Stack Exchange Network

Stack Exchange network consists of 174 Q&A communities including Stack Overflow, the largest, most trusted online community for developers to learn, share their knowledge, and build their careers.

Visit Stack Exchange

Questions tagged [magic-the-gathering]

Magic: The Gathering is a collectible card game for 2 or more players, set in a variety of fantastical realms. The cards represent the player's resources and available spells and their interactions lead to an often high paced battle of wits.

1
vote
2answers
168 views

Psychic Corrosion and Day's Undoing

Can someone explain to me how the triggered ability of Psychic Corrosion would interact with Day's Undoing? From what I understand of the stack, the triggered abilities go on the stack after each ...
12
votes
2answers
2k views

How does Underrealm Lich interact with Sylvan Library during your draw step?

In the new Guilds of Ravnica set Underrealm Lich is a creature that changes how you draw cards. If you would draw a card, instead look at the top three cards of your library, then put one into your ...
1
vote
1answer
243 views

Will Kresh the Bloodbraided survive damage through his ability in a boardwide damage scenario?

Kresh the Bloodbraided is on the battlefield with another creature, let's say a 1/1. Kresh has the following ability: Whenever another creature dies, you may put X +1/+1 counters on Kresh the ...
6
votes
2answers
263 views

How does Underrealm Lich interact with Sidisi when drawing multiple cards?

Suppose I have Sidisi, Brood Tyrant out: Whenever one or more creature cards are put into your graveyard from your library, create a 2/2 black Zombie creature token. I also have Underrealm Lich: ...
3
votes
2answers
256 views

Can you sacrifice a creature after it has dealt damage to a creature?

Let's say, I have a 1/1 saproling token, a Thallid Omnivore, and my opponent has a 1/1 token of some sort. I attacked with a 1/1 saproling token and a Thallid Omnivore, and my opponent blocks it with ...
4
votes
2answers
130 views

Would Heartless Summoning reduce a spells colorless mana cost?

If I had two Heartless Summonings on the battlefield, and I wanted to play Matter Reshaper, would it be free? Or would he cost one colorless mana. I checked the gatherer for Heartless Summoning for an ...
3
votes
1answer
181 views

In response to Meren's end of turn trigger, could I sacrifice a creature?

When the end of my turn comes around, Meren of Clan Nel Toth lets me target a creature in my graveyard to either bring back to the battlefield or return to my hand. In response to this trigger being ...
7
votes
2answers
1k views

Does Chance for Glory make your creature indestructible indefinitely if you skip the extra turn?

If I cast Chance for Glory, and skip the extra turn using Sundial of the Infinite, do my creatures retain their Indestructible?
3
votes
2answers
481 views

How much would Spelltwine add to cards that track how many spells were cast?

If I cast Spelltwine and use it to cast two spells from my graveyard and an opponent's, how many spells were cast? It does say I cast the two spells that I pick, so it should bring me up to three ...
1
vote
1answer
176 views

Can I use cards like Gilded Lotus and Spectral Searchlight in a colorless EDH deck? [duplicate]

With cards that let me add mana of any color, can they be used in a colorless commander deck? Some examples being Spectral Searchlight and Gilded Lotus in a Kozilek, the Great Distortion deck. I am ...
1
vote
1answer
213 views

Dream Eater leaves battlefield before Surveil

Dream Eater's ability says: When Dream Eater enters the battlefield, surveil 4. When you do, you may return target nonland permanent an opponent controls to its owner's hand. The second half of ...
1
vote
3answers
206 views

Thaumatic Compass / Spires of Orazca VS creatures with vigilance

Am I still able to target attacking creatures with Spires of Orazca's ability if they are not tapped (if they have Vigilance for example)?
4
votes
1answer
211 views

Why does Rhizome Lurcher see itself in the graveyard as it enters the battlefield? (GRN spoilers) [duplicate]

Rhizome Lurcher is a new card in Guilds of Ravnica that says: Undergrowth — Rhizome Lurcher enters the battlefield with a number of +1/+1 counters on it equal to the number of creature cards in ...
3
votes
2answers
672 views

What's the probability to start a game of Vintage Dredge with Bazaar of Baghdad in your opening hand?

I want to pick up Vintage Dredge in the card game Magic - The Gathering and I want to know the probability of starting with Bazaar of Baghdad in your opening hand. We can assume that this is a 60-...
8
votes
2answers
2k views

Which dual lands count as having the name of their respective basic land types for certain effects?

For example, let's take a look at Arbor Elf, which has the ability "T: Untap target Forest" Which types of dual lands count as a Forest and thus can be untapped by Arbor Elf? Is there a ...
8
votes
1answer
762 views

Can a clone of a double-sided planeswalker transform?

