Skip to main content

Questions tagged [joker]

Some games use a joker card or piece that has special functions, and possibly special rules about its use. Use this tag to ask about those unique functions and rules.

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
0 votes
1 answer
55 views

Adding 2 melds of 3 to take joker

Can I merge 2 melds of 3 together and take the joker?
Linda Greene's user avatar
0 votes
0 answers
23 views

replacing a Joker in Rummikub [duplicate]

Lets say there's a set: 2,3,4, joker. Can I take the joker to make a new set like 7,7,7 without replacing the joker with a 5 since there will still be 3 tiles in the first set?
Alan Brooks's user avatar
1 vote
1 answer
41 views

Rummikub Joker Rule Question

Can you use a rummikub joker tile in an existing run? Or must a joker always be replaced in order to use it?
Karen Barbetta Hart's user avatar
0 votes
1 answer
299 views

Some Rummikub rules say melds with jokers can be split, but can the joker be split off?

I'm not "picking up" or replacing the joker. I'm using it as its assigned value, and not claiming it as a wild card. So if there's a sequence on the board of 567J And I have two eights, so I ...
Oscar's user avatar
  • 103
2 votes
1 answer
176 views

In Rummikub, Is it possible to change the location of a joker inside a meld?

In Rummikub, assume there is a Run of Joker, R4, R5 on the board. Is it possible to move the joker to the other end of the run and to add a R7? So the new Run is R4, R5, Joker, R7.
Grancie's user avatar
  • 29
1 vote
1 answer
5k views

Going out in Rummikub using a joker from my rack

Other posts on the rules for using the a joker don't cover the following scenario: It's near the end of a game. I have only one tile left in my rack. It's my turn & I cannot go out, so I draw a ...
Keefb's user avatar
  • 41
3 votes
0 answers
71 views

Going out by adding a tile and a joker to a run in Rummikub [duplicate]

I have seen many posts about using a joker from a player's rack or replacing a joker on the table. My question relates to using a joker at the end of a game to declare Rummikub. Here's the scenario: ...
Keefb's user avatar
  • 41
2 votes
1 answer
2k views

In Rummikub, does a joker count towards the 30 points contract?

If you have a joker in your initial hand of 14 tiles, can it be played in a meld adding its value in order to pass the 30 points contract? I.e. does a joker have the value of the number it replaces?
Jan Mason's user avatar
1 vote
1 answer
390 views

Can you replace a Joker with a bonus joker?

If I have 3,4,J, can I replace the Joker with a Double Joker? If I have 3red, 3blue, Double Joker, can I replace it with a regular joker? I understand the rules to say: you cannot replace a Joker ...
Mary P's user avatar
  • 11
0 votes
1 answer
546 views

Rummikub - Replacing Jokers

3 of us were playing with older Rummikub rules where if you want to use a Joker that is on the board, you must replace it with a tile from your rack of the same color and value. One player made this ...
Alex's user avatar
  • 1
1 vote
1 answer
5k views

Rummikub: Initial meld with a joker

The following tiles are on the table (these were the initial meld from another player): 10 BLUE, 11 BLUE, 12 BLUE And I, having not yet made an initial meld, have the following tiles on my board: 7 ...
staterium's user avatar
  • 111
2 votes
1 answer
966 views

How many jokers can you use in a run or set in Rummikub?

Can I use two jokers in the same run or set or are you only allowed to use one joker per set or run?
user32853's user avatar
0 votes
1 answer
262 views

Can joker be played with no other tiles?

When playing Rummikub, if you have joker tile, no other tiles to play with it and nobody has gone out can you use it any where on the board?
Ian Kerwin's user avatar
2 votes
1 answer
2k views

Rules when using a Joker

I had on my rack among other tiles, a black 9, 1 x blue 10, and a black 12. On the table was a set of 3 x 10s including a Joker(no blue 10), and other sets of tiles including an available black 11. ...
David Young's user avatar
7 votes
4 answers
30k views

Getting Joker from the existing groups in Rummikub

I have a group of tiles made up of 3 fours and a joker: 4 4 4 Joker Now, if a player removes the joker, do they have to replace it with another 4?
Trevor Cook's user avatar
6 votes
1 answer
3k views

Does a Joker have the value of the number it represents when played as part of the initial minimum 30 point row?

I played Rummikub yesterday and you know: To start a game, one has to lay down a minimum of 30 Points with new rows created. However, yesterday, my mom laid out following: [11] [11] [JO] In my ...
Noah Krasser's user avatar
3 votes
2 answers
18k views

Can the initial Rummikub meld build on other player's tiles?

When playing the initial 30 points, can I use a tile from an existing meld on the board to complete my meld without using the points from that tile? For instance, I have a red 9, 11, and 12 in my rack,...
Diane Kee's user avatar
7 votes
5 answers
14k views

What can I do with the Joker if I remove every tile from its meld? (Can I even do that?)

I'm aware that one cannot move a Joker tile out of a meld except by replacing the Joker with the number it represents. However, I'm confused about one situation which I haven't found rules to clarify: ...
doppelgreener's user avatar