Stack Exchange Network

Stack Exchange network consists of 174 Q&A communities including Stack Overflow, the largest, most trusted online community for developers to learn, share their knowledge, and build their careers.

Visit Stack Exchange

Questions tagged [magic-the-gathering]

Magic: The Gathering is a collectible card game for 2 or more players, set in a variety of fantastical realms. The cards represent the player's resources and available spells and their interactions lead to an often high paced battle of wits.

2
votes
1answer
124 views

Does copying a spell on the stack count as casting it?

What happens if I have Paradox Engine but I use League Guildmage's ability. Would Paradox Engine’s ability activate?
4
votes
2answers
796 views

Does creating a token copy count as having cast a spell?

If I have Prototype Portal copy an artifact but I have Paradox Engine, would Paradox Engine’s abilities activate every time I copy?
10
votes
2answers
2k views

Does the Scythe of the Wretched + Crypt Rats combo really work, and how?

I've searched this and everywhere it says the Crypt Rats + Scythe of the Wretched combo works. But the Gatherer ruling for Scythe of the Wretched says something I found incompatible: Scythe of the ...
2
votes
1answer
97 views

Card (must be enchantment or artifact) that allows multiple of the same legend in play at once? [duplicate]

I think its an older card. I've been googling for about a half and hour and cant find it.
3
votes
3answers
273 views

How does Pithing Needle work with abilities on the stack?

If I get Pithing Needle onto the battlefield in response (giving it flash or getting it out at instant speed) to an activated ability being activated, and chose the thing that's activated ability is ...
3
votes
1answer
123 views

Does Multani, Yavimaya's Avatar die to Fall of the Thran?

With a Multani, Yavimaya's Avatar in play, a Fall of the Thran resolves. Is there a span of time between when lands are destroyed and lands exist in the graveyard where no lands exist? If not, ...
10
votes
1answer
615 views

Activating an ability that affects blocking after Declare Blockers step

My opponent had on the battlefield a Swarm Guildmage and three other creatures. My opponent then enters Combat and declares his three other creatures as attacking. After this happens I then declare ...
0
votes
1answer
149 views

Eye of the Storm—Simultaneous or Sequential?

With Eye of the Storm and Thousand-Year Storm on the battlefield, I cast Lightning Bolt. Storm count goes to one, and Eye exiles the Bolt. Through Eye, I copy and recast it, and Thousand-Year Storm ...
5
votes
1answer
160 views

When I cast a Cascade spell with Jodah, Archmage Eternal, do I cascade for 5 or the spell's original cost?

I have a question regarding Jodah, Archmage Eternal and cascade mechanic. If I cast a 10 drop, but I cast it for WUBRG with Jodah, does cascade trigger for 10 or the 5 that I paid?
1
vote
1answer
95 views

Rebound affecting Return to Dust (second main phase)

The way Return to Dust is phrased is a bit confusing, does it see a difference between pre-combat and post combat main phases? If I cast return to dust post combat and Taigam, Ojutai Master is under ...
4
votes
1answer
363 views

Can a creature with Hexproof be affected by a spell like Sleep? [duplicate]

Let's suppose I have Emrakul, the Promised End in play, equipped with Swiftfoot Boots. My opponent plays Sleep. Does Emrakul, the Promised End get tapped or does Hexproof prevent that?
6
votes
1answer
142 views

Butcher of Malakir timing

I control Butcher of Malakir and Sakura-Tribe Elder and my opponent controls no creatures. They cast Duplicant targeting my Butcher of Malakir. If I react by sacrificing Sakura-Tribe Elder, does he ...
5
votes
1answer
204 views

If I block my opponent's Ornery Goblin with my Ornery Goblin, whose Goblin dies?

Recently this situation happened to me on Magic: Arena. My opponent attacked with Ornery Goblin, and I blocked with my own Ornery Goblin. Surprisingly, my Goblin died while his did not. I don't ...
2
votes
2answers
198 views

Can you tap the same land twice in a turn?

So i am wondering if you could use cards to allow you to play a land, tap it, send it back to your hand, then tap it again. For example: Play forest, tap it Play Selesnya Sanctuary, send forest to ...
2
votes
1answer
138 views

Killing planeswalker before taking out the player?

So I have heard a few different things and wanted to know for sure. If a player has a planeswalker on the field, do I have to destroy the planeswalker before I can attack the player? If not, what ...
2
votes
3answers
624 views

Planeswalker Infinite Ultimate Combo

Infinite combos in Magic are awesome (if you're a Johnny). Planeswalker ultimate abilities are awesome (if you're a Timmy). Combining the two would be even more awesome. Then you could have a ...
6
votes
1answer
121 views

Are Saprolings still Tokens after playing Life and Limb?

