Questions tagged [duplicate-bridge]

A popular tournament format for Bridge where each table plays with identical pre-set hands of cards.

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
1 vote
1 answer
45 views

Should I have done something other than open one heart in the following situation?

At matchpoints, with only us vulnerable, I opened one heart in third position (after two passes) with the following: ♠ AK ♡QJT98432 ♢3 ♣ K9. Despite my eight hearts, I elected not to preempt in order ...
Tom Au's user avatar
  • 21.9k
1 vote
1 answer
82 views

Did my partner and I get to 3NT in a reasonable way?

At matchpoints, with only them vulnerable, after three passes, I opened 1 diamond with the following 17 high card point hand: ♠ K97 ♡AK ♢AQJ982 ♣ 76. I did not open 1NT because of my two doubletons, ...
Tom Au's user avatar
  • 21.9k
1 vote
1 answer
299 views

Which of these hands should be opened in which late positions?

With no one vulnerable at matchpoints, I passed in first position with ten high card points. Ditto for second seat with eight high card points. Partner passed in third seat with eleven points and a ...
Tom Au's user avatar
  • 21.9k
0 votes
4 answers
164 views

Should I have opened the following hand in fourth position?

With everyone vulnerable at duplicate, there were three passes to me. I passed in fourth position holding the following: ♠ QJT642 ♡4 ♢K95 ♣ KJ3. We got a bottom because everyone else with our cards ...
Tom Au's user avatar
  • 21.9k
1 vote
1 answer
75 views

Partner opens 1NT (15-17 HCP) and then your RHO intervenes

My question is about whether or not you play "systems off" if there is an interfering bid by your RHO (right-hand opponent)? I guess that how you will respond to your partner's opening 1NT ...
Stefanovitch's user avatar
1 vote
4 answers
134 views

How should partner and I have gotten to 3NT?

Dealing, and with only us vulnerable at matchpoints, and holding ♠ 84 ♡AK5 ♢AKQT96 ♣ A6, I opened a timid one diamond, planning to bid 3NT if partner bid one spade or 1NT. Partner passed with six high ...
Tom Au's user avatar
  • 21.9k
0 votes
2 answers
107 views

Opening light in the 3rd position

What requirements do you have for opening the auction light in the third position when you are light ? vulnerability? strength? 4-card major? etcetera? All responses will be welcome.
Stefanovitch's user avatar
0 votes
2 answers
89 views

How should partner have followed up his takeout double under the following circumstances?

With only them vulnerable at matchpoints, RHO dealt and passed as did I. LHO opened one club in third seat. Partner doubled (takeout) with the following: ♠ KJ5 ♡AKQJ ♢KJ2 ♣ T53. I bid one spade, my ...
Tom Au's user avatar
  • 21.9k
2 votes
3 answers
112 views

How should I choose which game to bid with this strong but misfit hand?

With only us vulnerable at matchpoints, I opened one club in second seat with this powerhouse: ♠ Q52 ♡AQT5 ♢void ♣ AKQ852. Left hand opponent passed, partner bid one diamond, right hand opponent bid ...
Tom Au's user avatar
  • 21.9k
1 vote
1 answer
99 views

What is the most expeditious way to defeat this (overbid) slam?

With nobody vulnerable (at matchpoints), I opened two spades (weak) as East. Partner, West, who had a big hand, raised me to six spades. (All other pairs stopped at four spades.) South doubled with ♠7 ...
Tom Au's user avatar
  • 21.9k
2 votes
3 answers
151 views

How far should one go in preferring an eight card major suit game to a no trump game?

Both vulnerable at matchpoints, I dealt and bid one diamond (planning to rebid 2NT) with the following: ♠ JT8 ♡A6 ♢AK76 ♣ AKT4. An opponent overcalled one heart, and partner bid one spade, showing ...
Tom Au's user avatar
  • 21.9k
1 vote
1 answer
52 views

How might one make value judgments regarding bidding systems?

In the comments section of this question, it was noted that the late Barry Crane would open "an 11 high card point hand containing a king. With good distributional hands open lighter." The ...
Tom Au's user avatar
  • 21.9k
1 vote
2 answers
239 views

Under what circumstances should partner bid 3 clubs (Stayman) over a 2NT opening?

