Questions tagged [fluxx]

A card game where the rules change as you play, and there isn't a goal until someone plays one. The goal changes just as often as the rules do, but most goals revolve around collecting particular "Keepers."

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
3
votes
1answer
62 views

Firefly Fluxx Upgraded Creepers

The Creeper's from the upgrade pack state "during your turn, if you discard a Keeper you have in play you may move this to another player." Does the Creeper alone allow you to discard a Keeper or do ...
2
votes
2answers
128 views

Exchange keepers

I had a debate with friends based on the wording on the card. I believe because the way it is written, I can give a keeper and immediately take it back instead of taking one of theirs. ACTION: ...
0
votes
0answers
44 views

Classic Fluxx: how to deal with creepers when executing „Everybody gets one“ [duplicate]

When executing "Everybody gets one", I chose to just hand out cards covered without looking at them. One Player got a creeper and rightfully asked if they really be given it - because I basically had ...
4
votes
1answer
169 views

Doctor Who Fluxx - do Dalek cards affect all doctors

Dalek card says "if the Doctor is anywhere on the table, during your turn you can discard both him and this". So player 1 has Doctor #2, player 2 has Doctor #3, I have the dalek. Can I discard the ...
16
votes
1answer
722 views

Play all but one + hand limit zero + draw one = stalemate?

If the current rules include "Hand Limit 0", "Play all but 1", and "Draw 1", doesn't the game just kind of... stall? This has never actually happened but thinking about it, we figured we'd probably ...
5
votes
1answer
198 views

Is the Radioactive Potato passed before the goal is checked?

The text on the Radioactive Potato says "Any time the goal changes, move this card in the counter-turn direction". When the rule card You Also Need a Baked Potato is in affect, you must have the ...
6
votes
2answers
127 views

If James Baxter gives me a Creeper can I discard it

In Adventure Time Fluxx, the James Baxter action card has each player draw a card, and causes all Creepers in play to be discarded. If my drawn card is a Creeper (which is immediately put on the ...
3
votes
1answer
61 views

OZ fluxx Tin Woodman vs the Fighting Trees

The "Tin Woodman" can chop down the "Fighting Trees", now the question is: is this ability played as an action (like playing one card) or a free action, my searches have been unable to find out, is ...
4
votes
1answer
178 views

Brain transference in Star Fluxx

The card Brain Transference reads: You and a player of your choice switch seats at the table (leaving your hands). You each take over the other player's entire position in the game, as if you were ...
4
votes
2answers
585 views

Fluxx Play All Card and Hand Limit Cards

Does the Play All card require the removal of any Hand Limit rule cards currently in play?
7
votes
2answers
381 views

What should be taken into consideration when mixing Fluxx sets?

What should be taken into consideration when mixing fluxx sets? I played a game of Stoner and Zombie fluxx mixed the other day, and I found it super fun. It add variance to the theming, and ...
1
vote
1answer
257 views

Are there any house rules for combining Munchkin and Fluxx? [closed]

It occurred to me that the Fluxx and Munchkin are quite similar games in that they are casual games that derive their fun from their theming. Is it possible to combine the games?
0
votes
1answer
847 views

How do the Batman Cuffs work in Batman Fluxx?

The Batman Cuffs card says you can hide a Creeper. Does this mean that Creeper is now under your control? Can you hide someone else's Creeper? What happens when you choose to unhide it? Is it yours ...
1
vote
1answer
294 views

If I use a Mystery Play in Fluxx, does that count as a play?

As far as I know, Free Action on a New Rule means it doesn't count as a Play when used. If I use the Mystery Play rule or any of its analogues does it count as a Play? Analogues of Mystery Play ...
1
vote
1answer
126 views

When can I use a power of a Keeper in Adventure Time Fluxx?

Some keepers have powers. Can these powers only be used during the turn that you play the keeper or every turn whilst the keeper is in play?
1
vote
1answer
137 views

Fluxx - Monty Python: Finger of God & Play All [duplicate]

I've just encountered a situation playing this with my daughter where she has played the Finger of God and there's a Play All card in the table. Does this mean she can keep Playing Finger of God until ...
11
votes
3answers
486 views

Swap Plays For Draws and Play X with fewer than X cards on hand

Lets say the rules are Draw 1 / Play 4, and the Swap Plays For Draws promotional rule card is in play: My turn begins and I have zero cards in my hand. So I draw one card. If I now want to make use ...
5
votes
1answer
188 views

Is Zap A Card considered stealing if a keeper was taken from another player?

