Skip to main content

Questions tagged [magic-the-gathering]

Magic: The Gathering is a collectible card game for 2 or more players, set in a variety of fantastical realms. Players take on the role of a powerful wizard and duel in a battle of wits, using cards that represent resources such as creatures, objects, spells and enchantments.

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
1 vote
1 answer
78 views

How does the fight ability work when the creature instigating the fight is recast?

Suppose Brash Taunter's fight ability is activated targeting some other creature to fight with Brash Taunter. A stack is started with that ability on the bottom. Next Unsummon is cast targeting Brash ...
Araq's user avatar
  • 113
1 vote
2 answers
878 views

Can Black Lotus alone enable the Turn 1 Channel-Fireball combo?

Reading about the rulings for Gilded Lotus, I've discovered that "add three mana of any one color" means: add three mana of a single color, not three mana of possibly distinct colors. Black ...
alecov's user avatar
  • 161
0 votes
1 answer
62 views

Inalla, Archmage Ritualist and Mistbind Clique interaction?

If I play a Mistbind Clique, I have to sacrifice it unless I exile another Faerie I control (and the Faerie will then return when Mistbind Clique leaves the battlefield). Inalla, Archmage Ritualist ...
Jedediah's user avatar
  • 285
-3 votes
1 answer
100 views

Fling's interaction with Rekindling Phoenix [closed]

So I've tried this twice now. I cast Fling targeting an enemy creature, sacrificing a Rekindling Phoenix as part of the cost; the Phoenix then ends up exiled for some reason. So it doesn't "die&...
DarkNeuron's user avatar
1 vote
1 answer
522 views

Am I understanding Ulalek, Fused Atrocity?

Ulalek, Fused Atrocity says: Whenever you cast an Eldrazi spell, you may pay {C}{C}. If you do, copy all spells you control, then copy all other activated and triggered abilities you control. You may ...
David Robie's user avatar
1 vote
1 answer
86 views

Zethi, Arcane Blademaster and split cards

When exiling a cards with Zethi, Arcane Blademaster. If I exile a split card that is half instant and half sorcery, I can only cast the instant half, correct? Example being Said//Done.
Nakoto Amagi's user avatar
-1 votes
2 answers
167 views

Ulalek copying countered spell

If I cast Ulamog, the Defiler and copy it with Ulalek, Fused Atrocity, and then somebody counters the original Ulamog spell, does Ulalek still copy the Ulamog cast trigger on the stack?
Jared's user avatar
  • 9
2 votes
1 answer
127 views

Do end of turn effects trigger if the creature dies before the end of turn?

If my opponent cast a board wipe and I flicker my Yorion, Sky Nomad to exile my board except itself. Do still get my creatures back at the end of the turn even though Yorion is dead?
Nakoto Amagi's user avatar
6 votes
1 answer
836 views

Sarkhan, Soul Aflame Becoming a dragon that entered

So I have Sarkhan, Soul Aflame as a copy of The Ur-Dragon that entered this turn. When Sarkhan attacks both Sarkhan and The Ur-Dragon's effects go on the stack, I choose to resolve Sarkhan first, draw ...
Nakoto Amagi's user avatar
1 vote
1 answer
98 views

Miirym, Sentinel Wyrm entering the field at the same time [duplicate]

So, I have Miirym, Sentinel Wyrm and a lot of other dragons in the Graveyard. I cast Eerie Ultimatum bringing all permanents back which cause a lot of ETB effects to go off but would Miirym, Sentinel ...
Nakoto Amagi's user avatar
3 votes
1 answer
300 views

Can I use black in a Genku commander deck? [duplicate]

Genku, Future Shaper is a white/blue card that includes this ability: Whenever another nontoken permanent you control leaves the battlefield, choose one that hasn't been chosen this turn. Create a ...
Sherlee O'neill's user avatar
3 votes
1 answer
506 views

What is the object under the Delver of Secrets in this video?

