Questions tagged [catan]

Three or four players (up to 6 with the extension) play against each other to create the most prestigious settlement on the island of Catan, rolling dice to collect resources to build roads, towns, cities and other advancements. (90-120 minute playtime)

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
-1 votes
1 answer
93 views

Unlimited trades

Can a players trade with another player unlimited times in his same turn? For example: This is turn of player1 and he trades with player2 1:3 cards and than trade with player3 1:3 and than again trade ...
Aviad Stavi's user avatar
0 votes
1 answer
64 views

Barbarian Attack : Catan Cities & Knights

4 of us are playing P1: 2 cities and 3 activated knights P2: 2 cities and 1 activated knight P3: 2 cities and 0 activated knight P4: 2 cities and 0 activated knight When barbarian attack, would player ...
hiteshagarwal's user avatar
3 votes
1 answer
93 views

Catan Universe (iPad app) how to regain longest road by filling in a missing piece between 2 roads?

I’ve got 2 pieces of road with a gap in the middle. I want to fill that gap with a road and get the longest road victory points. The app will not let me do it. Is this a bug or a rule I’m not ...
Ralph F.'s user avatar
8 votes
1 answer
3k views

Can two VP cards be played at once in Catan?

Weve just started playing this as a group and have a question on victory point cards. One person was on 8 points but had two cards that state: 1 Victory Point. Reveal this card on your turn if, with ...
Amanda Moo's user avatar
9 votes
4 answers
3k views

Can you 4:1 trade with the bank if you don't own any shoreside settlements?

The question is about the base game. I'm interested in whether any of the expansions affect this rule in any way. My family recently bought Catan, and we're having a dispute over how the maritime ...
weenko's user avatar
  • 93
3 votes
1 answer
186 views

May I move a hex number in Catan Europe if there is a robber on that hex?

In Catan Europe Board Game there are some hexes without a number. When we come there, we get a number from an already taken hex and place that number on a new hex. So, my question is: May I move a hex ...
Антон Макаров's user avatar
1 vote
0 answers
52 views

Can you build only one road using road building development card in Catan? [duplicate]

If you play the road building development card in Catan, can you build only one road? Does the answer change if the reason is: You don't have enough roads available? There is only one valid place for ...
alihoseinpour23's user avatar
3 votes
3 answers
752 views

Can a player take one resource card using year of plenty development card?

A player has 6 resource cards. If they play a year of plenty development card then they should pick up two cards. This means they would need to discard 4 cards if robber is activated by another player....
madfd adfd's user avatar
9 votes
2 answers
3k views

Settlers of Catan: does the "knight card steal" have to be random? [duplicate]

When using a knight card, can you negotiate with your opponent to agree on a specific resource card that may be mutually beneficial? For example, let's say I desperately need a sheep and use a knight ...
Ludo Tenorio's user avatar
2 votes
2 answers
1k views

Settlers of Catan: is it better to go first or last?

In the preliminary stage of the game, going first/last affects (and limits) your ability to pick the location for your two initial settlements. Either scenario seems to have advantages/disadvantages. ...
Ludo Tenorio's user avatar
2 votes
1 answer
925 views

Can I play catan-seafarers 5-6 player extension without the actual seafarers?

I have just bought the 5-6 player seafarers extension for catan and I also have the basic catan. Can I play like this? or do I have to have the normal seafarers?
Skippy Skittle's user avatar
0 votes
0 answers
43 views

Forgetting to take a Vps card / settlement of road after purchasing in Catan [duplicate]

Good day all, hope ur doing well. A quick question since I never found anything in the rules of Catan. After a player purchased a Vps card/ road or settlement and forgets to take the card or item ...
Tyrone Pie's user avatar
6 votes
1 answer
2k views

Can I build a settlement on a "broken" road?

If I have a settlement with many roads connected, let’s say at least 6 roads deep, and my opponent cuts it off and builds a settlement between them, can I still build a settlement at the deep end even ...
Allen's user avatar
  • 61
-2 votes
1 answer
186 views

Aqueduct - right or duty?

Rules: If, when the dice are rolled for production, you do not receive any resources or commodities, you may take any one resource of your choice from the bank. You may not, however, use this ability ...
Denis Anisimov's user avatar
3 votes
1 answer
234 views

Empty bank and Aqueduct

Our situation: Extension Cities&Knights Dices gave us the number 9 All players have settlement in the corner of hexes with number 9 and both 9 hexes are grain There are not enough grain cards in ...
Denis Anisimov's user avatar
1 vote
1 answer
187 views

Seafarers Pirate island - Am I OBLIGED to attack when reaching pirate fortress?