Suppose my opponent has Nicol Bolas, the Ravager on the battlefield, and has not yet transformed it into a Planewalker. I cast Clone, making my own copy of Nicol Bolas. What happens if I activate my ...
11
votes
1answer
225 views

Hadana's Climb / Winged Temple of Orazca - how to apply The Layer System?

A friend and I were trying to work out how to apply the Winged Temple of Orazca's ability: "Target creature you control gains flying and gets +X/+X until end of turn, where X is its power." We're ...
8
votes
1answer
302 views

Does kicker make my spell multicolor?

An opponent was playing with a Rewards of Diversity, which makes him gain 4 life each time one of his opponents plays a multicolored spell. I played Probe ({2}{U}) and paid the kicker cost (an extra {...
3
votes
1answer
1k views

Meteor Golem killing planeswalkers

Meteor Golem's ability is "When Meteor Golem enter the battlefield destroy target nonland permanent". Does Meteor Golems ability affect planewalkers, which count as players and not really creatures?
0
votes
0answers
50 views

Can I respond to a spell after another spell on the stack has resolved? [duplicate]

In my hand I have a Turnabout and a Mana Geyser, and in my graveyard there is a Increasing Vengeance. After casting Mana Geyser I respond by casting Turnabout, choosing to untap my lands. Can I then,...
7
votes
2answers
577 views

Can I copy Ulamog, the Ceaseless Hunger's ability twice with Strionic Resonator and Rings of Brighthearth?

Just made a colorless EDH deck and I am wondering if this would work Ulamog, the Ceaseless Hunger attacks, triggers the exile 20, then activate the copy triggered ability with Strionic Resonator, ...
3
votes
1answer
238 views

Lore: Teferi's second staff and memory crystal?

My question is What happened to Teferi's second staff? (and is the crystal in it Memory Crystal?) To clarify my question I will be using some card art. However, the answer to this question likely ...
3
votes
1answer
123 views

Scrap Trawler triggers

If I control a Scrap Trawler, a Krark-Clan Ironworks, and a Chromatic Sphere, with a Mox Opal in the graveyard. When I sacrifice the sphere to Ironworks, do I have to return the opal to my hand or can ...
6
votes
4answers
361 views

Do the prices of cards drop when they leave Standard?

I'm looking to build a Commander deck with a number of cards from Kaladesh through Hour of Devastation, which are still Standard legal as of this writing but will drop out soon. I would expect that ...
13
votes
1answer
1k views

If Progenitus “dies” to the command zone, can I shuffle my deck?

This is related to another question about using Progenitus as a Commander, but focuses on a more specific interaction. In the Commander format, there is a rule that lets a Commander go to the command ...
0
votes
1answer
163 views

How would Progenitus affect the game as a commander?

I recently purchased Progenitus with the intent to use it as a commander. However, it has been long enough since I’ve played the commander format that I do not remember how commanders and their ...
1
vote
2answers
88 views

What happens if you have a Uba Mask and a Thought Reflection in play?

What happens if you have a Uba Mask and a Thought Reflection in play, do both effects still apply will I just be exiling two cards on each draw step?
8
votes
1answer
851 views

How does the following interaction with Swords to Plowshares and Death's Shadow work?

Death's Shadow is a 13/13 that gets -X/-X where X is your life total. If one I control is exiled by Swords to Plowshares, then last known information is used to tell us how much life should be ...
1
vote
1answer
103 views

Adaptive automaton effects

I know that when a card like Elvish Archdruid leaves the battlefield the +1/+1 effect is lost. Is this also true for Adaptive Automaton? Or does the power/toughness remain on the chosen creature type?...
7
votes
2answers
791 views

Scarab God VS Meren of Clan Nel Toth

After my opponent chose a target creature card for Meren of Clan Nel Toth, am I able to activate The Scarab God's abilty to prevent the chosen card to return to my opponent's hand/the battlefield? I'm ...
6
votes
1answer
243 views

Do cards that prevent cards in graveyards from being targeted by spells and abilities stop cards such as Crucible of Worlds?

If my opponent has Ground Seal in play and I have a Crucible of Worlds, can I still play lands from my graveyard? I know Crucible of Worlds says nothing about targeting, so I assume it would not stop ...
8
votes
2answers
1k views

Which is faster: Enter the Battlefield Effects or Activated Abilities?

What happens if I play a creature that destroys all other creatures when it enters the battlefield and in response, an opponent activates a creature ability that sacrifices his creatures to destroy ...
5
votes
2answers
430 views

Lathliss, Dragon Queen + Where Ancients Tread interaction

Recently I constructed a Lathliss, Dragon Queen EDH deck, and just last night was at my LGS for some casual play. At some point in the game I had on the battlefield a Lathliss, Dragon Queen and ...
10
votes
2answers
360 views

Does Nyxathid trigger Sarkhan's Unsealing if my opponent has cards in hand?

