Questions tagged [gloomhaven]

A cooperative board game where a group of mercenaries take on monsters in dungeon crawls linked by an RPG-like campaign.

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
2
votes
1answer
125 views

Does a cultist's on death effect trigger during it's own turn?

Somewhat similar to: Gloomhaven - are monster abilities in effect prior to their turn, but this is happening during the monster's turn. In Gloomhaven, the cultist has an ability card that includes an ...
0
votes
1answer
51 views

Scenario #98 Question

Spoiler tags to prevent accidental disclosure.
3
votes
1answer
146 views

Can equipment be activated twice?

Could I use the ability of this weapon multiple times to consume different infusions on the same attack?
3
votes
1answer
190 views

When will a summon/monster step on a trap?

Follow-up question to Which monster does the summon focus on? Long way around, avoiding traps, or get stuck behind a player?. If I replace the first player on Path 3 with a trap... would the summon ...
3
votes
1answer
152 views

Which monster does the summon focus on? Long way around, avoiding traps, or get stuck behind a player?

We're a bit confused about how to select Monster Focus and Player Summon Focus. Check out the situation below: We use little miniatures for the player summons instead of the disks. So the little dog/...
2
votes
1answer
218 views

Gloomhaven - movement dance to gain momentum

The Brute in our party has an attack that is based on movement. Using 4 movement, does using 4 Move to back out of their hex and back into it 2x count as moving 4 spaces?
5
votes
1answer
405 views

Can I select which ability to use on my second card after using the first card?

Say I pick the two ability cards for my turn in Gloomhaven. One of them has an attack action on top and the other card has an attack action on the bottom. I'd like to perform the top action first and ...
2
votes
1answer
741 views

Gloomhaven: road events and scenario reset

When you encounter a road event, it could cause your party to take damage. When you die in a scenario according to the rulebook you can retry it at full health, without doing another road event. ...
1
vote
1answer
552 views

If I draw my Critical Miss card, can I apply its effect so as to mitigate it?

I don't have the rules in front of me so I may be using different terminology to that used in the rules. Suppose I am playing as the Scoundrel and have taken the perk that allows me to add "(draw ...
1
vote
1answer
211 views

Eclipse class question

When I'm using the consume-dark version of Concealed Dominance's bottom half, can I only teleport to hexes within line of site? Or can I teleport to any revealed and unoccupied hex on the board?
4
votes
1answer
2k views

Gloomhaven - are monster abilities in effect prior to their turn

If a player with the lowest initiative attacks a monster, is that monster’s shield or retaliate in effect yet?
2
votes
1answer
719 views

What happens if you hit a rolling modifier when you have advantage?

What happens if you hit a rolling modifier when you have advantage?
6
votes
1answer
577 views

Gloomhaven: Does it count as me landing the killing blow if a monster dies to my retaliate?

Related to Does it count as me landing the killing blow if a monster dies to a Wound that I inflicted?, will a character get credit (for Personal Quests/Battle Goals) for killing a monster if the ...
5
votes
2answers
4k views

How should I start a second Gloomhaven campaign when the first is deeply underway?

The rules specify that your campaign game can only play modules that are unlocked, and not repeat. It implies two parties moving simultaneously through the world, changing things permanently. The ...
3
votes
1answer
1k views

Can I switch perks?

Are there rules in Gloomhaven for switching perks? I read nothing about it in the RuleBook nor saw anything via google. Wondering if this is the case of doesn't say so can't do it. As much as one ...
9
votes
1answer
10k views

Do I retaliate against a missed attack?

The rules for retaliation state: When exactly does retaliate trigger? Retaliate triggers after all effects of an attack have been applied. If the retaliating figure dies from the attack, the ...
2
votes
1answer
1k views

How does the Feedback Loop card work in Gloomhaven?

I've seen a lot of FAQ's about the Feedback Loop Card in Gloomhaven, but they always refer to the augment portion which seems straight forward to me. However I am a little confused about the bottom ...
4
votes
1answer
2k views

In Gloomhaven - do monsters spawn in the beginning of scenarios that have open doors/passageways to other tiles?

I see the rules about how you spawn monsters in a new room when you "reveal" it by unlocking the door. However, in some maps there are already open passageways between map tiles. Does that mean the ...
5
votes
2answers
5k views

In Gloomhaven, is the leading card chosen for initiative after or before monster cards are revealed

I understand that the 2 action cards are chosen before monster cards are revealed, but I'm confused about whether leading cards are chosen before monster cards are revealed. I saw a video that ...
4
votes
1answer
3k views

Adding more monsters than provided tokens

During Scenario 2 we ran into an issue where there were more of a certain monster type on the board than monster tokens of that type were available. So, we didn't have the correct pieces to put onto ...
3
votes
1answer
1k views

Does Pushing Need To Be Adjacent?

It's not specified if, when pushing, does the monster need to be adjacent? Some cards say specifically adjacent some don't, so the ones that don't does that mean infinite range? Sources with answers ...
8
votes
1answer
4k views

Does it count as me landing the killing blow if a monster dies to a Wound that I inflicted?

Some of the personal quests involve killing a certain number of monsters. The official FAQ has clarified that the character must be the one to land the killing blow in order for it to count towards ...
10
votes
1answer
5k views

Is chest loot in “real gold” or “gold tokens”?

I looted a chest and looked up the reward in the back to find "10 gold". Does that mean that I add 10 gold to my character right away, or do I get 10 "gold tokens" which are multiplied based on the ...