Questions tagged [magic-the-gathering]

Magic: The Gathering is a collectible card game for 2 or more players, set in a variety of fantastical realms. Players take on the role of a powerful wizard and duel in a battle of wits, using cards that represent resources such as creatures, objects, spells and enchantments.

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
-1
votes
1answer
30 views

Chronatog, Am I required to take a turn?

Assuming my opponents do not have a way to remove Chronatog from the battlefield, prevent me from activating the ability, or win the game, do I "have to" play magic with my friends?
43
votes
3answers
9k views

Am I technically allowed to look up cards during a Magic tournament match?

Am I allowed to look up a card during a game, if it's being played with serious Rules Enforcement? Either to read the full card from the Gatherer, or to try to find the exact card I'm vaguely thinking ...
14
votes
6answers
10k views

Does it really matter if dice are randomized?

I was playing MTG with some friends the other day, when a guy walks up and challenges me to a game. He insisted that he would not roll my spin-down die to determine who goes first. When I pointed out ...
6
votes
1answer
1k views

Do I have any chance to use a 0 toughness animated land before it dies?

In the event that Living Plane is in play along with Elesh Norn, Grand Cenobite (or similar effects) in play, can an opponent of Elesh Norn play a land and tap it for mana before the state based board ...
4
votes
2answers
379 views

How does the devoid-granting ability of Slivdrazi Monstrosity work?

Slivdrazi Monstrosity grants devoid to all slivers. And then the Gatherer ruling says this: Due to the carefully calibrated system of layers that Magic uses to determine the interaction of continuous ...
4
votes
1answer
443 views

How does Slivdrazi Monstrosity affect Eldrazi that already have Annihilator?

Slivdrazi Monstrosity is a card that makes all Eldrazi also Slivers, and gives all Slivers Devoid and Annihilator 1. How would the effect Eldrazi creatures that already have Annihilator? Would this be ...
2
votes
2answers
187 views

Why doesn't my attack go through even after I remove the blocker?

I've played a few games and an effect happens that I do not understand: I declared an attacker Opponent declares a blocker I use Unsummon or other Instant such as Murder and remove the declared ...
11
votes
4answers
14k views

Can you play 99 relentless rats in commander?

Just a silly question, can you run 99 Relentless Rats in commander? Maybe that and Sphinx of the Chimes and some juicy commander that plays off creature types.
9
votes
2answers
1k views

Can you sacrifice a permanent you don't control when explicitly allowed?

I use Price of Loyalty to gain control of a creature with an attached Spare Dagger. This means, the creature I control has Whenever this creature attacks, you may sacrifice Spare Dagger. When you do, ...
2
votes
2answers
774 views

Can I activate loyalty abilities of a planeswalker once per turn or once per upkeep?

For example if I have Sphinx of the Second Sun out, giving me two untap upkeep and draw steps. Could I use a Planeswalker's ability on my first main phase, then again on my second main phase due to ...
-2
votes
3answers
220 views

Q:Who is to activate Singing Bell Strike's ability? Who controls this Aura? [duplicate]

Singing Bell Strike is, in my opinion, a really peculiar Aura, from the point of view of ruling's exceptions. While the controller of the Aura remains the one who cast it, it is also true that the ...
9
votes
3answers
2k views

After how many iterations can I shortcut the Delina, Wild Mage / Pixie Guide combo?

I'm playing at competitive rules enforcement with Delina, Wild Mage and Pixie Guide. If I attack with Delina, Wild Mage targeting Pixie Guide with the triggered ability, I'll continue creating copies ...
5
votes
2answers
6k views

Does Deathtouch apply to damage dealt via Fall of the Hammer?

Does Deathtouch (from my creature) apply if Fall of the Hammer is used on an enemy creature? The rules say about deathtouch: The rule that causes creatures dealt damage by a source with ...
5
votes
1answer
159 views

How can Gaea's Blessing be exiled by Ashiok, Dream Renderer?

My opponent activated Ashiok, Dream Render's loyalty ability. Gaea's Blessing was among the four cards milled. I would expect that Gaea's Blessing would trigger and resolve on top of the stack, ...
3
votes
1answer
467 views

How do the replacement effects from Xorn and Academy Manufactor interact?

Xorn and Academy Manufactor are both on the battlefield. I cast Thraben Inspector. How many of what tokens do I get? I see three possible options: one clue, one food, one treasure. one clue, one food,...
2
votes
2answers
678 views

Enchanting a tapped land [duplicate]

When enchanting a tapped land using New Horizons can I still produce mana using it or do I have to wait for my next turn? Knowing that the enchantment let's you produce 2 mana when tapping the ...
1
vote
2answers
141 views

Can Tawnos, Urza's Apprentice be used to name two cards for Phyrexian Revoker? Or for Stuffy Doll?

