Stack Exchange Network

Stack Exchange network consists of 174 Q&A communities including Stack Overflow, the largest, most trusted online community for developers to learn, share their knowledge, and build their careers.

Visit Stack Exchange

Questions tagged [magic-the-gathering]

Magic: The Gathering is a collectible card game for 2 or more players, set in a variety of fantastical realms. The cards represent the player's resources and available spells and their interactions lead to an often high paced battle of wits.

13
votes
2answers
1k views

How do cards with multiple Xs in their mana cost work with cards that reduce their costs?

For example, if I have Astral Cornucopia in play along with Jhoira's Familiar, what happens? Can I cast it for X = 1 without paying any mana? I know that there is a question here regarding to X ...
2
votes
1answer
194 views

Can Arlinn Kord's -1 ability target planeswalkers?

Can Arlinn Kord's -1 ability (deals 3 damage to target creature or player) target another planeswalker?
0
votes
1answer
148 views

What are vintage magic cards worth? [duplicate]

I have some very old magic cards with no symbols how can I find out what they are worth or if they are rare?
6
votes
2answers
1k views

Can you enchant yourself with an aura that enchants a permanent?

I'm relatively new to MTG so maybe I'm way off, but I can't find any conclusive answers nor official rulings on the following: If one can enchant a permanent, and a planeswalker is considered a ...
1
vote
1answer
121 views

When is someone the controller of a permanent?

My dad and I have an issue since we play with cards with Ascend. We both play with auras with Enchant Creature. When is an aura under who’s control? I think when he plays an aura on a creature I ...
3
votes
1answer
97 views

Who gets the copies from Eye of the Storm when control of a spell is switched before exiling the spell?

Say we have 3 players, A, B, and C, in that turn order. Player A plays an instant or sorcery spell, player B has an Eye of the Storm, and player C has an Perplexing Chimera. So said spell goes on the ...
4
votes
2answers
461 views

What happens in multiplayer Magic when I'm forced to attack and one opponent has Propaganda?

While playing a multiplayer game of commander I stumbled upon an interesting predicament. One player has a Thantis, the Warweaver out and I am forced to attack. There are three other players and one ...
1
vote
1answer
134 views

Can I use Nissa, Steward of Elements, to put out a creature with {X} in its mana cost onto the field?

I've tried to find out the answer to this online, but haven't found anything that explicitly determines it. The exact situation is that I have a Nissa, Steward of Elements with 9 loyalty counters on ...
2
votes
1answer
96 views

What happens if Krosan Verge does not have a land of the specific type to pull? [duplicate]

If I crack a Krosan Verge to search for a basic plains and a basic forest, and there is not a basic forest in the deck, what happens?
18
votes
2answers
3k views

With Necropotence, would I keep playing even with no library?

In MTG, I know if I'm not able to draw on my draw step I lose, but what if I had Necropotence out; that lets me skip my draw step. Would I be able to continue playing the game? I'm just curious ...
13
votes
3answers
2k views

Why do cards like Isochron Scepter have more than one “may” clause?

Isochron Scepter reads, in part, You may copy the exiled card. If you do, you may cast the copy without paying its mana cost. There are a number of other cards that give you the option of copying ...
6
votes
2answers
695 views

Is there a reason to have both of these rules in the comprehensive rulebook for Magic: the Gathering?

I have discovered a curious pair of rules in the comprehensive rulebook. Specifically: 400.8. If an object in the exile zone is exiled, it doesn’t change zones, but it becomes a new object that has ...
6
votes
1answer
887 views

What happens if I gain control of my opponent's Rekindling Phoenix until end of turn, and it dies?

If I gain control of Rekindling Phoenix and it dies, I know it goes to it's owners graveyard, which is my opponents graveyard, but does the token get created under my control which means my opponent ...
1
vote
1answer
220 views

Do I get to play a planeswalker's ability when I transform the card?

Assume that I played an ability of Garruk Relentless and I successfully transformed him, do I get to play his transformed ability or do I have to wait for the next turn?
2
votes
1answer
174 views

Multiple enchantments on a single player

Can you place multiple copies of one curse, enchantment, on a single player? For example, can one person have multiple Curse of the Bloody Tome placed on them? The enchantment is not legendary but I ...
0
votes
1answer
128 views

If I clone a Dryad Arbor is the clone a land?

