We’re rewarding the question askers & reputations are being recalculated! Read more.

Questions tagged [magic-the-gathering]

Magic: The Gathering is a collectible card game for 2 or more players, set in a variety of fantastical realms. The cards represent the player's resources and available spells and their interactions lead to an often high paced battle of wits.

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
3
votes
1answer
155 views

Priority and timing between enchantments and instants

If I have priority and cast an Unholy Strength on a 2/3 creature. Then, passing priority, my opponent casts a Lightning Bolt on that creature. Does my creature survive? The first spell that resolves ...
5
votes
3answers
5k views

Can a blocking creature tap for its ability while blocking? [duplicate]

I've declared my attack, and my opponent declares their blocker. I then use an instant that boosts and gives first strike to my attacking creature, then in the middle of combat they tap the creature ...
3
votes
1answer
65 views

MTG - Priority and timing between enchantments and instants - continuing [duplicate]

Well, returning back to the creature 2/3 just summoned, what happens if I have priority and cast an instant that gives +1/+1 to that creature, and then, giving priority to the opponent, he/she casts ...
11
votes
1answer
500 views

Can Veil of Summer force an opponent to target their own creatures with Swift End when Lucky Clover is on the battlefield?

Let's say my opponent has Lucky Clover in play. This card has the text: Whenever you cast an Adventure instant or sorcery spell, copy it. You may choose new targets for the copy. Opponent targets ...
12
votes
4answers
758 views

Is there any way to get an instant or sorcery on the field as a permanent? What would happen if this occurred?

Is there any process or series of plays/cards that would allow an instant to be put onto the battlefield as a permanent, instead of resolving? Would it resolve anyway, even if not cast? Not including ...
4
votes
1answer
2k views

multiple lines in spell abilities - why new paragraph sometimes

I have a question regarding the structure of rules text in regards to abilities and effects. Incinerate reads: Incinerate deals 3 damage to target creature or player. A creature dealt damage this ...
5
votes
1answer
493 views

If you discard Immortal Phoenix, does it return to your hand?

Let's say I have an Immortal Phoenix in my hand, and an opponent casts a Reaper of Night (the adventure, not the creature). If I discard the Phoenix, will it return to my hand?
6
votes
2answers
392 views

What is the origin of the term 'Mana Dork'?

'Mana Dork', as a slang term, refers to a creature that taps to produce mana, such as a Llanowar Elves. What is the origin of this name? If someone simply started saying it, do we know who first ...
2
votes
1answer
158 views

Lavinia, Azorius Renegade vs Kalia of the Vast and friends

If Lavinia, Azorius Renegade is on the field, and Kaalia of the Vast attacks me, when Kalia's effect puts a creature onto the battlefield from the hand, is it countered by Lavinia's second effect? ...
3
votes
2answers
209 views

Can an instant spell deal damage to a creature after responding with hexproof?

For instance I want to cast Shock on Barkhide Troll during my main phase. Then my opponent can respond to it with Troll activated ability. If I understand it correctly - he had to use Troll's Active ...
16
votes
5answers
3k views

What if Magic gives the second player a Lotus Petal, similar to what Hearthstone does?

In Magic, the player who goes first doesn't get to draw a card on the first turn, i.e. the player who goes second plays each turn with an extra card. This typically isn't enough compensation since the ...
2
votes
1answer
163 views

What happens when I have 10 Yaroks out?

In the middle of a game right now. I have 10 Yarok, the Desecrated out. I play Spine of Ish Sah. How many triggers?
4
votes
3answers
696 views

Has Counterspell always been able to target any spell on the stack?

I read this question What spells can be countered? on HNQ and was quite surprised. It is a long time I played MtG, but some 10+ years ago I was a somewhat enthusiastic player in our local town, ...
1
vote
1answer
16k views

If I use a colorless commander, can I use colored spells?

This is for Commander play. The General's mana defines what other card you get to use, BUT what happens when you have a colorless General? Can you play any other mana cards (WUBRG), OR are you stuck ...
1
vote
1answer
115 views

Can players respond before vehicles are declared as blockers?

My question concerns players receiving priority. My opponent has a Void Stalker, and attacks with a flying creature. I have a creature with protection from blue and a flying vehicle. During the ...
2
votes
1answer
108 views

Why doesn't the enemy's afterlife resolve first?

