Questions tagged [catan]

Three or four players (up to 6 with the extension) play against each other to create the most prestigious settlement on the island of Catan, rolling dice to collect resources to build roads, towns, cities and other advancements. (90-120 minute playtime)

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
3
votes
2answers
112 views

Is It Possible To Trade Before Rolling In Catan

In Settlers of Catan, are players allowed to trade before they roll, or like most actions, should it happen after?
5
votes
1answer
88 views

What real-life buildings are the Settlers of Catan Victory point cards based on?

Every version of Settlers of Catan that I've played (all US Mayfair, editions 1-4) has had a "University" victory point card that is clearly the church of Santa María del Naranco in Oviedo, Spain. Are ...
9
votes
5answers
3k views

How to track turn-taking in Catan

I play Catan rather competitively with a few friends, and since we're all seasoned players, the time taken for a turn is pretty quick, maybe around 20s per turn. Sometimes because of the fast pace, ...
-1
votes
1answer
147 views

Building off of other players' roads and settlements in Catan

Today I played Catan for the first time: I was playing against a more experienced player. There were two (similar) points of contention I had with my opponent after I checked the rulebook. I'll write ...
0
votes
0answers
21 views

Catan Building settlements in between my own roads [duplicate]

If I have: Settlement-Road-Road-Road-Road-Settlement Can I later go back and place a settlement in between? So it can then be Settlement - Road-Road-Settlement-Road-Road Settlement. (Hope that ...
1
vote
1answer
164 views

Catan Universe with 2 human and 1 computer player

I have played a lot of Catan on the original board game but there is Catan Classic or Catan Universe in the App Store. Can I play Catan online with a friend but also against the computer so we have ...
9
votes
1answer
1k views

Is it legal to make trade deals before using a monopoly card?

For example - Suppose there are 12 Ore cards in circulation, and I hold 3. On my turn, can I trade those there ore cards with someone else for some wood and then use a monopoly on ore to regain all ...
1
vote
3answers
104 views

Catan settlements on roads

Let's say I have 4 connected roads with no settlements or cities in between. Can I later go back and place a settlement in there?
1
vote
1answer
128 views

Using the Deserter card in Catan Cities & Knights after realizing you can't place a knight instead

Please help me to determine if the following move is legal: The active player uses the Deserter card and chooses another's player knight to steal. After revealing the card and asking to steal the ...
7
votes
1answer
886 views

Is it legal to check the number of resources in the bank?

Could a player, during their turn, count the number of resources of each kind in the bank? I would typically do this before playing a monopoly card for instance.
0
votes
1answer
213 views

Is sharing your ports with other players legal?

Catan 5th edition. Assuming I have a settlement on say a 2:1 sheep port. Can I let others use my port in exchange for a small/no commission? If yes, are there rules governing when they might be ...
1
vote
1answer
53 views

Does the camel caravan gives points at the edge of the oasis?

In Catan Traders & Barbarian expansion, if I place a settlement at the initial point of the caravan convoy, and it has a camel going through it, does it give an additional VP or not?
2
votes
1answer
193 views

How many Development cards can a player play on their turn?

Is there a limit to the number of development cards one can play on their turn?
6
votes
1answer
1k views

Is it legal to trade 1 wood for 1 wood + 1 hay? [duplicate]

I ran into this situation. I had helped out a player by not placing the robber on them with my knight card. To sweeten the deal, she agreed to give me 1 wood + 1 hay in exchange for 1 wood. Is this ...
3
votes
1answer
140 views

Is it possible to convert a settler ship into a settlement without moving and then build or is it considered a move?

Is it possible to purchase a settler during the build and trade phase, then load him onto a ship, move him, and then on a next turn convert him into a settlement during build phase? Or is it ...
0
votes
0answers
58 views

Who would win in this case? [duplicate]

Case scenario: Player 1: (9 points total) 3 cities (6 points) 3 hidden points Player 2: (9 points total) 3 cities (6 points) 1 village (1 point) longest road Player 3: (9 points total) 4 cities (...
1
vote
1answer
127 views

Can you chase away the robber if your knight is not active at the beginning of your turn?