My ship route has arrived at the pirate fortress. The fortress still has it's full compliment of chits underneath. The rules say I "can" attack but I don't want to right now. I want to wait ...
gamesman's user avatar
1 vote
1 answer
373 views

Catan: Cities and Knights: "Using" progress cards to get them out of your hand [duplicate]

Can you "use" a mining card without being adjacent to ore, or an irrigation card without being adjacent to wheat, in order to get them out of your hand and prevent opponents from spying them?...
Ab222's user avatar
  • 11
-3 votes
1 answer
949 views

CATAN- May one player build roads that pass perpendicularly through another player's established roads? [closed]

If player one has built a road system through intersection A. Is it within the rules for player B to build a road system that passes through intersection A from the perpendicular direction? Or is that ...
Calvin L's user avatar
-1 votes
1 answer
1k views

Catan: Longest Road [closed]

Does the longest road have to start and end with a settlement or city at each end? Can you make an infinite loop around a hex? Should there be a card that can destroy another player’s road, forcing ...
Benjamin Lloyd's user avatar
0 votes
2 answers
655 views

Catan longest road card question

After you get the longest road card, can you start building on it and still retain the longest road card?
Wolman312's user avatar
3 votes
1 answer
90 views

Can we play Conquerers if we don't have Cities and Knights?

We have the base Catan and the Cities and Knights: Legend of the Conquerers scenario extension set. But we don't have the Cities and Knights set. We also have the Seafearers extension. Is there a way ...
Margaret's user avatar
1 vote
1 answer
238 views

Is a player locked in to a poorly worded trade offer? [duplicate]

Is the following allowed? Player A: holds up two woods and says "I will take any one resource for two woods" Player B: Gives him a wood for his two woods. Player A: tries to say he meant any ...
Leroy's user avatar
  • 21
3 votes
1 answer
4k views

Does a robber block maritime trading?

As the title says. If someone places the robber in one of the outer hexes which has a settlement or city that lets them do 3/2:1 trading, does the presence of robber block them from trading?
Kashyap's user avatar
  • 131
1 vote
1 answer
205 views

Are there different "imperatives" for the four players when choosing starting settlements in Catan?

For instance, a You Tube video opined that "the third player should focus on the scarcest resource." This may or a may not be good advice, I used it only for illustrative purposes. What, if ...
Tom Au's user avatar
  • 22k
3 votes
2 answers
481 views

How to build cities in Catan without any ore?

When playing in a Catan game (basic edition) last week, I got a couple of good starting spots, with dice rolls 5,4, and 6 and 10, 5, and 8. Except that there was no ore in those settlements, and none ...
Joe Kerr's user avatar
  • 325
2 votes
1 answer
306 views

Catan: play development card after rolling robber

In Settlers of Catan, we have been discussing the possibility of playing a development card before moving the robber but after rolling a 7. The idea came from someone wanting to play a monopoly card ...
mastawayne's user avatar
0 votes
2 answers
332 views

Is card counting/watching a key skill for an expert Catan player?

In Catan, one can observe which cards opponents draw with their second settlement, and then observe what die rolls and trading do to their hands. Thus it is possible, though difficult, to follow ...
Tom Au's user avatar
  • 22k
15 votes
1 answer
5k views

Are "three way" trades allowed in Catan?

My basic understanding is that all trades must involve the player whose turn it is. Player A, whose turn it is, has ore and wants wheat. Player B wants ore and offers brick, which is not acceptable to ...
Tom Au's user avatar
  • 22k
2 votes
1 answer
437 views

Are there ways to estimate the value of development cards in Catan?

In Catan, a development card costs one sheep, one wheat, and one ore, three resources in all. Here are development cards that you might be able to get for those three resources: Year of plenty. Two ...
Tom Au's user avatar
  • 22k
4 votes
1 answer
371 views

Are there systems or experts that use a "weighted" resource strategy in Catan?

There is a strategy called (highest) resource strategy in Catan. That is, build your initial settlements on hexes where the sum of the favorable die rolls is a maximum. That assumes 1) that all ...
Tom Au's user avatar
  • 22k
1 vote
1 answer
154 views

When are good times to build early roads "inland" in Catan?

In most cases, it is a good idea to build early Catan settlements, close to, but not on the coast, and then build roads toward the coast. This has the dual advantages of 1) heading toward key ports, ...
Tom Au's user avatar
  • 22k
8 votes
3 answers
13k views

In Catan, if you roll a seven and move the robber, do you actually have to rob someone? [duplicate]

Rolling a seven forces you to move the robber from its current position, to another hex. Are you allowed to move the robber to a hex (other than the desert) from which no one is producing resources? ...
Tom Au's user avatar
  • 22k
4 votes
3 answers
989 views

In Catan, how do you decide which "fifth" resource to neglect?