I have Tawnos, Urza's Apprentice as my commander for a deck I'm building. And looking over Phyrexian Revoker I wondered if I could copy its ability and name a second card as it comes down to lock ...
7
votes
1answer
316 views

MTG Is the commander-ness of a card always known to all players?

Haven't been able to find any definitive information about this. 903.3. Each deck has a legendary creature card designated as its commander. This designation is not a characteristic of the object ...
9
votes
1answer
1k views

Why doesn't Dress Down stop Emrakul's cast trigger?

This situation happened in one of Andrea Mengucci's recent videos. Mengucci had Omniscience and Dress Down in play. He then decided to cast Emrakul, the Aeons Torn in case opponent made him shuffle ...
-1
votes
1answer
137 views

Can you cheat out a card using Clone and Spy Kit?

Say I had a Ornithopter with Spy Kit attached could I use Clone to make a Spy Kit? Does Clone target the name or the actual card?
2
votes
1answer
133 views

Magic: The Gathering - Difference between card prints of the same set and same collector number, but different letter suffix

I have noticed that there are cards in Magic: The Gathering that belong to the same set, but appear under slightly different set number. For example, in scryfall, for those 2 cards: https://scryfall....
24
votes
6answers
19k views

Can poison counters be removed?

Is there some way to remove or counteract poison counters? Specifically, once you've already accumulated them, not when you are dealt them. For example, say I already have 9 poison counters. Is there ...
2
votes
1answer
143 views

Teferi, Time Raveler vs Creaturelands

Let's say I have a Teferi, Time Raveler in play. My opponent animates an Inkmoth Nexus and attacks me. I cast Suspend on the Inkmoth Nexus, exiling it with 2 time counters. 2 turns later I still have ...
-1
votes
1answer
187 views

Can you tap three colored-mana-producing lands to produce one mana of any color?

I don't recall where I first heard of this being a thing, whether it just being from a friend mentioning it or reading it off of some random website. Regardless, my friend group and I have been ...
3
votes
3answers
491 views

What happens if you control two Krark's Thumb and you have to flip a coin?

If I have Sakashima of a Thousand Faces out, a Krark's Thumb and a Copy Artifact that copies Krark's Thumb what happens when I have to flip a coin? Does it go infinite and result in a draw? Do I ...
7
votes
9answers
34k views

How to clone a Legendary permanent?

I want to clone Geist of Saint Traft without falling prey to the legend rule and without using Mirror Gallery. Are there any cards that allow you to copy a card's text without copying its name? I was ...
6
votes
1answer
840 views

Would this hypothetical rule change ever matter?

One of Magic the Gathering's rules is 104.3f If a player would both win and lose the game simultaneously, he or she loses the game. . However, it seems to me like it "ought to be" the case that if ...
13
votes
2answers
3k views

When returning a card from your graveyard, if it doesn't specify who gets control of it, can I put that card under the opponent's control?

I am building a commander deck all about giving creatures to my opponent—creatures that downsize your abilities. For example, cards that make you unable to cast permanents, spells, lose life every ...
0
votes
4answers
4k views

If someone casts an aura on my creature, do I still control the creature?

Some spells and abilities let you gain control of a permanent. Most of the time, this means the card will move from your opponent's side to yours. But for Auras or Equipment attached to other cards, ...
22
votes
6answers
11k views

Running a MTG draft without actually having to buy new boosters for each player every single time?

MTG drafting sounds like a really awesome way to play the game. I'd love to try it with some of my friends, but having to spent >5$ for each player every single time you want to play seems ...
7
votes
3answers
375 views

How did a player survive 24 commander damage?

I'm referring to this clip from streamer CovertGoBlue. He had pumped his commander (Illuna, Apex of Wishes mutated on top of a 2/2 Zombie token created by Field of the Dead) to 24/24 and then damaged ...
15
votes
1answer
3k views

Why does Blood Moon kill Urza's Saga?