In Batman Fluxx, if Zap A Card was used to take another player's keeper, is this considered stealing a keeper? Zap A Card is an Action card with the following text: Choose any card in play ...
3
votes
2answers
212 views

Exchange Keeper Card

In Zombie Fluxx, if you play an Exchange Keepers Card, can you give them a Creeper and they give you a Keeper so you can match the goal?
0
votes
2answers
317 views

is your turn over after playing an action card and doing what the card says

The Action card "Draw two, play two" says to draw two cards and play them. Then you're supposed to continue your turn. But isn't your turn already over? Because you've already drawn a card and played ...
5
votes
1answer
389 views

Double Agenda card

In Fluxx, if you play the "Double Agenda" rule this allows for two goals in play. If the Double Agenda card is removed by an action how do you deal with the two goals in play? Does the person who ...
5
votes
2answers
395 views

Play all but one rule is into play. What if play one extra card rule is also in play?

In our last game, the "play all but one" rule was into play . But also a rule (dutch fluxx) that said the one with the most keepers can play one more card. Does this mean he can play all his cards, ...
6
votes
2answers
281 views

can keepers kill creepers in same turn over and over again?

In Monty Python Fluxx, there are keepers that kill creepers. Can they be played and also kill in the same turn, or is it 1 turn to play them and 2nd turn to kill? Also, can they be used over and ...
3
votes
1answer
228 views

Cthulhu flux metamorphosis/ madness clarification

If one of these two cards are attached to an investigator, is it no longer an investigator? (not talking about the powers the investigator has) E.g. if Madness is ...
7
votes
2answers
2k views

Fluxx - when is the winning condition reached?

I recently bought Cartoon Network Fluxx and have quickly become a big fan. I've been playing it a lot lately but we keep going back and forth on when the winning condition has been reached. Help? ...
6
votes
2answers
714 views

Fluxx: Hand limit zero + trade hands

A rule was in place that said the hand limit was zero. It states that if it isn't your turn you should have zero cards. Other rules in play were draw three, play one. While it was 'Person A's turn ...
0
votes
2answers
380 views

In Star Fluxx, how does the game end with Play all?

I know that there has been complaints about other cards being overpowered, but after playing a few games with my sister, who had never played before, she won almost every game by strategically using ...
3
votes
3answers
1k views

Fluxx: Does this person play all cards or does his turn end with new cards in hand?

The "Play All" rule is on the table. Someone plays the new rule, "Get on with it" which states that "At any time before your final play, you may discard your entire hand and draw a new hand of 3 cards....
2
votes
1answer
1k views

Can two Creepers be attached to the same Keeper?

Some Creepers say they must be attached to a Keeper if you have a Keeper in play. If you end up with two such Creepers, and only one Keeper, can both Creepers be attached to the lone Keeper? Or is ...
8
votes
3answers
244 views

Did this player need to draw?

We've just played a game of Fluxx, where the following occurred. There was a Draw3 and a Poor Bonus in play, so this player got to draw 4 cards. He then removed the Poor Bonus and changed the Draw3 to ...
3
votes
2answers
999 views

Can you move your keeper with creepers using the teleport card?

In Star Fluxx, can you move your keeper with creeper(s) attached to another player using Teleporter card?
4
votes
2answers
336 views

Does Silver Lining negate a creeper requirement?

If, for example, You Also Need a Baked Potato is in play or the goal is War=Death, what is the effect of the Silver Lining card, which states that creepers cannot prevent you from winning?
5
votes
2answers
393 views

Conflict in Fluxx

Player A and Player B both have 5 Keepers in play. Player B has 1 Creeper (Prevents Player B from winning) Player A plays the goal card 5 Keepers which goes like this (goal cards, are the criteria ...
3
votes
1answer
999 views

What are the rules with attached creepers in Cthulhu Fluxx?

If I have a creeper attached to an investigator, does that still prevent me from winning? I understand that having a lone creeper in front of you prevents you from winning---unless the goal says ...
4
votes
4answers
2k views

In Star Fluxx, have you needed to change how The Computer and The Unseen Force play?

