario: While covering the queen ...
Sachin Mhetre's user avatar