Questions tagged [citadels]

A card game where players seek to build the most impressive districts in their cities. At the beginning of each round, players pass the character deck and secretly choose a character that grants them certain special abilities.

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
2
votes
1answer
51 views

Citadels Bell Tower and end game conditions

Can I put the bell tower card down if I don't have seven district's but another player does? I'm asking because I just played for the first time and I made this move and ended the game without wanting ...
3
votes
1answer
68 views

The building of two districts should be considered as two separate action or as one comprehensive action?

Suppose that one player is a Scholar, an Architect, a Trader, a Seer or any other character that can build more than one district per turn. Suppose also that the Tax Collector is one of the character ...
6
votes
1answer
105 views

In 2-3 player Citadels, can the unique district abilities be triggered twice?

Since having 2 turns in a 2-3 player, does the ability of a unique district trigger for each character turn? For example, I have the Laboratory in play, can I trigger the ability to discard 1 card to ...
2
votes
1answer
391 views

Citadels - Can a warlord destroy a district for free?

If a district is worth one gold. Can the warlord destroy it without paying?
4
votes
3answers
696 views

Citadels first game setup for 3 players

In Citadels 2016 the rule book has a recommended first game setup. However that setup does not include a 9th rank character. For a first game (with 3 players), should players use Artist or Tax ...
2
votes
1answer
99 views

Citadels: Circus (German edition, 2012): how to interpret “Cash point” ability?

To my knowledge the ability of card named "Kassenwagen" (Cash point) in the German edition of Citadels released in 2012 is translated: "Kassenwagen (Cashpoint) – Once per turn, the active player may ...
4
votes
2answers
411 views

Is there anything stopping the crownholder taking the King card every turn?

My understanding is that the special rules regarding the King are: If the King is turned face up at the pre-distribution phase, it goes back into the deck. If the King is targeted by the Assassin, ...
4
votes
1answer
672 views

Does the School of Magic count as all colours, or do you choose one colour when it's played and it is that colour permanently?

It states that it has the colour of your choice (for calculating income). Do you make that choice when the card is played and it becomes permanently yellow for example, or can you change it each round?...
3
votes
1answer
136 views

Is there a (tournament) standard for character picks?

The Dark City expansion increases replay value for casual play by adding extra character roles. But what about tournament play? Is there a combination of characters that is commonly used in a ...
0
votes
3answers
720 views

Is there a reference sheet I can print for the characters?

I think Citadels is an awesome game, but playing our first game last night, I found many of us frequently wanted to refer to the character sheet in the rules to get an overview of all of the abilities....
1
vote
1answer
74 views

Can the Powder Tower be used while its owner is bewitched?

I played as Witch and bewitched Thief. The Thief has previously built the Powder Tower and would like to use it at the turn he's bewitched. Can the Thief or the Witch use the Powder Tower this turn?
2
votes
3answers
640 views

Removing Assassin in 3 players game [closed]

In French rules, playing at 3 means having two characters at every rounds. One character card goes face down then crown owner chooses a character and pass the rest to next player. If the crown owner ...
1
vote
1answer
114 views

Swapping district in completed city

Does the Diplomat has the right to swap a district in completed city ? Warlord cannot destroy a district in a completed city.
4
votes
2answers
585 views

Does a player become immune to the Magician when getting murdered or robbed?

We are wondering if a killed or robbed character is immune to the Magician or not. Can the Magician force to swap district cards with a player who has been assassinated or robbed?
2
votes
1answer
832 views

Can the Armory district card destroy a district in a completed city?

Armory/Powerderhouse/Poudrière: During your turn, you may destroy the Armory in order to destory any other district card of your choice in another player's city We are wondering if this district can ...
8
votes
1answer
591 views

What are the differences between various versions of Citadels

I'm shocked by the amount of rule differences between the US English version of Citadels (by Fantasy Flight) and the various European (non-English) versions. I'm looking for a complete list of the ...
4
votes
2answers
145 views

Citadels: Price of the poorhouse from Dark City

What is the price of the poorhouse from The Dark City expansion? I'm asking, because in my (German) edition the poorhouse doesn't have any coins printed on it, so I suppose this is an error by the ...
3
votes
1answer
213 views

Who does the Warlord pay to — the bank or the player who had their buildings destroyed?

In our family, we've always interpreted the rules as paying to the bank. We had friends over who had played by Warlord paying to the player whose buildings they got destroyed. To us, it seems like the ...
0
votes
3answers
551 views

Proper way to play character cards?

I have a few questions below. 1) Do we play the character card to the center of the table (stacking on previous character)? or we place in front of us? 2) I also understand from the rules that the ...
6
votes
1answer
496 views

In 2-3 player Citadels, can your second character build a 9th district?