Can you use your knight to chase away the robber if it was inactive at the beginning of your turn?
2
votes
2answers
124 views

Catan pirates and explorers ships and roads

In Catan Explorers and Pirates, can a ship share a hex side with a road?
2
votes
1answer
103 views

To play one of the Catan expansion extensions do I need the extended version of the base game?

I’ve got the base version of catan and was going to buy the explorers and pirates expansion and the relevant extension for extra players. Do I also need to buy the extension of the base game? Thanks!
6
votes
1answer
2k views

Are the expansion number tokens in 5-6 players expansion different from the basic Catan?

I am currently in the process of creating my own custom Catan board and wish to create number tokens for both original and 5-6 players extension gameplay. I have managed to find a detailed list of the ...
2
votes
1answer
387 views

Cities produce in Traders and barbarians of Catan

In the initial setup of the Traders and barbarians expansion and scenario, we use 1 settlement and 1 city (from where the caravan head out). At this moment the city will produce only 1 resource. But ...
13
votes
3answers
2k views

When and Why did the Catan number distribution change

I've recently had to replace my 3rd Edition Catan set and the new version has a different number distribution as shown in these two images taken from the respective rule books. Is there a reason that ...
9
votes
2answers
3k views

What is the highest achievable score in Catan

The game ends as soon as you get 10 or more points, so even if you can build multiple things, the one that gets you to 10 is it. I'm fairly certain that the highest score possible in Catan is 12 ...
9
votes
1answer
2k views

Why should a player reveal his victory points if someone else wins?

In the base Catan rule book it says 'keep victory points cards hidden until you have 10 points in your turn and you can declare victory. (You should also reveal them if someone else wins.) Why should ...
2
votes
3answers
1k views

How many adjacent intersections per harbor are available for trading in Catan?

Each coastal area including a ship has three adjacent intersections. Are all three valid settlement positions for trading, or only the ones with jetties?
1
vote
1answer
109 views

Catan - Discarding fish to draw more from the supply

In The Fishermen of Catan, if a player has 7 fish tokens and a roll would have them receive more, can they discard the ones they don't want to draw the new ones?
0
votes
1answer
426 views

Catan cities and knights 2 player variation [closed]

At start of player one turn ,he rolls all three dice twice. Is correct sequence roll 1st set of dice then 2nd set then resolve both event rolls then distribute resources, or , roll 1st set of dice ...
0
votes
1answer
679 views

Monopoly Development Card - before of after the dice? [duplicate]

When do you use the Monopoly development card? Before or after rolling the dice? Please explain why using the official rules.
4
votes
1answer
195 views

Seafarers of Catan fog scenario question

Scenario: I am placing my ships out into the unknown and at the end of my "road" I decide to build a settlement. When the new hex is flipped it is a water tile and now a settlement cannot be built. ...
7
votes
1answer
1k views

Activating a robber in Catan clarification

Our family is new to Catan, please help settle a rule interpretation. Does the player who activates the robber by rolling a 7 also fall victim to the "lose-half-your-resource-cards" penalty or are ...
3
votes
2answers
383 views

Game of Thrones Catan: Can Othell move a road segment from an “interrupted” road chain?

PlayerA has the longest road, via a long road-chain, like this: A - - - - - A PlayerB interrupts that road-chain with a settlement, like so: A - - B - - - A PlayerA has now lost Longest Road, ...
6
votes
3answers
1k views

Catan setup order different than playing order

When I get with my friends to play Catan (normal Settlers or Catan), we first roll the dice to decide who is going to put the settlement first. The one that got the highest number goes first, the ...
3
votes
1answer
469 views

Giving cards away in Catan [duplicate]

I’m playing Catan and my brother-in-law has 9 points with the longest road. I was sitting at 7 points and another player had a pretty long road with only 5 points. So I gave that other player brick ...
2
votes
1answer
280 views

Settlers of Catan edition?

