Questions tagged [king-of-tokyo]

Board game where players take the role of enormous monsters in a battle for the city of Tokyo.

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
3
votes
2answers
84 views

Am I able to use rolled hearts when attacking a monster in Tokyo?

When attacking a monster in Tokyo, do I get to keep any of the hearts that I rolled if that monster leaves, or are they forfeit?
1
vote
1answer
165 views

King of Tokyo Complete Destruction card question

I roll 1,2,3,3,3,3 on my first roll and after rerolling I achieve 1,2,3,energy,punch,health do I get the 9 victory points or does re rolling cancel out the bonus 9 points; do I need to roll them on my ...
1
vote
1answer
347 views

Can special cards with “discard” label in King of Tokyo be saved until later?

In King of Tokyo, when I buy a special card with a "discard" label, do I have to use that card at the time of purchase? Can I save it to use later? I infer from the rule book that I can save it... ...
2
votes
2answers
589 views

King of Tokyo (2016 version): Battery Monster and Friend of Children

In the 2nd edition of King of Tokyo (2016 version), the Battery Monster Power Card states: (Keep) When you buy Battery Monster, put 6 [energy symbol] on it from the bank. At the start of each turn ...
1
vote
1answer
795 views

King of Tokyo (2016 version): Psychic Probe

In the 2nd edition of King of Tokyo (2016 version), the Psychic Probe Power Card states: Psychic Probe (Keep): You can reroll a die of your choice after the last Roll of each other Monster. If you ...
2
votes
1answer
467 views

King of Tokyo- Dice resolution

Does a roll 1,2,3,energy,heart,claw give a 9 fame reward of "9" along with the one energy, one health and 1 attack results? I picked this notion up playing the game prior to purchasing my own copy of ...
10
votes
2answers
2k views

It Has A Child card - do you stay in Tokyo?

It Has A Child states If you are eliminated discard all your cards and lose all your [Star], Heal to 10 [Heart] and start again. If somebody with this card is in Tokyo and they are eliminated, do ...
2
votes
1answer
1k views

King of Tokyo - All Monsters in Tokyo

Is it possible for all monsters (in a 3 player game) to be in Tokyo at once? If so, how is damage inflicted? How can a monster leave if no damage is inflicted?
5
votes
2answers
1k views

King of Tokyo: Damage dealt on first entry in to Tokyo

I've looked around SE and can't seem to find an answer to this specific question. I recognize that a new version of KOT is out that redefines how Tokyo is entered; this question is regarding the old ...
4
votes
3answers
2k views

King of Tokyo: Acid Attack

In King of Tokyo, what are the consequences of the acid attack card? Specifically, the following questions: Who does the damage effect? Does the damage count as an attack? If damaged by acid attack ...
2
votes
1answer
461 views

Entering Tokyo - 2 specific questions

Just got new version of KOT. Rules for "Enter Tokyo" phase say "If no one is in Tokyo, you must enter and place your Monster in Tokyo City". So apparently they did away with the rule that first claw ...
1
vote
1answer
506 views

King of Tokyo: Number of points/hearts

On the monster cards, there are dials for both hearts and stars. The start dial goes up to 20 because that's the point at which a player would win. Does a player need to hit 20 stars exactly to win? ...
4
votes
2answers
1k views

King of Tokyo: Healing in Tokyo City/Bay

Can players that are in Tokyo City or Tokyo Bay heal themselves on their turn?
4
votes
1answer
277 views

What does the skull mean on the wheel of heal points?

What does the skull mean on your point card in the heal points? It goes to 12 and then the next is a skull.
1
vote
1answer
299 views

King of Tokyo card question+ dice read

Jets says You suffer no damage when yielding Tokyo. If the monster in Tokyo has 3 health and he should receive 3 attacks, he should die or he can just leave Tokyo? In 5 players game Gigazour is ...
1
vote
1answer
387 views

King Of Tokyo taking control of Tokyo

The first Monster in the game to obtain at least 1 attack dice deals no damage, but instead takes control of Tokyo, and moves its figure to Tokyo City. Does it mean if I have in my 1st roll an attack ...
2
votes
1answer
1k views

Clarification of cards in King of Tokyo

The Monster Batteries card states that two energy cubes are fed back to the player every turn. Is it every turn of the game (my assumption) or every turn of that player? The card also reads that it ...
10
votes
1answer
2k views

What's the difference between King of Tokyo and King of New York?

