Questions tagged [catan]

Three or four players (up to 6 with the extension) play against each other to create the most prestigious settlement on the island of Catan, rolling dice to collect resources to build roads, towns, cities and other advancements. (90-120 minute playtime)

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
5
votes
1answer
301 views

Are the expansion number tokens in 5-6 players expansion different from the basic Catan?

I am currently in the process of creating my own custom Catan board and wish to create number tokens for both original and 5-6 players extension gameplay. I have managed to find a detailed list of the ...
13
votes
7answers
5k views

Promised future trades as part of legal trades? (Solution described, alternatives/comments requested)

When making a trade in Settlers of Catan, there is no official rule encouraging or prohibiting making a promise (to make a certain type of trade or perform some kind of action in the future) during a ...
2
votes
1answer
321 views

Cities produce in Traders and barbarians of Catan

In the initial setup of the Traders and barbarians expansion and scenario, we use 1 settlement and 1 city (from where the caravan head out). At this moment the city will produce only 1 resource. But ...
11
votes
2answers
354 views

When and Why did the Catan number distribution change

I've recently had to replace my 3rd Edition Catan set and the new version has a different number distribution as shown in these two images taken from the respective rule books. Is there a reason that ...
8
votes
2answers
2k views

What is the highest achievable score in Catan

The game ends as soon as you get 10 or more points, so even if you can build multiple things, the one that gets you to 10 is it. I'm fairly certain that the highest score possible in Catan is 12 ...
9
votes
1answer
2k views

Why should a player reveal his victory points if someone else wins?

In the base Catan rule book it says 'keep victory points cards hidden until you have 10 points in your turn and you can declare victory. (You should also reveal them if someone else wins.) Why should ...
59
votes
2answers
56k views

Do my own villages/cities interrupt my “longest road” in Catan?

In a monthly game night, my friend interprets the rules to say that if I have a village or city on my road, it reduces the "longest road" length. I interpret the rules as saying that my village/city ...
26
votes
2answers
14k views

Can you build a road on the other side of another player's settlement?

Player A: Wants to expand to resource-rich area of board. They build two roads and plan to build a settlement and continue their road to the resource-rich area. Player B: Also wants same location as ...
2
votes
3answers
219 views

How many adjacent intersections per harbor are available for trading in Catan?

Each coastal area including a ship has three adjacent intersections. Are all three valid settlement positions for trading, or only the ones with jetties?
11
votes
4answers
1k views

Is a robber laid a robber played?

My wife and I were playing Settlers of Catan and she moved the robber onto one of the numbers where only my settlement was. She took her hand off of the robber and told me to spread my cards. I was ...
1
vote
1answer
89 views

Catan - Discarding fish to draw more from the supply

In The Fishermen of Catan, if a player has 7 fish tokens and a roll would have them receive more, can they discard the ones they don't want to draw the new ones?
36
votes
13answers
11k views

What are some alternatives to using dice in Settlers of Catan?

In Settlers of Catan, there's a variant where instead of rolling the dice, you use a stack of 36 cards with each combination. This reduces the luck component, but has as disadvantage that you can ...
0
votes
1answer
142 views

Catan cities and knights 2 player variation [closed]

At start of player one turn ,he rolls all three dice twice. Is correct sequence roll 1st set of dice then 2nd set then resolve both event rolls then distribute resources, or , roll 1st set of dice ...
8
votes
1answer
6k views

Initial setup of settlements

According to the rules, we can place settlements only beside roads leading to it or away from it. we can place roads beside roads or settlements. During initial placement, we have the choice of ...
26
votes
1answer
6k views

In Catan, can you put the robber on the desert?

In Settlers of Catan, we've always played that you cannot put the robber back in the desert. But watching tabletop this week, they did exactly that, and in the youtube comments people have said that ...
21
votes
4answers
12k views

In Catan, can you continue a “circular” road?

If I have 6 roads that go all around a single hex tile, they are a continuous uninterrupted road (assuming none of my opponents interrupts it with their settlements/cities). But, can I continue this 6-...
1
vote
3answers
806 views

Why are the port arrangements in Better Settlers not like the arrangements in my game?