I have a version of Settlers of Catan that I can't seem to figure out. It is a family edition, but doesn't match anything I can find online. I recently bought an expansion for the 5-6 players, but the ...
1
vote
2answers
511 views

What counts as a coastline in Catan Seafarers?

I was wondering about the coastline on islands not the main lands. Does the coastline refer to the whole island? Where it's either road or boat? Or are they separate coastlines on the same island. So ...
2
votes
1answer
473 views

Settlers of Catan: Cities and Knights - Rule Clarificarions

The rules of Cities and Knights state the following: "...you may not purchase any improvements beyond the third level of a given color unless you have a city where you could build a metropolis." Let'...
5
votes
2answers
577 views

Have there been revisions to the rules of Catan?

I have been playing catan for at least 6 years, following a trip to the Netherlands where I encountered the game. For the whole time, I have played that, on a role of 7, the player cannot build or ...
4
votes
2answers
490 views

Settlers of Catan trade dynamics question

Is it ok though to offer trade never intending to do it, as a way to gauge what other player is willing to give out for a said card? And then backtrack after other player agrees to that trade? Is it ...
3
votes
1answer
1k views

Who gets the 2 bonus victory points for reaching a new island?

When expanding to an island, would the first person on the new island get 2 bonus victory points? Or does everybody get 2 bonus points if it is their first expansion on that island? If the same ...
8
votes
2answers
437 views

City was not first a settlement. How to fix?

In a recent casual game of Catan (base game), a novice player built a city and placed it on an empty intersection. No other players noticed the mistake that the intersection did not first have a ...
2
votes
1answer
388 views

What happens in Catan junior if you have to pay out a resource from your own pile to another player, but you don’t have that resource?

What happens in Catan junior if you have to pay out a resource from your own pile to another player, but you don’t have that resource? When you roll a dice and you have to give some to another ...
1
vote
1answer
757 views

Building settlements in Seafarer

Does one have to travel by sea with boats to an island in order to build a settlement? Or can you build a settlement with road or with boat on any turn?
17
votes
4answers
3k views

Catan - Rules Lawyering the behavior of the “Commercial Harbor” Progress Card

Before explaining what happened, here's the literal text of the "Commercial Harbor" card, as a reference: Card Text: You may offer each Opponent a resource card from your hand. In exchange, ...
2
votes
3answers
590 views

Forgetting to place a city on the board, or to move the robber. Which fix is acceptable?

Last night I played Catan with some friends. There were two situations where we did not pay attention and did not complete our moves properly: A player paid 2 wheat + 3 rock for a city, but forgot to ...
1
vote
3answers
2k views

Can I trade my own resources in exchange for another player's Settlement, City, or Road?

In Catan, can I trade my own resources to "take over" another player's Settlement, City, or Road? For example, can I offer 5 Bricks and 3 Ore to another player to have them convert one of their ...
1
vote
1answer
2k views

Can I build a settlement at an intersection two roads away from one settlement and one road away from another?

Say I have a settlement two roads away from an intersection, but have another settlement only one road away from the same intersection and no other settlements near me. Can I build a settlement at the ...
5
votes
1answer
2k views

Can a player swap more than 4 resources of the same kind with another player

In one of the games I played recently, I was finally in competition with another player, the rest of the 2 players effectively having conceded. A 3rd player who I had a rivalry with swapped 8 lumbers ...
2
votes
1answer
1k views

What happens if you roll a 7 before the barbarians reach the island?

Accordingly to these rules, when you roll a 7 before the first barbarians' arrival, you have to drop half of your deck, if you have more than 7 cards. The rules in the Italian version of the game say ...
10
votes
2answers
856 views

How to deal with a player who showed his hands to influence the robber?

As per the Catan FAQ: Resource Cards - Do I always have to keep my Resource Cards face down? Yes. With this in mind, consider this scenario that I've encountered occasionally when playing ...
3
votes
1answer
274 views

How accessible are the many German-only expansions for Catan?

The website catan.com gives a good overview of the many and varied editions and expansions for Catan available in English. However, it doesn't take long to find a slew of additional material for the ...

1
2 3 4 5 6