Opposite a 1NT bid, I need at least 8 high card points to bid Stayman (except for transfer or "garbage" Stayman). If we find our eight card fit and partner has 16, we are barely even money ...
Tom Au's user avatar
  • 21.9k
1 vote
4 answers
114 views

How far should a partnership explore altnernatives to a no trump game that is clearly indicated at matchpoints?

Here is an example of what I mean: With no one vulnerable at matchpoints, partner opened two clubs (strong) after three passes. I made the waiting bid of two diamonds, and partner bid three clubs with ...
Tom Au's user avatar
  • 21.9k
3 votes
3 answers
2k views

Did my partner make a plausible sequence of bids?

At matchpoints, with no one vulnerable, there were two passes before North opened one club. Partner (East) doubled. South bid one heart, and I (West) passed, since I was "off the hook. North ...
Tom Au's user avatar
  • 21.9k
1 vote
3 answers
81 views

Is this small slam biddable and if so, how?

With only them vulnerable, right hand opponent dealt and opened two spades (weak). I overcalled three hearts with the following: ♠ K8 ♡ AKQJ52 ♢J976 ♣ J. I thought of making a "big" double ...
Tom Au's user avatar
  • 21.9k
1 vote
1 answer
60 views

At what vulnerabilities should one raise partner's overcall to the level supported by the law of total tricks?

Neither vulnerable at matchpoints, I dealt and passed. My left hand opponent bid one heart and partner overcalled two clubs. I put her on six of the suit, and after right hand opponent raised to three ...
Tom Au's user avatar
  • 21.9k
1 vote
2 answers
47 views

Did I have enough information to "balance" in the following situation?

With only us vulnerable, I dealt and passed, as did my left hand opponent. Partner opened 1 diamond, right hand opponent overcalled one spade, and I passed a second time with the following: ♠ QT42 ♡ ...
Tom Au's user avatar
  • 21.9k
1 vote
2 answers
49 views

Under what circumstances should I refrain from raising partners' three level pre-empt to four (when I have three trumps)?

With nobody vulnerable at matchpoints, partner dealt and pre-empted three spades with KQJxxxx (and some side values). With three small trumps, I raised him to four, following the Law of Total Tricks, ...
Tom Au's user avatar
  • 21.9k
7 votes
6 answers
8k views

Did I underbid or did my partner?

We were non-vulnerable versus vulnerable at matchpoint duplicate. Dealer passed to my right, so I opened one heart in second position with the following: ♠ AK86 ♡ T98654 ♢none ♣ K96. Only ten high ...
Tom Au's user avatar
  • 21.9k
2 votes
2 answers
143 views

How should an intervening bid have changed my response?

With only us vulnerable at matchpoints, partner (South) dealt and bid one diamond. If West had passed, I would have bid one spade (one over one) with ♠ JT83 ♡ Q943 ♢J87 ♣ Q2. For this, I have minimum ...
Tom Au's user avatar
  • 21.9k
1 vote
2 answers
176 views

Does it make sense to double (for penalty) in the following situation?

With only us vulnerable at matchpoints, and after two passes, I bid 1NT (15-17).Partner knows I would not "shade" my values for a 1NT bid in third position as I might with a suit. The direct ...
Tom Au's user avatar
  • 21.9k
1 vote
1 answer
49 views

Which of the following hands are good enough for a takeout double?

With only them vulnerable at matchpoints, the dealer opens one club. I would make a takeout double in the second seat with the following: ♠ AK97 ♡ K763 ♢6532 ♣ 9. It's only 10 high card points, but I ...
Tom Au's user avatar
  • 21.9k
1 vote
2 answers
110 views

What are the implications of fourth suit forcing in the following "strange" hand?

At matchpoints, with only our opponents vulnerable, my partner opened one diamond in fourth seat with the following: ♠ KQJ2 ♡ T7 ♢9873 ♣ KQ3. With opponents passing all bids, I responded one heart, ...
Tom Au's user avatar
  • 21.9k
1 vote
1 answer
91 views

Should I have raised partner or bid 1NT in the following situation?