After playing the enchantment Life and Limb all Saprolings and all Forests become "creature-land-saproling-forests" (see card rulings). My question is: Do they still have the card-type token? Meaning:...
7
votes
2answers
1k views

Can you force your opponent to cast one of your own spells, using only the cards in your library?

Is there an effect that would allow you to force an opponent to cast a spell you own, without relying on cards from their library? A similar effect exists with Word of Command which forces them to ...
0
votes
1answer
183 views

3/4 creature versus a 3/3 creature, why would the 3/4 creature die?

I found myself in a situation where my adversary attacked with a 3/3 creature and I blocked him with a 3/4, what happened later was that both creatures died. Shouldn't my 3/4 creature be alive with 3/...
0
votes
2answers
81 views

Memory Plunder/Flashback interaction

My opponent has a Think Twice in their graveyard and then pays its Flashback cost to cast it. Could I respond to the Flashback by casting Memory Plunder and casting my opponent's Think Twice before ...
-1
votes
1answer
147 views

Activated ability of Golden Guardian

Can the ability of Golden Guardian be activated at any time? Say, during another player's turn or during an attacker's or blockers fast effects phase?
3
votes
1answer
117 views

Karlov attacking together with a lifelink creature

If I attack with Karlov of the Ghost Council and another creature with lifelink, is Karlov getting 2 counters before he deals his damage this turn? Or are both damages dealt at the same time?
9
votes
1answer
671 views

Does Curse of Opulence give its controller tokens when someone else attacks?

Let's say player A casts Curse of Opulence on player B. Then, player C attacks player B. I claimed that player A and C each create Gold tokens, but my friends agreed that only player C creates a Gold ...
4
votes
1answer
153 views

Splice and Arcane combo [closed]

What are the current rules for spliced spells? Can they still be spliced again as long its mana cost is paid? or each spell can be spliced only once? If they an arcane spell can be spliced only once ...
3
votes
2answers
154 views

Can a Djinn Illuminatus make me draw my whole deck with Ancestral Visions?

If I have a Djinn Illuminatus in play and an Ancestral Vision comes off suspend can I draw three cards as many time as I like by paying 0 for the replicate cost? Djinn Illuminatus Each instant and ...
2
votes
1answer
125 views

What happens if Metamorphic Alteration is enchanting a non-Creature? [duplicate]

Normally you would not be allowed to cast Metamorphic Alteration targeting a non-Creature, because of its "Enchant creature" ability. But it could end up enchanting a card that is not normally a ...
2
votes
1answer
94 views

What happens if a double-faced card that is copying a different double-faced card that is part of a melded creature tries to meld?

We already have a similar question about double faced cards transforming, however, this covers a single card transforming. Meld exiles a pair of cards and returns them "transformed" into a single card....
4
votes
1answer
89 views

What happens if a double-faced card that is copying a different double-faced card transforms, without exile?

We already have a similar question about double faced cards transforming, however there are two different ways a double face card transforms, exiling and returning transformed is covered by the ...
7
votes
1answer
1k views

Killing a Fatespinner during my turn - do I still have to skip chosen phases?

My opponent is playing a Fatespinner. At the beginning of each opponent's upkeep, that player chooses draw step, main phase, or combat phase. The player skips each instance of the chosen step or ...
9
votes
1answer
1k views

What Happens if I Manifest a Double-Faced Card?

If I put a double-faced card onto the battlefield with Manifest (Put it onto the battlefield face down as a 2/2 creature. Turn it face up any time for its mana cost if it’s a creature card), what ...
3
votes
0answers
97 views

Is there a timing for regeneration [duplicate]

Charging Troll has the ability G: Regenerate Charging Troll If you cast Lava Coil, on it and later it receives lethal damage does it regenerate or get exiled? Does it matter when it was ...
1
vote
1answer
618 views

How do indestructible creatures actually work? [duplicate]

If a First Striker does lethal damage to an indestructible creature, does this remove the creature from combat so it can not deal any damage? Another scenario: An indestructible creature is dealt ...
20
votes
1answer
2k views

What happens if multiple triggers on the stack would cause both players to drop to 0 life if fully resolved?

