Stack Exchange Network

Stack Exchange network consists of 175 Q&A communities including Stack Overflow, the largest, most trusted online community for developers to learn, share their knowledge, and build their careers.

Visit Stack Exchange

Questions tagged [magic-the-gathering]

Magic: The Gathering is a collectible card game for 2 or more players, set in a variety of fantastical realms. The cards represent the player's resources and available spells and their interactions lead to an often high paced battle of wits.

7
votes
1answer
821 views

Can attacking players use activated abilities after blockers have been declared?

Yesterday I was playing a game of Commander with a friend and we ended up in this situation. He attacks with his commander, Yasova Dragonclaw which has an equipment that doubles her power/toughness to ...
2
votes
1answer
150 views

Kasmina's Transmutation vs. Gideon Blackblade

If I were to attach Kasmina's Transmutation to an opponent's Gideon Blackblade (using Teferi's Time Twist to have it ETB on their turn, for example), what would happen? Kasmina's ...
-3
votes
0answers
80 views

competetive viable or junk? [on hold]

will this type of a tron deck be a competetive viable or just another junk? so combo starts with assembling tron lands ( mine,power plant,tower) then for 7 mana we cast Morophon, the Boundless ( new ...
8
votes
8answers
26k views

How do I deal with Enchantments while playing mono-red?

I have played different mono-red decks in the past and my main problem with all of them is playing against decks with strong enchantments (e.g. Circle of Protection: Red). As soon as this enchantment ...
10
votes
1answer
1k views

How does Dreadhorde Arcanist interact with split cards?

If I have a Dreadhorde Arcanist with a +1/+1 counter and a Collision // Colossus in my graveyard, what can I do? Can I play one of the split cards, neither or both? If I play Colossus on a Dreadhorde ...
5
votes
2answers
422 views

Unpreventable damage to Gideon, the Oathsworn

Gideon, the Oathsworn has a +2 loyalty ability that reads: +2: Until end of turn, Gideon, the Oathsworn becomes a 5/5 white Soldier creature that's still a planeswalker. Prevent all damage that ...
8
votes
1answer
418 views

Do 'destroy' effects count as damage?

Does The Wanderer's static ability prevent 'destroy' or 'exile' effects from working? In a recent game, I had it out and my opponent tried to cast Doom Blade on a creature. I argued that it shouldn't ...
1
vote
2answers
229 views

Are there budget replacements for Ugin and Karn removal abilities?

I am building a mono green Tron deck with a 60$ budget and looking for cheaper alternatives to replace planeswalkers listed below: Ugin, the Spirit Dragon Karn Liberated I need a replacement for ...
5
votes
1answer
162 views

How many Polyraptors?

The combination of having a Forerunner of the Empire and playing a Polyraptor is pretty well known, but I have yet to understand how many you would create. How many Raptors would a player create ...
6
votes
1answer
1k views

What happens to auras that come back from exile?

Let's suppose I control a creature that my opponent owns, that I got under my control because of my Custody Battle on it. I also have a Synod Sanctum in play. If I exile the creature with Synod ...
10
votes
1answer
1k views

When the match time is called, does the current turn end immediately?

In the Magic Tournament Rules, the End-of-Match procedure says: If the match time limit is reached before a winner is determined, the player whose turn it is finishes their turn and five additional ...
6
votes
1answer
243 views

Do subtype changes remain after a card is transformed?

Say I have an Olivia, Mobilized for War on the field, who has this ability: Whenever another creature enters the battlefield under your control, you may discard a card. If you do, put a +1/+1 ...
20
votes
2answers
5k views

Why are there five extra turns in tournament Magic?

In tournament Magic, once time is called in a round, the game stops and the players have a total of 5 "extra turns". If, after those five turns, the game is still not over, the match ends in a draw. ...
9
votes
4answers
2k views

Can I use two different cards with the same name in Commander?

I have two cards with the same name but different art and the card descriptions on the bottom. The card in question is Forsaken Sanctuary. It's a white/black land and I'm not sure if I can use both of ...
5
votes
1answer
226 views

How do Nexus of Fate decks win?