Both vulnerable at matchpoints, I dealt and opened one diamond with the following: ♠ A86 ♡ K86 ♢QT75 ♣ KT5. Partner bid one heart. I was taught to raise a "one over one" bid to two on my ...
Tom Au's user avatar
  • 21.9k
1 vote
1 answer
57 views

What is meant in matchpoints by "opponents have control of the bidding and play?"

This possibility was raised by "Forget," in answer to this question, and comments about it. Could it be a phenomenon I've noted under a different description: My partner and I earn a (...
Tom Au's user avatar
  • 21.9k
0 votes
2 answers
110 views

Does it make better sense to open "light" in matchpoints than in rubber?

By "light" I mean with something like 11 high card points and a five card major suit or 10 high card points and a six card major headed by at least two honors. My (limited) experience has ...
Tom Au's user avatar
  • 21.9k
1 vote
2 answers
110 views

Are Moyesian fits more playable at matchpoints than rubber or IMP, bridge?

A 4-3 trump fit is known as a "Moyesian" fit after an expert who liked to play such hands, even with fewer trumps than the standard eight card fits. Their main downside is that with six ...
Tom Au's user avatar
  • 21.9k
0 votes
1 answer
54 views

Could it be a bad idea to try to compete when the opponents have stopped at two of a minor

With both sides vulnerable at matchpoints, I held the following cards: ♠ 8653 ♡ J3 ♢ AK52 ♣ QJ4. RHO opponent opened one club, I passed. LHO opponent bid one diamond, pass from partner. The next round ...
Tom Au's user avatar
  • 21.9k
3 votes
1 answer
104 views

In match points, do you need to be more aggressive about doubling when your opponents are not vulnerable?

In a duplicate game today, my partner and I set our non-vulnerable opponents two for a score of +100. We got a bottom because other pairs with our cards earned part scores of 140. On the other hand, ...
Tom Au's user avatar
  • 21.9k
6 votes
2 answers
1k views

Would you pass this 13 high card point hand?

At my duplicate bridge club, with both sides vulnerable, some Souths dealt, and passed with this 13 point hand: ♠ AJx ♡ Axxx ♢ QT9 ♣ Qxx (All x's are 7 or lower.) The hand's main drawback is its 4-3-...
Tom Au's user avatar
  • 21.9k
0 votes
4 answers
118 views

Should I have balanced in the following situation?

We are vulnerable, the opponents not, at matchpoint duplicate. South opened one spade. West and North passed. I am sitting East with the following: (s) x (h) 9xxxxx (d) Kx (c) ATxx. (All x's are 7 or ...
Tom Au's user avatar
  • 21.9k
2 votes
4 answers
269 views

How often do top duplicate Bridge players repeat the same game?

For the purposes of this question, we neglect plays that don't matter (i.e. plays that don't affect how the hand plays out). As I understand duplicate bridge, two teams play the same hand from ...
Allure's user avatar
  • 13.3k
5 votes
6 answers
2k views

Who’s to blame for our partnership missing an easy 4S game?

IMP scoring. Neither vulnerable. Right hand opponent was the dealer and opens 1C. The auction went E S W N 1C 1S P 2C 3C P P 3S P P P I had South ♠AQxxx ♡JT ♢Axx ♣xxx Partner had North ♠...
John L's user avatar
  • 153
2 votes
1 answer
534 views

How are bridge hands chosen, at top tournaments? What's the motive?

I've noticed that bridge hands in many top tournaments, are often extremely uncommon combinations of distributions and types. For example a single hand at the 2021 EBU Premier League contained a hand ...
Stilez's user avatar
  • 201
1 vote
3 answers
139 views

Pulling double after Weak 2 and competition?

This hand is discussed in the April 2021 ACBL Bulletin (p. 8) as a tempo issue, but I am interested in the underlying bidding issues Bidding West South East North 2S 3H 3S Pass Pass 4C Dbl Pass 4S ...
David Siegel's user avatar
  • 1,197
4 votes
3 answers
1k views

How to handle dummy's revoke due to a hidden card?