In Magic: The Gathering, if when the stack has been fully resolved both players will have dropped to 0 life, is the game considered a draw? Or alternatively, does the player who reaches 0 life first ...
4
votes
1answer
158 views

Minds Aglow with X is 100 while Nekusar, the Mindrazer is on the field

An Opponent has Nekusar, the mindrazer out and then casts Minds Aglow (join forces, each player draws that many cards) and pays 100 mana into it. He claims that the damage would be dealt before ...
4
votes
4answers
151 views

How does Words of Waste interact with Varina, Lich Queen?

How does Words of Waste interact with Varina, Lich Queen? Because you have to draw and discard that many cards. so if you draw 3 and discard 3, can you only use 1 mana for Words of Waste, since the ...
-1
votes
1answer
85 views

How will spells resolve MTG [duplicate]

So I have 1/2 creature, opponent uses shock to kill it, then I answer with my giant growth and opponent responds with another shock. Will my creature survive or die? which spells will resolve first. I ...
2
votes
2answers
161 views

When exactly do I get to check the next card when casting a spell from the top of my library with Experimental Frenzy?

For example: After seeing Banefire and choosing to cast it, would the new top of my library be available for viewing before I choose an X value? If not, when is the soonest I can check the next card?
5
votes
2answers
513 views

Surveil and Blood Operative

If you surveil a Blood Operative into your graveyard can you immediately use its triggered ability to return it to your hand? Whenever you surveil, if Blood Operative is in your graveyard, you may ...
10
votes
2answers
3k views

If a creature takes lethal damage and would also get a +1/+1 counter, does it die?

I have an attacking 4/4 creature blocked by an Ajani's Pridemate and a Bishop's Soldier. Is the attacking order relevant? I.e., does it make a difference to the outcome of the fight whether I ...
3
votes
1answer
250 views

Attacking with Dimir Spybug and Nightveil Sprite

Dimir Spybug gets a +1/+1 counter every time I surveil. Nightveil Sprite lets me surveil 1 when it attacks. If I swing with both, when do I surveil and when does Dimir Spybug get pumped, during or ...
13
votes
4answers
3k views

Why do cards use the “(ability) / Other creatures you control have (ability)” wording?

The card Bellowing Tanglewurm has the following two clauses... Intimidate Other green creatures you control have intimidate ...and Felhide Petrifier has these two clauses... Deathtouch ...
5
votes
1answer
1k views

Does First Strike cause a creature to deal damage twice?

Do creatures with first strike deal first and normal strike damage? I attacked with a Goblin Machinist that had +5/+0, and my friend argued that his 3/1 first strike would kill it, is that true?
5
votes
2answers
599 views

Do I get copy of my opponents creature with helm of the host?

I know I can't equip Helm of the host to my opponents creatures. The scenario I was wondering about was, if I somehow get control of my opponents Trostani Discordant, like with The Eldest Reborn, I ...
3
votes
1answer
154 views

Hammerfist Giant with Lifelink?

I have a Hammerfist Giant with a Felidar Umbra on it (enchantment aura that gives the creature Lifelink). There are 3 players and 7 non-flying creatures on the battlefield. I tap the giant to deal 4 ...
1
vote
2answers
176 views

How do you calculate the likelihood of getting at least one combo after drawing so many cards in a deck with more than one combo?

With a game like Magic the Gathering, I can use a hypergeometric calculator to determine the probability of getting a specific card after so many draws. What I would like to know is how you determine ...
5
votes
2answers
539 views

Creating a copy of a creature with “entering the battlefield” abilities

The other day, while playing, my friend triggered Glimmervoid Basin, which gives each player a token which is a copy of a targeted creature (except the creature's owner). He chose to copy the Noggle ...
5
votes
1answer
382 views

How do multiple Underrealm Liches interact?

If I have more than one Underrealm Lich on the battlefield and I draw a card, do they both trigger? Would it be the same as if I drew two cards with one Lich? Would one trigger cancel the other one ...
2
votes
3answers
221 views

Lifelink attacking a planeswalker

A player told me that attacking a planeswalker with a creature with lifelink doesn't provide lifegain. It sounds strange to me since damage are dealt by the creature (whatever to who, what). This ...
4
votes
1answer
387 views

Why is “slow play” a thing in Magic?

I keep getting warnings for "slow play" in Magic. Yet being an avid chess player I consider fast playing a crime. Why does the Magic community have a problem with "slow play"? Looking back at chess, ...
5
votes
2answers
590 views

How would Etrata work with double strike?

If I give Etrata, the Silencer double strike, what happens? Am I able to get off the second hit and exile a second creature? Or would she shuffle herself away after the first strike damage (and before ...