How do Nexus of Fate decks like Simic Nexus win? I see plenty of them but I see absolutely no creatures or win conditions in the main board. The entire deck is based off getting lands to Nexus of Fate....
1
vote
2answers
108 views

Death Mask Duplicant Imprint of Platinum Angel

Does the imprint ability of Death-Mask Duplicant allow me to copy the ability of the Platinum Angel in the graveyard not the flying , the one where I cannot lose?
5
votes
1answer
530 views

God-Pharaoh's Statue and Finale Of Promise

I am bringing forward a case to the judges of Magic. Was I screwed by Magic Arena, or do I not know how to play? Opponent has a God-Pharaoh's Statue. I play a Finale of Promise with X = 2. I ...
2
votes
1answer
172 views

Can I bring a visual flow chart for complex magic cards to events?

I was reading the card Chains of Mephistopheles and I found these great flow charts for how it's replacement effect works. Would I be allowed to bring a simple flow chart like that to a sanctioned ...
8
votes
1answer
1k views

Can a clone of a double-sided planeswalker transform?

Suppose my opponent has Nicol Bolas, the Ravager on the battlefield, and has not yet transformed it into a Planewalker. I cast Clone, making my own copy of Nicol Bolas. What happens if I activate my ...
18
votes
4answers
6k views

What happens when a creature gains the Riot keyword ability twice?

This new keyword ability from the Gruul guild in Ravnica Allegiance is bugging me. If I play a creature with Riot, like Rampaging Rendhorn, and I have Rhythm of the Wild in play, it has two instances ...
8
votes
1answer
320 views

Footlight Fiend vs. Rising Populace Trigger order

While drafting WAR we encountered a situation we didn't know how to resolve. Imagine the following situation: The opponent attacks with Rising Populace and a 1/1 creature. I block the Rising Populace ...
20
votes
4answers
3k views

What happens when I reanimate a creature with protection from black with Animate Dead?

What happens when I reanimate a creature with Animate Dead which has protection from black? Will the creature keep being in play without the enchantment or die? Or can the creature be a legal target ...
3
votes
1answer
205 views

Why is Modern Affinity called “Affinity”?

Affinity is an ability that has been printed on a small number of cards. The only one of these that the current Modern Affinity decks seem to run is Thoughtcast and even that does not appear in all ...
7
votes
1answer
108 views

Lifelink interaction with triggered abilities on creature's death

I had this scenario with my wife and we couldn't figure out how to properly progress: 1.) Wife declares attackers (creature names are irrelevant) 2.) I declare blockers with one Vampire Nighthawk ...
17
votes
4answers
2k views

When a land becomes a creature, is it untapped?

A friend had the land Mobilized District on the battlefield. He was activating its ability to change this land to a 3/3 Citizen creature. When he activated this ability, he also tapped Mobilized ...
4
votes
2answers
159 views

Does a buff remain in combat when the buffing creature dies to first strike damage?

I've had a predicament recently: my good friend was playing an Ixalan vampire deck and he played a Legion Lieutenant, a 2/2 that gives your other vampires +1/+1. The following turn, he attacks with ...
9
votes
2answers
705 views

Will casting a card from the graveyard with Flashback add a quest counter on Pyromancer Ascension?

Assume the following situation: I have Pyromancer Ascension in play with, let's say 0 counters on it. Faithless Looting is in my graveyard and I cast it for its flashback costs. Will the Ascension ...
11
votes
1answer
1k views

Spark Double copying my planeswalker - do I have to sacrifice?

So when I play Spark Double and copy one of my own planeswalkers, do I have to sacrifice one of them because they are the same planeswalkers or do I keep both because it says the copy is not legendary?...
3
votes
3answers
15k views

Modern affinity deck without Mox Opal

I am making a modern affinity deck with all the usual cards, Arcbound Ravager, Etched Champion, Inkmoth Nexus and the like. The problem is I can't afford the Mox Opals - they're over £200 for the ...
17
votes
12answers
110k views

What is the fastest MTG Mill deck that can be made? [closed]

I have been working on putting together a Mill deck and it occurred to me that there are likely much faster Milling decks out there. So, what is the fastest Milling win condition that can be achieved? ...
47
votes
1answer
168k views

How can I tell the difference between early Magic: The Gathering card editions?

I have a few Magic: The Gathering cards whose editions I'm having trouble identifying. They are obviously from either Alpha or Beta, since they have black borders and the same design as the Unlimited ...
8
votes
1answer
131 views

Removal of cloudform

If Cloudform is in play and is attached to a face-down (manifested) creature card, what happens to the face-down creature card if just the Cloudform enchantment itself is destroyed by another spell? ...
4
votes
2answers
271 views

What happens if a creature that would fight isn't on the battlefield anymore?