I've seen this happen on Magic Online and I don't get why. Shouldn't Blood Moon just turn Urza's Saga into an Enchantment Land - Mountain? Why does it kill the Saga instead? Only thing I can think of ...
-2
votes
1answer
144 views

Does it make sense to include cards from Commander decks to your main deck when playing “kitchen table magic”? [closed]

Well I don't know if cards in commander decks could be found in standard decks/sets or not but if not then there are cards in the commander decks that great to include them in your main deck that ...
3
votes
1answer
133 views

Emerge cost reduction interaction

If I were to sacrifice Warden of Evos Isle as part of the Emerge cost of Wretched Gryff, would its cost be 1U?
11
votes
4answers
3k views

How should a creature-centric deck prepare for board wipes?

The game would be short, or so I thought. My opponent was at less than 10 life, while I was at 20, commanding an army of burly creatures with nothing to block them. Victory was mine. And then they ...
6
votes
0answers
142 views

Is there an online archive of the art for every draft booster pack ever printed?

I'm looking for an archive of high quality photos or scans of all artwork ever printed on a draft booster pack. For example, the Mirage set had five (or more?) different booster packs printed. Recent ...
-2
votes
2answers
165 views

Do I need to pay more mana to activate Outlast for other Sliver creatures in the card Enduring Sliver?

As shown in the card, you need to pay 2 additional generic mana to activate Outlast for this creature. but I was wondering about the second part that is referring to other Sliver creatures have ...
2
votes
1answer
160 views

Elderfang Venom vs Board wipe

Elderfang Venom and 10 elves are on the board and all non-land permanents are destroyed. Does the Elderfang Venom still trigger for all the elves dying at the same time?
21
votes
9answers
3k views

How do I address the power creep in my pod when I can't afford to keep up? (MTG)

About a year ago, a friend introduced me to MTG Arena. I played very often over the course of the pandemic and as a result have gotten pretty into Magic. My friend has been playing for three or four ...
1
vote
2answers
213 views

What is the correct timing to play removal in order to stop a Niv-Mizzet + Curiosity combo?

We were playing a game of commander the other day. Player 1 already controlled Niv-Mizzet, Parun going into their turn. On their turn, they cast Curiosity, targeting Niv-Mizzet. I warn the table that ...
3
votes
2answers
222 views

Can I cast spells while Teferi's Protection is in effect?

Teferi's Protection says: Until your next turn, your life total can’t change and you gain protection from everything. All permanents you control phase out. I am not phased out, and the cards in ...
-1
votes
1answer
98 views

MTG Perilous Reasearch and Improbable alliance, resolution of spell and triggered ability timing?

Perilous Research has a comma and "then" in the text description. I am unclear whether this allows triggered abilities to be considered in the middle of the spell resolution. Specifically, ...
8
votes
1answer
1k views

Why did a triggered ability trigger after the creature holding it died?

In Arena, I had Fynn, the Fangbearer and another creature with deathtouch in play. My opponent had one creature with at least 3 power. I attacked with both creatures; my opponent blocked Fynn with ...
2
votes
1answer
735 views

If a sorcery causes a creature of mine to deal damage to target creature or player, do I have to then tap my creature?

If I were to cast a sorcery like Rabid Bite, does that tap my creature after the damage is dealt or can I use it in my attack phase too? Can I still use it to defend? What about the sorcery Prey Upon?
2
votes
1answer
447 views

If a monstrous creature is destroyed does it lose monstrous?

If I have a creature that became monstrous, it gets destroyed, and I pull it from my graveyard, will I have to reapply monstrous or does it last until the end of the game?
9
votes
5answers
1k views

What is the minimal number of permanents which, in a finite number of turns, can create a copy of each of themselves?

Consider the following (unlikely) scenario in a game of Magic the Gathering: You have X permanents on the battlefield, none of which have any counters on them (initially). There are no static effects ...
1
vote
1answer
119 views

What happens if a spliced spell leaves the stack mid-resolution?

Some spells remove themselves from the stack. For example Glittering Wish exiles itself or Unexpected Results sometimes returns itself to your hand. If you splice Everdream onto such a card, what ...
0
votes
1answer
114 views

Compost and Plumb the Forbidden

What happens with copies of Plumb the Forbidden and Compost? Do the copies count as cards that hit the graveyard?
1
vote
2answers
190 views

How likely is Yusri to get me an omniscience effect, if I have Krark's Thumb out?

The new card Yusri, Fortune's Flame has the clause, that if you win 5 flips off it's attack trigger ability, you can cast any card in your hand, for free!. Whenever Yusri, Fortune’s Flame attacks,...
4
votes
1answer
187 views

Is it possible to activate mana abities during the resolution of Transmute Artifact?

If I play Transmute Artifact, do I have to put mana into my mana pool before Transmute Artifact resolves, or can I tap my lands during Transmute artifact resolving?

1
2 3 4 5
90