In the Better Settlers' setup, I can trade with bank at 3:1 or 2:1 ratio if I have a settlement or city on specific harbors. But the location of the harbors (3:1 and 2:1 ratios shown) doesn't match ...
0
votes
1answer
229 views

Monopoly Development Card - before of after the dice? [duplicate]

When do you use the Monopoly development card? Before or after rolling the dice? Please explain why using the official rules.
4
votes
2answers
1k views

Settlers of Catan (Knights & Cities): Lose to barbarians attack - same amount/strengths of active knights, different amount of cities

We have 2 players (A & B), barbarians wins. Both of us have the same amount of active basic knights (1 each). Player A has 2 cities, whilst player B has 1 city. (a) Should the both players ...
2
votes
2answers
261 views

Game of Thrones Catan: Can Othell move a road segment from an “interrupted” road chain?

PlayerA has the longest road, via a long road-chain, like this: A - - - - - A PlayerB interrupts that road-chain with a settlement, like so: A - - B - - - A PlayerA has now lost Longest Road, ...
4
votes
1answer
131 views

Seafarers of Catan fog scenario question

Scenario: I am placing my ships out into the unknown and at the end of my "road" I decide to build a settlement. When the new hex is flipped it is a water tile and now a settlement cannot be built. ...
5
votes
1answer
622 views

Activating a robber in Catan clarification

Our family is new to Catan, please help settle a rule interpretaion question. Does the player who activates the robber by rolling a 7 also fall victim to the "lose-half-your-resource-cards" penalty ...
27
votes
5answers
35k views

What are the differences between the four editions of The Settlers of Catan base game?

I haven't played Settlers of Catan yet, but I've been considering asking my gaming group if they want to try it. As I understand it, Settlers of Catan is now in its fourth major version. If I do get ...
26
votes
11answers
55k views

Where can I find good tile layouts for Settlers of Catan?

I just bought a copy of Settlers, and noticed that there was a suggested starting layout that is included in the Almanac. I noticed it was mentioned online as well: "new editions of the game also ...
8
votes
2answers
16k views

How many actions can you take per turn?

In Settlers of Catan can you conduct multiple transactions on your turn? You roll, collect your resource cards, and then: Can you build a road and a settlement? Can you build a road and do a trade ...
6
votes
3answers
589 views

Catan setup order different than playing order

When I get with my friends to play Catan (normal Settlers or Catan), we first roll the dice to decide who is going to put the settlement first. The one that got the highest number goes first, the ...
4
votes
2answers
25k views

Can you build a settlement anywhere if you have the resources for a settlement and a road?

In Settlers of Catan, it says you need a road to build a new settlement (placement rules apply). If you have the resources available to build both at the same time, can this settlement be played ...
39
votes
4answers
14k views

Is giving resources away for free allowed?

Motivation: I once had one surplus card on my hand, and knew the robbers would come soon. So I gave it to someone for free, to avoid losing more cards when they hit. I was surprised by how badly this ...
2
votes
1answer
248 views

Giving cards away in Catan [duplicate]

I’m playing Catan and my brother-in-law has 9 points with the longest road. I was sitting at 7 points and another player had a pretty long road with only 5 points. So I gave that other player brick ...
13
votes
4answers
2k views

How to teach strategic thinking to non-gamer players?

I have some players in my gaming group that seem to have a bit of a problem with devising their strategy. How can I help them improve? First of all, I want to clarify - I don't need gateway games ...
5
votes
2answers
21k views

Where can I find new map ideas for Settlers of Catan Seafarers?

basically my group has played through all the scenarios in the book and I was wondering if anyone knows of a place to get more map layouts?? is there like a sequel book or anything? i didn't have much ...
11
votes
3answers
736 views

If you have more than one face-down development card in Settlers of Catan, do you have to keep them distinguished?

For example, if you buy a development card on turn 5, and then another one on turn 8, do you have to keep them distinguished? When you play a card, if it was one you got more recently, it may be a ...
8
votes
4answers
19k views

With both Seafarers and Cities & Knights expansions, how many victory points should I play to?