Link to video Jared Boettcher starts with the object in play, then plays a Delver of Secrets on top of it afterwards. What is it?
user avatar
2 votes
3 answers
597 views

Can you cast a copy of a card from the battlefield if the effect creating the copy specifies that it can be cast?

I recently saw a post on r/BadMtgCombos about an interesting combo, the combo works as following (text copied from the author, credit to u/Gamesfreak13563): First, get Transmogrifying Licid and ...
programmer's user avatar
0 votes
1 answer
123 views

Can someone explain to me the interaction with chains of mephistopheles and sylvan library

I totally get how Chains of Mephistopheles works with pretty much any card in any situation with any amount of chains in play except for the Sylvan Library interaction. I find it gets pretty ...
Tony S's user avatar
  • 151
0 votes
2 answers
134 views

Does Lavinia, Azorius Renegade work against Kinnan, Bonder Prodigy?

Do either of Lavinia, Azorius Renegade's abilities: Each opponent can’t cast noncreature spells with mana value greater than the number of lands that player controls. Whenever an opponent casts a ...
Frank's user avatar
  • 9
1 vote
1 answer
555 views

Can I attack with more than one Master of Cruelties?

I have two Master of Cruelties on the board, and I'm wondering: am I allowed to attack with both of them? I know that he has the rule of "Master of cruelties can only attack alone", but if ...
Judah Winters's user avatar
15 votes
5 answers
4k views

Does Magic the Gathering need an independent arbiter for reliable detection of cheating?

In complete information games like chess, a player can always be certain about if and when an opponent cheats only given their own observations of the past and present state of the game because the ...
2080's user avatar
  • 441
0 votes
2 answers
2k views

Can I use Ulalek's ability multiple times after casting a single spell?

So my friends and I were talking about Ulalek, Fused Atrocity, the new Commander for the Eldrazi pre-con deck, and I wanted to know if the ability can be paid for more than once on just any instance. ...
shadow 6195's user avatar
4 votes
2 answers
450 views

If I ask "What is your Oblivion Ring targeting?", am I letting the spell resolve?

My opponent casts Oblivion Ring while I have a Grizzly Bears and a Hill Giant on board, and a Counterspell in hand. I don't mind if my opponent removes the Hill Giant, but for whatever reason the ...
amalloy's user avatar
  • 435
1 vote
2 answers
127 views

If I have Ashaya out and return Quirion Ranger with itself, can it target itself?

If I have Lotus Cobra, Ashaya, Soul of the Wild, Nadu, Winged Wisdom, and Quirion Ranger out, can I target Quirion Ranger with its own ability while returning Qurion Ranger to my hand?
Christian's user avatar
  • 1,301
3 votes
1 answer
2k views

When do I pay the cost in Ulalek's triggered ability?

I’m looking at the ability of one of the upcoming Eldrazi releases, and was wondering when payment happens and when the ability goes on the stack. Ulalek, Fused Atrocity has the ability Whenever you ...
Littleinhuman's user avatar
2 votes
1 answer
356 views

Alternative costs stacking (flashback+spectacle)

I cast Slickshot Lockpicker, which says: When Slickshot Lockpicker enters the battlefield, target instant or sorcery card in your graveyard gains flashback until end of turn. The flashback cost is ...
Guillaume's user avatar
  • 125
2 votes
4 answers
300 views

Are there strategies to counter politics, as defined by Richard Garfield?

In Characteristics of Games by Richard Garfield et al., a dynamic which emerges within a large number of multisided games is explicated... Imagine a game, which we’ll call the “chip-taking game,” ...
user10478's user avatar
  • 728
8 votes
4 answers
2k views

How can my blue and black deck return enchantments from the graveyard?

I’ve created a blue and black deck, the concept is to create damage with enchantments, like Dark Tutelage or Stab Wound and to neutralize creatures or spells with essence scatter and other neutralize ...
Steve's user avatar
  • 179
1 vote
1 answer
158 views

Does tapping already tapped creature counts as "committing a crime"?