Say you have Sarkhan's Unsealing, and you play Nyxathid. Let's say your opponent has 4 cards in hand. Does any of Sarkhan's Unsealing's abilities resolve?
4
votes
3answers
303 views

What is the Fling interaction with Removal?

I'm trying to make a Sarkhan's Unsealing deck using G/R. How does the interaction work with Fling if say; I play a creature The creature is targeted by removal when entering (Murder, Ixalan'...
0
votes
0answers
72 views

Do Artifact Vehicles have summoning sickness? [duplicate]

Since you can tap an artifact the moment it enters the battlefield, can you cast a vehicle, crew it, and attack with it all in the same turn without it having haste?
11
votes
2answers
840 views

Can I activate abilities in the middle of declaring blockers?

The field is set up as such: Opponent has Aerial Responder (2/3), Sun Sentinel (2/2) and Child of Night (2/1) in play. I have Ravenous Harpy(1/3, +1/+1 counter) and Doomed Dissenter (1/1) in play. ...
6
votes
1answer
844 views

Can Thrun, the Last Troll be exiled?

So I've been playing commander for quite a while now I've been playing a green stompy deck. I have Thrun, the Last Troll. It says it cannot be countered and it cannot be a target of opponents spells ...
10
votes
1answer
675 views

Destroying a permanent with ability “as long as this card is on the battlefield”

Example scenario is: P1 plays a creature like Skilled Animator that says: When Skilled Animator enters the battlefield, target artifact you control becomes an artifact creature with base power ...
6
votes
2answers
160 views

Can you target a creature with my creatures enter the battlefield ability if they both enter the battlefield at the same time?

I have a single copy of Meteor Golem in my sideboard to go against Show and Tell decks, but I am wondering if my opponent show and tells their Emrakul, the Aeons Torn, can I show my Meteor Golem, ...
10
votes
2answers
2k views

Can I play a card for its miracle cost in this situation?

A friend and I were discussing this situation: Player A attacks with all creatures, opponent (player B) have no blockers and gonna be lethal. Before damage step, player B plays Opt, resolves, and ...
2
votes
2answers
337 views

Sacrificing an opponent's creature

If I were to cast Hijack on one of my opponent's creatures then, while that creature is under my control for the turn, I cast Blood Divination targeting the creature I took from him/her. Does that ...
0
votes
1answer
141 views

Can Brago's ability keep Traft's angel token around?

If I attack with Brago, King Eternal and Geist of Saint Traft, can I have Brago's ability flicker the Traft angel token so that it won't be removed at end of combat? Related: Can I flicker Traft and ...
6
votes
1answer
777 views

Do abilities that say “each player/opponent” target, and can I change who's affected?

If an ability that affects all players is used, then does that make each player a target of the effect? I.e. Is Guttersnipe activated am I able to change the target of the ability?
4
votes
1answer
545 views

Is Heritage Druid's ability limited by summoning sickness? [duplicate]

Heritage Druid's ability is: Tap three untapped elves, add {G}{G}{G} to your mana pool Once I play Heritage Druid, can I tap three elves (Heritage Druid being one of them) and get {G}{G}{G} to my ...
0
votes
1answer
84 views

Games played numbers notation [MTG - Online] [closed]

Can someone explain or point me to an explanation of the notation under the 'Games' column? What is the meaning between the order of the numbers or what do numbers 0, 1 and 2 mean? It's probably very ...
0
votes
1answer
82 views

New Player and Returning Player New Card Recommendations [closed]

I'm a new player learning the game with my spouse's old decks from 1994-2001. We plan on just enjoying MTG at home. We have no plans to play competitively. I'd like invest in some of the new cards ...
4
votes
1answer
145 views

How does stealing a creature's text box work with copies?

Phoebe, Head of S.N.E.A.K. has an ability which says: {2}{U}{B}: Phoebe permanently steals target creature’s text box. (That creature loses all rules text, flavor text, and watermarks. This ...
2
votes
1answer
446 views

Can I target Nicol Bolas, the Ravager/Arisen with its own -4 ability?

Lets say I have transformed Nicol Bolas, the Ravager into Nicol Bolas the Arisen, I activate his -3 to shoot a creature or Planeswalker for 10 and pass the turn, Bolas does not take any damage so on ...
7
votes
5answers
1k views

Do I draw a card when I resolve an enchantment with Eidolon of Blossoms, Opalescence, and Torpor Orb in play?

I control the following permanents: Eidolon of Blossoms Whenever Eidolon of Blossoms or another enchantment enters the battlefield under your control, draw a card. Opalescence Each other non-...