A final bid of 3 spades is made. The opponent leads a club and dummy lays down a hand showing no diamonds. Declarer wins the lead trick in hand and leads a diamond trumping it in dummy. Declarer then ...
Frances Jenkins's user avatar
4 votes
2 answers
531 views

Bridge auction: 3rd suit tells – 4th suit asks

Subject: 3rd suit tells – 4th suit asks [in Bridge auction] I occasionally used to hear the old fogies round my bridge club quote the above phrase. However, none of them could ever really explain it ...
Stefanovitch's user avatar
2 votes
3 answers
152 views

Finesse or Drop at trick 5?

This is a problem from the "Card Play 101" column from the Feb 2021 ACBL Bridge Bulletin (page 44) South holds: (S) 6 3; (H) A K 9 8 5 2; (D) A K 4; (C) 7 6. (West deals, E-W vulnerable, ...
David Siegel's user avatar
  • 1,197
5 votes
1 answer
234 views

In Duplicate Bridge, does the person holding a particular set of cards open the bidding in all times that particular deal is played?

Say the same deal is played by 5 different pairs of people. Is the person opening the bid each time that particular deal is played have the same set of cards in his hand? Or is the dealer/opener also ...
user93353's user avatar
  • 482
3 votes
4 answers
348 views

How to bid and make a slam with 28 HCP between the partnership?

The Common Game recently had this board in which the East-West pair usually ended up bidding and making a game contract of 3NT or 4 spades. Only 3 pairs of almost 1,000 bid and made grand slams; 42 ...
Stefanovitch's user avatar
1 vote
4 answers
6k views

In response to an opening bid of 1 spade by my partner, why do I have to have at least 5 pieces in hearts (+ the usual points) in order to respond 2H?

I've had this "rule" drilled into me for decades; but somebody asked me recently for an explanation, which I was unable to provide.
Stefanovitch's user avatar
3 votes
2 answers
113 views

Conventional treatment of a particular negative double

In the system I am playing with my partner, our 1 clubs opening frequently contains a(ny) balanced hand with 12-13 points. Because of this we have recently introduced the modern 'expert treatment' ...
AhmnvV9gSQyRJV's user avatar
6 votes
4 answers
232 views

How to bid a slam when partnership cannot find the best suit?

The following hand was dealt recently in the Common Game; but only a very small number of partnerships bid and made a slam (1 grand; 2 small slams). As you can see from the last 2 lines, the computer ...
Stefanovitch's user avatar
1 vote
0 answers
43 views

Dummy's not noticed [duplicate]

In the duplicate bridge game yesterday, I was the declarer and the contract was 3D. My LHO led a H and the RHO won the trick. She led back a H and RHO ruffed with D5. The were 3 hearts in dummy an I ...
Ramadas Prabhu's user avatar
0 votes
1 answer
655 views

What is the penalty and procedure at Duplicate Bridge when a player revokes twice

What is the penalty and procedure when at duplicate Bridge a player revokes unnoticed then revokes again the next trick around, this time noticed by an opponent before a further card is played. In ...
Peter's user avatar
  • 1
2 votes
2 answers
250 views

How to make a small slam in bridge with only 25 high card points between the partnership?

This follows my recent question about how to bid a small slam in clubs with <30 HCP; but this time the partnership only had 25 HCP in toto (board 15 TCG). The optimal contract was 6 diamonds by ...
Stefanovitch's user avatar
1 vote
2 answers
281 views

How to make a small slam in bridge with less than 30 points between the partnership?

The following hand came up recently in the Common Game. I would like my gentle reader let me know how you would have bid in order to reach the optimal contract (6 clubs). I know that a small slam ...
Stefanovitch's user avatar
0 votes
1 answer
47 views

What does Opener's rebid here mean?

Dealer opens 1D and Partner responds 1H. Dealer then rebids 2NT. What does Dealer's 2NT rebid mean? Opponents have passed throughout.
poivre's user avatar
  • 1
1 vote
1 answer
133 views

In what systems are opening 4 card majors ok?

I had several 4 card majors yesterday. Is there a system that opens 4 card majors. Partner says no, only in response.
JerrySFer's user avatar