The Sterling Keykeeper is on the table and a player activates its ability (2, Tap: Tap target non-Mount creature), targeting opponent's tapped non-Mount creature. Does "commit a crime" ...
Denis Gladkiy's user avatar
0 votes
1 answer
73 views

Mtg: Electrostatic Field return to hand [duplicate]

Situation: The Electrostatic Field is a creature. In my turn I play the Artful Maneuver. My opponent plays the Compelling Deterrence and returns the electrostatic field in my hand. I know that his ...
Steve's user avatar
  • 179
-1 votes
1 answer
97 views

When Genju of the Fens dies, does the swamp go in the graveyard?

When I play Genju of the Fens, I enchant a swamp, and I pay the mana to transform the swamp to a 2/2 black spirit creature, but it’s still a land and it dies because of blocking or spells. Then the ...
Steve's user avatar
  • 179
4 votes
1 answer
409 views

Is a creature spell already a permanent?

I have a question, is a creature spell already a permanent? The situation: I played against a friend of mine, he played a creature, so I played Essence Scatter to counter it. After that he played Turn ...
Steve's user avatar
  • 179
5 votes
1 answer
855 views

Mtg: attacking effect, but the creature dies

Neck Breaker (the transformed side of Breakneck Rider) gives attacking creatures +1/+0. If I attack and then a spell kills the Neck Breaker after I declared my attackers, does the effect remain on the ...
Steve's user avatar
  • 179
2 votes
1 answer
560 views

What happens to cards exiled face-down at the end of a game?

I know that face-down spells and permanents must be revealed to my opponent at the end of a game, generally to prove that it was legal to play them face down. Likewise if such an object changes zones, ...
amalloy's user avatar
  • 435
0 votes
1 answer
124 views

How to classify specific instructions as double one-shot effects versus continuous effects?

According to CR 610.3... Some one-shot effects cause an object to change zones “until” a specified event occurs. A second one-shot effect is created immediately after the specified event. This second ...
user10478's user avatar
  • 728
0 votes
1 answer
144 views

Why does Spy Kit + Eradicate work?

To set the stage: I play Spy Kit and equip it to my opponent's creature, for example with Magnetic Theft. I then play Eradicate. Judge rulings generally seem to agree that this does, in fact, remove ...
Themoonisacheese's user avatar
4 votes
2 answers
546 views

How is the channel ability word actually implemented in the rules?

Clause 207.2c of the comprehensive rules point out that "channel" is an ability word (among many others), in that it marks a particular family of behaviors but has no rules meaning (and the ...
Keeley Hoek's user avatar
4 votes
1 answer
338 views

Can Lost Isle Calling's activated ability be copied effectively?

I would love some clarification on how exactly Lost Isle Calling's activated ability works. First off, since the cost of the ability involves sacrificing LIC itself, how can the ability count how many ...
Timothy Womble's user avatar
2 votes
3 answers
2k views

How many lands in total can be put into play with Map the Frontier?

The card Map the Frontier has the text: Search your library for up to two basic land cards and/or Desert cards, put them onto the battlefield tapped, then shuffle. Does this mean 2 total lands can ...
Kristopher Ives's user avatar
3 votes
1 answer
803 views

Can a player cast an instant at anytime during an opponent's turn?

So I had the following situation in a very casual MtG match: I've played Chandra, Flamecaller, a 4-loyalty planeswalker; Then my opponent cast Boros Charm "in response to" that spell, ...
alecov's user avatar
  • 161
19 votes
4 answers
4k views

Can running 4 copies of a Magic card with different art have an advantage/disadvantage over cards with identical art?