When my Dreadhorde Butcher destroys a Tithe Taker in combat and dies as a result of the combat during my turn, doesn't Rule 405.3 say that the afterlife should resolve first, since the Dreadhorde ...
19
votes
4answers
7k views

What deck size is ideal?

The person I have been playing with and I both have decks of around 130 cards. Now I know that technically you can have as many cards as you can shuffle, but is there some sort of deck size before it ...
15
votes
1answer
715 views

Can you have a permanent become all permanent types at the same time?

Is there any combination of cards that could make a permanent all permanent types simultaneously? (planeswalker, land, creature, artifact, enchantment). I'm hitting a roadblock making something a ...
15
votes
4answers
79k views

Are enchantments and artifacts considered spells?

In Magic: The Gathering, are enchantments and artifacts considered spells? More precisely, can I use Cancel (which says "Counter target spell.") on an enchantment or an artifact?
10
votes
3answers
2k views

What spells can be countered?

From the Gatherer: Does this mean it can counter anything? If so, what other counter spells are there?
6
votes
3answers
454 views

Can double-faced cards still transform if they have lost all abilities?

Let's say I have a Lone Rider and I've gained enough life to trigger it. Opponent is holding a Merfolk Trickster and wants to stop Lone Rider from transforming. Can opponent use Merfolk Trickster on ...
5
votes
1answer
141 views

'Creature Types' vs 'Creature Names' in Oracle Text

For example: Hand of Emrakul references Eldrazi Spawn. Are these specifically creatures named "Eldrazi Spawn" or the combination of creature types? I would assume it is the first one, as Broodwarden ...
8
votes
2answers
624 views

Atemsis, All-Seeing and Mask of Immolation interaction

Does sacrificing Atemsis, All-Seeing equipped with Mask of Immolation trigger Atemsis' second ability, or does it not trigger because Atemsis left the battlefield already? Atemsis' second ability: ...
5
votes
2answers
863 views

Stream of Thought/Creeping Chill Interaction?

What happens stack-wise when Stream of Thought mills Creeping Chill? My understanding is that the triggered ability of Creeping Chill gets put on the stack but doesn't happen until Stream of Thought ...
4
votes
3answers
292 views

Can Zombify target a creature card that isn't in the graveyard?

Zombify (and many similar cards like it) says: Return target creature card from your graveyard to the battlefield. As far as I can tell from the wording, the actual targeting requirement is "...
4
votes
2answers
284 views

Can I target my own planeswalker with Angrath?

Angrath, Minotaur Pirate's oracle text for its +2 ability is different from its card text to differentiate 'opponent' versus 'opponent or planeswalker an opponent controls'. Can Angrath target a ...
18
votes
5answers
15k views

Does “Going Infinite” necessarily end the game?

I've seen a variety of combinations that will allow a player to "go infinite"* in life, power, toughness or simply create an endless loop**. In the case of the endless loop, I understand why it ...
6
votes
1answer
473 views

Does activating Priest of the Forgotten Gods ability trigger Korvold's last ability twice?

If I use Priest of Forgotten Gods' ability to sacrifice two creatures, does it proc Korvold, Fae-Cursed King's ability twice? My doubt stems from the fact that the sacrifice of the creatures occurs ...
13
votes
1answer
682 views

Can Oko's Elk ability stop nonbasics from being affected by Magus of the Moon?

I have a Magus of the Moon, opponent turns it into an Elk that loses all abilities with Oko, Thief of Crowns. Are nonbasic lands still affected by the magus?
1
vote
2answers
197 views

Does Oko, Thief of Crowns come in a planeswalker deck, or only as an individual card?

I can't find anything about this on Google, Bing or Stack Exchange. Does Oko, Thief of Crowns come with a planeswalker deck, or separately? By separately, I mean in booster packs and stuff like that.
2
votes
1answer
163 views

Wurmcoil Engine vs. Oko, Thief of Crowns

A Wurmcoil Engine becomes a 3/3 Elk creature due to Oko, Thief of Crowns’ second ability. Wurmcoil Engine is then sent to its owners graveyard. Does Wurmcoil Engine’s death ability trigger?
2
votes
2answers
4k views

Must a “target creature” be on the battlefield?

If an ability says "target creature," does the creature have to be on the battlefield? I think I found a loophole that depends on the answer.
7
votes
2answers
404 views

How does Octopus Umbra interact with effects that change the base power and toughness of, and counters on, a creature?