We got King of Tokyo for Christmas and I just found out about King of New York. What's the difference between these two games? Is King of New York just King of Tokyo done "right"?
7
votes
2answers
1k views

Do dead monsters really have to leave the game?

The one part of King of Tokyo I don't like is when players have to leave the game because their monster dies. Are there any variants/house rules that keeps players in the game?
5
votes
1answer
492 views

King of Tokyo: Background Dweller

Background Dweller states the following: You can always reroll any [3] you have. Can you reroll the 3's only after you are done rerolling or also inbetween?
5
votes
1answer
3k views

King of Tokyo: Poison Spit

Poison Spit states the following: When you deal damage to monsters give them a poison counter. Monsters take 1 damage for each poison counter they have at the end of their turn. You can get rid of ...
2
votes
1answer
673 views

King of Tokyo: Omnivore

Omnivore states the following: Once each turn you can score [1][2][3] for 2[Star]. You can use these dice in other combinations. Does this only trigger when you are finished rerolling or at any ...
6
votes
1answer
634 views

In King of Tokyo, which turns does Monster Batteries' effect happen on?

Monster Batteries states the following: When you purchase this put as many [Energy] as you want on it from your reserve. Match this from the bank. At the start of each turn take 2[Energy] off and ...
8
votes
1answer
446 views

In King of Tokyo, how does Mecha Blast interact with High Altitude Bombing?

King of Tokyo: Powerup has an evolution card for Meka Dragon called Mecha Blast that reads: Discard this Evolution to deal 2 extra damage. There is also a discardable card from the main game ...
6
votes
1answer
1k views

buying Monster Batteries w/ Parasitic Tentacles

Say Player 1 has the Parasitic Tentacles card, which allows purchase of cards from other players for energy value. Player 2 has Monster Batteries, with some amount of energy on it (which was doubled ...
5
votes
1answer
3k views

In King of Tokyo when playing with 5-6 players, what happens when monsters die?

When you get down to 4 or less monsters do you go back to only occupying Tokyo City and not both Tokyo City and Tokyo Bay? I played my first game with 5 players and after few of us died we continued ...
2
votes
1answer
260 views

Are there a limited number of counters that can be used?

Poison Spit adds poison counters to other players. If I run out of poison counters, can I keep giving them, ie use other tokens to represent them?
5
votes
1answer
807 views

king of Tokyo- camouflage

If I buy a card that does damage to me, and I have camouflage, do I get to roll to negate that damage? The card says when I take damage I roll to negate it, so I would think I could get rid of the ...
8
votes
1answer
724 views

King of Tokyo: Complete Destruction

What is the expected number of turns required to get the required roll for Complete Destruction, given no evolutions or other cards?
5
votes
1answer
938 views

If damaged by another player's Acid Attack, can I cede Tokyo?

If I'm in Tokyo, and a player outside of Tokyo has Acid Attack, they will do one damage to me on their turn (even without rolling a claw). But will that damage from Acid Attack allow me to leave Tokyo ...
4
votes
1answer
1k views

In King of Tokyo, can you get more than 1 evolution per turn?

In the rules, it states that you must roll AT LEAST three hearts to earn an evolution card. If you are able to roll/use card(s) to garner, for example, 6 stars, can you apply the 'at least' statement ...
5
votes
2answers
7k views

King of Tokyo: When can you buy a card and when can you start to use them?

I have two questions related to purchasing cards: When can you purchase a card? Is it only during your turn or you can just go ahead and buy cards as long as you have cubes even if it's another ...
5
votes
4answers
486 views

What is your average VP score rolling 2 versus 4 dice after an initial 3322xx roll?