I've recently gotten Cities & Knights and plan to play it with my existing Seafarers of Catan expansion once I get the hang of it. Looking through the manuals for both Seafarers of Catan and ...
1
vote
1answer
245 views

Settlers of Catan edition?

I have a version of Settlers of Catan that I can't seem to figure out. It is a family edition, but doesn't match anything I can find online. I recently bought an expansion for the 5-6 players, but the ...
1
vote
2answers
304 views

What counts as a coastline in Catan Seafarers?

I was wondering about the coastline on islands not the main lands. Does the coastline refer to the whole island? Where it's either road or boat? Or are they separate coastlines on the same island. So ...
5
votes
2answers
441 views

Have there been revisions to the rules of Catan?

I have been playing catan for at least 6 years, following a trip to the Netherlands where I encountered the game. For the whole time, I have played that, on a role of 7, the player cannot build or ...
2
votes
1answer
337 views

Settlers of Catan: Cities and Knights - Rule Clarificarions

The rules of Cities and Knights state the following: "...you may not purchase any improvements beyond the third level of a given color unless you have a city where you could build a metropolis." Let'...
5
votes
3answers
790 views

Are you able to build a settlement from a separate ship?

Let's say that I have a boat from island A, after a few turns I move boat to island B, now can I start a settlement on island B? Or do I have to make a full shipping line from Island A to Island B or ...
39
votes
2answers
97k views

Can a settlement disrupt roads in Settlers of Catan

Let's say my opponent (o) has a road network: o - - - - - o | x as x, can I: o - - -x- - o | | x ? And break his already existing road? My question is not ...
67
votes
9answers
9k views

Does a player win Catan if they forget to count their points?

If player A reaches 10 victory points on his turn but forgets to count, and immediately after his turn, the following player, player B, also reaches 10 victory points and claims victory, does player A ...
4
votes
2answers
387 views

Settlers of Catan trade dynamics question

Is it ok though to offer trade never intending to do it, as a way to gauge what other player is willing to give out for a said card? And then backtrack after other player agrees to that trade? Is it ...
8
votes
4answers
1k views

When is there no going back on a trade?

In Settlers of Catan, what are the precise rules for when a trade is completed and there is no going back? For example, if player 1 asks if anyone is looking to trade a resource for another resource ...
3
votes
1answer
682 views

Who gets the 2 bonus victory points for reaching a new island?

When expanding to an island, would the first person on the new island get 2 bonus victory points? Or does everybody get 2 bonus points if it is their first expansion on that island? If the same ...
8
votes
2answers
401 views

City was not first a settlement. How to fix?

In a recent casual game of Catan (base game), a novice player built a city and placed it on an empty intersection. No other players noticed the mistake that the intersection did not first have a ...
19
votes
7answers
106k views

Which Settlers of Catan expansions are recommended? [closed]

I was introduced to Settlers of Catan just a few weeks ago here. I plan on buying it and I would like recommendations as to which expansions I should get.
17
votes
4answers
3k views

Catan - Rules Lawyering the behavior of the “Commercial Harbor” Progress Card

Before explaining what happened, here's the literal text of the "Commercial Harbor" card, as a reference: Card Text: You may offer each Opponent a resource card from your hand. In exchange, each ...
1
vote
1answer
516 views

Building settlements in Seafarer

Does one have to travel by sea with boats to an island in order to build a settlement? Or can you build a settlement with road or with boat on any turn?
2
votes
1answer
271 views

What happens in Catan junior if you have to pay out a resource from your own pile to another player, but you don’t have that resource?

What happens in Catan junior if you have to pay out a resource from your own pile to another player, but you don’t have that resource? When you roll a dice and you have to give some to another ...
3
votes
1answer
236 views

How accessible are the many German-only expansions for Catan?

The website catan.com gives a good overview of the many and varied editions and expansions for Catan available in English. However, it doesn't take long to find a slew of additional material for the ...
2
votes
3answers
449 views

Forgetting to place a city on the board, or to move the robber. Which fix is acceptable?

Last night I played Catan with some friends. There were two situations where we did not pay attention and did not complete our moves properly: A player paid 2 wheat + 3 rock for a city, but forgot to ...