In Citadels, if a player builds his 8th building we finish the round with the remaining roles and the game ends. In 2-3 players rules, I may build the 8th district with my first character. When comes ...
3
votes
1answer
668 views

Bell tower end game

If you build a card bell tower, the game can be completed after the 7th turn. Can somebody destroy the bell tower with armory, after he build the seventh card? And if it can be destroyed, is the game ...
1
vote
1answer
610 views

How does the graveyard work in citadels?

Does the graveyard/cemetery card allow a player to take any destroyed building/district (i.e. including other players destroyed districts) into their hand or can they only redeem their own detroyed ...
5
votes
3answers
571 views

House rules to speed up Citadels play time?

I enjoy Citadels, but find the game can often quite a long time. Since players must draft their role card in sequence, there ends up being a lot of down time while other players make their selections. ...
7
votes
2answers
2k views

In Citadels, when do characters get the extra gold from their colour?

In the Citadels one of the benefits of your characters is receiving extra gold from buildings of the same colour. For example, each green building gives one extra gold to the merchant. I am ...
4
votes
3answers
2k views

If the Warlord destroys a player's eighth district, does the game still end?

In Citadels, if the Warlord destroys a player's eighth district, assuming no other players have eight districts, does the game still end at the end of the round? If so, does that player still get ...
2
votes
1answer
881 views

Citadels Tax Collector timing

When does the Tax Collector's ability trigger for characters that have abilities that involve the end of their turn? My specific examples are as follows: The Alchemist builds a district with all of ...
9
votes
2answers
2k views

What happens to destroyed districts in Citadels?

In Citadels when you destroy someone's district with the warlord it isn't clear what you do with the card. Does it return to the bottom of the district deck? This is the only other place district ...
7
votes
3answers
498 views

Citadels: Can two Circus Tents be built in the same city?

In the latest German edition of Citadels, there is an action card Circus Tent. It is played from your hand without paying any gold (and in addition to your normal building action). It's text says: ...
6
votes
1answer
1k views

Does assassination nullify the bishop's protection?

If you are the bishop and you were assassinated, are you still protected from the warlord in that turn? I'm guessing you are, and this question also hints that you are, but the rules are not clear so ...
5
votes
1answer
416 views

How to avoid the situation in which player 2 knows for sure that player 1 chose the King?

In Citadels/Machiavelli the rules state that the current king, in order to start a round, needs to look at the first character card and put it face down on the table. Then put a certain number of ...
7
votes
1answer
654 views

In 2-3 player Citadels, can your second character buy a destroyed building using Graveyard?

In Citadels you have a card that permits you to buy buildings (Graveyard) destroyed by the Warlord. But the Warlord cannot buy the destroyed building. In the 2-3 players variant you select 2 ...
9
votes
2answers
4k views

Citadels: Does the crown switch hands if the king is killed?

In Citadels, Ann has the crown and Bill chooses the king. The assassin kills the king. Who keeps the crown at the end of the turn?
7
votes
1answer
742 views

In the English version of Citadels, what is the action text on the card named Armory/Weaponry?

I happen to have a Bulgarian version that does not specify if the player can destroy 1 enemy building, while sacrificing it, or the whole city. It's hard to explain, but I think it was translated by ...
6
votes
1answer
207 views

If the Witch steals the power of the warlord and tries to destroy a player's district, are they protected if they have the bishop?

Player A has the witch and bewitches the Warlord. Player A chooses to destroy player B's district. Player B has the Bishop. Can he reveal it to protect himself? If player B can do this and reveal the ...
2
votes
2answers
1k views

Playing with the characters from the base and the Dark City expansion for Citadels.

In 3 player Citadels, each player chooses 2 characters. I've found I liked picking 2 characters so much that I've modified the game to be able to do it with any number of players. All I had to do was ...
8
votes
3answers
817 views

Citadels: Wishing Well card 'every other purple district' clarfication

In the Citadels: Dark City expansion the Wishing Well purple district card reads as follows: At the end of the game, you score one point for every other purple district in your city The ...
29
votes
8answers
8k views

What is the most balanced/competitive character set in Citadels?

In Citadels, most versions that are currently available for sale also include the Dark City expansion. Since those extra characters are available, what arrangement of characters do you find the most ...
14
votes
2answers
836 views

What happens when I draw cards if I've built the Library and the Observatory?

In Citadels it's possible to build both the Library and Observatory: Library If you choose to draw cards when you take an action, you keep both of the cards you have drawn. Observatory If you ...
9
votes
1answer
841 views

In two- and three-player Citadels, how does the Bishop's ability work?

In two- and three-player Citadels, if I have Bishop, am I always protected from the Warlord? Or, am I only protected if my second character is the Bishop (i.e. I was most recently the Bishop during ...