Context My friend plays a Commander deck, lead by Tuvasa the Sunlit: Tuvasa the Sunlit gets +1/+1 for each enchantment you control. She's in play and has +2/+2 — not counters — from the two ...
0
votes
4answers
123 views

Can I play lands from the graveyard more than once in a turn with Crucible of Worlds?

So I have Crucible of Worlds out and I summon then sacrifice an Evolving Wilds from my graveyard. Can I then replay Evolving Wilds from my graveyard that turn or will it have counted as playing my one ...
8
votes
1answer
976 views

Yarok and Animate Dead

I've seen multiple viewpoints on Animate Dead while Yarok, the Desecrated is out, and just want to get a final answer. Does it Animate 2 creatures and then immediately die, thus activating any etb ...
2
votes
2answers
225 views

Does Guttersnipe's ability count as attacking?

Does Guttersnipe dealing damage to a player from an instant being played count as it attacking you and therefore triggering Revenge of Ravens?
6
votes
1answer
142 views

Effect dependencies and ability adding/removing effects

I have an abstract question about MTG comprehensive rules, regarding 613. Interaction of Continuous Effects. Suppose I have some active continuous effects A, B, C (given in timestamp order) in layer ...
2
votes
1answer
83 views

When a trigger requires you to sacrifice something, can you sacrifice said something using something else? [duplicate]

Let's say Glacial Chasm enters the battlefield under my control. The card states that when it comes into play I must sacrifice a land. Can I in response to its ETB ability sacrifice a land using say ...
1
vote
0answers
90 views

Improving my retrofitter foundry casual deck [closed]

I am playing in a casual environment where lord mode or ffa is played, 4+ players. I had the idea to build a retrofitter foundry deck, because i have the cards at home. Card selections are: legcy ...
6
votes
1answer
219 views

What happens when each player has to draw a card with no cards left in their library?

So I was wondering, if all players had no cards in their library and you cast a card like Skyscribing that makes everyone draw a card, does this make the game a draw or is there a draw order and one ...
2
votes
1answer
158 views

Do abilities still trigger if there are no legal targets?

For example, suppose I cast Wicked Wolf when my opponent has no creatures on the board. Wicked Wolf says: When Wicked Wolf enters the battlefield, it fights up to one target creature you don't ...
16
votes
3answers
4k views

Is Basalt Monolith a 1-card infinite combo with no payoff?

Can't Basalt Monolith go infinite with itself? No payoff or practical use, but it's a one card infinite?
3
votes
3answers
546 views

How can I improve my Chandra, Acolyte of Flame plus Cavalcade of Calamity deck?

Currently I have a mono-red deck built around the synergy of Chandra, Acolyte of Flame and Cavalcade of Calamity. I'd like to improve the deck but I don't have the deck building chops. Most of the ...
3
votes
4answers
264 views

Is there a good place to find information about strategies, tricks and caveats for specific cards?

Sometimes, I'm surprised when I see that a certain card is considered good. I don't get it! For example, when I first saw Skullclamp, I just saw a card that increased power by one at the cost of ...
4
votes
3answers
3k views

Planeswalker Infinite Ultimate Combo

Infinite combos in Magic are awesome (if you're a Johnny). Planeswalker ultimate abilities are awesome (if you're a Timmy). Combining the two would be even more awesome. Then you could have a ...
18
votes
7answers
4k views

What is the most life you can have at the end of your first turn with only three cards?

You start this game with 3 cards of your choice in hand. Your opponent starts with 0 cards in their hand. Both libraries do not contain any other useful cards. What is the highest life total you ...
17
votes
4answers
13k views

Where can I find a chart or diagram explaining Magic's turn structure?

I'm looking for a turn structure diagram for Magic the Gathering to use for teaching new players. There is a lot of information to keep track of in the turn: there is everything from the fact that ...
2
votes
2answers
125 views

What happens if an attacking creature is blocked by a creature with equal power and toughness?

What happens if you block an attacking creature with a creature that has equal power and toughness as the attacking creature? Do they both die or bounce off each other?
1
vote
3answers
106 views

What happens when Merfolk Trickster's ability targets Tempest Djinn

Is the text on Tempest Djinn: "Tempest Djinn gets +1/+0 for each basic Island you control." considered an "ability"? Does that mean if Merfolk Trickster's triggered ability targets Tempest Djinn it ...
1
vote
1answer
301 views

Effects depending on an impossible effect?

Sometimes, when a spell or ability resolves, part of what it does is impossible to do. In these cases, the following rule applies: 609.3. If an effect attempts to do something impossible, it does ...