Star Fluxx has a number of cards that end up being quite powerful and can throw chaos into a game that seemed to be almost over. Most of these cards are either Actions or Surprises and can thus only ...
6
votes
2answers
2k views

When are Keeper actions available?

In Star Fluxx, some Keepers give you abilities that don't take up an action. Are Keeper abilities in Star Fluxx available immediately after the Keeper is put on the table, on the next turn, or just ...
5
votes
2answers
2k views

Fluxx “Once during your turn” New Rule cards

If I play a "New Rule" that allows an action "once during your turn" (Recycling, Goal Mill, etc.) - do I get to take those action immediately, or is my turn now over because I've completed my "played ...
19
votes
4answers
473 views

Do I win or lose if I play “Trade Hands” while tied for “10 Cards in Hand”?

I have 11 cards and have to play 2. You have 10 cards. My first card to play is the goal "10 Cards in Hand", which says: "If someone has 10 or more cards in his or her hand, then the player with ...
7
votes
2answers
328 views

Can I use the Finger of God on other players' turns?

In Monty Python Fluxx, the Finger of God reads: If you have this on the table you may smite (i.e. discard) any Creeper. After smiting, you must put this card back into your hand. Can I use it ...
5
votes
1answer
887 views

What does it mean when the Animator “counts as” the Finger of God?

In Monty Python Fluxx, the Animator reads: Counts as the Finger of God if the real Finger of God is not on the table. Does it mean that the Animator has just the nominal value of the Finger of God ...
4
votes
2answers
640 views

When can I discard the Death Creeper Card?

On the Death card it says you can remove it when it stands alone. So my question is, As soon as I draw it and it stands alone can I remove it right then, or do I have to wait till my next turn to ...
6
votes
1answer
2k views

Can you win with two creepers when the goal only has one creeper?

In various flavors of Fluxx, there are Creepers; they all say "You cannot win if you have this card in front of you, unless a card says otherwise." In Cthulhu Fluxx, there are frequently Goals that ...
6
votes
2answers
1k views

Is Fluxx a game of skill or luck?

In a recent question, a link was posted to a BGG member that attempted to objectively measure whether skill exists in the game Fluxx. This wasn't published in a peer reviewed journal, but was just a ...
10
votes
1answer
207 views

Does Play X go into effect immediately?

In Fluxx, the Draw X cards state that the current player may draw more cards so as to have drawn that number of cards on their turn. Does the same thing apply to Play X? For example, if the current ...
9
votes
1answer
389 views

When is the winning condition checked in Fluxx?

New Rule "Draw 4" is in play. One opponent changes the Goal to "10 cards in hand". I have six cards in my hand. It's my turn and I draw four cards. I contend that the game is now over, as I have ...
10
votes
2answers
1k views

Scope of “Finger of God”

In "Monty Python Fluxx" the wording on the "Finger of God" Keeper is a bit ambiguous. Can its special power be used on another player's cards? If you have this on the table you may smite (i.e. ...
10
votes
4answers
1k views

Can Monty Python Fluxx be used with the regular Fluxx deck, or is it a separate game? [duplicate]

As far as I understand, Monty Python Fluxx is a separate game, not an expansion pack, that doesn't require the original Fluxx deck to play. But can it be used with the original deck - can it be used ...
23
votes
1answer
1k views

Do I have to keep a creeper whenever I draw cards in Fluxx, even if I was drawing cards to give to other players for “Everybody Gets 1”?

Interesting scenario the other day. When playing the Action card "Everybody Gets 1" I drew a Creeper card. At this point though I had a conundrum. The Creeper card states I "must place it face up in ...
10
votes
1answer
407 views

Are drawing an extra card and playing an extra card optional when the Party Bonus rule is in effect?

Here is the wording on my Party Bonus card... If someone has the Party on the table, all players may Draw 1 extra card and may Play 1 extra card during their turns. It's the word "may" that's ...
10
votes
1answer
1k views

How Has The Fluxx Core Game Changed Over The Years?

While researching Fluxx for a different question, I came across this chronology for editions of the game in Wikipedia: Fluxx 2.0 (new card layout, use of color, bridge-sized cards) Fluxx 2.1 (...