Questions tagged [dominion-prosperity]

The 5th Dominion expansion, built around the theme of big money and big actions.

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
0 votes
1 answer
110 views

Dominion - Kings Court on Tragic Hero

What happens when you play a kings court on a tragic hero? Does it go like this: Lets say your hand is 3 coppers, a kings court and a tragic hero. Play the kings court Select the tragic hero (Play ...
user avatar
4 votes
1 answer
297 views

Dominion Prosperity play out treasures

I have a question regarding the dominion extension prosperity, especially the new treasure-cards Venture: "When you play this, reveal cards from your deck until you reveal a Treasure. Discard the ...
user avatar
4 votes
2 answers
2k views

What makes King’s Court-King’s Court-Goons-Goons-Masquerade so powerful?

A while ago while reading, I read about the King’s Court-King’s Court-Goons-Goons-Masquerade combo it was stated to be very powerful, and I was wondering why it was considered as such.
user avatar
  • 363
8 votes
3 answers
11k views

How do I organise my cards in the Dominion big box insert?

I have a Dominion set that includes the base set plus Alchemy and Prosperity. The box contains a plastic insert with many slots of various sizes. I have stored the cards in alphabetical order mixing ...
user avatar
  • 399
5 votes
3 answers
580 views

Do you replace tokens moved to the Trade Route mat?

With Trade Route in play, do you replace the coins on the victory cards after the first card is purchased? Example: I buy a Duchy and move the coin to the Trade Route mat. Do I put another coin ...
user avatar
  • 51
2 votes
1 answer
438 views

Prosperity - Cornucopia card set

Normally the game rule book provides balanced setup to play with different extensions. We just bought Cornucopia, but the French rule book did not provided a setup to play with Prosperity. We would ...
user avatar
10 votes
3 answers
705 views

Should I buy Gold or Hoard?

Hoard is a treasure worth 2 that also reads: While this is in play, when you buy a Victory card, gain a Gold. It costs the same as a Gold (i.e. 6) and while it's not immediately worth as much as a ...
user avatar
  • 8,384
5 votes
1 answer
2k views

Need help with the Peddler card in Dominion Prosperity

I love Dominion Prosperity, and understand all of the cards perfectly except for Peddler. Can anyone explain it to me? For some reason I just can't get it. Thanks!
user avatar
  • 51
37 votes
2 answers
72k views

Setup for more than 4 players in Dominion?

We have the base Dominion set along with the Alchemy and Prosperity expansions. The rules cover 2-4 players, but elsewhere it implies that up to 6 players are allowed with expansions. Nowhere we could ...
user avatar
  • 2,997
14 votes
3 answers
929 views

When is it optimal to purchase a Mint on a 5/2 split?

Every now and then, what seems like a golden opportunity comes up: you start the game with five coppers, and the Mint is in play. By purchasing this, you can instantly trash five of your starting ...
user avatar
  • 610
4 votes
0 answers
2k views

Which Dominion expansion playes best with two players? [closed]

I'm looking at picking up my first expansion for Dominion. I play primarily with 2 players (total). Which of the expansions would play best with two players, and why? (For example, a card like ...
user avatar
5 votes
1 answer
781 views

Abusing my watchtower?

In Dominion, can I play my treasure cards first, and watchtower last to gain more cards? I tried this last night, and my friend read the rule that says you only play treasure cards in your buy phase.
user avatar
10 votes
1 answer
1k views

Can you buy with a copper after buying Grand Market?

If you buy the Grand Market in your turn, can you then use spare copper to buy something else? Or does doing so forbid you from having bought the Grand Market?
user avatar
13 votes
1 answer
1k views

How does Conspirator work with Throne Room / King's Court?

If, for example, my turn starts by playing a King's Court and choosing Conspirator, how many cards will I draw?
user avatar
28 votes
2 answers
919 views

If I buy a Mint, do I still get to use the coins from the treasures I played that turn to buy a Grand Market?

In the Prosperity rules it says "if you have 11 coppers in play and 2 Buys, you could buy a Mint, trash all of your played Treasures, and then buy a Grand Market." My question is: What are you going ...
user avatar
24 votes
7 answers
17k views

What is a good way to store multiple expansions of Dominion?

At the moment I just have the base set of Dominion and Dominion-Intrigue, each of which are a full set so currently I'm storing each per the in-the-box organizers in their original boxes. But when ...
user avatar
17 votes
3 answers
568 views

How do Mine and Watchtower Interact?

When playing Mine while having a Watchtower in hand, can you put the upgraded treasure card on top of your deck instead of in your hand?
user avatar
13 votes
2 answers
951 views

Watchtower when someone uses a Masquerade

As a reaction card, Watchtower can be revealed whenever you gain a card. Does this apply to the card you receive from other players during a Masquerade?
user avatar
  • 3,876
6 votes
1 answer
507 views

What happens if you Forge nothing?

If I play a Forge and for whatever reason choose "none" as the amount of cards trashed (say if I played it via Golem by accident), do I gain anything? I could see 2 possibilities: Don't gain because ...
user avatar
  • 4,537
20 votes
3 answers
2k views

Do you need to buy a card when playing treasures in Dominion?

So I ran into a situation where I had a single treasure, the Loan card. I wanted to play the Loan card but I did not want to buy any cards. So can you play treasure cards and not buy anything? I ...
user avatar
7 votes
6 answers
2k views

Are the Goons un-fun? [closed]

At my weekly boardgames night earlier this evening I was roped into an all-expansions, 6-player game of Dominion. A girl on the sidelines piped up: "You should take out the Goons card. It takes all ...
user avatar
25 votes
3 answers
11k views

Dominion: When to use Platinum and Colony

I recently acquired Dominion: Prosperity (yay Christmas) and came across the Platinum and Colony Cards which are designed to be new Basic Cards (like Estate, Copper, etc...). My question is, should I ...
user avatar
  • 1,344
30 votes
4 answers
48k views

I have the Dominion base set only, in what order should I buy the expansions?

I've heard a lot about the different Dominion expansions, but I'm still not really sure which direction to go. In what order would you suggest I buy the expansions? How does each one change the game? ...
user avatar
19 votes
2 answers
7k views

In Dominion, how do Duration cards interact with King's Court / Throne Room?

For example, suppose I play a King's Court on a Lighthouse. Do I get +$3 now and +$3 next turn? +$3 now and +$1 next turn?
user avatar
  • 3,480
14 votes
3 answers
4k views

Good set of cards for teaching beginners

We have 1 or 2 new people who are interested in joining our lunch Dominion games where I work. We'd like to teach them about the various rules unique to each of these sets: Base, Intrigue, Seaside, ...
user avatar
  • 3,876
5 votes
5 answers
1k views

City card and predicting when Supply piles will run low

This card kind of has me stumped. In my experience, the vast majority of games deplete the Province or Colony pile before any other, ending the game. Which means in most circumstances, this card is ...
user avatar
  • 3,162
31 votes
4 answers
10k views

When you King's Court a King's Court, when must you pick the three target cards?

Bear with me here. In Dominion: Prosperity you can play King's Court and choose another King's Court as the target: The rules are clear on the basics of what happens here: you pick three cards and ...
user avatar
  • 6,652
19 votes
5 answers
2k views

When is Loan worth buying?

When would you ever want to buy this instead of just buying a Silver for the same price?
user avatar
  • 3,876