In Catan, there are five resources: wood, brick, wheat, sheep, and ore. You get two free settlements that can access up to three resource hexes for a total of six. An "ideal" placement will ...
Tom Au's user avatar
  • 22k
1 vote
0 answers
68 views

How does one determine the relative merits of the "4 to 1" versus "2 to 1" trade terms in Catan? [duplicate]

At first blush, the right to acquire a scarce resource for only two units of your "abundant" resource is an advantage over having to trade four units of the same resource. But because of &...
Tom Au's user avatar
  • 22k
1 vote
1 answer
7k views

Does a player rolling a 7 have to discard half their cards if they have more than 7?

If I roll a "7" every player that has 8 or more cards has to give to the bank the half. Does that include the player who rolled the "7"? If playing with then Seafarers expansion I ...
George's user avatar
  • 11
8 votes
2 answers
1k views

In Catan, should development cards be drawn one at a time?

In Catan, multiple actions can be taken per turn, so multiple development cards can be drawn. However, I realized that if somebody has 9 VPs and the draw 2 development cards, they could get 11 VPs, ...
user avatar
2 votes
1 answer
736 views

In Settlers of Catan, are all actions on the same turn simultaneous?

In Settlers of Catan, multiple action can be taken per turn, so you may want to go back and undo an action after you think about it more. I am wondering whether actions can be undone after proceeding ...
user avatar
9 votes
2 answers
1k views

Is it legal to continue building a route after it has been cut off by an opponent's settlement?

Say I have a 6 road segment path with only a settlement at one of the ends. If an opponent were to intercept at halfway and place a settlement, splitting my road in half of 3 segments, can I continue ...
Krishnabm's user avatar
  • 473
6 votes
1 answer
2k views

Catan Road Eligibility for Diplomat with Knight In Between?

I recently played a game of Catan with Cities and Knights. We had a situation like the following (excuse the horrendously crude art). Where an Orange Knight (A) is breaking up some roads between two ...
jpthesolver2's user avatar
5 votes
2 answers
5k views

Is It Possible To Trade Before Rolling In Catan

In Settlers of Catan, are players allowed to trade before they roll, or like most actions, should it happen after?
jpthesolver2's user avatar
5 votes
1 answer
223 views

What real-life buildings are the Settlers of Catan Victory point cards based on?

Every version of Settlers of Catan that I've played (all US Mayfair, editions 1-4) has had a "University" victory point card that is clearly the church of Santa María del Naranco in Oviedo, Spain. Are ...
T.C. Proctor's user avatar
9 votes
5 answers
4k views

How to track turn-taking in Catan

I play Catan rather competitively with a few friends, and since we're all seasoned players, the time taken for a turn is pretty quick, maybe around 20s per turn. Sometimes because of the fast pace, ...
Prashin Jeevaganth's user avatar
-1 votes
1 answer
497 views

Building off of other players' roads and settlements in Catan

Today I played Catan for the first time: I was playing against a more experienced player. There were two (similar) points of contention I had with my opponent after I checked the rulebook. I'll write ...
msh210's user avatar
  • 357
1 vote
1 answer
4k views

Catan Universe with 2 human and 1 computer player

I have played a lot of Catan on the original board game but there is Catan Classic or Catan Universe in the App Store. Can I play Catan online with a friend but also against the computer so we have ...
Morgan's user avatar
  • 11
9 votes
1 answer
2k views

Is it legal to make trade deals before using a monopoly card?

For example - Suppose there are 12 Ore cards in circulation, and I hold 3. On my turn, can I trade those there ore cards with someone else for some wood and then use a monopoly on ore to regain all ...
Krishnabm's user avatar
  • 473
2 votes
3 answers
1k views

Catan settlements on roads

Let's say I have 4 connected roads with no settlements or cities in between. Can I later go back and place a settlement in there?
Joe beck's user avatar
8 votes
1 answer
1k views

Is it legal to check the number of resources in the bank?

Could a player, during their turn, count the number of resources of each kind in the bank? I would typically do this before playing a monopoly card for instance.
Krishnabm's user avatar
  • 473
0 votes
1 answer
4k views

Is sharing your ports with other players legal?

Catan 5th edition. Assuming I have a settlement on say a 2:1 sheep port. Can I let others use my port in exchange for a small/no commission? If yes, are there rules governing when they might be ...
Krishnabm's user avatar
  • 473
4 votes
1 answer
4k views

How many Development cards can a player play on their turn?

Is there a limit to the number of development cards one can play on their turn?
Krishnabm's user avatar
  • 473
6 votes
1 answer
1k views

Is it legal to trade 1 wood for 1 wood + 1 hay? [duplicate]

I ran into this situation. I had helped out a player by not placing the robber on them with my knight card. To sweeten the deal, she agreed to give me 1 wood + 1 hay in exchange for 1 wood. Is this ...
Krishnabm's user avatar
  • 473

1
2 3 4 5 6