If my opponent plays a Dryad Arbor and I use a Clone to copy it, is the clone a land as well? Can I kill the clone with a Stone Rain? I'm assuming that if the clone is a land that it does not count to ...
1
vote
1answer
136 views

Can Silent Gravestone prevent someone from casting an Aftermath spell from the graveyard? [duplicate]

A player has Silent Gravestone on the battlefield and the opponent has Commit // Memory in their graveyard, where Memory has Aftermath. Can they cast Memory and would it have its effect on the player ...
7
votes
1answer
1k views

How do I handle a gameplay error when I have an equivalent play available in a tournament?

For example, suppose I have 3 Mountains. I play another Mountain, cast Koth of the Hammer, use the +1, and attempt to attack for four. However the Mountain I target is the one I freshly played (...
3
votes
1answer
147 views

Does an activated ability that creates a permanent get affected by Damping Engine?

Damping Engine is in play. If a person has more permanents in play than the player with the lowest amount, but does not have the most permanents themselves, pays to activate an ability which creates a ...
10
votes
2answers
2k views

What rules explain Xantcha's behavior when its controller leaves the game?

Xantcha, Sleeper Agent has the ability: As Xantcha, Sleeper Agent enters the battlefield, an opponent of your choice gains control of it. The release notes for Commander 2018 describe what ...
11
votes
2answers
2k views

MTG Graveyard casting with 'X' costs

I play a Goblin Dark-Dwellers and its ability targets a Tempt with Vengeance. From what I read I would assume it would be legal and I may cast it from the graveyard, but I may choose X to be 2 as its ...
6
votes
2answers
575 views

Does a Xantcha I cast trigger a Warstorm Surge I control?

Xantcha, Sleeper Agent has the ability: As Xantcha, Sleeper Agent enters the battlefield, an opponent of your choice gains control of it. Warstorm Surge has the ability: Whenever a creature ...
8
votes
2answers
499 views

MTG: Priority before attacking

When does my opponent receive priority? It's the beginning of my turn; I draw a card and decide to go straight into combat. Can my opponent tap my creatures before declaring attackers with Gideon'...
4
votes
1answer
114 views

Will Path of Mettle flip if I fullfill the conditions after declaring attackers?

Say I have a board state with an unflipped Path of Mettle, a Duelist's Heritage, one creature with first strike/double strike/vigilance/haste and another creature with none of that. As I head to ...
9
votes
1answer
482 views

Blood Moon and Arixmethes

Spoilers for Commander 2018 have begun, and one card in particular has caught my attention: This card is like no other I know. What may be truly interesting is how it interacts with the enchantment ...
9
votes
1answer
1k views

How does the Commander 2018 Storm cycle work with Partner commanders?

Commander 2018 includes a cycle of cards that say: When you cast this spell, copy it for each time you've cast your commander from the command zone this game. How does this relate to Partner cards?...
2
votes
1answer
116 views

Does a dashed creature return to my hand at the end of the turn after an opponent takes control of it?

If I dash a creature (e.g. Goblin Heelcutter) and my opponent activates the ability of Captivating Vampire on my dashed creature, will the creature still go back to my hand at the end of the end step?
1
vote
1answer
140 views

(MTG) Can Trespasser’s Curse revive a player?

After I died, one of my opponents that I previously enchanted played a creature which supposedly heals me by one. Does that cause me to come back to life with one hp? If not, why not?
1
vote
2answers
124 views

Suspend spells and outpost siege

Let's say I have Outpost Siege in play with Khans chosen. I exile the top card of my library during my upkeep, that card being Wheel of Fate. Am I able to play Wheel of Fate for free, or is it exiled ...
11
votes
2answers
934 views

Can I attach Batterskull to a creature of my choice when I put it on the battlefield with Quest for the Holy Relic?

Assume my board state is as follows: Quest for the Holy Relic with 5 quest counters on it, any creature (call it Bob for now), any rest. I activate the Quest's ability, allowing me to find an ...
-2
votes
3answers
210 views

Questions on Incendiary Flow and Failed Inspection

Me and my friend have been arguing about these two things for a while now. Also, I’ve been learning it from him, and haven’t played it anywhere else. First, he played Incendiary Flow on my Geralf&#...
11
votes
2answers
1k views

Does “[card name] or another [type]” require [card name] to be in the proper category?

Inspired by this other question, what happens if a card such as Ivy Lane Denizen has Nim Deathmantle equipped; so that it is not green? When you play a green creature such as a Grizzly Bears, will ...
10
votes
2answers
870 views

Why does Cryptbreaker need this additional text?