Ulvenwald Tracker is a specific example of a creature with an activated ability for the fight mechanic. If this ability is activated and put on the stack, but then Ulvenwald Tracker is destroyed ...
10
votes
2answers
297 views

If Emrakul, the Aeons Torn somehow loses all abilities, and then dies, does it shuffle back into the deck?

This is a follow-up question to Will a God Eternal enchanted with Deep Freeze shuffle back into the deck if it dies? Emrakul, the Aeons Torn has this line of text: When Emrakul, the Aeons Torn is ...
2
votes
2answers
174 views

Can proliferate be used on life counters?

Can you use proliferate to add life counters to a player to give them life?
7
votes
1answer
1k views

Can proliferate be applied to loyalty counters?

I am curious, can proliferate be applied to planes-walkers with loyalty counters on them? proliferate text states: You choose any number of permanents and/or players with counters on them, then ...
9
votes
1answer
1k views

Is Simic Ascendancy triggered by Awakening of Vitu-Ghazi?

Does Awakening of Vitu-Ghazi trigger the ability of Simic Ascendancy? Awakening of Vitu-Ghazi says: Put nine +1/+1 counters on target land you control. It becomes a legendary 0/0 Elemental ...
2
votes
3answers
365 views

Would Panharmonicon give my Myojins extra divinity counters?

If I control a Panharmonicon and I play a Myojin of Seeing Winds (or any of the Myojins for that matter), would the Myojin enter the battlefield with two divinity counters instead of just one?
5
votes
2answers
38k views

What are the limitations on using a Planeswalker's loyalty abilities?

I assume I can only use a loyalty ability once per turn, is that right? Otherwise it'd seem to me that Planeswalkers would be hideously broken. And I assume that if you used the +1 ability that the 0 ...
15
votes
1answer
662 views

Ugin's Conjurant vs. un-preventable damage

If I had Ugin's Conjurant with 10 +1/+1 counters on it (and no other effects modifying its toughness,) and my opponent cast a Banefire for 5 damage on it, would +1/+1 counters get removed from the ...
10
votes
1answer
571 views

Thawing Glaciers return to hand interaction

I have a Thawing Glaciers, a Thespian's Stage, and Deserted Temple on the battlefield in addition to four other mana producing lands. In the previous turn I tapped Thespian's Stage to make it a ...
6
votes
2answers
17k views

Can the choice to move a commander to the command-zone be delayed?

903.12. If a commander would be put into the exile zone from anywhere, its owner may put it into the command zone instead. If the owner chooses to let a commander go into the graveyard with the ...
7
votes
1answer
202 views

How to tell which old cards can deal damage to planeswalkers

In the Dominaria rules update, they got rid of the planeswalker redirection rule, where non-combat damage dealt to a player could be redirected to a planeswalker that player controlled. As a result ...
3
votes
1answer
183 views

Is there a budget version of Collected Company for this Modern elf deck?

I wanted to buy a Modern deck (a competitive one) for a private tournament which will be in a nearest future. I'm bored with the ones I already have so I wanted to build a new one... I'm currently ...
3
votes
1answer
319 views

Colorless commander using lands that chose based upon identity?

TLDR Can I use lands that mention "color identity" with a colorless commander while still getting their bonus effects? I apologize if I have missed something that explains this situation, but I am ...
9
votes
2answers
670 views

How would an instant or sorcery with an effect that targets work with Feather?

If I have Feather, the Redeemed on the battlefield, and target her with the support part of Shoulder to Shoulder, what happens? Would Shoulder to Shoulder exile as it resolves and return to my hand, ...
3
votes
1answer
124 views

Do I have to say how I'm ordering my cards after Scrying?

When you Surveil or Scry more than 1 card and announce to your opponent "I leave the 2 on Top (or bottom 2)" do you have to announce the order in which they cards are placed? "I left both on top - ...
7
votes
2answers
220 views

Can I activate Multani, Yavimaya's Avatar's ability in response to itself?

I recently played a game of EDH that I think I won, but my opponent was convinced I didn’t. He had a board state that would win if he untapped. I played a Seismic Assault. Seismic Assault has an ...
14
votes
1answer
1k views

Why were the rules for Proliferate changed?

With the release of War of the Spark, the rules for Proliferate changed. Previously, they allowed you to add 1 counter to the chosen permanents and players, of a type it already had. Now, it adds an ...
7
votes
2answers
653 views

Can commander tax be proliferated?

Can you proliferate someone's commander tax? For example, after you send your opponent's commander to his/her zone you proliferate the commander tax and make sure it cant be cast again by making it ...