Can having marks or different art on the front of cards make any difference to gameplay? (I'm not looking for Un-set abilities like Art Rampage or cards like "Drawn Together".)
nena's user avatar
  • 293
3 votes
1 answer
203 views

Must the infinite loop rule be triggered on a Grindstone and 4 Progenitus [duplicate]

Suppose that my deck contains a Grindstone and 4 copies of Progenitus, and that every other card in my deck shares a color. I use Grindstone's ability, targeting myself. Because every card in my deck ...
Tim C's user avatar
  • 674
2 votes
4 answers
497 views

Haste creature under The Akroan War chapter 2 ability

My opponent plays The Akroan War, then on his next turn the chapter 2 ability triggers. If I play a creature with haste, does the effect created by the chapter 2 ability apply to that creature? i.e. ...
thesilican's user avatar
5 votes
2 answers
1k views

Cheapest unstoppable, mandatory infinite loops in Magic the Gathering

Like expanded on in the Cheapest mandatory loop answers, there exist game states induced by combos where card effects trigger off each other indefinitely without any further action required by the ...
2080's user avatar
  • 441
8 votes
2 answers
3k views

Cheapest mandatory loop in Magic the Gathering

What is the cheapest combination of cards (in terms of total mana value of cards used for the combo), that, when played, result in an infinite loop with only mandatory actions - resulting in a draw?
2080's user avatar
  • 441
2 votes
2 answers
676 views

Perplexing Chimera leaves battlefield

How works Perplexing Chimera when its ability is on the stack but, before it's resolved, Chimera leaves battlefield? For example. Perplexing Chimera is already in control of my opponent. Then I cast ...
Wolf1994's user avatar
5 votes
1 answer
1k views

Can I tap a permanent for mana multiple times with multiple copies of an untap spell on the stack?

Let's say I have Thousand-Year Storm with a few triggers (or some other copy ability), then I cast Dramatic Reversal (or similar) can I tap my mana rocks between each resolve of Dramatic Reversal? Say ...
NotDead's user avatar
  • 61
5 votes
1 answer
537 views

Can a triggered ability of a permanent with shroud be targeted? [duplicate]

suppose Karlach, Fury of Avernus (with Lightning Greaves), triggers: untap all attacking creatures. They gain first strike until end of turn. After this phase, there is an additional combat phase in ...
garglblarg's user avatar
3 votes
1 answer
454 views

Multiple End step events

Let’s say I have Promise of Tomorrow and a couple creatures exiled with it. I cast Eerie Interlude during my main phase and exile all my creatures. Now, what I want to know is if Promise of Tomorrow’s ...
Bytogram's user avatar
1 vote
1 answer
136 views

How to Tell Apart Transforming from Modal Double Faced Cards

Transforming and modal double faced cards function quite differently; only the front side of TDCFs can be played, and MDCFs can't transform. Usually it's pretty obvious whether a DFC is transforming ...
Matthew Jensen's user avatar
4 votes
2 answers
1k views

Magic: The Gathering - Akawalli and Menace

Akawalli, the Seething Tower has Descend 8 - As long as there are eight or more permanent cards in your graveyard, Akawalli gets an additional +2/+2 and can't be blocked by more than one creature. ...
Urdungo's user avatar
  • 226
1 vote
1 answer
198 views

Myrkul, Lord of Bones and Kaya the Inexorable - legendary rule across card types

So with Myrkul, Lord of Bones, I can exile my non-token creatures when they die, creating token enchantments that are a copy of them with no other card types. Kaya the Inexorable's <-7> ability ...
N Cz's user avatar
  • 25
1 vote
1 answer
227 views

Myrkul, Lord of Bones interaction with exile

Myrkul, Lord of Bones says "whenever another non-token creature you control dies, you may exile it. If you do, create a token that's a copy of that card, except it's an enchantment and loses all ...
N Cz's user avatar
  • 25
2 votes
1 answer
225 views

How does "must be blocked if able" work with banding?

I control Maarika, Brutal Gladiator, Holga, Relentless Rager (both of which have the text "must be blocked if able"), and Adventurers' Guildhouse. Then, in my declare attackers step, I ...
James Jackson's user avatar

1
2 3 4 5
102