The card Cryptbreaker has the following ability: Tap three untapped Zombies you control: You draw a card and you lose 1 life. Why is it necessary to specify that the three Zombies must be untapped?...
8
votes
2answers
863 views

How does this ability resolve?

Mizzix of the Izmagnus has an ability that gives you an experience counter as long as you cast an instant or sorcery that is of a higher cost. If I have 5 copies of him and 4 experience counters, and ...
2
votes
2answers
215 views

What's the difference between “target creature” and “target creature you control”?

Ok I'm confused. I have a Built to Last card, it says "Target creature gets +2/+2 until end of turn. If it's and artifact creature it gains indestructible until end of turn." My opponents tell me ...
2
votes
2answers
137 views

Destroying Odric, Master Tactician in response to declared attackers [duplicate]

Alright, so we were playing a game and confusion was brought up. Player 1 Attacks with 5 creatures as well as Odric, Master Tactician. When doing so, Odric's ability kicks in saying P1 could choose ...
0
votes
0answers
48 views

Combat damage to a player and lethal damage [duplicate]

In an EDH game I had recently, a player attacked multiple opponents with multiple creatures. One of the opponents had Edric, Spymaster of Trest on the battlefield. The active player then dealt lethal ...
1
vote
0answers
83 views

Using English cards in France [duplicate]

I'm an American living in France, and I want to play Magic the Gathering. Would it be a problem if I buy English printed cards to play in FNM and official tournaments here? Should I just stick to ...
4
votes
1answer
529 views

Are there cards that turn opponents' life loss into my life gain?

I was wondering if there is a card that says something like "whenever opponent loses life, you gain life." It doesn't matter how much life gain, just need to know if a card like this exists.
11
votes
1answer
2k views

What happens when I equip Helm of the Host on Gideon?

Say I activate Gideon of the Trials' second ability, and have him become a creature. I then equip him with a Helm of the Host and enter combat. What do I get? Do I get a 4/4 indestructible token, ...
2
votes
1answer
579 views

Can cards that say “deal damage to any target” deal damage to a planeswalker?

I have a card that says "whenever Karplusan Hound attacks, attacks, if you control a Chandra planeswalker, this creature deals 2 damage to any target." Does this mean I can target a planeswalker?
6
votes
1answer
154 views

Is it possible to not pay a conditional counter with the cost set at 0?

For example, there's a Cephalid Shrine on the field and someone casts a spell with no copies in any graveyards. Can someone choose to counter their own spell by not paying 0 mana? I don't think ...
5
votes
2answers
792 views

Is cascade triggered by putting a creature into play?

If Wild Pair is on the field when I cast a 5/5, and I use Wild Pair to put Enlisted Wurm into play, does Enlisted Wurm's cascade trigger? Wild Pair: Whenever a creature enters the battlefield, if ...
1
vote
1answer
160 views

How would Mirko Vosk, Mind Drinker's triggered ability work with the Strionic Resonator?

How would Mirko Vosk, Mind Drinker's triggered ability work with the Strionic Resonator? My interpretation is that the ability would trigger twice, but only on the original player that took the ...
2
votes
1answer
159 views

Does Dryad Arbor remain a creature with Blood Sun in play?

Does Dryad Arbor remain a creature with Blood Sun in play? This is a follow-up question to this one.
3
votes
1answer
196 views

Yidris and Thran Temporal Gateway [duplicate]

If I'm using Yidris, Maelstrom Wielder and I have Thran Temporal Gateway on the field, and I deal combat damage to a player with Yidris. Will using Thran Temporal Gateway's ability allow Yidris' s ...
3
votes
1answer
182 views

Is there a term for cards that have the same name in the same set (like basic lands) but are different cards?

It seems "reprints" is used for cards that are reprinted. But is there terminology for cards that have the same name but are in the same set? For example if there are 3 or 4 different "Mountain" ...
3
votes
1answer
235 views

Which card has the highest number of mana symbols in its mana cost?

Color doesn't matter. No Un-Sets. In case of a tie, one card tied for highest number suffices. I need such a card as a test case for a computer program involving MtG cards.
2
votes
1answer
75 views

Data on how large a particular Magic the Gathering tournament was?

So I was looking through the official Wizards of the Coast site: https://magic.wizards.com/en/events/coverage The formatting is kind of all over the place. I was trying to figure out how many people ...
9
votes
2answers
2k views

How do multiple mana increasers stack?

If I have a Zhur-Taa Ancient in play and a Dictate of Karametra, do I get 3 mana or 4 when I tap a land?