King of Tokyo has a die rolling mechanic similar to Yahtzee, where you get three rolls and may choose to hold or reroll any die you previously held. At the end of third roll, you must keep the ...
4
votes
2answers
1k views

King of Tokyo, effects of cards after monster death

In King of Tokyo, when a monster dies does the effects of shrink counters or poison counters placed by that monster still apply, or do those counters fall away with the eliminated monster ?
6
votes
2answers
4k views

In King of Tokyo advanced play, does the monster in Tokyo Bay move into Tokyo City if the Tokyo City monster yields?

Then the attacking monster would enter Tokyo Bay unless both spots are yielded and attacker enters Tokyo City? This is important because when monsters are eliminated and there become fewer than 5 ...
2
votes
1answer
496 views

Does a herbivore gain 1 star if he attacks but the damage is ignored due to armor plating?

This scenario came up in a game played tonight: The King is in Tokyo City and has an Armor Plating card ("Ignore damage when that damage would only make you lose 1"). Alienoid is not in Tokyo and ...
4
votes
1answer
1k views

about rolls and being forced to reroll

If I'm rolling dice in King of Tokyo, I get what I want after 2 rolls, and I choose not to take my 3rd roll. Another person has a card that says they may make someone reroll a die once each turn. If ...
2
votes
2answers
1k views

Do dice finish resolving before yielding Tokyo?

When does yielding occur in relation to dice resolution? Simultaneously? After all dice have resolved? After attack dice are resolved? For example (A for attack die, H for heart): Alice is outside ...
7
votes
3answers
4k views

Do you acquire Evolution cards simultaneously when Attacking, and when can you use them?

The King of Tokyo rules state: If you are attacked while in Tokyo and you don’t want to be there anymore (and who can blame you – it can be rough!) you can yield to the Monster that attacked (he ...
2
votes
1answer
1k views

Does Burrowing's extra damage affect non-attack damage and where inside/outside Tokyo?

Burrowing's effect states: Deal 1 extra damage on Tokyo. [...] Does this mean, "Deal 1 extra damage [to the Monster] on Tokyo."; or "Deal 1 extra damage [when your Monster is] on Tokyo." I ...
4
votes
1answer
1k views

Does a Monster have to survive an attack to yield Tokyo?

King of Tokyo has one of the most poorly written rules. The rules state: If a Monster loses its last life({Heart}) it is out of the game. If you are attacked while in Tokyo and you don't want ...
7
votes
1answer
2k views

King of Tokyo: Dice resolution -> Yield -> Card buying?

when exactly must a player choose to yield Tokyo? Today we had a game and the player in Tokyo took 1 attack and decided to stay in Tokyo. The player whose turn it was, then bought a card that dealt ...
4
votes
1answer
3k views

How many cards can I buy in a turn?

How many cards can a player purchase during a turn? If it is three, is there a way to discard one of your cards to purchase another?
3
votes
2answers
15k views

When can cards/power ups be played in King of Tokyo (and Power Up! expansion)?

I think these is how the cards can be used: Keep cards can be played only during your turn. Discard cards are to be played immediately. Permanent power ups can be played only during your turn. ...
9
votes
1answer
4k views

Can both monsters in Tokyo yield at the same time after an attack?

In a 5- or 6-player game of King of Tokyo, there are two spaces in Tokyo: the city, and Tokyo Bay. Normally, if a monster is inside Tokyo, and a monster outside Tokyo attacks, the monster in Tokyo has ...
5
votes
1answer
2k views

Do wings allow me to leave Tokyo?

When in Tokyo if I use Wings (Pay 2 energy to avoid damage until the end of the monster turn) to avoid damage can I still leave Tokyo and have the player that rolled the claw take my place? Or do I ...
4
votes
1answer
3k views

Can you leave Tokyo voluntarily?

In King of Tokyo, you gain victory points for entering (and starting your turn in) Tokyo, but it's very painful to stay there - all of the other monsters are trying to kill you. Can you leave Tokyo ...
12
votes
2answers
2k views

When entering Tokyo Bay, does the monster in Tokyo City take damage?

For a 5+ player game, the first two players to roll fists/claws can enter Tokyo. If there is already a player in Tokyo City, but Tokyo Bay is open, does rolling fists/claws damage the monster in ...